T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2014, 4:23 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:Actually if you think about it 240 k for a 2 litre 2 door coupe isnt that bad....especially considering other 2 door coupes calling 400 k and up...the golf gti and toyota 86 come to mind...better performance perhaps but if you do a fair comparison thats really a very good deal imho...hopefully the 0-60 time is sub 9 seconds whichi would make it even more competitive...

better reliability and reputation with the 86 and the golf gti too

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » January 8th, 2014, 7:19 pm

reliability w/ these modern kias is pretty impressive from what ive been hearing, reputation however will of course be the thing. but given the leaps and bounds kia have made in such a short space of time i for one would take my chances...240k as compared to 440k? dont be afraid to try something new man...

Postby Morpheus » January 8th, 2014, 7:23 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Renaldo25 wrote:Actually if you think about it 240 k for a 2 litre 2 door coupe isnt that bad....especially considering other 2 door coupes calling 400 k and up...the golf gti and toyota 86 come to mind...better performance perhaps but if you do a fair comparison thats really a very good deal imho...hopefully the 0-60 time is sub 9 seconds whichi would make it even more competitive...

LoL is 2014 bai...

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2014, 7:27 pm

I know its 2014. KIA win with design but their reputation ain't reach up there with vw and Toyota...yet.

Postby cinco » January 8th, 2014, 7:31 pm

S_2NR wrote:I know its 2014. KIA win with design but their reputation ain't reach up there with vw and Toyota...yet.

Yeh kia is real chit.

Postby Morpheus » January 8th, 2014, 7:32 pm

S_2NR wrote:I know its 2014. KIA win with design but their reputation ain't reach up there with vw and Toyota...yet.

Yes that will take some time. But they can close that gap quickly if they keep dishing out value for money.

Postby cinco » January 8th, 2014, 7:39 pm

Morpheus wrote:

Yes that will take some time. But they can close that gap quickly if they keep dishing out value for money.

Nah leave dem fellas so nah.
I glad for ppl like them i will get me a koup for small money used

dogichi

Postby dogichi » January 8th, 2014, 7:57 pm

I love Kia. On my 3rd Kia vehicle and never a day of regret or trouble. And from the ones I have sold, their resale value is very good.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 8th, 2014, 8:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:

How long that 86 out anyways?

Postby S_2NR » January 8th, 2014, 9:12 pm

Not bashing kia guys. Just saying the general population regard the vw, Honda, Toyota, etc as having a better reputation brand wise. They been doing this and doing it well for years and years. Kia now get big on the scene.
They do give excellent value for money and so does Hyundai but after that new car smell wears off and parts start to wear, would the longevity, reliability and cost effectiveness be comparable to more reputable brands?

Postby cinco » January 8th, 2014, 9:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:Not bashing kia guys. Just saying the general population regard the vw, Honda, Toyota, etc as having a better reputation brand wise. They been doing this and doing it well for years and years. Kia now get big on the scene.
They do give excellent value for money and so does Hyundai but after that new car smell wears off and parts start to wear, would the longevity, reliability and cost effectiveness be comparable to more reputable brands?

Vw reliability is chit in the us btw.
And i own a 10yr old kia the only part ive changed other than maintenance is the alternator so yeh kia is chit

Postby Morpheus » January 8th, 2014, 9:18 pm

S_2NR wrote:Not bashing kia guys. Just saying the general population regard the vw, Honda, Toyota, etc as having a better reputation brand wise. They been doing this and doing it well for years and years. Kia now get big on the scene.

Only time will tell. The new age Kia and Hyundai are only a few years old. Let's see what gives when the vehicles reach 10years. Only then can we really judge imho.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 8:14 am

if the loaded elantra sedan is 220k and a cruze 1.8 is 239k then it appears a 2.0 coupe at $240k doesn't sound too bad however having officially entered Jetta territory would be owners would realize that despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

You guys still talking about who more reliable and which brand better in MY2014 really? Take my advise, when you sell your bamboo car or local used car from the 90's era and buy a new one in the showroom today be it Kia or Toyota they both would give you years of enjoyable trouble free motoring besides if there are any issues your dealer will fix them under warranty. No more need to hunt down parts in dollar savers/auto rama/bobby's/seenaths etc..

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 8:22 am

acesinghit wrote:if the loaded elantra sedan is 220k and a cruze 1.8 is 239k then it appears a 2.0 coupe at $240k doesn't sound too bad however having officially entered Jetta territory would be owners would realize that despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

You guys still talking about who more reliable and which brand better in MY2014 really? Take my advise, when you sell your bamboo car or local used car from the 90's era and buy a new one in the showroom today be it Kia or Toyota they both would give you years of enjoyable trouble free motoring besides if there are any issues your dealer will fix them under warranty. No more need to hunt down parts in dollar savers/auto rama/bobby's/seenaths etc..

But does the average buyer consider which car he/ she can beat in a race when buying a sedan? I want to get from A to B comfortably and in something that's pleasing to my eye. I ain't buy a car to beat jettas on the highway.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 8:56 am

Everyone will have something that motivates them in buying a car. What motivates me is practicality, features and power. There is no other vehicle in the T&T market that can offer the package which presents itself in a Jetta. The minute you are crossing that $240k tag you are slowly entering another class of car.

The $175k to $239k range is competitive so much so that I would simply close my eyes and pick 1 out of these: Cruze/Focus/Octavia/Cerato/Elantra. One thing I absolutely don't like about the Cerato/Elantra is the steering and ride quality. The Cruze/Focus/Octavia are superior in that regard.

I don't think someone who is in the market to purchase a cheap compact car would study how much power he has to tackle a 2.0 Coupe. But it sure is satisfying to know that you can with a Jetta.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 9th, 2014, 8:57 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:if the loaded elantra sedan is 220k and a cruze 1.8 is 239k then it appears a 2.0 coupe at $240k doesn't sound too bad however having officially entered Jetta territory would be owners would realize that despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

But does the average buyer consider which car he/ she can beat in a race when buying a sedan? I want to get from A to B comfortably and in something that's pleasing to my eye that runs on super. I ain't buy a car to beat jettas on the highway.

Fixed

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 9:40 am

acesinghit wrote:Everyone will have something that motivates them in buying a car. What motivates me is practicality, features and power. There is no other vehicle in the T&T market that can offer the package which presents itself in a Jetta. The minute you are crossing that $240k tag you are slowly entering another class of car.

The $175k to $239k range is competitive so much so that I would simply close my eyes and pick 1 out of these: Cruze/Focus/Octavia/Cerato/Elantra. One thing I absolutely don't like about the Cerato/Elantra is the steering and ride quality. The Cruze/Focus/Octavia are superior in that regard.

I don't think someone who is in the market to purchase a cheap compact car would study how much power he has to tackle a 2.0 Coupe. But it sure is satisfying to know that you can with a Jetta.

Don't get this. I pass all kinda vehicles on the road with my dad's old primera wagon and never feel like a shilling because I overtake them. So you does drive around looking at cars telling yourself my jetta could beat that in a race and feel nice? DjQ super or premium wasn't a consideration for me.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 9th, 2014, 10:40 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:Everyone will have something that motivates them in buying a car. What motivates me is practicality, features and power. There is no other vehicle in the T&T market that can offer the package which presents itself in a Jetta. The minute you are crossing that $240k tag you are slowly entering another class of car.

Don't get this. I pass all kinda vehicles on the road with my dad's old primera wagon and never feel like a shilling because I overtake them. So you does drive around looking at cars telling yourself my jetta could beat that in a race and feel nice? DjQ super or premium wasn't a consideration for me.

Average person takes fuel economy into consideration. The Jetta is one of few Premium run vehicles that can probably or almost get enough mileage with premium to balance a car that runs on super... except an NZE

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 10:43 am

metalgear did my post suggest that? I go looking for cars so I can pass them and feel like a shilling? Sounds like a 17yr old juvenile comment to me. Let me summarize my POV:

At 240k those buyers would not be too concerned about those cheaper compacts on the market. When at that level and or higher, the Jetta is now directly in scope as well as the Lancer GT. In terms of safety, features and power alone the Jetta wins. With a usable back seat and a spacious enough boot it excels in practicality and it is good to know that if it is required you can pass that 2.0 Coupe.

You on the other hand appear to be someone who targeted vehicles in the past because you were driving a roro primera wagon with ur SR engine. I can understand the beatup with a Cerato 1.6 though since those cars will squabble with the other N/A 1.6 cars. To each there own...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 9th, 2014, 10:46 am

acesinghit wrote:metalgear did my post suggest that?

...despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

...and it is good to know that if it is required you can pass that 2.0 Coupe.

... you were driving a roro primera wagon with ur SR engine

....those cars will squabble with the other N/A 1.6 cars. To each there own...
Last edited by DJ Q on January 9th, 2014, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » January 9th, 2014, 10:47 am

Find me another coupe at 240k ktanxbhai

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2014, 10:58 am

cinco wrote:Find me a good looking coupe at 240k ktanxbhai

FTFY
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on January 9th, 2014, 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 11:00 am

the Kia stands alone and I don't foresee any other dealership bringing down a competitor. Maybe NM with the Elantra coupe or Classic with a Civic Coupe. I still doubt it. I am sure there would be people out there who would buy it at 240k. If a Lancer GT is like 260k then anything is possible with that Kia.

But Kia could market that Coupe any how they want and it still wouldn't be as planted to the road as we would like or the steering precision/feedback would be light years behind a Lancer or Mazda 3. What use is there for a Coupe when you truly cannot maximize most of its performance credentials? But I am not surprised since trinicars have a few Koups for sale. Those owners probably got tired of it.

Postby Morpheus » January 9th, 2014, 11:09 am

Koup as in just 2 doors eh. Most likely nothing more.

I am sure some ppl went in thinking sports car.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 11:15 am

DJ Q wrote:
acesinghit wrote:metalgear did my post suggest that?

...despite all the nonsense the sales person said they will try but never catch a Jetta.

...and it is good to know that if it is required you can pass that 2.0 Coupe.

... you were driving a roro primera wagon with ur SR engine

....those cars will squabble with the other N/A 1.6 cars. To each there own...

This wasn't juvenile at all. Lol.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 9th, 2014, 11:32 am

Morpheus wrote:Koup as in just 2 doors eh. Most likely nothing more.

I am sure some ppl went in thinking sports car.

Some think the jetta is a sports car:P

de1mystery

Postby de1mystery » January 9th, 2014, 11:47 am

Is there an updated listing for 2014, pls post.
Thank you.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 11:51 am

the jetta is a sports car when compared to the cerato...

too much beat up for nothing....when you was racing lesser cars with ur pops primera yuh didn't feel you was jiving sports wagon? Now you get Cerato and I'm sure you may target some Wingroads and sheit but who cares...when you see a Jetta though you will calm down. Doh beat up, when I see the E250 and 320i I have to humble too.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2014, 11:58 am

acesinghit why bother? D man clearly is happy with his purchase. You with yours. Is a cool scene.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 9th, 2014, 12:04 pm

word bunny but I still find it looks like an evil rodent.