T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Morpheus » June 3rd, 2014, 8:21 pm

whyteliver wrote:ALL cars are overpriced...imo

*Repaired

oogan

Postby oogan » June 3rd, 2014, 8:28 pm

I am skeptical about the Korean vehicles too...but the Optima really looks good. Close up not bad. Price . If they are not careful. They may start loosing to the other brands. I think they are focused on styling to catch the general public eyes and a significant amount of durability. I don't think they are really focus on interior/exterior finishes/quality because people are more looking at what they perceive as value for money...that said...in terms of durability...man those first set of rios, accent, prides, ceratos did prove themselves to be able to take the beatings from taxi, ph etc.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 3rd, 2014, 9:27 pm

plenty badge snobbery ITT :lol:

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2014, 11:20 pm

drchaos wrote:Honda civic, mazda 3, impreza, lancer.

Please you insult my intelligence ... are the tiida and the versa even cars? They are in the "box with wheels" just under the "super mini" and just above the "shopping cart" categories :P

Every car u mentioned is at least 20k more than the cerato tho. And um impreza and civic are snooze fests. Lancer is 8 yrs old already

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 3rd, 2014, 11:33 pm

Trinis have a see/like/buy mentality. If all compact car shoppers got to test drive the Chevy cruze, ford focus and veedub Jetta the Korean twins would be a big flop. I just can't buy a vehicle based on how pretty it sits in a showroom and plenty buyers out there don't care to test drive. We also have to give nm and ss props for advertising since just saturday gone we went to a wedding down south and imagine ppl still not aware of a cruze or focus in fact some older heads were shocked to see them rhd.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 11:44 pm

cinco wrote:

Please you insult my intelligence ... are the tiida and the versa even cars? They are in the "box with wheels" just under the "super mini" and just above the "shopping cart" categories :P

Every car u mentioned is at least 20k more than the cerato tho. And um impreza and civic are snooze fests. Lancer is 8 yrs old already

And I would probably pay the 20K more to have a car with a bit more soul, but hey if the lowest price point is your thing no biggie man, to each his own!

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2014, 11:51 pm

drchaos wrote:
cinco wrote:

And I would probably pay the 20K more to have a car with a bit more soul, but hey if the lowest price point is your thing no biggie man, to each his own!

You see the price of new cars? 200k is a stretch for most ppl 20k extra is a dealbreaker.
Tbh i find new cars are way overpriced i buy local used.
Cant see myself spending 230k on a civic or a corolla at all nah

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » June 3rd, 2014, 11:57 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:kurpal, is it redesigned 2014 Quashqai, also anyone knows when they will be bring in the redesigned 2014 X-trail? Need to start looking for a replacement.

No it's a PCX so 2012/2013 but are we getting the redesigned ones for 2014? Or the facelift models?

Spoke to my rep at massey and she said they are supposed to be getting but she does not know when because they already have stock that has to be sold. Looking into the new 2014/2015 X-trail particularly the diesel, if we get that option.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2014, 11:59 pm

I agree new cars are expensive!
Local used does have the advantage of getting some sweet deals! but you hadda wait and sometimes the time they selling doh line up with the time u rdy to buy. Especially since people does be migrating, got a XV 1 year old, good mileage and almost 40% off the new price for my dad. Good stuff out there. But last time I was able to afford new for myself so here's hoping I can do the same next time im upgrading.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 4th, 2014, 6:11 am

acesinghit wrote:Trinis have a see/like/buy mentality. If all compact car shoppers got to test drive the Chevy cruze, ford focus and veedub Jetta the Korean twins would be a big flop. I just can't buy a vehicle based on how pretty it sits in a showroom and plenty buyers out there don't care to test drive. We also have to give nm and ss props for advertising since just saturday gone we went to a wedding down south and imagine ppl still not aware of a cruze or focus in fact some older heads were shocked to see them rhd.

Na yuh start back the sheet talk :roll:

I from Deep South and there are many captivas and cruzes in the area, outnumbered but people are not unaware of them. The big issue with the Chevys were their introduction and the first batch leaving a stigma to follow.

gastly369 wrote:Men real hatin on de optima Jed :(

Fanboys ITT hate on anything toyota, optima=toyota?

Postby Gladiator » June 4th, 2014, 7:21 am

acesinghit wrote:Trinis have a see/like/buy mentality. If all compact car shoppers got to test drive the Chevy cruze, ford focus and veedub Jetta the Korean twins would be a big flop. I just can't buy a vehicle based on how pretty it sits in a showroom and plenty buyers out there don't care to test drive. We also have to give nm and ss props for advertising since just saturday gone we went to a wedding down south and imagine ppl still not aware of a cruze or focus in fact some older heads were shocked to see them rhd.

Isn't the Chevy cars lifestyle motors bringing from Korea also, IIRC GM bought the old Daewoo company come time ago and making these Chevy cars that we get in our market.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 4th, 2014, 9:18 am

a man said, that at this price range soul doh matter and for mer personally I agree to an extent

if I wanted sould I woulda spend 300k and up

my budget was 180-190k I stretched to pay 209k

20k above that for a higher cost to maintain car in de same bracket eh make sense to me. again I eh rich so I prefer to live within my means. The Korean option works well for my purpose, get from point a to b in comfort. wife likes de car, lovely features. handles decent ( it ain't an evo) power is enough to keep me at 120-140 k. gas mileage is decent and plenty trunk room.

to me, paying more to run premium, pay euro maintenance cost and get better ride quality just was not worth it.
honestly for me to own a euro it will have to be a company car. my personal cars will always be jap/Korean. the perceive value increase just doh make sense to me

neexis

Postby neexis » June 4th, 2014, 11:37 am

MadCrix wrote:a man said, that at this price range soul doh matter and for mer personally I agree to an extent

20k above that for a higher cost to maintain car in de same bracket eh make sense to me. again I eh rich so I prefer to live within my means. The Korean option works well for my purpose, get from point a to b in comfort. wife likes de car, lovely features. handles decent ( it ain't an evo) power is enough to keep me at 120-140 k. gas mileage is decent and plenty trunk room.

to me, paying more to run premium, pay euro maintenance cost and get better ride quality just was not worth it.
honestly for me to own a euro it will have to be a company car. my personal cars will always be jap/Korean. the perceive value increase just doh make sense to me

Would you spend 322K on an optima?

Postby cinco » June 4th, 2014, 11:56 am

neexis wrote:
MadCrix wrote:a man said, that at this price range soul doh matter and for mer personally I agree to an extent

Isnt the camry and accord and mazda 6 20- 50k more thsn the optima?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 4th, 2014, 12:06 pm

cinco wrote:
neexis wrote:

Mazda 6 is 7k cheaper, Camry has a 2.5 litre engine and accord is 12K more than the Optima according to the prices on the first page.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 4th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Well said. I like the part about stretching to pay. I realize in here ppl generally compare $200k cars with ones that are $240k but don't realize that extra $40k makes a big difference for the average man.

Postby cinco » June 4th, 2014, 12:44 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
cinco wrote:
neexis wrote:

Mazda 6 is 7k cheaper, Camry has a 2.5 litre engine and accord is 12K more than the Optima according to the prices on the first page.

Ooh mazda ftw lol
But apples to apples i would buy the optima over the camry just because panoramic roof and blue tooths an fanciness.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 4th, 2014, 1:15 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Isn't the Chevy cars lifestyle motors bringing from Korea also, IIRC GM bought the old Daewoo company come time ago and making these Chevy cars that we get in our market.

that's correct! GM bought those failed Daewoo factories and re-tooled them (costed millions). They created GM South Korea and they are responsible for making several vehicles including the Cruze.

Does it make the Cruze a Korean car? debatable but case in point, the new Accord and Corolla for example. They are built in Thailand! The Versa is coming from India and the Jetta is coming from Mexico. Also, the Focus is coming from Germany.

The difference with the Korean manufactured RHD cruze is it is not riding on Korean technology. It's actually German technology and you can thank GM's European subsidiary for that (Opel). The GM Delta 2 platform is shared with several vehicles including the Opel Astra even the drivetrain is German designed. Does the Cruze feel like a coke can with directional problems? Nope.

Lastly the "Chevy" (notice it was branded chevy and not chevrolet) stigma that we all seem to remember thanks to Southern Sales when they brought in those Brazilian knock-offs (Joy and Monza). Look at it this way, at least the car is strong enough to handle a Toyota 4E-FTE motor that can tear a DC5R owner's ego apart.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 4th, 2014, 1:20 pm

cinco wrote:Ooh mazda ftw lol
But apples to apples i would buy the optima over the camry just because panoramic roof and blue tooths an fanciness.

At 400K for a camry, the optima is a clear winner between the two

Still wouldn't buy a Kia though.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 4th, 2014, 1:30 pm

am at $400k I will leave the Toyota showroom and get the 2.5 Skyactiv mazda 6 for $371k and enjoy a wonderful motoring experience. zoom-zoom!! The Optima could be the 2.0 turbo model for the same price as the mazda and I won't buy it.

hmmmm....or maybe I might. :oops:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 4th, 2014, 4:44 pm

Strange that those fords are built in Germany yet the interior build quality feels so off.

The mazda 6 in my opinion is the class leader here in this segment, dont forget at 371 you also get the bose sound system.

From the reviews of the Korean turbo engines online, it seems they have not learned yet how to properly tune and refine those engines yet. I have not driven any of those cars yet but i would hold out for another generation. They are getting better and better tho.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 4th, 2014, 7:14 pm

drchaos wrote:Strange that those fords are built in Germany yet the interior build quality feels so off.

The mazda 6 in my opinion is the class leader here in this segment, dont forget at 371 you also get the bose sound system.

From the reviews of the Korean turbo engines online, it seems they have not learned yet how to properly tune and refine those engines yet. I have not driven any of those cars yet but i would hold out for another generation. They are getting better and better tho.

What engine does that Mazda6 come with?

How does the Mazda6 compare to the Passat fully loaded at 360k?

Postby j.o.e » June 4th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Mazda 6 comes with 2.0 or 2.5 skyactiv....I've never driven a Passat but between the Optima and Mazda 6 (I drove the 2.5) there was a big gap...Mazda 6 was more refined and exciting to drive...build felt very solid almost German. Optima was more flashy and interesting interior and exterior. Mazda feels substantially bigger in terms of interior space tho...just my opinion. I repeat I didn't drive the 2.0 Mazda so comparison is a little unfair.
Also the Optima driving impression just felt like a big Kia Rio (gf has a Kia Rio)...didn't have that big car torqueness and steering felt disconnected and numb.

oogan

Postby oogan » June 4th, 2014, 9:30 pm

Let me say I am a bit of a Mazda person. These cars are built strong. Having had a Mazda 2, 3 and RX8...man these cars are really reliable and great handling. I did however drove the latest 6 (2.0) and I wasn't so impressed with the power or ride for the price. I will drive the 2.5 though. What I was disappointed with though for the price many features were missing/unavailable...parking sensors, cameras, sunroof, power mirrors etc. Only the 2.5 comes fully loaded.

I viewed the 2014/15 Optima. Never got a chance to drive...it was the last of 4 brought and sold already until the next batch arrives. Except for some exterior changes...the car in pretty much the same....the price increased and leather now optional and additional costs.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 4th, 2014, 9:40 pm

i see the f-type has hot our shores any ideas on pricing?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 4th, 2014, 10:51 pm

1.4 million

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 4th, 2014, 11:10 pm

Jeezusss

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 4th, 2014, 11:13 pm

I would put that money into property and use the rent to pay for my grossly expensive new car!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 5th, 2014, 7:33 am

From toyota trinidad Facebook page. Is this the quality y'all talking about?

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » June 5th, 2014, 7:35 am

drchaos wrote:I would put that money into property and use the rent to pay for my grossly expensive new car!

Good idea!

Just might need to spend more than 1.4 mil on a property to get rent to pay for your grossly expensive car. :)