BMW 320i or AUdi A4 1.8T??

Re: BMW 320i or AUdi A4 1.8T??

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 10:15 pm

is the jetta in their class?

i find its awesome, feel my nxt ride is gonna be european

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 22nd, 2013, 10:55 pm

Rooki3 wrote:is the jetta in their class?

i find its awesome, feel my nxt ride is gonna be european

Not in same class price wise. Base for base Jetta is as fast if not faster than a 1.8T A4, faster than a 2 litre non turbo 3 series and base C class. Luxury wise and build quality it's no competition though. They all outclass the Jetta.

Postby Rooki3 » February 22nd, 2013, 11:48 pm

d jetta is nuh 1.4? yh, i kno its cheaper, there's a guy with one on 20" vossen wheels PCX 107, its beautiful, wud get a pic & post

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2013, 6:42 am

Yep 1.4 twincharged. Can run with anything up to 1.8 turbo or 2.5 litre non turbo. Can also run with older 2.0 turbo audi a4 with multitronic.

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2013, 8:15 am

dais not bad at all, but everybody seems to have d same view that the inside is crappy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2013, 8:38 am

Rooki3 wrote:dais not bad at all, but everybody seems to have d same view that the inside is crappy

Compared to an a4, 3 series and c class I would hope the jetta interior is "crap". Those cars are at least 100k more. If you come down to the price bracket the jetta is in and compare it to Mazda 3, 6, lancer, corolla, civic, focus etc it isn't crap. It is refined, functional but not eye catchy with a million buttons all over d dash or pseudo wood or shiny hard plastics.

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2013, 4:01 pm

now see yurs in the euro ched, lookin good

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 23rd, 2013, 5:30 pm

Text Techs wrote:So out of the three. Which has the cheapest base price now?

Oddly enough, the A4 at 360k.. but that's a model where you basically only get the body/interior the same. Engine is the 120hp model, wheels are smaller, few features missing etc.
Hardly seems like a bargain compared to the 375k for the C180.

As for the Jetta, it's not the same class, but it is a great deal when you consider the other vehicles in the price bracket in Trinidad. Actually, since they went up now(fully loaded is 274k I believe?) there's nothing else in that range. Cheaper than A4/320i/C class group, but more expensive than the other stuff people compare it to. Either way, not a bad car.
Faster 0-60 than both C-class and A4.. 0.1s slower than 320i, which is negligible. Fairly certain the top end the Jetta may lose though, but that isn't a concern for most people.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2013, 6:01 pm

The jetta is 274k?! I think it is still 240k with sunroof and 17s with cloth interior. The leather option might be the one for 274k I believe.

By the way new 320i comes with what engine? Do they come boosted?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » February 25th, 2013, 12:21 pm

the vw passat would be in that class....loving it.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 25th, 2013, 12:33 pm

The passat is an option vs a base model of the others..

BunnyEars : I don't believe BMW even makes non-boosted cars again. One of the reasons the resale value of this last M3 went up quite a bit. Some people still want NA in their cars.
But yes, the 320i is boosted, as is the entire 5/6/7 line...actually the 1 series boosted too.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 25th, 2013, 1:12 pm

nemesis wrote:The passat is an option vs a base model of the others..

BunnyEars : I don't believe BMW even makes non-boosted cars again. One of the reasons the resale value of this last M3 went up quite a bit. Some people still want NA in their cars.
But yes, the 320i is boosted, as is the entire 5/6/7 line...actually the 1 series boosted too.

Ok well in that case the 1.4 TSI Jetta will not be faster than the new 3 series 320i. Only faster than the E90 320i then.

I can understand why some would like NA in their cars but to me that only holds for large displacements. In engines 2 litres and smaller I think the idea of boosting is pretty good. I can't imagine going back to non boosted in this segment if looking at a performance perspective.

Postby Rooki3 » February 25th, 2013, 5:12 pm

doh wah no boosted petrol vehicle for everyday use nah, dais real discipline

Text Techs

Postby Text Techs » February 25th, 2013, 5:36 pm

Which is better the BMW x1 or Audi q3? And what is the base price difference

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 27th, 2013, 7:07 am

Text Techs wrote:Which is better the BMW x1 or Audi q3? And what is the base price difference

Call the firm and ask. :lol: :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 27th, 2013, 9:17 am

It seems the 320i continues to be the 'performance car' vs the c180 and a4 1.8t. Previously, the Jetta TSI was faster than the 320i and C180. The Jetta can still hold its own against the benz and audi and many people throw in this car because of its superiority over the typical jap/korean crowd. Truth is, once you are ready to spend close to $400k on any benz, bmw or audi, you should really consider the passat 1.8 tsi highline. If you want a level playing field in terms of price then you can get the passat 2.0 tsi highline. The 320i would not stand a chance against that car. VW's are excellent alternatives to the premium class.

It still amazes people how our little jetta still manages to shock a lot of people out there. the 1.4tsi motor is very potent.

Postby cinco » February 27th, 2013, 1:46 pm

why is the jetta even mentioned here?
no one looking to buy a benz/bmw/audi will even consider a volkswagen
they are buying for the badge more than features

gundelero

Postby gundelero » February 27th, 2013, 2:20 pm

agreed with acesinghit.

Text Techs

Postby Text Techs » February 27th, 2013, 6:16 pm

Went today to BMW. They have the BMW 316i which ia. Twin turbo 1.6 which is faster than the Audi a4 2.0. It's 136hp

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 27th, 2013, 6:24 pm

Audi a4 comes with 1.8t or 2.0t. 1.8t puts out 120 or 160-170hp. Needless to say the latter version is faster than a 316i. 2.0t a4 will obliterate it. There are no 2.0 non turbo a4 vehicles sold as new.

What transmission does the 316i come with?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 27th, 2013, 6:41 pm

Text Techs wrote:Went today to BMW. They have the BMW 316i which ia. Twin turbo 1.6 which is faster than the Audi a4 2.0. It's 136hp

umm you're sure that there's a 1.6L twin turbo from BMW, or is that what the sales people said :?:

Postby cinco » February 27th, 2013, 10:18 pm

Text Techs wrote:Went today to BMW. They have the BMW 316i which ia. Twin turbo 1.6 which is faster than the Audi a4 2.0. It's 136hp

136hp?
u sure?
the elantra makes the same...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 28th, 2013, 12:16 am

tourniquet wrote:

umm you're sure that there's a 1.6L twin turbo from BMW, or is that what the sales people said :?:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_N13#section_3

Have a gander at that page. See BMW has this in the 316i and 320i. Euros coming boosted throughout the range of engines nowadays.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 28th, 2013, 6:54 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_N13#section_3

Have a gander at that page. See BMW has this in the 316i and 320i. Euros coming boosted throughout the range of engines nowadays.

Thanks for the link :) I remember when BMW started using a twin turbo setup on the 3.0L engines a few years back, however, a couple of years later, they switched to a single turbo, twin scroll set up, and as far as I know, that's the deal with with their current line up with 3.0L or less engines :) .

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 28th, 2013, 7:08 am

Bunny : Yes the 116i is the boosted 136hp engine. Comes with the 8-sp auto here. And the 320i is boosted but only does 0.1s to 60 faster than the Jetta.. After 100 however, the 320i will outrun it. But from standstill, won't be any difference.

A4 2.0t not available locally. They will sell you one, but it will be them buying one from another dealer and then re-selling to you as it is not available to this market as a dealer model.

Text techs : X1 is about 100k cheaper than Q3 so you can't really consider them in the same buying category. But I think if you wanted a small SUV, the Q3 might be preferred by many.

cinco/aceinsight : No people are not just buying for the badge everytime. Some people actually consider what they're getting in the vehicle. And yes, the Passat 2.0T can be a consideration. However, if anyone is considering a vehicle in this range, test drive ALL. I personally considered the 2.0T Passat a few years ago (not current model) and I test drove it and didn't even bother to finish the test drive because I was just so disappointed. Maybe it's better now. What's the price of the 2.0T highline? Special order since they bring the 1.8t normally, which definitely can't run with the 320i?

All comes down to what an individual prefers in their vehicle.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 28th, 2013, 8:22 am

good points and mature discussion so far guys.

as we continue, the 116i even with its 1.6 turbo will not out-run a jetta tsi. I see the Jetta has a 'top' model here now in the $260k + range pitting it close to the B200. The B200 should have better performance than the 116i thanks to (besides more power) but the dual clutch tranny. So I guess being a benz and having such performance starting at $280k may not be all that bad considering the grand scheme of things.

Do you rather spend $335k (not sure what is the current price) on a passat highline vs $360k on a basic C180? Perhaps I may be looking at this wrong but if someone can justify more features and performance on that Benz over the Passat then I understand but if not, basically the only reason why the Benz was purchased really boils down to brand prestige.

The special order Passat 2.0tsi (based on the unit that was brought down some time ago) cost less than $390k. Pit that against a 320i and still the passat will give better performance for less cost.

One of the reasons why VW's have good performance for the money is due to standard DSG.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 28th, 2013, 5:05 pm

Honestly, other than brand prestige, there are things I'd prefer in the Benz over the Passat, but yes, they do come down to personal preference. I really need to check out the new Passats, but maybe just when I'm in the market again. From what I know though, I'd go C180 > Passat.
And yes the DSG is faster, but it's also a lot less comfortable. BMW has said outright that they will avoid DSG on any models that are normally daily drivers because it's less smooth and offers very little extra in performance compared to newer normal autos. Having driven their new 8-speed on the 2.0T, and driven a Golf GTI/Passat 2.0T/Jetta 1.4TSI, I have to agree with them. Normal auto under most circumstances is smoother by far. And when you're playing with the car the DSG is faster and more agressive, but not by enough to warrant the discomfort for what most people would use their vehicles for. Don't get me wrong, I like the DSG, and it's probably what I'd want myself since I would definitely use that extra little out of it...but if I had to sit in traffic and drive around normally everyday, I'd think twice about that extra little noise and harshness for 0.1s to 60.