T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » October 15th, 2013, 4:46 pm

Toyota could keep their overpriced Yaris....they getting ever ridiculous with their prices. So much better choices now in that same price bracket. The Yaris should have been priced around $150K.....but as a man say it's Toyota.....so people MUST buy it. This man sticking with his Euros.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2013, 5:17 pm

What features does the 2014 Yaris come with?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » October 15th, 2013, 5:19 pm

I ain't holding my breath on this one....but as one tuner said...hubcaps and drum brakes might be inclusive of the package.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 16th, 2013, 9:44 am

What exactly is the problem with drum brakes?

Postby Morpheus » October 16th, 2013, 10:03 am

DJ Q wrote:What exactly is the problem with drum brakes?

#1 Harder to service
#2 Looks?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2013, 10:04 am

DJ Q wrote:What exactly is the problem with drum brakes?

You can't use the car on the track for repeated heavy braking!!! :x
You can't repeatedly heavy brake on the nation's roads!!! :x :x :x

To be honest I'm more concerned toyota actually ships cars still without ABS more so than having drum brakes on their econobox non performance models but say what. This is tuner where every car has to be performance oriented.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 16th, 2013, 10:08 am

So basically what you guys are saying is that for the person like me who:
- Doesn't service their own car
- Doesn't care about the looks of it
- Doesn't use personal car on the track
- Doesn't drive hard enough to warranty repeatedly heavy braking

Drum brakes should be fine?
Sounds like most of the nation to me...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2013, 10:15 am

I think most of the outrage is also from the fact that Toyota charges higher prices for old tech compared to other manufacturers who give you new tech for the price Toyota charging.

Plus this is an enthusiast site. They not gonna give blighs to market demands so you will get outrage on here when vehicles come with drum brakes in 2013 at those prices.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 16th, 2013, 10:18 am

I don't know if it's just me, but I prefer drum brakes in the back for a daily vehicle.
I've personally found that rear disc brakes tend to slip easily when the handbrake is applied.
Never had that problem with drum brakes though.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2013, 10:19 am

Yeah I think that's just you. I doh want no drums. Brake fade not cool and anything that increases time till brake fade I am all for.

Postby Morpheus » October 16th, 2013, 10:21 am

DJ Q wrote:So basically what you guys are saying is that for the person like me who:
- Doesn't service their own car
- Doesn't care about the looks of it
- Doesn't use personal car on the track
- Doesn't drive hard enough to warranty repeatedly heavy braking

Drum brakes should be fine?
Sounds like most of the nation to me...

^^No problems there. But BunnyEars said it best in the post above.

I am not going back to drums. That's just my choice.

LiLLogo18

Postby LiLLogo18 » October 16th, 2013, 1:16 pm

Anyone review the new D-max as yet. I want to know the pros and cons about it???? So far i'm hearing it have a Fuel Filter Problems;
http://thefarmingforum.co.uk/index.php? ... gain.2575/
http://www.totallyhomegrown.com/blog/is ... -problems/

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 16th, 2013, 7:43 pm

drum brakes do not dissipate heat as efficiently as discs, drums do not shed brakes dust as quickly, drum brakes do not allow you to check wear levels, drum brakes fade easier than discs.

drum = old tech

disc equal new tech...

why drive around with old tech... same thinking why use modern medical methods... lets crack open your skull to fix mental illness...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 16th, 2013, 7:51 pm

toyota drums in a yaris perform like hyundai discs in the accent. just like 2 kenwood = 1 rockford for the raj to understand.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 16th, 2013, 7:55 pm

:rofl: ahaha

Postby cinco » October 16th, 2013, 8:22 pm

while we at it we should go back to manual windows and wheel drum brakes

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2013, 9:50 am

yea I gonna downgrade the evo to drums all round

wait.... nah I eh name toyota

Postby Morpheus » October 17th, 2013, 9:59 am

^^The thought of an Evo with drums on all 4 :lol::lol::lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2013, 10:16 am

lol well if Toyota made one it would have drums on de rear lol

hahaha

karl

Postby karl » October 17th, 2013, 12:16 pm

'....unacceptably high risk of life-threatening injury."

i think these were/are sold here, i hope i am wrong.

isuzu dmax
http://www.euroncap.com/tests/isuzu_dmax_rodeo/316.aspx

nissan navara
http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara/317.aspx

take a look at the video of the crashes too.

LiLLogo18

Postby LiLLogo18 » October 17th, 2013, 12:48 pm

karl wrote:'....unacceptably high risk of life-threatening injury."

i think these were/are sold here, i hope i am wrong.

isuzu dmax
http://www.euroncap.com/tests/isuzu_dmax_rodeo/316.aspx

nissan navara
http://www.euroncap.com/tests/nissan_navara/317.aspx

take a look at the video of the crashes too.

I have to say the 1st Gen D-Max did real bad in the Euro NCAP test, but the 2nd Gen (2012-present) got a 4 out 5 ratings
http://www.euroncap.com/results/isuzu/d_max/482.aspx

Well for the Navara it remains the same sadly :(

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 17th, 2013, 1:25 pm

Advantages of drums :
1) Give more break force on same size drum break vs disc breaks
2) Cheaper ( of course Toyota does not pass those savings onto us)
3) Less complicated hand break set up, therefore more reliable and cheaper hand brake set up
4) Tech is older and should be more reliable

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2013, 2:06 pm

point one is null as more force equal more heat equal more fade with lack of as efficient cooling vs de discs

we can argue point 2 but with economies of scale ect and less moving parts you point has flaws

I need to research that (point 3)

discs are out sooooo long its is considered older tech.. drums are not consider tech anymore lol
new tech would be magnetics brakes ect that has no friction ect

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 17th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Best new car around 200k? Resale value is not a big factor. I'm liking the look and features of the new cerato. What do you guys think?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 17th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Cerato is definitely one of the best equipped cars in it's price range

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 17th, 2013, 4:11 pm

Yeah Thats right who give a flying f*#K about resale !!! :D

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 4:32 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Best new car around 200k? Resale value is not a big factor. I'm liking the look and features of the new cerato. What do you guys think?

metal like i always ask anyone who asking for car advise
you buying the car for u to enjoy or for the next owner?

fk it the cerato is spectacular and well sharky lantra real hard too

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2013, 4:38 pm

Elantra hands down for me when I compared it to its Kia alternative

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 4:39 pm

the NEW cerato tho Crix?
i mean the cerato is the 2013 model vs the elantra that hasnt changed since 2011

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2013, 4:45 pm

Yea the new one. As far as I can tell, the only difference I terms of tech is front parking sensors... Ok good stuff

And the cruise control which doh make sense in TNT.

I prefer the looks of the elantra but looks are opinions and subjective. The interior of the elantra is rated top ten out of all cars sold in de us as well