Old School Projects

king bob

Re: Old School Projects

Postby king bob » November 19th, 2011, 9:45 pm

19 years, eh? That explains it...

i may b young bt i love old cars. so as long a meh financials workin out i in ah gear

nigie

Postby nigie » November 19th, 2011, 10:01 pm

:shock: love old cars? and u were about 2 sell the hunter???? :shock:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 19th, 2011, 11:27 pm

king bob wrote:lol
thxx dude, every dog cat and timmy tellin me put a sr in it or a bule bird. bt that's no fun 2 me so afert seein those pics i on d hunt 4 a pinto engine

Good thinking, lad. A couple fellahs I know went the route of the SR (one ran a fully modded Datsun engine and the other ran a Pinto) and now they are hunting down the old accessories (side-draughts, manifolds, headers, etc.) that they sold to buy their SRs and turbos... :lol:
They both miss the ol' torque... (Don't get me wrong, the SR is a strong engine, but there is NO replacing the performance of the pre-emission control engines - over-square cylinders were perfect for torque production, but were phased out from the market due to their inability to conform to emission laws).

The neat thing about the hunger the young 'uns have for SRs and RBs is that carbs, headers (we call 'em extractors), side-draughts and their manifolds, are being literally thrown away. For less than the cost of a turbo, one can buy ALL the power-adders one needs to modify a carb engine!
2 litre Pintos cost pennies to acquire. I have paid $500 for one complete, with a 1600 gearbox as well... my first one cost me $300... one with a transmission and front cradle cost $1500 (that block is to be turbo-charged)... three blocks and a heap of Ford stuff cost $1500 in a scrap yard...

An elderly fellow in South was selling a fully equipped 2 litre for $2500 (extractors et al) but he changed his mind and stuck it in a car...

Keep your eyes open. Look for old Cortinas languishing in forgotten spots.
Last edited by d spike on November 19th, 2011, 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 19th, 2011, 11:35 pm

Spike when next u going shopping ...send me a pm...

Postby wagonrunner » November 20th, 2011, 1:24 am

d spike wrote:They both miss the ol' torque... (Don't get me wrong, the SR is a strong engine, but there is NO replacing the performance of the pre-emission control engines - over-square cylinders were perfect for torque production, but were phased out from the market due to their inability to conform to emission laws).

Indeed. Ecology and performance are at opposite ends of the scale.

king bob

Postby king bob » November 20th, 2011, 8:25 am

hmm. well look who going scrap yard huntin nw!! (this fellow) bt all in all which should be done first engine or body cus it startin 2 rot on me again T_T

d spike

Postby d spike » November 21st, 2011, 12:59 pm

king bob wrote:hmm. well look who going scrap yard huntin nw!! (this fellow) bt all in all which should be done first engine or body cus it startin 2 rot on me again T_T

Depends on what you can afford (and that is both time and money).
It doesn't make sense for you to start rubbing down a car in the open and then leave her for a while, allowing the elements to have their way with her...
If she is under shelter, then you can start on the bodywork (halting the deterioration before it gets worse is important, even if it's just sanding down to metal followed by rust-proofing) and this can be done at your leisure and doesn't cost much dollar-wise - unless your idea of doing work is paying someone else to do it.
The same can be said about the engine. Time is what is spent in hunting down an old power-plant. Depending on where you are based, advice can be given concerning where to look. South has better hunting-grounds, but there are places to look in the North as well. Send a PM if you prefer details.
Stripping down a Pinto is relatively easy - provided you have the tools (few, but necessary) and have done this sort of thing before (or you have guidance).
Stripping and cleaning the block can be done at your leisure as well - it's best not to rush that anyway. Also, you might most likely buy a working engine that probably wouldn't need overhauling - unless you want to go out screaming tyres from the yard first time (certainly NOT a good idea in my book - the unaccustomed torque alone would have you end up as a smear on the tarmac).

Cheers

king bob

Postby king bob » November 21st, 2011, 7:26 pm

i sent the pm. bt as i said a project car to me means sweat blood and time.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 21st, 2011, 10:52 pm

king bob wrote:i sent the pm. bt as i said a project car to me means sweat blood and time.

Glad to hear it! Of late, I have met far too many fellahs who talk about modding their car, but actually mean signing a cheque for someone else to do it. Their idea of working on a car is lifting a pen. It's good to know that bennin' spanner is not the dying art form I feared it was!

PM sent. Good luck!

d spike

Postby d spike » November 21st, 2011, 11:07 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Aye aye.
welcome to wagonfold good sir. If only zodiaque could see you now.

What is "wagonfold"? Is that a group of people who own rice-burners that are longer than normal?
Dis ent no rice-burner, eh... dis is a real automobile... no wind-up, recycled soda-can engine surrounded by plastic boxes :lol:

nigie wrote:Spike when next u going shopping ...send me a pm...

Nigie, I need to get a pair of cylinder heads for a Ford 302 that we're dropping into a Mark III Cortina... link mih up nah (that's how it's said, right?)

king bob

Postby king bob » November 21st, 2011, 11:15 pm

bending spanner gettin cut on bolts washing grease off ur hands, seein more blood than grease and feelin accomplished

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2011, 11:31 pm

king bob wrote:bending spanner gettin cut on bolts washing grease off ur hands, seein more blood than grease and feelin accomplished

hummm u fixing car? or u in a scene from the movie 300?

king bob

Postby king bob » November 22nd, 2011, 6:24 am

jus workin on my hunter bt d trans bolts was in some tight places and i have bigish hands

king bob

Postby king bob » November 24th, 2011, 6:59 am

anyone interested in buyin a brindle pitt?

nigie

Postby nigie » November 26th, 2011, 7:04 pm

ANYWAYS .....RESTO COMMENCING JAN 2012....STAY TUNNED.... 8-)

Yeah ...this car is an excellent candidate for a REAL engine.. :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » November 26th, 2011, 7:22 pm

so we talkin restoration or restomod?

nigie

Postby nigie » November 26th, 2011, 7:35 pm

MG Man wrote:so we talkin restoration or restomod?

:cry: :cry: sniffffff.....restoration.... :cry: :cry:

Reds1060

Postby Reds1060 » November 27th, 2011, 12:14 am

Nice.......

d spike

Postby d spike » November 27th, 2011, 8:22 am

nigie wrote:
MG Man wrote:so we talkin restoration or restomod?

:cry: :cry: sniffffff.....restoration.... :cry: :cry:

Stop de bludclatt cryin'!!
What you want in there... a V8? or an ess-arr?
Seriously, you walk up to any decent-looking Minor... admiring the look... but you don't dare pop the bonnet, as that will pop the bubble, end the mystique. For you KNOW that under there is most likely a 120y engine. (Not that I have anything against that power-plant, for I love the sturdy little buggers.) One guy I know has put in a Toyota engine in order to get the cruise allowed by the fifth gear in a 5 speed box... but it was a 120y he had in before...

To see an original engine in a running Minor would be a pleasure.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 27th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Snifff..yes thats the original engine...and yes its (sniff)....working well...i need a hankie.....

January we will see if it moves from resto to RESTOMOD :twisted:

king bob

Postby king bob » November 27th, 2011, 4:08 pm

tuners. d bob in a predicament. ah gettin a 280c wid a straight 6 diesel engine automatic for a paritial teade 4 meh 626 dat eh wukin

king bob

Postby king bob » November 27th, 2011, 4:10 pm

nigie wrote: :shock: love old cars? and u were about 2 sell the hunter???? :shock:

nigie jed circumstances were against me in a verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry verrrrrrrrrrrrrrry bad way

nigie

Postby nigie » November 28th, 2011, 8:39 am

Yeah this Fordy should be cool with allyuh restoration freaks....

d spike

Postby d spike » November 28th, 2011, 4:36 pm

^^SWEET!!!!! This ol' higue approves.
Nigie, about those 302 heads... talk tuh meh nah.

Interested in a radical cam for the 2 litre Pinto?

nigie

Postby nigie » November 28th, 2011, 7:20 pm

[quote="d spike
Interested in a radical cam for the 2 litre Pinto?[/quote]

YES!!!!! YES!!!!! YEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

king bob

Postby king bob » November 28th, 2011, 8:40 pm

which 1 works best in a hunter without destroying it and with minimal mods
rb20, 25 or rd28??

Postby wagonrunner » November 28th, 2011, 8:43 pm

king bob wrote:which 1 works best in a hunter without destroying it and with minimal mods
rb20, 25 or rd28??

none of the above.

king bob

Postby king bob » November 28th, 2011, 9:59 pm

damn thxx >_<

d spike

Postby d spike » November 28th, 2011, 10:12 pm

nigie wrote:
d spike wrote:Interested in a radical cam for the 2 litre Pinto?

YES!!!!! YES!!!!! YEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

Alrighty then, I'm interested in where I could get a pair of cylinder heads for a Ford 302...
Can we talk?

d spike

Postby d spike » November 28th, 2011, 10:15 pm

king bob wrote:which 1 works best in a hunter without destroying it and with minimal mods
rb20, 25 or rd28??

none of the above.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: