T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby j.o.e » July 26th, 2014, 10:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:Sunroof in Trinidad. No thanks pal

why not?

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2014, 10:55 pm

j.o.e wrote:

why not?

Ent?
I does real miss my sunroof

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2014, 11:01 pm

A sunroof does serve one purpose though. Back when I had the Civic, I use to tilt the sunroof since cool air sinks and hot air rises which allowed the cabin to cool quickly. Other than that you had to be crazy to use it in the day time and you obviously cannot use it while it rains. As for night time? It makes no sense for me since the car would be parked up in the garage while the owner gets rest lol. I prefer a nice stereo system and safety features in a car as well as a powerful motor versus features like leather seats, push button start and a sunroof to brag about but that's just me.

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2014, 11:04 pm

acesinghit wrote:A sunroof does serve one purpose though. Back when I had the Civic, I use to tilt the sunroof since cool air sinks and hot air rises which allowed the cabin to cool quickly. Other than that you had to be crazy to use it in the day time and you obviously cannot use it while it rains. As for night time? It makes no sense for me since the car would be parked up in the garage while the owner gets rest lol. I prefer a nice stereo system and safety features in a car as well as a powerful motor versus features like leather seats, push button start and a sunroof to brag about but that's just me.

So because u dont want it makes it a useless feature?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2014, 11:09 pm

probably have sour grapes lol

but honestly though not much people actually use that feature down here in my observation. The in thing now is panoramic sunroof and the thing about it is, the front glass doesn't open any bigger than a regular sunroof. I guess the hype behind it is that the back passengers get to look up and see the heavens through a fixed glass.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2014, 8:09 am

acesinghit wrote:probably have sour grapes lol

but honestly though not much people actually use that feature down here in my observation. The in thing now is panoramic sunroof and the thing about it is, the front glass doesn't open any bigger than a regular sunroof. I guess the hype behind it is that the back passengers get to look up and see the heavens through a fixed glass.

The added natural light in the cabin is a nice plus for a driver as well. Just opening it a couple of inches makes a considerable difference in visibility.

Just sucks when a bus passes by :|

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » July 27th, 2014, 8:39 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

The added natural light in the cabin is a nice plus for a driver as well. Just opening it a couple of inches makes a considerable difference in visibility.

Yep. .. visibility of your very dark tint now appears lighter :grin:

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2014, 8:44 am

kamakazi wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

Yep. .. visibility of your very dark tint now appears lighter :grin:

It's only 20% 8-)

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2014, 8:48 am

Sunroofs are nice, but driving thru a series of street lights gets really annoying FAST

Postby 1UZFE » July 27th, 2014, 8:57 am

cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

why not?

Ent?

This..
Meen no bout dem but i love my sun roof. Esp when yuh vechile is abt 4 inches of d ground.8-) Wish if d hilux was comin wit it tho. Saw d Triton have d automatic rear windscreen.

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2014, 9:13 am

Other than cooling the car quickly I don't really see a plus unless you driving to the beach. Most times the sun is too hot and it makes your tint lighter ( less privacy). But this is coming from a man who runs ac 99% of the time. The other 1% is when I'm going beach and want sea breeze.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 27th, 2014, 10:14 am

Since sunroof equipped vehicles are more expensive trims in the new cars, would this mean a used vehicle equipped with said sunroof would have higher resale value versus one without?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 27th, 2014, 10:38 am

Would'nt a sunroof just add another thing that can go wrong with the vehicle as the second owner?

Postby Morpheus » July 27th, 2014, 10:44 am

Sunroofs don't just "go wrong".....

But then again, some people could mash up ANYTHING eh :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 27th, 2014, 10:48 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Sunroofs are nice, but driving thru a series of street lights gets really annoying FAST

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 27th, 2014, 11:02 am

Had a sunroof stuck on me with a 5 year old peugeot 307
Also had another seize up on me with a 13 year old CRV

Postby Morpheus » July 27th, 2014, 11:20 am

Peugoet and Honda. What you expect?

*runs

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2014, 11:25 am

Sunroofs are about as reliable as power windows i fail to see the issue here

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 27th, 2014, 12:03 pm

1UZFE wrote:
cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

why not?

Ent?

This..
Meen no bout dem but i love my sun roof. Esp when yuh vechile is abt 4 inches of d ground.8-) Wish if d hilux was comin wit it tho. Saw d Triton have d automatic rear windscreen.

Triton comes with sunroof and automatic rear sliding glass 0X . Toyota salesman told me some of the earlier models came with a sunroof and cruise control, but they don't offer those anymore; didn't stop them from raising the price though :/
Cruise control is another one of those features that many people who don't have it, convince themselves that it's completely useless down here. Even the salesmen will convince you, 'adding on that feature will just jack up the price, and besides, we don't have the roads for that in Trinidad.' Meanwhile they use cruise control as a selling point for the other vehicles in the same showroom :?
I don't use my sunroof on a daily basis, but when I do get the chance, I'm grateful for the feature.
With the cruise control, I've found that it helps make my highway journey's much more relaxing; just set, and relax on the left lane. :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 27th, 2014, 12:15 pm

drchaos wrote:Would'nt a sunroof just add another thing that can go wrong with the vehicle as the second owner?

well a co-worker by me has a 98' lancer glxi (ck4) and some time ago after it rained when he returned to the vehicle and open the door, all by the driver's mat had water. It appears there was a leak from the rubber seal due to cracking and the water flood the floor pan. Note to self: do not buy a 16yr old car with a sunroof. Honda Prelude with the moonroof have a reputation for rust and swelling as well.

Postby cinco » July 27th, 2014, 12:31 pm

A 16yr old car rusts around the windshield and floods the floor by the driver side also. Waiting to see allyuh point here

kjaglal76v2

Re: Chuck E Cheese's comin to Trini

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 27th, 2014, 1:09 pm

tourniquet wrote:ahsayinshit, strikes yet again :/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 27th, 2014, 1:13 pm

Sunroof is way more complicated than power window ....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 27th, 2014, 1:29 pm

cinco wrote:A 16yr old car rusts around the windshield and floods the floor by the driver side also. Waiting to see allyuh point here

this.

most vehicles right now, the Best experience is the first 5 years, after such problems would soon occur.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 27th, 2014, 1:36 pm

Morpheus wrote:Peugeotand Honda. What you expect?

*runs

speedwerk

Postby speedwerk » July 28th, 2014, 5:53 pm

anyone know the price for a new l300 panel van?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 28th, 2014, 6:28 pm

checked out the 2014 Qashqai today.

The 2.0 4x4 is $295k but it continues the tradition of the fixed glass roof with a power sunshade (think Peugeot 307 sw). I did not see any back-up camera or parking sensors but apart from that it is pretty much very loaded. The MR20DE motor lacks the punch of the QR20DE (T30 Xtrail) but the rep says the xtronic CVT utilizes the power better than the previous 4-speed auto found in the T30. Nissan claims the Qashqai received plenty weight saving technology so 138hp and 196nm torque should perform better than the qr20's 148hp and 200nm torque in the t30.

What else...it has the full compliment of airbags, driving aids, power seat, push button start, very nice leather seats and get this...19" rims! I then took a walk and greeted the 2014 updated Tucson and it is at least $21k more expensive in executive package 4wd trim. It basically has a better stereo system, a front sliding glass panoramic roof and back-up camera. Is it worth the extra cash? IMO...it is. One major downside is, the front of the Tucson is hideous compared to the Qashqai which looks aggressive/sporty. Lastly, a driver told me the Qashqai will out-handle the Tucson by leaps and bounds as it appears to have a stiffer tuned suspension vs the wiggly Tucson lol.

I gave the Versa another shot today to prove itself and after less than 1 minute I realized I am wasting time. This car is pure nonsense but at $149k you get front and rear power windows since it is on special right now and you get MASSY points (this appears to be a program started by the then HiLo to get redeemable points) So I guess a smart shopper can use the card and apply the "credit" to a new car or any product the Group (Massy) sells. Kind of cool I guess.

After checking out the Juke, Wingroad, Murano and Navara it is always apparent that once you go Euro, you will never go back Japanese. The doors and general fit/finish felt subpar. Only 4 nissans in the showroom felt like international class automobiles ie. T31 Xtrail, Murano, Altima and 370Z.

Postby DVSTT » July 28th, 2014, 6:50 pm

acesinghit wrote:checked out the 2014 Qashqai today.

The 2.0 4x4 is $295k but it continues the tradition of the fixed glass roof with a power sunshade (think Peugeot 307 sw). I did not see any back-up camera or parking sensors but apart from that it is pretty much very loaded. The MR20DE motor lacks the punch of the QR20DE (T30 Xtrail) but the rep says the xtronic CVT utilizes the power better than the previous 4-speed auto found in the T30. Nissan claims the Qashqai received plenty weight saving technology so 138hp and 196nm torque should perform better than the qr20's 148hp and 200nm torque in the t30.

What else...it has the full compliment of airbags, driving aids, power seat, push button start, very nice leather seats and get this...19" rims! I then took a walk and greeted the 2014 updated Tucson and it is at least $21k more expensive in executive package 4wd trim. It basically has a better stereo system, a front sliding glass panoramic roof and back-up camera. Is it worth the extra cash? IMO...it is. One major downside is, the front of the Tucson is hideous compared to the Qashqai which looks aggressive/sporty. Lastly, a driver told me the Qashqai will out-handle the Tucson by leaps and bounds as it appears to have a stiffer tuned suspension vs the wiggly Tucson lol.

I gave the Versa another shot today to prove itself and after less than 1 minute I realized I am wasting time. This car is pure nonsense but at $149k you get front and rear power windows since it is on special right now and you get MASSY points (this appears to be a program started by the then HiLo to get redeemable points) So I guess a smart shopper can use the card and apply the "credit" to a new car or any product the Group (Massy) sells. Kind of cool I guess.

After checking out the Juke, Wingroad, Murano and Navara it is always apparent that once you go Euro, you will never go back Japanese. The doors and general fit/finish felt subpar. Only 4 nissans in the showroom felt like international class automobiles ie. T31 Xtrail, Murano, Altima and 370Z.

The Xtrail is Awesome :D. It's a part time AWD too, lots of tech and room inside. The boot is massive and if you remove the hide away storage it's even bigger. It rides nicely and the 2.5 cvt has a lot of power.
Only wish the deck wasn't so cheap looking, but that's an easy fix.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 28th, 2014, 7:01 pm

^^Let's hope the upcoming 3rd generation "T32" model continues the upward trend of the X-Trail line.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » July 28th, 2014, 9:59 pm

acesinghit wrote:checked out the 2014 Qashqai today.

Isn't there a 4x2 version of the Qashqai? What is the price of that version?