NISSCORT

Re: NISSCORT

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 11:00 am

yeah but isn't that similar to the low rider culture that you V8 boys sometimes allude to?

I think we've taken over young Speed's thread tho
I just hope he will understand the need to make braking and handling a priority

nigie

Postby nigie » January 4th, 2011, 11:41 am

Yes ...but we r not delusional as u guys ....lol ....we all had our day....(background music)... and etched in our memories.... is that clear moonlit night ...back in 1977...Starwars and Grease...was the hot ticket at Starlite Drive Inn...when we started "d engine" and those eight dogs started to howl.....heads turned 90 degrees...there would b a mass instantaneous exodus of people from the gas station in Valpark to line "D stretch"....all eager to witness... and inhale the plumes of rubber smoke we laid down on that left turn to nestles..our tachs resident at 6 ....our pistol grip on the shifter..and biceps flexing while we hold the steering wheel ......ok i wont take over speeds thread...but we had our days ... :cry:

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 11:43 am

I've never been compelled to do all that

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 4th, 2011, 1:54 pm

nigie wrote:Yes ...but we r not delusional as u guys :lol: at Starlite Drive Inn...from the gas station in Valpark...on that left turn to nestles.
we r not delusional as u guys... Okay, if you say so... but Kaydonna, maybe? Starlight was in Diego Martin. :lol:

BTW "Delusional": Guilty as charged... and my delusions include ol' school and new school to boot. :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 2:14 pm

lol Sanctifier anybody who calls u delusional needs to read more of what you write
Speaking of old school, dare I ask if you'd ever consider selling the box lancer?
Perhaps compensate for the broken heart of a young lad who lost his daddy's ol' Vauxhall?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 4th, 2011, 3:00 pm

MG Man wrote:lol Sanctifier anybody who calls u delusional needs to read more of what you write
Speaking of old school, dare I ask if you'd ever consider selling the box lancer?
But maybe I am delusional. I'm upgrading my Evo 6 over the next 18 months, to be reasonably competitive in Solodex. Then I'm going to do this... (see below)
Sanctifier wrote:I'm gonna take out the rear floor of the rwd 1800 GSR (box Lancer)...

Then I'm gonna take out the rear floor of my Dad's rwd Galant 2000 Turbo (with I.R.S.)...

After a ton-load of "DIY" soda blasting...body-work & painting... and a thousand other "headaches," I'll have the World's 1st rwd Lancer 1800 GSR...with I.R.S...4-wheel Brembo brakes... and "in-line" 1800 cc 4G93T (from 4wd 1800 GSR.)
This is the "upgrade" that I'm looking forward to the most... The PERFECT mix of ol' school & new school delusions. :lol:
Last edited by Sanctifier on March 1st, 2011, 8:41 am, edited 6 times in total.

Postby A172 » January 4th, 2011, 3:19 pm

MG Man wrote:Sanctifier as spike said, preference
I am quite happy wringing the 45whp out of the MGB.......and when I feel like overtaking the odd maxi taxi, the 113whp on the HSR is quite adequate...same for the power delivery on the XKE
If I want modern handling, you know which mitsus I'd have in my garage ;-p
as the old saying goes, I rather push my slow car to the limit all the time than have to be holding back all the time with my fast car
I can tell you, while you hurtle down the 1320 in 10 seconds in your Evo, I'll have a whole other 14 seconds to enjoy the run in the MG before I reach the end!

what exactly are you "enjoying" on a 1/4mile stretch with a ridiculously slow car?

nigie

Postby nigie » January 4th, 2011, 4:10 pm

A172 wrote:
I am quite happy wringing the 45whp out of the MGB.......and when I feel like overtaking the odd maxi taxi, the 113whp on the HSR is quite adequate...same for the power delivery on the XKE
as the old saying goes, I rather push my slow car to the limit all the time than have to be holding back all the time with my fast car
I can tell you, while you hurtle down the 1320 in 10 seconds in your Evo, I'll have a whole other 14 seconds to enjoy the run in the MG before I reach the end!

what exactly are you "enjoying" on a 1/4mile stretch with a ridiculously slow car?

Yes thats the problem with these young tenderfoots ...they never stick to plan...and change like a cameleon....this same fella who enjoys 45whp..looking for a box 2 put in a v8...the handling that he is always championing for will suffer.....Speed from te inception said "nah I not cross breeding" look at the results....look...this thread it self has changed names couple times....... :mrgreen:

Postby A172 » January 4th, 2011, 4:27 pm

wha? :|

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 6:54 pm

nigie wrote:
A172 wrote:

Yes thats the problem with these young tenderfoots ...they never stick to plan...and change like a cameleon....this same fella who enjoys 45whp..looking for a box 2 put in a v8...the handling that he is always championing for will suffer.....Speed from te inception said "nah I not cross breeding" look at the results....look...this thread it self has changed names couple times....... :mrgreen:

nope, my good lad
Along with the engine swap, if done, will be axle tramp bars at the back, MGBV8 spec suspension bushes, braided brake lines and uprated brakes and pads
Everything will be done to factory spec.............my car was offered with the same V8 spec from the factory, so that'[s the blueprint I'm following

A172, I took the ridiculously slow car down the 1320 once at a CARS BYCC, back when they used 1320 times to class cars for competition.......same for the slightly less ridiculously slow car......purely for dex classification.....I enjoy my car for what it is...I have nothing to prove..........not everybody suffers from smallpiggyitis

Postby A172 » January 4th, 2011, 7:08 pm

lol wasn't meant to be offensive so take off the back support...was just tryna make sense of your comment

still haven't answered my question...seeing that you are the one who drew reference to an evo pacing down the 1/4 doing 10's....what exactly do you "enjoy" hurtling a slow car down a straight quarter mile in, as you said, 24 seconds?

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 7:40 pm

in an old, small car, it seems very fast.........80k in the MG feels like 140 in any other car
so less speed, same thrill........same with cornering..........the cornering limits are low, so I get the thrill of keeping the car on the edge while remaining well within speed limits

Postby A172 » January 4th, 2011, 8:06 pm

MG Man wrote:in an old, small car, it seems very fast.........80k in the MG feels like 140 in any other car
so less speed, same thrill
........same with cornering..........the cornering limits are low, so I get the thrill of keeping the car on the edge while remaining well within speed limits

why and how come??

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 9:08 pm

windows down, wing glasses directing wind into your face, stiff / bumpy ride, close to the ground, very small car, noise etc all add to the illusion of speed

Postby A172 » January 5th, 2011, 7:38 am

oh ok....illusion of speed = speed

kool

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 8:42 am

nope
Illusion of speed = cheap thrills
You know you slow when you get in the way of small SUVs who racing down the highway

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 5th, 2011, 10:23 am

allya men gone off on the man in his thread yes...

speed, run the leaf springs, you dont need a 4 link, there are many ole time race and rally cars that used leaf springs back int he day and even today in SCCA and other series..

run the leaf springs, and if anything install a adjustable panhard bar (very easy to make and cheap to install) to stop the diff moving side to side if you plan of drifting this thing. i plan on using an adjustable engine damper like this example:

and get a rear sway bar installed.. all thats pretty cheap and you can get the parts in the scrap yards.

nigie

Postby nigie » January 5th, 2011, 10:32 am

Mention was already made about the cost of multilink suspensions.....Bezman...but does anybody listen...

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 10:41 am

lol nigie we tried but nobody could hear you over that rumble ;-p
The panhard rod is a good idea (part of the 5 link rear end setup) but Bez, I'd rather do it like an old land rover and run it from the body on one side to the axle on the other side, rather than juts to the diff
I still say he can 5 link it without breaking the bank tho
Keep in mind with he power he's running he'll end up with loads of axle tramp as the torque winds up the spring and it releases that energy....at least he should put in a pair of longitudinal anti-tramp bars
The MGB V8 only had 150bhp but significantly stiffer springs than the Escort, and the engine used to wring the leaf springs into an 's' upon launch, necessitating the anti-tramp bars

nigie

Postby nigie » January 5th, 2011, 11:23 am

Wait..when i suggested speed retain the leaf spring and pelt on some slapper bars... or a cheaper alternative..i got nays....now bez suggest a panhard bar....and u agree mg....lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 5th, 2011, 12:22 pm

there are different locations for the panhard bar depending on purpose, the longer and lower the bar, the less side to side movement.. a short bar can do the trick also maybe not as effectively. long ones mounted to one side of the diff can sometimes cause an offset in the axle alignment if not done correctly, the center mounted short ones allow up and down movement without affecting axle alignment too much..

the adjustable length and mounting positions of the panhard bar offer some setting in-between. making one is really easy and there are lots of DIY articles on how to/where to mount it depending on what you use the car for... i really just used that photo for example.

Escorts are renowned for their handling, with and without 4 links, panhard bars, or fancy coilovers and IRS. straight english axles, leaf springs, sometimes a sway bar and a balls out driver...

A simple LSD makes the world of difference in a car and if its a Lancer diff he is running, lsd's are obtainable..

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 1:07 pm

cool
but do you at least agree he needs some anti-tramp bars to prevent tramping?
PS at their best, the old WRC escorts put out about 260bhp..........I suspect Speed is looking for waaaay more
not to mention those works / historic cars are nothing like a stock econobox Escort, worse yet a rusty one
7k for an engine and nary an aftertthought re suspension and brakes?
Bez I sure even you'd agree Speed building a trap

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 5th, 2011, 4:26 pm

MG Man wrote:Illusion of speed = cheap thrills
I don't know about all this... "Illusion of speed" thingy MG.
IMHO what matters most is the amount of rotation in... and exit speed out of a corner... no matter how little bhp is behind it.
A bone-stock 4-door 1300 Escort... from 1st Street, Mt. Lambert @ 4.30 am...
Out and down 1st Avenue... & across Priority Bus Route to Eastern Main Road (near Bermudez)...
Turn left... & via at least five traffic-lights to Morvant Junction... Right & over Lady Young, including a memorable left-hander (2nd after the "look-out") at 73 mph... without crossing the white-line. :twisted:
to Hilton round-a-bout... into St. Anns & finish in front of... you guessed it... St. Anns Mental Hospital! :rofl: ...

Oh, by the way... in 13 minutes, flat with 58 bhp on-board. :lol:

I don't think my Evo 6 could give me any more fun... or corner much faster on the same 165 x 13" tyres.
Last edited by Sanctifier on January 5th, 2011, 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 5th, 2011, 4:29 pm

A speed....trap :)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 5th, 2011, 4:56 pm

MG Man wrote:cool
PS at their best, the old WRC escorts put out about 260bhp..........I suspect Speed is looking for waaaay more
not to mention those works / historic cars are nothing like a stock econobox Escort, worse yet a rusty one

260whp?? from a CA18?? what you smoking :P
he aint building no more a trap than me so i cant comment :)

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 5th, 2011, 5:25 pm

the man say bhp not whp...

d spike

Postby d spike » January 5th, 2011, 6:12 pm

MG Man wrote:but do you at least agree he needs some anti-tramp bars to prevent tramping?

MG, don't anti-tramp bars stop leaf-springs from operating efficiently?

Speed, what upgrade do you have planned for the brakes? Make sure you keep the old girl balanced... in other words, don't upgrade the rear without doing the front over. The braking ratio (front to rear) should stay the same - 60:40, I think it is... some old sage would probably correct this if it's wrong.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 5th, 2011, 6:19 pm

60/40...i have yet to see a normal street car with that ratio...its normally like 70/30 or more. I stand to be corrected.

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 6:51 pm

Bezman wrote:
MG Man wrote:cool

260whp?? from a CA18?? what you smoking :P
he aint building no more a trap than me so i cant comment :)

you fulla sheit eh :lol: you really want to compare your ride to this thing?
how much power u think Speed's engine would put out in current form?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 5th, 2011, 8:52 pm

^ I guess 200 to 220 max at the wheels depending on how aggressive the 'tune' on the ecu is.