T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 13th, 2014, 3:43 pm

But the lines are all diff... Lemme hush mih kornt yes.

Postby cinco » March 13th, 2014, 4:09 pm

nah man kurps
they barely different
BARELY

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 13th, 2014, 4:53 pm

I understand the Seventh generation Sentra hasn't even been formally launched yet by N&M and they're already available RORO???

dogichi

Postby dogichi » March 13th, 2014, 6:31 pm

Let talk good cars nah fellas.....Corolla and Yaris redesign utter failures, interior fail, performance fail. And when you have a million corolla and Yaris on the road, your resale value will drop because of competition to attract buyers...just look at Trinicars

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 13th, 2014, 7:51 pm

This new corolla looks like a 2005 prototype that they found in the bottom of a filing cabinet and decide to make. With Nissan absent from this category since they still have these managers testing those sentra appliances we not even sure if or when they would get the future taxi and bandit car of this country. Next we have a civic that is virtually a market flop. The lancer is now a grandpa in terms of age since it's launch and then we have this stunning Mazda 3 that is packaged wrong. See why elantras, ceratos, cruzes and jettas selling so well? It appears resale value is reserved for sufferers.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 13th, 2014, 8:29 pm

You should see the comments on their Facebook page. Toyota buyers do not care about value for money. Name is all that matters.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 13th, 2014, 11:11 pm

Skyactiv is GDI tech.

Dont cry over it. The greater lot dont know how to maintain it so this is a smart move by SS.

Ill take my corolla with drum brakes, unpainted door handles and hubcaps as per usual thnx.

Postby cinco » March 14th, 2014, 12:20 am

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Skyactiv is GDI tech.

WHAT???

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 14th, 2014, 7:44 am

cinco wrote:
de_dougla_smurf wrote:Skyactiv is GDI tech.

WHAT???

Everybody who coas on GDI when it came in d Sharks runnin to buy that tech now.

Mazda, Hyundai, Kia, Ford, VW and a few others all use licensed GDI technology from Mitsubishi

SkyActiv, FSI, Ecotec, EcoBoost, Toyota D4, and a few others are all GDI tech.

The Class leading 2.0T Hyundai Sonata's engine @ 274bhp is a turbocharged 4G94 GDI (which was in n/a 2.0 Galants 13 years ago).

How do u think those ceratos have 130bhp so easily. GDI my friend

Postby noshownogo » March 14th, 2014, 7:55 am

Sorry but this is mess you speakith

Apples and old Oranges

Postby j.o.e » March 14th, 2014, 8:21 am

Direct injection been around long time uncle. Just because the first Japs that used it was the ill fated shark mouth don't mean it's Mitsubishi tech. Had road cars with direct injection years prior to that.
And skyactiv tech goes waaay past Direct injection anyway.
And Koreans have always been using old engines from Mitsubishi even before the rise in their popularity. But gdi is exactly that a old engine.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » March 14th, 2014, 10:30 am

At 180 k ill take my ford focus, funny looking elantra and maybe push a lil for my slow but sexy cerato thank you very much. or downsize and go for that sexy little fiesta or rio, pity we dont get the fiesta st...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 14th, 2014, 10:35 am

Focus is 180k?

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » March 14th, 2014, 11:22 am

my bad might be close to 200 k now

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 14th, 2014, 12:36 pm

dougla smurf is not entirely wrong.

Mitsubishi GDI engines available in the roro Galant and Cedia's about a decade ago were more efficient engines than the normal MPI versions. As a result some of the GDI versions were slightly more powerful. Similar technology was in the Nissan NEO Di engines eg. QR20DD right down to the QG line. The reason why they were "problematic" is the typical mango tree mechanic did not have the tools, experience, equipment and general know how to fix said engines when trouble came. In fact, bamboo support for parts was also limited/rare. That's why those lancer boys prefer the 4g15 non gdi and the 4g18.

The local Hyundai/Kia line-up petrol engines do not have GDI technology. We get the MPI versions but instead of no and in recent cases single VVT (exhaust), these new Korean engines come with twin or dual VVT (intake and exhaust). That is why the output is 130ps or 128hp.

Mazda decided to join late but they incorporated the "skyactiv" name to be the general reference to a soup of technology enhancements to the vehicle platform as well as the transmission.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 14th, 2014, 1:04 pm

Postby noshownogo » March 14th, 2014, 1:09 pm

Wait, audio controls on the steering of a Corolla 8-)

tmack

Postby tmack » March 14th, 2014, 1:44 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Focus is 180k?

Yeah Sales rep told me 'cash only' it's 189K With 'Premium Care' it's 199K. I'm seriously considering, but then I saw the 'upgrade' can someone help with embedding pics? I've got the link for the new 2015 Focus here RE: http://www.caradvice.com.au/271758/ford ... small-car/ or you can try this link here RE: http://www.thetorquereport.com/2014/02/ ... l_thr.html

tmack

Postby tmack » March 14th, 2014, 1:45 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:my bad might be close to 200 k now

Renaldo, you're not totally wrong, just about 9K short!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 14th, 2014, 1:49 pm

Direct inject is old tech and diesel has been using it for years , most of the problems associated with it have also been worked through. The biggest being carbon deposits on the valves. When toyota finally adopts this tech in their engines the next big thing should be mainstream, That should be HCCI (gas engines without spark plug ignition) and 5 stroke engines.

Mazda showing of their vehicles in Price Plaza Chaguanas!

Postby gastly369 » March 14th, 2014, 2:28 pm

noshownogo wrote:Wait, audio controls on the steering of a Corolla 8-)

cable from steering to HU optional accessory :lol:

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 15th, 2014, 10:40 am

Thanks for clarifying. I may have painted it with too broad a brush but I should have specified Direct Injection as opposed to the copyrighted 'GDI' marquee.

Nevertheless, we are not ready to own and maintain this technology.

Furthermore, the dealerships are glad for our general backwardness as they can import 2nd and 3rd grade cars, 5-6 years after it was globally marketed, while charging MORE than first grade price and we still run to our banks and credit unions and buy it.

Maybe i should deal with this in another thread...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 17th, 2014, 3:08 pm

Once again TTTL is playing the ass....The GLI "High Spec" is being sold for $210,500.00. For this price you get apart from the obvious:

- 1.6 Dual VVIT
- 4 SPEED AUTO T'MISSION.
-9 airbags
-Vehicle stablilty control
-Speed sensitive steering.
-15' rims.

That's it. Keep in mind this vehicle is manufactured in Thailand. The battery (GS) and Bridgestone tires are made in Thiland.

TTTL refuses to bring the CVT equipped version.

These cars are entry level cars in the North American market. I rather import a Corolla Axio out of Japan which is manufactured by Kanto auto works in Japan any day for around half the cost.

The 2013 Bluebird Sylphy (Sentra) seems to be the way to go foreign used for around $130K landed and on the road.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 17th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Further to the above the high end model has steering controls and a 6 speaker stereo system. The basic version has a 4 speaker system. At least the base comes with a tach vs the model of yore. The front and rear lights resemble the chevy cruze especially the way it flows into the fenders. The interior is very simple in design. Best of luck Toyota.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 17th, 2014, 10:59 pm

They still gonna sell like whoa.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 18th, 2014, 12:27 am

You had me at 4 SPEED AUTO TRANSMISSION

Entry level in the north american market? they would'nt dare bring a 1.6 anywhere near the US, they would be laughed at.

Also is speed sensitive steering a special feature? I think its standard on all cars now a days just like how cars have 4 wheels.

But must commend them for the 9 airbags! Thats impressive!

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » March 18th, 2014, 12:37 am

Toyota Nissan Mitsubishi and Honda they all have third world countries standard , first world standard are more solid vehicles where by what we get here are very low cost vehicles , meaning the brands are almost the same in comparison if you check the durability , but European vehicles are 1 standard , especially BMW Audi and Benz , check the guarantee on those , like 10 years on Benz 5 on bmw,

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 18th, 2014, 12:53 am

More expensive vehicle has higher build quality. News at 11.

We really comparing manufacturers that target different significantly different markets and expect the same results?

Wake me up when BMW makes a car selling locally in the 180K to 210K price point.

LalChun

Postby LalChun » March 18th, 2014, 6:41 am

Lulz@ beat up

allblacks

Postby allblacks » March 18th, 2014, 11:02 am

spaceman24 wrote:Toyota Nissan Mitsubishi and Honda they all have third world countries standard , first world standard are more solid vehicles where by what we get here are very low cost vehicles , meaning the brands are almost the same in comparison if you check the durability , but European vehicles are 1 standard , especially BMW Audi and Benz , check the guarantee on those , like 10 years on Benz 5 on bmw,

Really....When you say 'guarantee' what exactly do you mean?