T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

masonic1221

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby masonic1221 » March 25th, 2014, 8:19 pm

how much for the evo?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Evo price is in the Used car/vehicle price thread. Do a forum search.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » March 25th, 2014, 8:27 pm

masonic1221 wrote:Good day tuners - i'm currently looking for a vehicle for my brother for his birthday, he is 23 years of age and is a little show off and loud (if you catch my drift).His birthday is in two weeks and i would like your opinions to guide me in purchasing one for him.My budget towards the car is a maximum of 275k,please suggest something that "young people" drive,Thank You.

Surprised nobody didn't ask you to adopt them as yet. 23 yrs, a show off and "loud"? I don't know long he's driving for and how he drives, but, from what I think you're describing (might be wrong), are you sure he's ready for the responsibility you want to give him?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 25th, 2014, 9:15 pm

How reliable is the twincharger system in the 1.4 jetta. I read somewhere that VW is considering a single turbo to replace the twincharger system.
I must say that improvement in vehicle technologies is great but is it always necessary.
CVT transmissions can burn out or slip if not properly serviced...
Earlier DSG transmissions had clutch problems
Whereas the tried and through 4speed auto is still shifting properly after 10 yrs without a fluid change...yes I shouldn't have waited so long. ... but that transmission is still working after 250000kms with nothing more than fluid changes. ... It doesn't even have a filter that needs changing. Registration on that vehicle reads PBC.

Now if you have the money to maintain a newer transmission or newer vehicle technologies for that matter. ..I am very happy for you. Reliability on the other hand is what I consider the most valuable aspect of a vehicle. If I had to buy a euro car sign me up for a manual transmission. ... Don't want to deal with any computer controlled transmission giving me problems with failed sensors and the sought :smile:

That new jetta price is a lot more appealing though

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 25th, 2014, 9:50 pm

You said 10 years without a fluid change, then in the next line you said 250k's with nothing more than fluid changes for the transmission?

Postby RASC » March 25th, 2014, 9:51 pm

Kamikaze
Re-read what you said.
Think you made a mistake.

Postby pioneer » March 25th, 2014, 9:57 pm

acesinghit wrote:I bazodee now Jetta, Octavia, Cruze, Focus, Mazda3.....put all 5 names in a piece of paper, throw it in a hat and simply pick 1.

But that 210K jetta could still take a kit, lip spoiler, fog lights and some 18"s and a tune for good measure. Who needs leather, sunroof and camera anyway?

anyway some prices:

RAV4
2.0 4x2 - $305k
2.5 4x4 - $377k
2.5 4x4 loaded - $417k

Which rumshop you got those prices from?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 25th, 2014, 11:20 pm

After ten years I started changing fluids more regularly. ... No mistake there.
Vehicle is about 19yrs old
The first change was done after 10 yrs (approx 160000km on the odo). It has since had transmission fluid changed twice between 160000km and 250000km.
Last edited by kamakazi on March 25th, 2014, 11:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2014, 11:23 pm

Well then like d jetta was designed for people like you. No fluid changes on transmission.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 25th, 2014, 11:42 pm

Doesn't the jetta have a computer controlled transmission. .. In my mind that is just more sensors to give trouble. .. Don't get me wrong these transmissions work very well from New but I believe they need more tlc to last longer... Tell me how your sensors or TCM hold out after 10 years.

I also want to know if there is any credibility to VW going back to single turbo over the twin charger setup. ...I've read enough complaints online about how complicated the twin setup is and how costly repairs are

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2014, 11:49 pm

And the transmission in other cars is controlled by fairies?

Single turbo engines are dependent on chassis design. Twincharger is still used for the Jetta despite the old articles you read stating they would be phased out by 2012 or whatever. Haven't heard of cases locally where the twincharger has given problems but in your case it might be best to stick to a simpler set up for peace of mind? 2014 corolla maybe?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 25th, 2014, 11:52 pm

I sense some slight sarcasm there Bunny? :lol:
Btw, from which year has the Jetta tranny issue been rectified ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 25th, 2014, 11:59 pm

As per usual locally recalls never seem to apply. How this happens is beyond me. Abroad it mostly affected pre 2011 models. Have heard of three owners locally having their trannies repaired under warranty. Been trying to get accurate figures but it seems people don't post unless something is wrong so haven't heard of en masse issues with the local Jetta transmission.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 26th, 2014, 12:09 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:And the transmission in other cars is controlled by fairies?

Fluid pressure and kickdown cable based on cable throttle input...Just saying that some cars don't have a computer dedicated only to the transmission but I bet you already knew that :smile:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 26th, 2014, 12:55 am

If you want to stick with simpler transmissions that have little to no computer or electronic input I suggest you do not sell that 10 year plus corolla ever and never upgrade.

All car companies are introducing more complicated electromechanical transmissions. The whole Mazda and volkswagen line up now have mechatronic units in their transmissions. CVT's which nissan, toyota and subaru are invested in are electro-mechanical in their operation.

No one makes cars anymore that do not have electrical sensors and ecu input to the transmissions.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 26th, 2014, 1:54 am

With respect to the 1.4 twin charged engine being phased out its being used now around 5 years and won various awards. In 2011 there have been reports that the engine would be phased out within a year yet its still going strong.

Of course all engines need to be phased out eventually and be replaced with more efficient and more powerful engines. This won't be for another few years ...
Also these engines are manufactured in Chemnitz in Germany, and german workmanship and manufacturing is legendary. I would expect other parts of the car that were manufactured outside to fail first.

shade360

Postby shade360 » March 26th, 2014, 3:28 am

Does anyone know if N&M will be bringing in the face-lifted Navara anytime soon or ever.
This one below
Updated-Navara-2.jpg

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 26th, 2014, 8:20 am

Last I spoke to the reps there they gave some round about excuse saying they will not be brining it In..something about region the vans are brought from

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 26th, 2014, 8:36 am

Typical of N&M to bring the 'new' model 6 years after the fact and charge top dollar. Look how long it take them o bring tiida when is was available roro for years.

Look how they still trying to shovel off all dem ole ass navara amidst facelifts/updates from all the competitors.

Look how long the new Sentra out and ot cyah reach a showroom yet. Fail.

Dunno why i beatin up so tho, i doh buy new... :/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 26th, 2014, 10:03 pm

They hadda sell out all the old stock they have first ... they have piles and piles of those navara's in stock because they anticipated that people would flock to diesel pick ups.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 26th, 2014, 10:10 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Typical of N&M to bring the 'new' model 6 years after the fact and charge top dollar. Look how long it take them o bring tiida when is was available roro for years.

Look how they still trying to shovel off all dem ole ass navara amidst facelifts/updates from all the competitors.

They brought the Tiida here since PBZ plates... and they had a batch of Sentras already since last year.

shade360

Postby shade360 » March 26th, 2014, 11:01 pm

Going to call Maska in the morning, hopefully they bringing in manual Navs (face-lift). not a fan of all the frills that come on the van though, but maybe some of it can come off. Prefer the stock look..

M.Rampersad only bringing in automatic and they are out of stock until May, they said.

I'm even thinking Ranger now, even though i'm not gonna be doing any towing, would the difference between the 2.2 and 3.2 be substantial, don't want to be midnight dragging or anything, just a little more confident drive.

Has anyone driven the 2 and can share their experience?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 27th, 2014, 7:02 am

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Typical of N&M to bring the 'new' model 6 years after the fact and charge top dollar. Look how long it take them o bring tiida when is was available roro for years.

certain parts of south don't know yet that you can buy an automatic 2wd pickup to parade in gulf city mall yet. So whether they find out NM have facelift or not, them buying one time and slapping in the DVD deck and blue HID's.

Postby S_2NR » March 27th, 2014, 10:32 am

acesinghit wrote:

certain parts of south don't know yet that you can buy an automatic 2wd pickup to parade in gulf city mall yet. So whether they find out NM have facelift or not, them buying one time and slapping in the DVD deck and blue HID's.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » March 28th, 2014, 12:27 pm

shade360 wrote:Going to call Maska in the morning, hopefully they bringing in manual Navs (face-lift). not a fan of all the frills that come on the van though, but maybe some of it can come off. Prefer the stock look..

M.Rampersad only bringing in automatic and they are out of stock until May, they said.

I'm even thinking Ranger now, even though i'm not gonna be doing any towing, would the difference between the 2.2 and 3.2 be substantial, don't want to be midnight dragging or anything, just a little more confident drive.

Has anyone driven the 2 and can share their experience?

First of all...if you want a real off-road manual pickup full of adventure and packed with features...then u would want to wait on the Volkswagen Amarok which will arrive by the 3rd quarter of 2014. No pricing yet, all I know is that we will be very competitive.

Secondly....yes I did went for a test drive with the 2.2 Ford Ranger and the Rep drove it first to 'show me' that u have to drive it in tiptronic to get the power. IMO when I did drive it is, yes that 2.2 is way to under powered for that big vehicle. I am sure the 3.2 would be more substantial.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 28th, 2014, 1:50 pm

I drove the Amarok in another Caribbean island and I can assure you, despite being a VAG customer it is in absolutely no class as the Ranger/BT-50 twins and the Colorado/D-Max twins. The Amarok cannot touch a BT-50 in tried and tested commercial use nor power nor handling nor interior comfort and features. You all have to price that pickup so competitive that it'll sway potential Ranger buyers etc..even the 9yr old Hilux designed interior is nicer. Johnny come lately Amarok cannot upset the dance jus so unless the dance floor have sporteros and navaras only.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 28th, 2014, 4:48 pm

The Amarok is overrated

dogichi

Postby dogichi » March 28th, 2014, 6:30 pm

People might buy one or two Amarok to try it out. But the competition out there fierce....good luck VW

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 29th, 2014, 10:47 am

The amarok in all the reviews appears to be the best driving dynamics on the road. Since alot of people don't even use these vehicle for work or off road I think it should do well. It supposed to have a a 2.0 but its a bi turbo set up.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 29th, 2014, 12:55 pm

Those jettas will never sell well here either. Maybe 5,6 but that's it.