T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » June 5th, 2014, 8:59 am

neexis wrote:
drchaos wrote:Strange that those fords are built in Germany yet the interior build quality feels so off.

The mazda 6 in my opinion is the class leader here in this segment, dont forget at 371 you also get the bose sound system.

From the reviews of the Korean turbo engines online, it seems they have not learned yet how to properly tune and refine those engines yet. I have not driven any of those cars yet but i would hold out for another generation. They are getting better and better tho.

What engine does that Mazda6 come with?

How does the Mazda6 compare to the Passat fully loaded at 360k?

Well I guess you may know this but you can get the Passat Highline for less than $360k. But using that figure, the pluses for the $371k Mazda6 2.5 is the BOSE premium sound system, sunroof, 19" rims and its slightly faster to 100kmph by almost a second (7 second range) vs Passat 1.8 TSI in 8 second range. With the added space and features with much better driving dynamics I would say the Mazda is worth it. Note: the Mazda being a 2.5 will have more MVT attached to it than the 1.8 Passat so who knows, the showroom price before taxes would be cheaper in the Mazda.

What baffles me is how did Mazda make such a heavy car with only 185hp and 250nm torque to crack into the 7s range! So I found this on their website:

"We’ve combined the best attributes of conventional automatic, continuously variable and dual clutch transmissions.

This means you get maximum driving fun and high efficiency. The SKYACTIV-Drive transmission couples directly with the engine over a far wider range than other automatics. This delivers a significant improvement in fuel economy and a more direct, manual transmission-like power delivery and driving feel."

Postby cinco » June 5th, 2014, 9:48 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Image
From toyota trinidad Facebook page. Is this the quality y'all talking about?

Shh dey go say yuh hating.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 5th, 2014, 10:35 am

acesinghit wrote:
neexis wrote:
drchaos wrote:Strange that those fords are built in Germany yet the interior build quality feels so off.

The mazda 6 in my opinion is the class leader here in this segment, dont forget at 371 you also get the bose sound system.

From the reviews of the Korean turbo engines online, it seems they have not learned yet how to properly tune and refine those engines yet. I have not driven any of those cars yet but i would hold out for another generation. They are getting better and better tho.

Well I guess you may know this but you can get the Passat Highline for less than $360k. But using that figure, the pluses for the $371k Mazda6 2.5 is the BOSE premium sound system, sunroof, 19" rims and its slightly faster to 100kmph by almost a second (7 second range) vs Passat 1.8 TSI in 8 second range. With the added space and features with much better driving dynamics I would say the Mazda is worth it. Note: the Mazda being a 2.5 will have more MVT attached to it than the 1.8 Passat so who knows, the showroom price before taxes would be cheaper in the Mazda.

What baffles me is how did Mazda make such a heavy car with only 185hp and 250nm torque to crack into the 7s range! So I found this on their website:

"We’ve combined the best attributes of conventional automatic, continuously variable and dual clutch transmissions.

This means you get maximum driving fun and high efficiency. The SKYACTIV-Drive transmission couples directly with the engine over a far wider range than other automatics. This delivers a significant improvement in fuel economy and a more direct, manual transmission-like power delivery and driving feel."

Passat 1.8T rated at 160 hp so that's a 25 hp difference already. Plus the Passat may be heavier as well. Marketing sounds great but at the end of the day it's physics that matter. Based on those two figures the 2.5 6 Skyactiv should be faster on the 0-60.

Also if you check how Toyota talks about their trannys you would be just as amazed :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 5th, 2014, 11:16 am

neexis wrote:
MadCrix wrote:a man said, that at this price range soul doh matter and for mer personally I agree to an extent

if I wanted sould I woulda spend 300k and up

my budget was 180-190k I stretched to pay 209k

20k above that for a higher cost to maintain car in de same bracket eh make sense to me. again I eh rich so I prefer to live within my means. The Korean option works well for my purpose, get from point a to b in comfort. wife likes de car, lovely features. handles decent ( it ain't an evo) power is enough to keep me at 120-140 k. gas mileage is decent and plenty trunk room.

to me, paying more to run premium, pay euro maintenance cost and get better ride quality just was not worth it.
honestly for me to own a euro it will have to be a company car. my personal cars will always be jap/Korean. the perceive value increase just doh make sense to me

Would you spend 322K on an optima?

I would only after careful analysis of long term cost of ownership, the competitors and perceived value for money. I have not analyzed that market segment as that is way outta my range.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 5th, 2014, 11:28 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
acesinghit wrote:

Passat 1.8T rated at 160 hp so that's a 25 hp difference already. Plus the Passat may be heavier as well. Marketing sounds great but at the end of the day it's physics that matter. Based on those two figures the 2.5 6 Skyactiv should be faster on the 0-60.

Also if you check how Toyota talks about their trannys you would be just as amazed :lol:

HP is being rated as higher but torque is rated as being the same but coming earlier on the VW. And yea the Passat is definitely heavier by about 350lbs.

Is SS bringing that version of the 6? Might be worth checking out

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » June 5th, 2014, 12:11 pm

acesinghit wrote:
neexis wrote:

That's an 11k difference over the Passat...

I can recode the VW's head unit for $500 and switch it to digital audio comparable to the sound quality of BOSE...and tune the engine which would make it faster....

Have done a few showroom Passat still under warranty, but this applies only to those who want speed..
Would still say its a bargain over the Mazda as lots more can be done to personalize it...Mazda options are unfortunately limited to customization and personalization (not speaking about wheels)...

Postby cinco » June 5th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Isnt it super (mazda) vs premium (vw) anyway

Postby S_2NR » June 5th, 2014, 1:48 pm

Our Mazda 3 take premium. The 6 as well afaik

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 5th, 2014, 1:51 pm

APR stage 1 remap for Passat 1.8 TSI using 95RON:

158 to 183HP
250Nm to 297Nm

0-60 time will def drop into the mid to high 7 second range.

Ecotune I guess one can "settle" for the Passat, do the remap and smile.

Postby j.o.e » June 5th, 2014, 3:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:Our Mazda 3 take premium. The 6 as well afaik

Nah both in the new model take Super according to the SS sales material

neexis

Postby neexis » June 5th, 2014, 3:23 pm

acesinghit wrote:APR stage 1 remap for Passat 1.8 TSI using 95RON:

158 to 183HP
250Nm to 297Nm

Eco will correct me, but the Protune map will make it more like 200HP, 315 Nm

Postby gastly369 » June 5th, 2014, 4:42 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Image
From toyota trinidad Facebook page. Is this the quality y'all talking about?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 5th, 2014, 5:01 pm

New model corolla? Bodow

Postby gastly369 » June 5th, 2014, 5:04 pm

nah don't think so
new model i think the button is on the other side of steering

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 5th, 2014, 5:10 pm

WOW! Look how well those pieces of plastic in that toyota come together. Looks like it was crafted by the gods themselves!

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » June 5th, 2014, 7:12 pm

neexis wrote:
acesinghit wrote:APR stage 1 remap for Passat 1.8 TSI using 95RON:

158 to 183HP
250Nm to 297Nm

Eco will correct me, but the Protune map will make it more like 200HP, 315 Nm

Correct ...and pull the 0-60 to 6.9 - 7.2 sec..

Those Apr quotes should be same as mine

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 5th, 2014, 9:26 pm

drchaos wrote:WOW! Look how well those pieces of plastic in that toyota come together. Looks like it was crafted by the gods themselves!

allyuh not nice man stop it

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 5th, 2014, 9:28 pm

j.o.e wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Our Mazda 3 take premium. The 6 as well afaik

Nah both in the new model take Super according to the SS sales material

So Sky-activ engines taking super?

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 5th, 2014, 9:29 pm

4Motion wrote:
drchaos wrote:I would put that money into property and use the rent to pay for my grossly expensive new car!

Good idea!

Just might need to spend more than 1.4 mil on a property to get rent to pay for your grossly expensive car. :)

you could probably buy many properties that come up to less than the cost of your grossly expensive new car... :| :)

Postby j.o.e » June 5th, 2014, 9:37 pm

The new gas engine, dubbed SKYACTIV-G, manages a 14:1 compression ratio on regular gas (13:1 in Canadian spec due to our lower-octane gas) without premature ignition - knocking. Mazda's current 2.0-litre runs at 12.5:1. Meanwhile, direct fuel injection with a specially tweaked spray pattern, a new, domed piston, variable valve timing and 4-2-1 exhaust manifold combine to allow lower combustion temperatures, friction and pumping losses.

It have a setta fancy ting to avoid knock even tho it high compression.....have a cpl explanations alll over the net

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 5th, 2014, 9:44 pm

Skyactiv is devil ting.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » June 5th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Dunno why direct injection gaining all this hype now tho. Galant doing that since 15 years ago.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 5th, 2014, 9:59 pm

Maybe cuz manufacturers actually forced now to meet more stringent emissions standards? It's like saying why everyone going turbocharged and downsized displacement now.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 5th, 2014, 11:04 pm

[quote="de_dougla_smurf"]Dunno why direct injection gaining all this hype now tho. Galant doing that since 15 years

... Yuh want to drink a good single malt straight out of the distiller or you want to wait ah 15 and let it mature? Does take a while before new tech have all the issues worked out and it ready for mass consumption.

Only ting I worried bout them sky activ transmissions is that it's hella complicated. Seems worse than vw dsg complexity wise. We talking multi-clutch plate, torque converter, mechatronics unit, planery gear set all in one box. Here's hoping they don't have many long term reliability problems.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 5th, 2014, 11:08 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Dunno why direct injection gaining all this hype now tho. Galant doing that since 15 years ago.

Galant still doing that?

Is that car still in production? Or has Mitsubishi given up on the mid size for the local market?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 6th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Mitsubishi failed at GDI and CVT. In fact I'm not sure what happened to the diamond brand since the mid 2000's but thanks to GEMA, the Lancer for eg. has an engine. The Alliance was with Chrysler and Hyundai.

Skyactiv is a soup of technologies that are branded into one name. It's more than just the introduction of direct injection. Keeping in mind Mazda is now and independent Car Company with their own R&D and budgets. Pretty impressive they are for such a diminutive manufacturer.

Postby Morpheus » June 6th, 2014, 3:14 pm

I always thought it was local mango tree mechanics and locals skimping on services...... *shrug

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » June 6th, 2014, 8:53 pm

I would hardly say they failed at GDI tech.

The GDI galant with that bosch/porsche tiptronic was an excellent. Low end torque, hi top end, respectable throttle response. The failboat SOHC carby 4g63 couldnt come close.

Would u say that honda failed with vtech or nissan failed with attesa?

Look how many vehicles now have variable valve timing and awd as standard offerings.

Mitsus GDI pioneered a wave of development for cleaner, more efficient engines. I just thought that this was common knowledge and didnt understand why is used as marketing for so many cars now...

Nobody doh complain about how often QG engines fail and have to change, yet they cry down GDI.

All pre 2007 CVTs are failure imo.

Mitsubishi are out of the mid size entirely and pretty soon out of car manufacturing. Their corporate interests have shifted to blenders and escalators...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 6th, 2014, 9:56 pm

One thing to not get caught up in is the marketing speak. Most manufacturers have the same or very similar tech. Especially within price brackets.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 6th, 2014, 10:03 pm

Nah right now Mitsubishi focusing on the blue fin tuna market! they have a monopoly.
When you making half a million tt on 1 fish why bother updating the lancer?