ingalook wrote:Called Ford dealer today... apparently trinis are not good enough to get the Fiesta ST or the Focus ST... those cars are only to be sold in every other market besides TnT
Rory Phoulorie wrote:ingalook wrote:Called Ford dealer today... apparently trinis are not good enough to get the Fiesta ST or the Focus ST... those cars are only to be sold in every other market besides TnT
But the first generation Focus ST was sold here, why not this latest model?
acesinghit wrote:typical salesrep response to rory's question:
well because of oil prices and the exchange rate.
At least since the ST won't be coming to our shores anytime soon why not the 1.6 turbo instead?
tourniquet wrote:you guys might be giving some of these sales reps too much credit; quite a lot of them barely know about the vehicles they're selling, y'all asking about models/ variants that aren't here
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dealers have to be trained for the vehicles they bring in. They probably not going to want to do extra training just to service that one vehicle. They also have to stock parts for vehicles they support. Probably doesn't make sense to do it for one vehicle either. There may also be other reasons.
ingalook wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dealers have to be trained for the vehicles they bring in. They probably not going to want to do extra training just to service that one vehicle. They also have to stock parts for vehicles they support. Probably doesn't make sense to do it for one vehicle either. There may also be other reasons.
Again, they already sell this chassis and this engine, not combined currently... but they probably don't see the need to sell the ST models... all the time i was asking about these cars the salesman kept telling me about bluetooth connectivity in the new focus... dem cyar understand why anyone would want a performance car in the first place yes.
Also, to price the Fiesta ST @ $190k... That puts it in Swift Sport territory, The Fiesta ST has 197hp while the SSS has about 135hp... doesn't seem fair... also the Fiesta is about $22k USD, so it is priced higher than the SSS is internationally.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:ingalook wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dealers have to be trained for the vehicles they bring in. They probably not going to want to do extra training just to service that one vehicle. They also have to stock parts for vehicles they support. Probably doesn't make sense to do it for one vehicle either. There may also be other reasons.
Again, they already sell this chassis and this engine, not combined currently... but they probably don't see the need to sell the ST models... all the time i was asking about these cars the salesman kept telling me about bluetooth connectivity in the new focus... dem cyar understand why anyone would want a performance car in the first place yes.
Also, to price the Fiesta ST @ $190k... That puts it in Swift Sport territory, The Fiesta ST has 197hp while the SSS has about 135hp... doesn't seem fair... also the Fiesta is about $22k USD, so it is priced higher than the SSS is internationally.
Well to cut a long story short
a) bring in one yourself
OR
b) If Ford doesn't want your money and doesn't respect your need for speed give it to a manufacturer who does. VW's entire local line is currently boosted. A Jetta will give you 0-60 in 8 to 8.3 seconds. You can remap for $2800 and get a 0 to 60 of 7 seconds. It won't handle out the box like the fiesta st but what other new car options do you have? There is currently nothing faster in the local new car scene from $240K and under.
ingalook wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:ingalook wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dealers have to be trained for the vehicles they bring in. They probably not going to want to do extra training just to service that one vehicle. They also have to stock parts for vehicles they support. Probably doesn't make sense to do it for one vehicle either. There may also be other reasons.
Well to cut a long story short
a) bring in one yourself
OR
b) If Ford doesn't want your money and doesn't respect your need for speed give it to a manufacturer who does. VW's entire local line is currently boosted. A Jetta will give you 0-60 in 8 to 8.3 seconds. You can remap for $2800 and get a 0 to 60 of 7 seconds. It won't handle out the box like the fiesta st but what other new car options do you have? There is currently nothing faster in the local new car scene from $240K and under.
Agreed... would be nicer if they brought the Polo GTi... they couldn't be bothered either