T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » October 6th, 2013, 9:09 pm

They could keep their Subaru....so much better brands and tech out there now, for better prices. You hardly seeing new Subarus on the road now.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 6th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Subaru is akin to the COP party.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 6th, 2013, 11:06 pm

drchaos wrote:Its so Blatantly wrong what these stealer ships doing. The old forester Turbo was 385, the new one is 449. The new one even has a smaller engine meaning the MVT should be way way lower and yet they sent that price up 65 k.

Well actually the price on TriniTuner @ $385k has been incorrect for a longtime, I'm talking since the MVT increase some years ago 2007/2008. The 2012 Subaru Forester 2.5XT was actually $485,000. It was more than the Audi Q5 at the time. So it is actually is a decrease in price.

But, the truth is when it was @$485k it was ridiculous and at $449k its not really that much better. What I don't really understand is how the Forester or even the Honda C-RV can justify being more than a Tiguan, it's quite funny. The Tiguan in the rest of the world is the most expensive. (Top-Spec) Tiguan: US$38,000 Forester: US$32,000 C-RV: US$30,000 [Thats not even with the 2.0 iVtec]. I guess it comes down to brand recognition in T&T. People love their Hondas. People Think Subarus are cheaper to maintain than VWs. From experience with a 2009 Tiguan Sport & Style and a 2008 Forester 2.5XT. The Subaru is weirdly enough less reliable and more expensive to maintain. Both cars are around the same age too.

I'm on the market for a new car soon... looking at the Audi Q3 & Q5. BMW from the specs the dealers sent me are not good value compared to the Audi and I want to stay Euro. I kinda like the Ford Kuga too but I want the 2.0T instead. Looked at the Land Rover LR2 as well. I'm not dealer shopping as I think a T&T Dealer is a T&T dealer unfortunately. Still need to test drive everything.

jramna1

Postby jramna1 » October 6th, 2013, 11:19 pm

Is there a list of 2014 new car prices in Trinidad??

dogichi

Postby dogichi » October 7th, 2013, 5:41 am

Depending on your space requirements 4motion, your decision will be made up between the Q3 and Q5. Compared to what you get with the Q5, the Q3 is a great value for money.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 7th, 2013, 7:20 am

What does the Q3 and Q5 run for now?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 7th, 2013, 7:26 am

4Motion, the Mazda CX5 is also heavily over-priced like the rest of the Japs. I saw the fully equipped 10 airbag panoramic sunroof Sportage is now $275k. Plenty value for money there. The Skoda Yeti whilst easily overlooked is also good value for money.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » October 7th, 2013, 7:31 am

The Q3 is $426K starting, if you slap on some options like self parking, side and front sensors and Audi side assist (blind spot assist), that could push you up to around $445K. The Q5 is $485K for the base model and $553K for the luxury model. Depends on your taste and space requirements. They are both 2.0T, but the lighter Q3 will be more fuel efficient and makes it to 100km/h in 7 secs

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2013, 7:31 am

Before we bash prices can we put up full spec sheets of vehicles? Not saying some vehicles not overpriced but some vehicles have their value in certain options. Bi-xenon headlights with auto levelling and corner bending and leather can easily be $20,000.00 options EACH compared to something like bluetooth which might be a significantly cheaper option. Engine size is another thing that shouldn't be overlooked.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 7th, 2013, 8:50 am

drchaos wrote:New Golf GTI coming in early next year!
Around 440 K according to sources.

Hmm, they told me mid-next year because of high sales elsewhere we have to 'wait our turn' to get any.
Also told me 420k. That's a huge jump if it's 440k.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 7th, 2013, 9:33 am

dogichi wrote:Depending on your space requirements 4motion, your decision will be made up between the Q3 and Q5. Compared to what you get with the Q5, the Q3 is a great value for money.

How I look at it in my mind, The Q3 will be more sporty fun. The Q5 is more practical and luxurious.

The Q5 I could take as is. The Q3 I would need to add Parking Sensors Front & Rear, 18 inch rims, Electric Folding Mirrors, & Electric Front Seats so we are talking at least another $30-40k in features.

Prices & Specs as of 7/10/13

Audi Q3 2.0T - Spec 1 - $390,100
- HP: 211
- 17" 10 spoke design 235/55R 17 tyres
- 7 speed automatic transmission (S-tronic)
- Quattro permanent all-wheel drive
- Anti theft alarm system
- Dual Front, Side and curtain airbags (Front & Rear)
- Front centre armrest
- Electronic Parking Brake with Auto Hold function
- Audi parking system (rear)
- Manual AC
- Xenon Plus headlights with LED daytime running lights
- Headlight washer system
- Electric side mirrors
- Electronic Power steering
- Multifunction leather sports steering wheel 3-spoke design
- Driver information system with colour display
- Audi sound system (10 loudspeakers, 6 channel amplifier - 180 watts output)
- Audi music interface with IPod connection
- Bluetooth interface
- Aluminum look interior with walnut natural wood inlay
- Leather interior
- Electric driver's seat
- Lumbar support both front seats
- ABS with EBD & Brake Assist
- Auto dimming rear view mirror
- Light/Rain sensor with Main/High beam assist
- Storage/Light package

Audi Q3 2.0T Spec 2 - $426,000
+ Advanced Key with Push Button Start
+ 3 zone Automatic air conditioner
+ Audi drive select
+ Stainless steel package

acesinghit wrote:4Motion, the Mazda CX5 is also heavily over-priced like the rest of the Japs. I saw the fully equipped 10 airbag panoramic sunroof Sportage is now $275k. Plenty value for money there. The Skoda Yeti whilst easily overlooked is also good value for money.

Yes forgot about that Mazda CX-5 :roll:
The Skoda Yeti, I test drove it and that is a great car. It good value for Trinidad when you compare. But all cars in Trini are overpriced.
I really dislike the Kia Sportage from a driving perspective. I wouldn't call that good value either, don't even think that one is AWD. I also wonder how they count 10 airbags as internationally you can only get 6.... maybe by airbag logo I don't know :D . Front Airbags (2), Side Airbags (2), & Curtain Airbags (2) so that is 6 . The curtain airbag counts as a single airbag. Although the Basic Kia Sportage is good value being probably the cheapest SUV on the market with good standard features... well just bluetooth mainly.

Postby cinco » October 7th, 2013, 2:27 pm

the Q3 is so much smaller than the Q5 inside though
the Q3 feels smaller than the CRV even

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 8th, 2013, 8:19 am

JDM_GUY wrote:where the ass you guys getting that kinda money to buy A3/A4? I can event afford a FU civic for 130k.

I have multiple jobs 4 last I checked 3 part time and 1 full.
No rest for the wicked, money is out there but you gotta work yuh yass off.

Postby Morpheus » October 8th, 2013, 8:39 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
JDM_GUY wrote:where the ass you guys getting that kinda money to buy A3/A4? I can event afford a FU civic for 130k.

I have multiple jobs 4 last I checked 3 part time and 1 full.
No rest for the wicked, money is out there but you gotta work yuh yass off.

That last part is so true. But lazy muddafcukas rather sit on de block at 10am doing nothing.....

Working ya arse off is too much.......work :|
Last edited by Morpheus on October 8th, 2013, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 8th, 2013, 5:46 pm

Well said Morpheus....again... 8-)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 8th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Some one of allyuh buy a new car nah. All this talking but no buying putting a strain on my heart.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 10th, 2013, 9:10 am

Ha aha

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 10th, 2013, 9:16 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Some one of allyuh buy a new car nah. All this talking but no buying putting a strain on my heart.

I just did, but the A3 sedan not available yet.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 10th, 2013, 9:17 am

can't remember if you said it before but what did you get?

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 10th, 2013, 9:47 am

I have almost made up my mind to buy an Audi Q5. The hold back is... am I going to seriously regret buying a car from Southern Sales? Personally I found Best Auto to be pretty bad once the car got older which is part of the reason why I am not going back to them. As well as Audi = 4 year warrantee VW = 2 year warrantee.

So here is my question, service wise who is better?
Audi Southern Sales
or
VW Best Auto

Or are they basically all the same?

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2013, 9:48 am

Anything is better than Southern Sales when it comes to service. They are horrendous.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 10th, 2013, 11:15 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:can't remember if you said it before but what did you get?

Nav and Tuscon but getting rid of the Tuscon once the A3 is available.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 10th, 2013, 3:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:Anything is better than Southern Sales when it comes to service. They are horrendous.

:lol: What exactly makes them bad? So I will know what to expect.

How is ANSA?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » October 10th, 2013, 4:31 pm

South Southern sales service dept bad.....North service dept pretty good...no complaints

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2013, 7:52 pm

4Motion wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Anything is better than Southern Sales when it comes to service. They are horrendous.

How is ANSA?

Without getting into too much detail to make this a complaint.Their people don't know about putting customer first and making customer happy. They are a typical Trinidadian "take what yu get cuz we have a monopoly" company.

And this is a conclusion family members and I share after owning several Audis and Mazdas.

There are lots on this forum with similar sentiments. If u going with them u better buckle up for the ride :lol:

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » October 10th, 2013, 8:46 pm

S_2NR wrote:
4Motion wrote:

How is ANSA?

Without getting into too much detail to make this a complaint.Their people don't know about putting customer first and making customer happy. They are a typical Trinidadian "take what yu get cuz we have a monopoly" company.

And this is a conclusion family members and I share after owning several Audis and Mazdas.

There are lots on this forum with similar sentiments. If u going with them u better buckle up for the ride :lol:

I have heard stories as well I'm trying to ignore them and justify going with the Audi anyway :lol:

The reason I'm asking too is from my experience with Subaru & Volkswagen with Neal & Massy/Best Auto they shared the same "take what you get cuz we have a monopoly" attitude from general staff to management. All I have had are problems. Subaru sales particularly annoys me as I feel like I'm begging to get a car. Comprising on colour and features while they dig out my eyes. I would prefer to never see N&M ever again but, I'm sure I will in the future just not on my next car out of principle.

One of my friends who had experience with most of the dealers except probably lifestyle says they are all the same and no longer shops by dealer experience and buys the car he wants.

MichaelPrasad

Postby MichaelPrasad » October 10th, 2013, 8:48 pm

I have a work associate whose sorento had an engine failure at 16,000 km. That was 13 weeks ago. They did not have the parts .... When it arrived , they didn't have enough persons to dismantle and reassemble the engine .
I myself went into the showroom 3 years ago and asked for information on the Mazda 6, the sales lady looked most disinterested and couldn't even make a sentence more than 3 words long..... If this is how they treat you before they get your money , imagine how it will be after.
If you do opt for a purchase from SS, good luck and really hope you don't get a lemon.

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2013, 8:56 pm

4Motion wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
4Motion wrote:

How is ANSA?

I have heard stories as well I'm trying to ignore them and justify going with the Audi anyway :lol:

The reason I'm asking too is from my experience with Subaru & Volkswagen with Neal & Massy/Best Auto they shared the same "take what you get cuz we have a monopoly" attitude from general staff to management. All I have had are problems. Subaru sales particularly annoys me as I feel like I'm begging to get a car. Comprising on colour and features while they dig out my eyes. I would prefer to never see N&M ever again but, I'm sure I will in the future just not on my next car out of principle.

One of my friends who had experience with most of the dealers except probably lifestyle says they are all the same and no longer shops by dealer experience and buys the car he wants.

Na. Neal and massy wayyyyy better than southern sales. Don't get tie up. Or maybe ss just that bad

Postby 1UZFE » October 10th, 2013, 10:06 pm

^^^ Agreed Southern sales service is the worst. Massy has better service also Classic has good service..

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2013, 3:07 am

Family buys Honda's from ANSA .. Those cars are bullet proof so never truly tested their level of service besides the normal maintenance of the cars which is quite good.

Dunno how they are with Fords or the mitsu's