T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » February 6th, 2014, 5:41 am

Fit, finish, style, drive of an Audi I will take over any VW any day Renaldo.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 6th, 2014, 5:42 am

And if Audi isn't worth my dollar....there is always BMW and Mercedes to choose from

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 6th, 2014, 7:16 am

if you comparing a 2014 A4 to a 2008 Jetta then yes I agree with the fit and finish part but for example, comparing the current Passat to an A4 does not reveal a clear advantage to the A4 IMO.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 6th, 2014, 7:37 am

Strange, I have looked at the new passat and Jetta.....and they don't appeal to me like an Audi does

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 6th, 2014, 7:42 am

dogichi wrote:Strange, I have looked at the new passat and Jetta.....and they don't appeal to me like an Audi does

Cuz you're a brand snob :D
I'll give you styling with respect to Audi but the debate gets muddled when it comes to ride and performance. It get's downright ugly when you know the same part nos. on the VW are in the Audi.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 6th, 2014, 8:35 am

dogichi wrote:Audis are pretty reliable, Southern Sales service sucks though...they don't do justice to the brand.

Could not of said it better, now in 7 years ownership of a B7 A4 I have only had one major problem other than that its been smooth sailing currently looking to purchase a A3 sedan either 2.0TDI or 1.8T, I genuinely enjoy driving these vehicles.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » February 6th, 2014, 9:41 am

mammoo wrote:The Track and Field is by Special Order only, reason being is that the demand for that Model has been considerably slow, so we have decided to take special orders only.

I actually prefer the Track & Field front fascia but, weirdly enough I find the current model Tiguan looks very plain unless you move up to the Sport & Style or R-line. I think what they are missing is the chrome around the windows, it make the car look quite a bit more premium.

mammoo wrote:This new model R-Line Tiguan didn't have the option for 19" Rims and also in our opinion here at BA, the 18" Mallory Wheels are much better looking and the ride is better (more tire to absorb our bad roads).

Agreed the ride quality would be a lot better on 18"s over 19"s and for our market the high profile is probably necessary. The look however I must disagree. They are both Mallorys (look at the US & UK spec, same rim) just different sizes and the 19" 255/40/19 looks very nice from behind.

mammoo wrote:Also, we don't compare the Audi Q3 to a Tiguan. The Q3 is wayyyyy smaller than the Tiguan. The Q3 size is comparable with the Nissan Juke. And as for what you're getting in a Tiguan R-Line, the Q3 with those options would be more than $500k IMO.

Well, I personally don't think that is the right approach because BA may not compare the Q3 and the Tiguan but people purchasing a small luxury euro crossover do compare them. Maybe I'm just the ignorant customer but, who does the Tiguan Sport & Style/R-line really compare too? Don't want to bare the bad news but, most of my colleagues, friends & myself included who own Tiguan's currently when it comes time for an upgrade are looking at the Audi Q3 @$426,000 & the larger Audi Q5 @ $495,000. That's all with 4 year warrantees.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 6th, 2014, 11:17 am

He's got a point ... 4 year warranty!

Step up your game VW!

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » February 6th, 2014, 2:26 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
dogichi wrote:Strange, I have looked at the new passat and Jetta.....and they don't appeal to me like an Audi does

Cuz you're a brand snob :D
I'll give you styling with respect to Audi but the debate gets muddled when it comes to ride and performance. It get's downright ugly when you know the same part nos. on the VW are in the Audi.

My point exactly...

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 6th, 2014, 5:14 pm

Yeah I do like Audis, brand snob.... yes hands down. But I don't like all Audis, the A1 and Q7 comes to mind. The only vehicle I like from VW is the Golf GTi. Wouldn't mind owning one of those.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 6th, 2014, 10:51 pm

How does one not love the Q7 :shock:

NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 6th, 2014, 10:58 pm

DJ Q wrote:How does one not love the Q7 :shock:

Q7 is a fat obzucky minivan looking thing. Porsche cayenne looks and SOUNDS way better on d same platform. VW touareg looks immensely better as well on d same platform.

Q7 is fuh when yuh have plenty money and have given up on life.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 6th, 2014, 11:52 pm

Q7 sits better on the highway than a Cayenne, but both are the same more or less. All 3 share the same platform, and the most common ones here are the same 3.0TDi V6.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2014, 12:13 am

Define "sits better on the highway"

Postby equipped2ripp » February 7th, 2014, 1:26 am

heavier, feels more stable and more solid.

so I was told.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 7th, 2014, 5:29 am

The Q7 is ugly and disproportionate. The Porsche Cayenne take win in that category. The Touareg not too shabby either.

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2014, 6:14 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
DJ Q wrote:How does one not love the Q7 :shock:

Q7 is a fat obzucky minivan looking thing. Porsche cayenne looks and SOUNDS way better on d same platform. VW touareg looks immensely better as well on d same platform.

Q7 is fuh when yuh have plenty money and have given up on life.

I agree Q7 looks like a fat swell up station wagon. Touareg does it better and Cayenne has more exotic flair.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » February 7th, 2014, 7:56 am

I love the Porsche Macan though.....that should be coming soon to our shores. That is a nice compact SUV, with a serious attitude

RectifierREVZ

Postby RectifierREVZ » February 7th, 2014, 9:11 am

Are prices VAT inclusive? Excellent info...in the process of selecting a car and this is very helpful.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 7th, 2014, 10:01 am

Have to disagree.
After sitting in a Q7 & a Touareg... Q7 was much more comfortable.
Never sat in a Cayenne so I can't compare.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 7th, 2014, 10:26 am

Don't think anyone was saying it was uncomfortable.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 7th, 2014, 10:31 am

Personally liked the Q7 family had one for a little and it was comfortable, the diesel version had a nice torque line, however the thing felt like you were driving the titanic, while the easy steering more than made up for it the sheer size was a problem used to have to MacGyver myself out of parking spots in Valpark but I guess that's for any full size vehicle in Valpark, but put it on the highway and you feel like you are in the safest place on earth.
All in all not so good for small places but highway runs were lovely especially when you look at the Fuel Gauge and it barely moved that was excellent for the odd Toco run.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 7th, 2014, 10:39 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Don't think anyone was saying it was uncomfortable.

My bad, I guess sometimes features & comfort sometimes outweigh looks and power for me personally.

Emilio_og13

Postby Emilio_og13 » February 7th, 2014, 8:59 pm

Price update, full loaded d max from isuzu 330k

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » February 7th, 2014, 9:33 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:heavier, feels more stable and more solid.

so I was told.

They were wrong...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 7th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Only in Trinidad is a heavier vehicle considered better. Meanwhile all manufacturers trying to make their vehicles lose weight.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » February 7th, 2014, 11:10 pm

i must admit im a fan of the Q7. Yes it costs a fortune, yes its about the size of the treasure queen, but when you really really dont give a sh&t. You buy one. Btw as we mention the porsce macan any ideas on probable pricing? seeing as the cayenne is a mil maybe 600-800 k to rival the evoque seeing as their about the same size and aiming at the same market?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 8th, 2014, 12:36 am

the Porsche cayenne rivals the bmw x6 and x5 as the MOST stable SUV's on the planet. For those saying otherwise because they simply heard differently should go drive it themselves and form your own opinion. After driving a Cayenne v6 with upgraded wheels I realized that there is an emphasis on Sport, little in Utility and plenty Vehicle wrt to luxury and performance. Now Imagine if I drove the V8 and v8 turbo version!!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 8th, 2014, 12:48 pm

checked out Mazda, got these prices:
Mazda 6:
2.0L @ $315
2.5L @ $375
Very handsome vehicle inside and out.

CX-5:
2WD @ $335K
4WD @ $410K
If I felt like I really wanted a small, Japanese vehicle and was willing to pay over $400K for it, this would be my pick.

BT-50:
2.2L Automatic @ $283K
3.2L Automatic @ $312K
Vast improvement in refinement and space over the previous version, but the exterior styling isn't for me. Oh and yes, you need your Heavy T license for this and the Ranger.

Postby cinco » February 8th, 2014, 12:52 pm

What engine is in the cx5? 80k difference just for 4wd is ridiculous. Unless there are other differences?