Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, Finally Seeing the Light!!!

Postby TriniGT » October 5th, 2010, 11:11 am

You can get away with 10 in the rear of an S14 with those offsets as they are so wide to the rear, the S15 backend that was swapped on does not allow that although I think with some fender massaging it is doable. Is that how yours sits now, looks really nice.

wraith

Postby wraith » October 5th, 2010, 4:05 pm

TriniGT wrote:You can get away with 10 in the rear of an S14 with those offsets as they are so wide to the rear, the S15 backend that was swapped on does not allow that although I think with some fender massaging it is doable. Is that how yours sits now, looks really nice.

my 9.5" sits outside of the rear fenders a bit especially with 265 tires on, you could try rolling the fenders but that will limit you on the rear tire size.

I intend to install some 275 or 285 once i install my vertex ridge rear fenders :D

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 5th, 2010, 7:30 pm

I had the VS-XX on the car before with 265/35/18 and they sat perfect without touching the fenders, offset was 45 though. Will try to fit them some time again and take some pics on the ground. If I keep the GTT as it is looking that way I will have these wheels to play with and will fit a next set of wheels I have in storage on the GTT once the repairs are done.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 6th, 2010, 8:02 am

I didn't know the S15 rear was that tight. Honestly the particular set of VSXX you have don't suit the 15.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 6th, 2010, 8:15 am

Well I don't know, I am gonna run a smaller tyre and see if it looks any better. Will try it maybe today or weekend, I think the wide tyre has it looking really off on the car, maybe with a smaller tighter tyre it will look better or maybe a different mesh colour like chrome or something. Keeping the GTR wheels for now on it though.

Postby Morpheus » October 6th, 2010, 8:24 am

^^Yeah but TriniGT I see yuh in that nasty traffic on the highway yesterday afternoon... What happened to the R34 man? Like somebody try to "modify" the back?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 6th, 2010, 8:39 am

What car were you in? Boy pressure, ah maxi man mash gas instead of brakes while I parked by a traffic light waiting 6 o'clock in the morning going to work dred. Already got the trunklid and I maybe do what I had planned to do to the car and keep her.

wraith

Postby wraith » October 6th, 2010, 9:30 am

TriniGT wrote:I had the VS-XX on the car before with 265/35/18 and they sat perfect without touching the fenders, offset was 45 though. Will try to fit them some time again and take some pics on the ground. If I keep the GTT as it is looking that way I will have these wheels to play with and will fit a next set of wheels I have in storage on the GTT once the repairs are done.

Yeah with that offset you should be fine but my offset was 15 cause i hate the flat look, but it make the rim stick out pass the fender lip.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 6th, 2010, 12:49 pm

I really want a wheel that has the bulge with proper offset and needs slight camber and a decent fender roll and possible flare to the back to fit.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 6th, 2010, 2:13 pm

This is the kind of pull and roll I am after, who can do such a job locally?

Postby Morpheus » October 6th, 2010, 2:44 pm

TriniGT wrote:What car were you in? Boy pressure, ah maxi man mash gas instead of brakes while I parked by a traffic light waiting 6 o'clock in the morning going to work dred. Already got the trunklid and I maybe do what I had planned to do to the car and keep her.

I was in a brown CR-V bout 5 car lengths behind you in the extreme right lane. You must be cringe big time when u felt that impact eh. Pressure. Well all the best with the repairs.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 6th, 2010, 2:48 pm

This is the exact look I am after, wheels and all. Gonna find out the setup this guy has and yes duplicate it.
Crap, I think I have found it, that's it I am done gonna get these specs and I am done.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 7th, 2010, 2:08 am

this paint inspires me...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 7th, 2010, 7:08 am

That is a sitcker I think. I wanna make my own badge as well for the back saying S14.5 but located just below the right tailight but at the same time keeping the car clean with hardly any sticker but then again I wanna throw on an Origin bunny and Driftworks stickers in the quarter glasses.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » October 7th, 2010, 7:49 am

Jason, united auto performance may be able to pull and roll for you. I am 99% sure they have the equipment 6746440

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 7th, 2010, 7:59 am

Thanks will check them soon, need to get the car sorted properly and insured then I can take it there. Do they do suspension tuning as well?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » October 7th, 2010, 2:29 pm

TriniGT wrote:Thanks will check them soon, need to get the car sorted properly and insured then I can take it there. Do they do suspension tuning as well?

They do.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 10th, 2010, 10:28 pm

So Saturday came and I decided to throw the battery in the trunk and carefully drive the car through the backroad to m friend's house so he could check it out, he does car detailing so I wanted his opinion on the car and what needs doing as I relaly want to avoid painting the entire car. He quickly started rubbing passenger rear fender to see how it came out, after a fifteen minute job the black actually had a reflection in it, as if it was awoken. Car has some "fisheyes" but not too bad. He told me to get the two front bumpers repainted and paint over the bodykit and a couple nicks and nacks then he would buff the entire car for me and I would be amazed.
Here are some pics,
When I arrived by him,
After a little rub and some buffing,
Took it home and admired it some more, yep that is a reflection of the skyline.
Then today I decided to try and fit the black front fenders I had to see how it looked, not too bad but the passenger fender needed too much work to fit as it was alittle twisted from the front half,
Did some further tweaking of the fenders and the front lights and things are getting better, just need to recess the driverside headlight a little and it should be a go. Still need to fi the sideskirting but you get the idea. Car is going in the shop week after this week. Should take a week in total for it to come back home. When it gets there I will remove the back exhaust barrel section and all my bracket and piping and sent them to chrome same time and paint what needs painting. Wheels will maybe get an original colour or satin black and caliper will also be refurbed at some point as the gold on black I am liking.

Postby Morpheus » October 10th, 2010, 11:05 pm

^^I love that car already....
Glad things working out for you man.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » October 10th, 2010, 11:13 pm

Excellent! Really glad things coming along nicely Jason. Good job man!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 11th, 2010, 4:55 am

sweet bro!! love the progress...

funny though, im sure when its complete and on the road, so jack is gonna come on tuner and post...s15 on fake plates lol

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 11th, 2010, 7:32 am

Well I already know that it gonna happen. It is really hard to distinguish it as I can pretty much swap any S15 part on it. Even the doors and quarter glasses are S15 pieces. Quarter glasses were bought new from the states from a friend that had damaged his car and thought he would need new ones when repainting, it costed me $600US and then shipping but was a piece I needed as the backhalf I got was missing a lot of stuff. I need to bleed the brakes again or I might just replace the R32 MBC with an R33 GTR setup. Gonna give it a go again and see what happens as currently I have to pump the brake pedal once to get good brakes, hopefully it's a minor thing as I doh wanna have to go through MBC swaps again. Front windscreen too needs to be removed when painting as the universal molding it real sheit, got a used original one that will be a donor and reused as it is in decent condition.

After the car comes back from the shop I have a to-do list:
1 - Install Defis
2 - Install stereo and amp and sub
3 - I may be installing a pair of Recaros
4 - Get door interior redone
5 - Replace Rear Driverside axle boot as it has a small tear
6 - Install Z32 MAF and rewire
7 - Install Apexi Power FC
8 - Install Blitz Boost Controller
9 - Install Blitz Turbo Timer
10 - Get car tuned for low and high boost (nothing serious as it is a stock clutch probably 10 psi low and 12 psi high)
11 - Get car aligned properly and roll and tuck fenders if needed
12 - Install my Cuzco Carbon Strut Bar
13 - Reinstall Chromed Intercooler Piping and Bracketry
14 - Replace oil, oil filter, fuel filter
15 - Order Koyo Aluminum Radiator and Samco Black replacement Radiator Hoses
16 - Get the aircondition gassed
17 - Add my interior pieces

After that I am gonna injoy her until I get the GTT up and running properly and then I will look at doing some minor upgrades powerwise, maybe a GT3076R topmounted with headgasket, headstuds, 1000CC injectors and maybe a VE head but for now that will be it.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 14th, 2010, 11:02 am

Nothing really to be done except to fabricate a battery box for the trunk area. I am trying to make a SARD look-a-like setup as it is neat and should do the job. Will be running something suited for the trunk area battery-wise and the once done all that will be needed will be is a respray which is happening next week.

Have been working on the GTT and the hit in the trunk area. This has been another project now, tackled it yesterday and ripped the rear bumper off to see what I was dealing with. I used the scissors jack and a piece of metal pipe and a flat piece of metal to jack the rear panel to a workable state. Had to jack more and then release the jack and allow for it to go back to where it should be. I mounted the tailight and it looks alright but seems to need a little adjusting again. Big mistake I made from a combination of tiredness and badluck is that I removed the dented trunklid and replaced it with the replacement and reattached the trunklid shocks and proceeded to remove the remove the key lock mechanism from the original trunk when I hear a loud bang, checked to see the trunklid shut on the car.

Tried pulling the cable to open it an it's a no go as the adjustment is off, and the current trunklid has a hole where the key lock should be. Thing is that the keylock is to the right and the lock itself is to the center so getting to it manually to unlock it is out of the question. I am going to have to remove the backseat and see how I can manipulate my fat frame into the trunk area and somehow unlock the trunk. Happened because I didn't have the trunklid entirely open. I have my work cutout for me this afternoon ................... oh the joys :D.

biggreen

Postby biggreen » October 14th, 2010, 11:15 am

good luck with that one bro.. had something similar happen to me. :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 14th, 2010, 11:46 am

yuh lie with the 15? sheit if you need parts holla.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » October 14th, 2010, 1:32 pm

Looking goooood....looking goooood..... nice to see the fruits of hard work paying off..

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 15th, 2010, 7:20 am

glad to see you got through with the front end

Postby bushwakka » October 15th, 2010, 9:43 am

oh my word

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 18th, 2010, 12:19 am

Well nothing much this weekend besides a little drive and as I swung the corner who could I see but the rasta. Anyway, I gave her a little drive and cleared some more rust of the rotors, took her to the Quick Shoppe and put some gas and then took her home. I still need to secure the battery so this week I am gonna organize a battery stand maybe from a Primera or something of the sort and bolt it in and then make a casing for it. Gave her a wash as well even though the passenger fender is still white. Here we go, still using the bbery camera, polished the backup headlights as the Xenons are going on after repair,
Doh laugh at the number plate, it's the old ones that I use to drive her around, will get some square ones fitted after repaint
After a little warmup I tested the diff in the yard :D,

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » October 18th, 2010, 12:28 am

oh how this car has come a long way.. congrats man u inspire me!