d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:Projects associated with NOMOSS
Burnout with ford 2.0l stock cam ,Weber IDF's 44 X 2
Current Engine Nissan SR 20 ,I hate to say it but it kicks arse bigtimeNOMOSS wrote: Current Engine Nissan SR 20
NOMOSS, I still eh forgive allyuh fuh dat evilness allyuh wuk dey, eh...
How does the ess-arr's performance compare to the Pinto's?
NOMOSS wrote:NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:Projects associated with NOMOSS
Burnout with ford 2.0l stock cam ,Weber IDF's 44 X 2
Current Engine Nissan SR 20 ,I hate to say it but it kicks arse bigtimeNOMOSS wrote: Current Engine Nissan SR 20
NOMOSS, I still eh forgive allyuh fuh dat evilness allyuh wuk dey, eh...
How does the ess-arr's performance compare to the Pinto's?
[/quote]nigie wrote:ANYWAYS .....RESTO COMMENCING JAN 2012....STAY TUNNED....![]()
Yeah ...this car is an excellent candidate for a REAL engine..![]()
NOMOSS wrote:nigie wrote:ANYWAYS .....RESTO COMMENCING JAN 2012....STAY TUNNED....![]()
Yeah ...this car is an excellent candidate for a REAL engine..![]()
king bob wrote:thxx spike and moss,
inspiration!! madness more like motivation to finally stop listening 2 freakin dotish ppl who do not appreciate history.
as i always say (correct me if i'm wrong) is cars like those, d hunters, d escourts, courtinas etc that inspire all the current cars we have now.
NOMOSS wrote:king bob wrote:thxx spike and moss,
inspiration!! madness more like motivation to finally stop listening 2 freakin dotish ppl who do not appreciate history.
as i always say (correct me if i'm wrong) is cars like those, d hunters, d escourts, courtinas etc that inspire all the current cars we have now.
You are quite right and you need skill and twoballs to drive old school.Rice make good daily drivers I'll give them that
NOMOSS wrote:Cammed Pinto ran waaay stronger and did not suffer from fuel and ignition limiter holding the car back
king bob wrote:thxx spike and moss,
2.1 PINTO SOHC ,all steel 11.2-1 comp ratio,gts4 cam full rally spec big valve head,dry sumped,pinto,94mm forged pistons,yb length rods,48 dco/sp carbs, built by guy turner of burton power,tested by Steve Greenald of Race Engine Calibration. 197bhp @ flywheel 161 ft/lbs torque.
king bob wrote:idk yeh, he just said call him friday, cus this week he's going to get a courtina. if not he has a 1600 engine and gb, but he said call him fri
d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:Cammed Pinto ran waaay stronger and did not suffer from fuel and ignition limiter holding the car back
That answer sure seemed long in coming with all that multi-posting!!!!![]()
What cam was that? I thought the blue ran a stock 2 litre with the IDFs and headers. The Pinto that was in the grey was positively evil, though...king bob wrote:thxx spike and moss,
It isn't just history, lad... it's financial acumen.
At least a Kent FR32 cam (that's Burton Power's designation) and the standard double-throat 32/36 carb, coupled with headers and a shaved head, is supposed to take a Pinto to 135bhp.
More head-work plus side-draughts and a hotter cam will take your hp into the 150s.
There are cams and bigger side-draughts (50s) that can have you looking past 180hp... even past 200hp, according to Burton - but somewhere along that line you need to ensure your bottom-end is bullet-proof (balanced/re-fitted con rods, all-steel bottom-end, etc.)
Shaving the head at a machine shop will cost less than taking a girl to the cinema at Movietowne. With a little patience, you can do the other work on the head yourself. Andy's in Dibe (or any good muffler guy with experience) can build a decent set of headers for you, once you walk with the specs (RS2000 exhaust manifold).The cam you will have to look for, or you can order it. Either way, you might not even want it when you start running your Pinto with the mods above.
(And then there's turboing the Pinto... but we'll leave that for another time...)
Compare this to a Primera (SR20Di) with 119hp, or an RB20E with approx. 130 hp, or the SR with 140-169hp. How much do these engines cost to acquire? and maintain? And how much do they weigh? These engines are bloody heavy, compared with the Pinto. Not only will power-to-weight ratio be affected, but the car's handling and balance. Remember, at some point you will have to stop. More weight, more momentum... more braking assistance required. bigger, better brakes = more money. Bigger rotors, calipers = more weight to tote around... more gas to burn to push a heavier vehicle... heavier vehicle = more stress and fatigue on moving parts and structural members...
It is a 2 litre Pinto you're getting, right? If it comes with a 1600 gearbox, don't be too upset... she can take the initial mods I mentioned in red. Just ensure that the flywheel is bolted onto the crank with the correct bolts. I have seen a good few Pintos with the automatic ring-gear bolts instead. (These cannot take major torque!!!) They are shorter, and you will know them by the heads - they have a dome set in the bolt head. The proper bolts have a flat head (some have a perfectly normal-looking head, another type has slots in the head, but both are FLAT).
If she comes with a single-throat Weber, leave that for now. The power at the low end is the same, more or less... it's the high-end where the double-throat comes into its own - but you will be learning the car/engine first, right? The 32/36 carb and its manifold can be acquired at the same source I told you about.
Cheers
Just for wildness, Youtube has videos of this, its build and dyno testing:2.1 PINTO SOHC ,all steel 11.2-1 comp ratio,gts4 cam full rally spec big valve head,dry sumped,pinto,94mm forged pistons,yb length rods,48 dco/sp carbs, built by guy turner of burton power,tested by Steve Greenald of Race Engine Calibration. 197bhp @ flywheel 161 ft/lbs torque.
NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:NOMOSS wrote:Cammed Pinto ran waaay stronger and did not suffer from fuel and ignition limiter holding the car back
That answer sure seemed long in coming with all that multi-posting!!!!![]()
What cam was that? I thought the blue ran a stock 2 litre with the IDFs and headers. The Pinto that was in the grey was positively evil, though...king bob wrote:thxx spike and moss,
It isn't just history, lad... it's financial acumen.
At least a Kent FR32 cam (that's Burton Power's designation) and the standard double-throat 32/36 carb, coupled with headers and a shaved head, is supposed to take a Pinto to 135bhp.
More head-work plus side-draughts and a hotter cam will take your hp into the 150s.
There are cams and bigger side-draughts (50s) that can have you looking past 180hp... even past 200hp, according to Burton - but somewhere along that line you need to ensure your bottom-end is bullet-proof (balanced/re-fitted con rods, all-steel bottom-end, etc.)
Shaving the head at a machine shop will cost less than taking a girl to the cinema at Movietowne. With a little patience, you can do the other work on the head yourself. Andy's in Dibe (or any good muffler guy with experience) can build a decent set of headers for you, once you walk with the specs (RS2000 exhaust manifold).The cam you will have to look for, or you can order it. Either way, you might not even want it when you start running your Pinto with the mods above.
(And then there's turboing the Pinto... but we'll leave that for another time...)
Compare this to a Primera (SR20Di) with 119hp, or an RB20E with approx. 130 hp, or the SR with 140-169hp. How much do these engines cost to acquire? and maintain? And how much do they weigh? These engines are bloody heavy, compared with the Pinto. Not only will power-to-weight ratio be affected, but the car's handling and balance. Remember, at some point you will have to stop. More weight, more momentum... more braking assistance required. bigger, better brakes = more money. Bigger rotors, calipers = more weight to tote around... more gas to burn to push a heavier vehicle... heavier vehicle = more stress and fatigue on moving parts and structural members...
It is a 2 litre Pinto you're getting, right? If it comes with a 1600 gearbox, don't be too upset... she can take the initial mods I mentioned in red. Just ensure that the flywheel is bolted onto the crank with the correct bolts. I have seen a good few Pintos with the automatic ring-gear bolts instead. (These cannot take major torque!!!) They are shorter, and you will know them by the heads - they have a dome set in the bolt head. The proper bolts have a flat head (some have a perfectly normal-looking head, another type has slots in the head, but both are FLAT).
If she comes with a single-throat Weber, leave that for now. The power at the low end is the same, more or less... it's the high-end where the double-throat comes into its own - but you will be learning the car/engine first, right? The 32/36 carb and its manifold can be acquired at the same source I told you about.
Cheers
Just for wildness, Youtube has videos of this, its build and dyno testing:2.1 PINTO SOHC ,all steel 11.2-1 comp ratio,gts4 cam full rally spec big valve head,dry sumped,pinto,94mm forged pistons,yb length rods,48 dco/sp carbs, built by guy turner of burton power,tested by Steve Greenald of Race Engine Calibration. 197bhp @ flywheel 161 ft/lbs torque.
Hey listen to that man he knows how to make a pinto flywheel shear its bolts and part company with its crankshaft.He's that good.The blue hunter had a stock cam,Its twin ,the grey ,had a Kent rl32 with 45mm/38mm in/ex valves ,headwork and a pair of 45 webbers.It ran 14.2s on the quarter mile.
nigie wrote:hummmm did D BOB find time to go look for a real engine....a ford 302......or a chev 305/350...a mopar even?
king bob wrote:dem escorts madddd.
this is how d bob spent the afternoon kids
nigie wrote:Hummm as I was saying b4 i was rudely interupted....did Bob spend any part of the evening looking for a 2.8 V6.......![]()
NOMOSS wrote:nigie wrote:hummmm did D BOB find time to go look for a real engine....a ford 302......or a chev 305/350...a mopar even?
Don't screw your sub frame and suspension with the weight of a v8 ,you don't need all that weight to get that hunter moving, a modified 2.0 l pinto will get that car into 14 s on the quarter mile ,we talking 180 - 200 b hp and you don't have to cut your car and weaken anything,or if you want more horsepower there are a host of Japanese turbos that will fit under that bonnet without cutting up your car.Remember when you cut that is forever.I don't advocate chopping a street car to fit an engine,if you retiring the car to the tracks that's a different story.Im not against v8 but one needs to be realistic ,hunter ball joints and struts wont take the punishment from the weight of a v8 for too long. By the way that car you have in excellent shape I hope it not sleeping outdoors?
nigie wrote:hummmm did D BOB find time to go look for a real engine....a ford 302......or a chev 305/350...a mopar even?
nigie wrote:Yes Yes....im looking spike...
king bob wrote:is eventually i want 2 give her a life on d track then that's a mini of a different color