T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 18th, 2014, 1:20 pm

LalChun wrote:Lulz@ beat up

:lol: and at the end of the day they still ain't buying anything.

Honest question to the experts, why do I need more than a 4speed tranny on a vehicle that will be stuck in traffic most times, won't be raced and won't be required to pull a large load? I noticed drchaos and a few others point this out as a downside

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 18th, 2014, 1:30 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Honest question to the experts, why do I need more than a 4speed tranny on a vehicle that will be stuck in traffic most times, won't be raced and won't be required to pull a large load? I noticed drchaos and a few others point this out as a downside

To me, it isn't number of gears. CVT all the way.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 18th, 2014, 1:36 pm

DJ Q wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

To me, it isn't number of gears. CVT all the way.

But even in the conditions described the benefits of cvt would be very marginal no?

Exotic KarZ

Postby Exotic KarZ » March 18th, 2014, 1:54 pm

Japanese cars beat all others. Just ask the people who own Mercedes, Audi and BMW. They know in their minds that Japanese care are more value for money

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 18th, 2014, 2:02 pm

Exotic KarZ wrote:Japanese cars beat all others. Just ask the people who own Mercedes, Audi and BMW. They know in their minds that Japanese care are more value for money

Yea hoss I wish I had a teana vs an e240, idk wtf I was thinking na.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 18th, 2014, 2:13 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Having more gears aids in efficiency. As engines utilize every drop of fuel more efficiently and as it 'breathes' better, the by-product is economy and power. You simply need a transmission to pair with this so the combination wouldn't rob the motor's true potential. That's why the typical 6AT equipped vehicle today is not only more powerful than versions before but they're very efficient on gas eg. elantra, cerato, cruze, sonic, focus and octavia from an entry level standpoint.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 18th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Exotic KarZ wrote:Japanese cars beat all others. Just ask the people who own Mercedes, Audi and BMW. They know in their minds that Japanese care are more value for money

BEST FACT ON THIS FORUM.....

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 18th, 2014, 4:26 pm

Is the price listed for the M class the 2013 model?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 18th, 2014, 9:03 pm

anybody heard about LM offereing free service parts and labour on the 2014 vitara for 3 years?

any thoughts on the 2014 Vitara?>

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 18th, 2014, 9:32 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:anybody heard about LM offereing free service parts and labour on the 2014 vitara for 3 years?

any thoughts on the 2014 Vitara?>

Good solid vehicle. Ok ride. Bland, dated interior. Slow like hell with that 2.0 engine. Fuel economy a little more on the higher end.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 18th, 2014, 10:15 pm

HAHAHAHAHA :) You should do stand up comedy!

Value for money? if you considering value for money then you should look at the market segment that the car is vying for. BMW, Audi and Mercedes are in the luxury segment and the only japanese car brand that occupies a space in the segment in Trinidad & Tobago is Lexus.
Lets compare, lexus GS is equivalent to a BMW 5 series, the audi A6 and the Mercedes E class.
Lexus GS = $850,000 to $895,000
Mercesdes E class = $680,000
Audi A6 = $542,000
BMW 5 series = $630,000
Horse If I buy euro Luxury vs Japanese Luxury I still have money left over to buy a Corolla to beat up as my every day driver in traffic.
If I buy Japanese Luxury instead I would be a jack a@* and everyone would laugh at me for getting REAL VALUE for my money!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 18th, 2014, 10:23 pm

The sgv is seldom talked about...the only model that matters to me currently is the 2.4 which is 339k. That and the t31 2.5 xtrail for 360k are the best in their class IMO. Together these two have been in the market for a total of 15yrs and they are still very competitive. Well done!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 18th, 2014, 10:23 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

I speak for myself sorry, I do not drive in traffic cause of my shift work (only on the road during non peak times) so my 7 speed dsg is alot of fun. 4 speed autos are ancient and while reliable offer very little fun factor and poor fuel economy vs its new rivals. Even if you have to deal with bad traffic a 6 speed auto would serve you much better as you not stuck in traffic all the time.
Also the newer transmission have lock up torque converters that are way more fuel efficient than ordinary torque converters. Gas prices going up soon eh boss!

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » March 18th, 2014, 11:02 pm

On how's long there suspension and parts last

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » March 18th, 2014, 11:06 pm

allblacks wrote:
spaceman24 wrote:Toyota Nissan Mitsubishi and Honda they all have third world countries standard , first world standard are more solid vehicles where by what we get here are very low cost vehicles , meaning the brands are almost the same in comparison if you check the durability , but European vehicles are 1 standard , especially BMW Audi and Benz , check the guarantee on those , like 10 years on Benz 5 on bmw,

Really....When you say 'guarantee' what exactly do you mean?
meaning how long they last , when last you saw a 2010 or newer euro vehicle sling up for repairs , not here hero,

dogichi

Postby dogichi » March 19th, 2014, 6:11 am

What are the prices of the Range Rover Evoque, the 3 packages - Pure, Dynamic and the Prestige? What's the drive like, fuel economy, value for money? Any owners?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 19th, 2014, 6:23 am

spaceman24 wrote:
allblacks wrote:
spaceman24 wrote:Toyota Nissan Mitsubishi and Honda they all have third world countries standard , first world standard are more solid vehicles where by what we get here are very low cost vehicles , meaning the brands are almost the same in comparison if you check the durability , but European vehicles are 1 standard , especially BMW Audi and Benz , check the guarantee on those , like 10 years on Benz 5 on bmw,

Really....When you say 'guarantee' what exactly do you mean?
meaning how long they last , when last you saw a 2010 or newer euro vehicle sling up for repairs , not here hero,

2010? Lol. That's basically a new car still

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » March 20th, 2014, 10:05 pm

Anyone know the price of the ford ranger (the normal low one) u gotta excuse me never owned an van in my life so don't know what's it's called. I have been seeing them a lot on the road these days an I'm interested in getting one for work (time to give my car back seat a rest).

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2014, 10:52 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone know the price of the ford ranger (the normal low one) u gotta excuse me never owned an van in my life so don't know what's it's called. I have been seeing them a lot on the road these days an I'm interested in getting one for work (time to give my car back seat a rest).

Normal low one is called a "lowlux" and high one is a "hilux".... :lol:

scotty_buttons

NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » March 20th, 2014, 11:28 pm

I'm seeing lifestyle bringing in a Swift sedan? Priced at around 145k. Not bad pricing but not as handsome as the hatch though.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » March 20th, 2014, 11:50 pm

Gladiator wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone know the price of the ford ranger (the normal low one) u gotta excuse me never owned an van in my life so don't know what's it's called. I have been seeing them a lot on the road these days an I'm interested in getting one for work (time to give my car back seat a rest).

Normal low one is called a "lowlux" and high one is a "hilux".... :lol:

I know that for toyota lol but whats it called in the ford world

Postby equipped2ripp » March 21st, 2014, 12:05 am

commercial grade

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 21st, 2014, 10:01 am

Actually I've been hearing a lot of people referring to commercial vans as the "lowlux" model :lol:

karl

Postby karl » March 21st, 2014, 10:06 am

I think ford calls them hi rider/ low rider , not sure tho

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 22nd, 2014, 5:09 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I'm seeing lifestyle bringing in a Swift sedan? Priced at around 145k. Not bad pricing but not as handsome as the hatch though.

Looks like a tiida raped a swift and that is the ugly child produced

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 22nd, 2014, 6:06 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:I'm seeing lifestyle bringing in a Swift sedan? Priced at around 145k. Not bad pricing but not as handsome as the hatch though.

Looks like a tiida raped a swift and that is the ugly child produced

:lol: couldn't have said it better.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 22nd, 2014, 6:50 pm

And with a 1.2 engine from what I saw on Facebook.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » March 22nd, 2014, 7:50 pm

A 1.2L engine......where you going with that? Stay away from hills and don't use any A/C when TRYING to overtake...if that is even possible...lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 22nd, 2014, 9:03 pm

Plenty march and spark made it to maracas and over lady young for example.....why not a 1.2 swift?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » March 22nd, 2014, 9:29 pm

I ain't saying it can't....but it will be painfully slow and lazy. I'll pass on that form of torture anyday.