Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

legoRB

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, Finally Seeing the Light!!!

Postby legoRB » October 18th, 2010, 12:41 am

swift gti funatic wrote:oh how this car has come a long way.. congrats man u inspire me!

hey... hey.. hey.....Thats my line... :lol:

Noice....congrats dude...can't wait to see this on road...

Postby Monk BANzai » October 18th, 2010, 2:14 pm

TriniGT wrote:Well nothing much this weekend besides a little drive and as I swung the corner who could I see but the rasta. Anyway, I gave her a little drive and cleared some more rust of the rotors, took her to the Quick Shoppe and put some gas and then took her home. I still need to secure the battery so this week I am gonna organize a battery stand maybe from a Primera or something of the sort and bolt it in and then make a casing for it. Gave her a wash as well even though the passenger fender is still white. Here we go, still using the bbery camera, polished the backup headlights as the Xenons are going on after repair,
Doh laugh at the number plate, it's the old ones that I use to drive her around, will get some square ones fitted after repaint
After a little warmup I tested the diff in the yard :D,

hahhahahaa..yeah...actually I'm there most Saturdays...love that man Bara and Channa yo!!

I personally like this over the Skyline. got more soul to it than the "other car"....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 18th, 2010, 9:33 pm

Yeah, I hear yuh, I have a strong liking for this car but soon the GTT will be under the knife and hopefully I can do it some justice. And yeah Bagio father doubles does real lash :D. Going for the black and white theme. Was actually contemplating painting the silvia midnight purple again but nah will keep it black.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 18th, 2010, 11:59 pm

TriniGT wrote:Image

Just thought I would revisit pg 1

:faint: :shock: :faint: :shock: :faint: :shock:

I ain't know how yuh did it......But you have real vision and patience....

Epic build in every sense...

Very well done Mr. GT...... 8-)

Any regrets?......Would you have still done it if you knew what was really involved to complete the project back when it was just a vision?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2010, 6:47 am

Doubtful I would have done it again knowing the road it was taking. I may have tried to keep her a kouki widebodied S14 instead.

wraith

Postby wraith » October 19th, 2010, 9:09 am

Congrats again on a job well done, now that you have driven it how do you find the ride with the new suspension?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2010, 9:30 am

Well haven't taken it on the highway, only backroad runs and haven't really driven it hard as the battery is not secured yet, but from the bumpy backroads it is pretty firm but at the same time not harsh. Like any lowered car it is a little bumpy but not backbreaking. I am satisfied with it, let's put it like that. Suspension still needs to be tuned and camber and alignment defintiely needs to be adjusted but I am at a happy place. Waiting to have the car repainted and then organize and get my engine and colour change done and then insurance and then it's my new daily while the R34 goes under the knife. Does anyone know where I can get some metal parts blasted and prices as well. I have some cleaning to do on some metal to prep them for the R34, things like fender rails, hinges etc.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 19th, 2010, 10:08 am

TriniGT wrote:Doubtful I would have done it again knowing the road it was taking. I may have tried to keep her a kouki widebodied S14 instead.

I hear you.......but I guess nothin beats the sense of accomplishment now that you have...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2010, 10:12 am

Yeah well still some small things to sort but I am relieved and excited all in one that I can finally drive it.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 19th, 2010, 11:47 am

Jason do you have a thread on zilvia for the build, this seems so improbable what you did.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2010, 1:39 pm

I think I had one some time ago but never updated it. What is really the shame is that I don't have any pics of during the conversion. At that point I just wanted the conversion done after carrying the car to several shops. Initially I took pics but after the countless times complaining and moving the car I gave up and left the car by a fella for over a year, just didn't want to see her again. Almost sold the car at one point but I guess things have a way of working out.
Last edited by TriniGT on October 19th, 2010, 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » October 19th, 2010, 1:40 pm

the snitches would have a field day with this!!!!!

i could hear them now "ah PBB S15"

*runs off to call fraud squad*

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2010, 2:02 pm

Tell them go brave :D!!!! You can see all where it is welded, back cut, roof, door sills and the entire front half as well. Should have all my bills as well to keep in the glove box just for the very purpose in the event I am asked. I expect people will ask but there will always be haters, can even show them the little things, like the center console not fitting proper, the firewall being drilled as the car was automatic when I got it and there is still places where there is the original red paint, the placement of the engine ID plate on the firewall is another one. When they see my emblem on the back they will know, think of Project S14.5, trying to get someone to waterjet it in the similar S15 Silvia emblem italics.

Postby 16 cycles » October 26th, 2010, 7:35 am

GTT looks good with trunk replacement

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 26th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Well that was my backyard DIY job, going in for some nice upgrades soon enough, entire exterior and interior job with some nice addons :D. My plan is a nice response setup.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 26th, 2010, 4:42 pm

remind me what engine is in this 14.5? a SR or RB? looking good, brought it back from far and it looking good.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 27th, 2010, 7:01 am

It's an S15 Spec R Engine, SR20DET with ballbearing T28. Plan was an RB26DETT but due to local machinists taking their own time and mine I changed my plans as I want to drive the damn thing.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 27th, 2010, 7:24 am

EXCELLENT JOB BRO!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 27th, 2010, 9:15 am

Thanks, moments ago confirmed that the car is booked for small bodywork and respray. Saturday it's going in and if all goes well after the GTT will be heading over for its transformation. I am keeping my fingers crossed and I trust this guys work as he is meticulous, man take almost a week taping off and prepping for a job, underneath and all, so not worried about my Driftworks suspension getting an overspray. Intercooler and pipes will be removed and the pipes will be chromed along with some brackets and I will get the wheels resprayed same colour and have the calipers sprayed as well as they are lots of scratches on them. Will take some progress pics as well of the work.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 27th, 2010, 10:00 am

lookin realll decent bro. project well executed.

moti

Postby moti » October 27th, 2010, 12:48 pm

i hate you Jason................there i said it.

nah, just joking.
but really great job man. can't wait to see this next to me in traffic (so i could macco).

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » October 27th, 2010, 1:29 pm

Looks sweet man!!!

BTW spotted the GTT in T'puna last night did you spot the E5??? :wink:

Keep up the good work!!!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 27th, 2010, 6:47 pm

TriniGT wrote:...and I will get the wheels resprayed same colour ...

Why don't you get them powder coated instead of painted? Won't you get a more durable finish?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 29th, 2010, 11:53 am

Powdercoating has a limited amount of colours though from memory unless things have changed. Tomorrow she's gone for maybe three weeks to a month afterwhich I need to do a colour and engine number change and get insurance and drive my new daily and put down the R34 for the count, she will be undergoing some much needed refreshers and some tasty bits as well :D.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 22nd, 2010, 12:42 pm

Well small update, car has been flattened and rubbed and primered and yesterday the first base coat went on. They found two small dents and then rubbed again and they are going to be basing it again and then putting three coats and then clear it. Hoping to get the car back pretty soon. I have some pics and will try and post them up either today or sometime during the week. Once she is back home I am gonna get the suspension sorted and insurance and then a light tune from Dry on the Power FC and then start dailying her. GTT will be parked for some time unless sold as I want to give her some more attention as I have been neglecting the ole gal. Only issue I have with her at the moment is the bonnet fitment, I think the problem was where the front of the car was attached, so now the fender to bonnet to headlight fitment on one side is not spot on but I guess I will have to live with that, after all it was an intense conversion and I am picky but will have to let it slide.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 27th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Okay there has been an absence of pics from my posts, so I will try and put up some in chronological order.
Car at the garage being prepped, there were many hidden dents and dings, happy with the workmanship thus far.
Nice and Flat,
New Bonnet :D, didn't want to chance any damage on the Carbon Bonnet,
Okay car was then based and rubbed to check for dents and they found two that they addressed and then based again and rubbed again to check again and then it was a go, time for first coat.
Didn't like the idea of having the headlights taped off but rather removed but it was done decent enough and besides the car was previously sprayed black behind there so no worries,
Now time for some completed painting pics, so far I am pleased with the outcome, still to be buffed and the remaining items to be bolted back on and a thorough cleaning as there is a ton of dust.

More pics to follow when the car has been buffed. Only doing a light buff for now as the paint has only been done a couple of days ago so after a month or two when the paint has properly pulled it will be buffed again.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 27th, 2010, 11:07 pm

looking great, and black is a hard color to get straight and right.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 27th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Thanks, hopefully I will be enjoying the car like you are yours soon enough. More pics to follow this week when she touches home ground. Have some more things waiting to go in i.e. battery stand that was acquired from a P11 primera, will use collars to level it in the trunk cabin and bolt it down, Apexi Power FC, Blitz boost controller, Blitz Turbo Timer, Defi Gauges, Stereo/Amp/Speakers, a couple of Carbon pieces, AEM wideband, Bride Interior, hopefully Bride Front Seats, chromed piping, Z32 MAF, Cuzco Front Carbon Strut Bar, Custom Valve Cover Colour, Black Braided Engine Bay lines, Catch Can, Koyo Aluminum Radiator, Samco Radiator Hoses, A/C gassed, Suspension Tuning, Engine and Colour Change and then finally Insurance.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 28th, 2010, 2:30 am

hang on!!that the murple or the black?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 28th, 2010, 10:26 am

Nah black, I was tempted to do the murple but kept it black.