T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby S_2NR » January 9th, 2014, 12:49 pm

acesinghit wrote:if the loaded elantra sedan is 220k and a cruze 1.8 is 239k then it appears a 2.0 coupe at $240k doesn't sound too bad however having officially entered Jetta territory would be owners would realize that despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

You guys still talking about who more reliable and which brand better in MY2014 really? Take my advise, when you sell your bamboo car or local used car from the 90's era and buy a new one in the showroom today be it Kia or Toyota they both would give you years of enjoyable trouble free motoring besides if there are any issues your dealer will fix them under warranty. No more need to hunt down parts in dollar savers/auto rama/bobby's/seenaths etc..

And what happens when the warranty is over?
Obviously replacing the parts won't be difficult thru the dealer but there is the question of, can the quality of Korean parts match up to the japs and the euros.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 1:11 pm

acesinghit wrote:the jetta is a sports car when compared to the cerato...

too much beat up for nothing....when you was racing lesser cars with ur pops primera yuh didn't feel you was jiving sports wagon? Now you get Cerato and I'm sure you may target some Wingroads and sheit but who cares...when you see a Jetta though you will calm down. Doh beat up, when I see the E250 and 320i I have to humble too.

But I wasn't comparing fan boy. I wasn't racing either. Just making a point how silly you sound for feeling satisfied your car can beat this car or that car. I don't target anything when I'm driving. I didn't buy a race car and I don't drive on a race track everyday. No need to beat up. Yes you drive a cheap, fast euro. EVERYONE knows. Give it a rest already.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 1:16 pm

Good point but who is to say it wouldn't? Many people buy Japanese cars local used, foreign used and brand new only to head back to the bamboo and purchase replacement maintenance parts and other body/mechanical parts (perhaps the car got into an accident). They buy these knock off Taiwanese and Korean parts in the bamboo and it works. Most parts in the bamboo are not original so I guess after 5-7 yrs when the loan pay off on a Korean car the owner can choose the same avenue to have it maintained in the Company or head back to the bamboo. Car already paid off for so the owner wouldn't mind using cheaper parts. Though Korean and European cars are much improved today I won't keep them for too long for those same reasons. We get so fickle now when loan done we done start to shop for the replacement..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2014, 1:24 pm

acesinghit wrote:word bunny but I still find it looks like an evil rodent.

To each his own. I do however prefer the previous body styling on the Cerato and Koup. Current Koup looks too similar to the 4 door. Previous Koup was a head turner. People would watch it and be like "WTF is that? A KIA? :shock: "

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 1:29 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
acesinghit wrote:word bunny but I still find it looks like an evil rodent.

To each his own. I do however prefer the previous body styling on the Cerato and Koup. Current Koup looks too similar to the 4 door. Previous Koup was a head turner. People would watch it and be like "WTF is that? A KIA? :shock: "

Agreed. The new koup looks too rio-ish. The old one had a more aggressive look.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 1:31 pm

metalgear I feel VERY comfortable that a 2010 car that cost about $220k back then could hold an Audi A6 2.0t to 100kmph in a sprint. If this is one of the factors that appealed to me in the purchase of my car who are you to question it? You racing daddy's primera is your scene who cares? You obviously have a problem with the Jetta so it means safely to say you taking beat-up to a whole new level.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2014, 1:37 pm

:drama:

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 1:42 pm

acesinghit wrote:metalgear I feel VERY comfortable that a 2010 car that cost about $220k back then could hold an Audi A6 2.0t to 100kmph in a sprint. If this is one of the factors that appealed to me in the purchase of my car who are you to question it? You racing daddy's primera is your scene who cares? You obviously have a problem with the Jetta so it means safely to say you taking beat-up to a whole new level.

Can you read?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 9th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Don't take metal gear seriously ... The guy has a one track mind about jetta's. He does not have the ability to understand pros and con's and the fact that people have different motivating factors in choosing vehicles.
For him its Lancer good ugh ... Jetta bad ugh!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 9th, 2014, 2:33 pm

Anyways ... I think the 1.6 turbo would have been the engine for our market. Even if they could have gotten it 280 that would have been perfect. A six second car for less than 280 would have been amazing

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 3:13 pm

metalgear the man who has been misreading my posts since previous page now asks me if I can read....like I've been saying before, doh beat up. I know deep down you really wanted the Jetta but say what better luck next time. Have some pride in your car at least, it could have been worse like a Versa. You kinda sound like a Versa driver though.

drchaos what 1.6t you refer of? I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of the 2014 Octavia. I heard its actually better than the Jetta. I also heard a rumour that the Cruze turbo may be here soon.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 9th, 2014, 4:56 pm

The cerato koupe have two engines they offer 1.6 turbo with 200 HP and the 2.0L NA

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 5:05 pm

acesinghit wrote:metalgear the man who has been misreading my posts since previous page now asks me if I can read....like I've been saying before, doh beat up. I know deep down you really wanted the Jetta but say what better luck next time. Have some pride in your car at least, it could have been worse like a Versa. You kinda sound like a Versa driver though.

drchaos what 1.6t you refer of? I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of the 2014 Octavia. I heard its actually better than the Jetta. I also heard a rumour that the Cruze turbo may be here soon.

I could have bought the jetta easily. Lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 7:53 pm

Metalgear sure you can I believe you.

Drchaos I welcome that idea. If that 1.6t graces our shores then we can expect same for the veloster.

Postby cinco » January 9th, 2014, 8:14 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:metalgear the man who has been misreading my posts since previous page now asks me if I can read....like I've been saying before, doh beat up. I know deep down you really wanted the Jetta but say what better luck next time. Have some pride in your car at least, it could have been worse like a Versa. You kinda sound like a Versa driver though.

I could have bought the jetta easily. Lol

doh waste yuh time metal.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 9th, 2014, 8:18 pm

acesinghit wrote:metalgear I feel VERY comfortable that a 2010 car that cost about $220k back then could hold an Audi A6 2.0t to 100kmph in a sprint. If this is one of the factors that appealed to me in the purchase of my car who are you to question it? You racing daddy's primera is your scene who cares? You obviously have a problem with the Jetta so it means safely to say you taking beat-up to a whole new level.

Honestly you taking the beatup intergalactic, go sprint to 100kmph in your $220k 2010 econobox and relax nuh mamoo.

Blood pressure medication expensive I heard.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 11:03 pm

kurpal how nice of you to show up. I will control your emotions too jelly or not. You should form an association so it'll make things easy for me as opposed to picking you all out one by one.

karl

Postby karl » January 9th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Settle it on a road, winner (jetta) gets pink slips loll

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2014, 11:35 pm

They should settle it in Drag and Wind...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 10th, 2014, 7:07 am

next thing he bring out a 2jz altezza for my tail sorry....

As for new car prices..

Mc Enearney put an add on the newspapers for this:

2014 Ford Fiesta 1.5
-Ford SYNC system
-Bluetooth
-reverse sensors
-6 speed multitronic
-6 speaker am/fm/cd/mp3/ipod
-4.2" information display
-steering controls
-anti-theft system
-ABS
-dual airbags
-15" rims
-5 years free service with parts
$169,000.

The 2013 model was a 1.4 with 7 airbags though and sold for $145-149k. If you all haven't seen this Fiesta yet it looks like an Aston Martin.

Postby noshownogo » January 10th, 2014, 7:26 am

err, the front grill looks like it was taken from an Aston. The rest of the car, not so much.

That's a great price for the Fiesta tho. I'd have the hatch with those same specs and some larger rims.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 10th, 2014, 7:35 am

The price just went up by more than 20 large ones and people on the forum say great price ... The mind is boggled :|

Postby noshownogo » January 10th, 2014, 7:39 am

Soul search, you'll see what I mean

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 10th, 2014, 7:41 am

That's cuz people don't care how much it went up by. Same for the cerato. Once it is below a certain price point they will say it good. Once it over a certain figure in their head it is not good.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 10th, 2014, 10:04 am

acesinghit wrote:kurpal how nice of you to show up. I will control your emotions too jelly or not. You should form an association so it'll make things easy for me as opposed to picking you all out one by one.

Still beating up buddy. I honestly avoid commenting here beacuse of your beatups and possible development of a heart condition.

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:They should settle it in Drag and Wind...

I drive an suv, iirc autosport wont allow me to run it, hell i wouldnt even try to run it on some turns :lol:

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 10th, 2014, 11:03 am

Not sure if was discussed before but got this in an email from SS.

KIA Cerato $205,000

The specs is as follows -

6 DOHC CVVT Engine- 130bhp
6Speed Tiptronic Transmission with Paddle Shifters
Smart key w Welcome Ligting System
4.3" Touch Screen Audio System with 6 Speakers
CD/MP3 w iPod /USB Port/ 500mb Internal Storage
Bluettoth Handsfree with On Screen Dailing
Steering Mounted Steroe Controls & Cruise Control
LED Daytime Running Lights, LED Rear Lights, Fog Lamps
6 Airbags ( Front, Side & Curtain)
Front and Rear Sensors with Camera
Cooling Glove Box
Power Drivers Seat with Memory

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 10th, 2014, 11:21 am

acesinghit wrote:Metalgear sure you can I believe you.

Drchaos I welcome that idea. If that 1.6t graces our shores then we can expect same for the veloster.

15%, 6/52 kid. Could have done it in half the time.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 10th, 2014, 11:22 am

kurpal a known forum troll avoiding me? and he says I does beat up? ROFL....

drchaos it appears the 20k price increase caters for free service and the additional 100cc in MVT. Is the entire package justified? I guess we'll see. The SX4, Accent, Sonic and Rio are cheaper but they don't come with free service.

If there was an award for the most consistent dealership in terms of brand pricing the award will go to LSM for Suzuki and Chevy. They don't seem to have the greedy syndrome yet.

SX4 hatchback 1.6 - $165k (16" rims, 4 disc brakes, fog lights, roof rack, cd/mp3 deck)
SX4 Sport Sedan 1.6 - $161k (17" rims, 4-disc brakes, flair kit, lip spoiler, fog lights, cd/mp3 deck)
Cruze LT - $210k (17" rims, leather, sunroof, push button start with proximity key; button press on each door handle like an Audi A4; fog lights, 4 disc brakes, am/fm/cd/mp3/usb stereo; LED indicators in the door mirros etc..)
Cruze LS - $180k (no leather or sunroof)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 10th, 2014, 12:04 pm

If there was an award for the most consistent dealership in terms of brand pricing the award will go to LSM for Suzuki and Chevy. They don't seem to have the greedy syndrome yet.

SX4 hatchback 1.6 - $165k (16" rims, 4 disc brakes, fog lights, roof rack, cd/mp3 deck)
SX4 Sport Sedan 1.6 - $161k (17" rims, 4-disc brakes, flair kit, lip spoiler, fog lights, cd/mp3 deck)

I don't agree.
Why is less car 4k more?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 10th, 2014, 12:38 pm

I won't say its less car in hatch vs the sedan. The hatch has the rack on top with a rear glass wiper. When seats are folded the boot space extends like a wagon. The only plus I see in the Sport is the 17" rims. I think essentially they both are the same package one more utility than the other.