T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

DJ Q

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 8:48 am

acesinghit wrote:nah man q, more look like a $750k easy lol

What I do know, all pickups going up in price. Navara 4x4 auto dual cab with leather might be $300k now. A loaded Hilux could cost $350k. The 3.2 Ranger/BT-50 could hit $360k range. Those Porsche, MB, BMW and Land Rover SUV's will spike up as well.

RBC smell the rat and offering 7 year loan periods now. Just now we'll see 8 years normal.

The hike excludes "T" vehicles.
Last I heard the 370Z was about $770k from N&M... before the budget.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 10th, 2013, 9:00 am

ahhh yes but somehow I feel the concentrated duty hike will spead to the entire range. I predict demand for euro vehicles will go up as it has been for the past 3+ years but the stealership mentality remains. Can't wait for a 230k Octavia..

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 10th, 2013, 9:17 am

acesinghit wrote:ahhh yes but somehow I feel the concentrated duty hike will spead to the entire range. I predict demand for euro vehicles will go up as it has been for the past 3+ years but the stealership mentality remains. Can't wait for a 230k Octavia..

I agree the dealerships will find a way to increase prices by using this duty change.
I am looking forward to the new Audi A3 sedan maybe a 1.4tfsi or 1.8tfsi heck I'll may even splurge on the 2.0tdi.
Anybody have any news on when this will be available, might be the last vehicle I purchase for a long time.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » September 10th, 2013, 9:26 am

So allyuh not looking to convert to cng anytime soon awhat? :S :S, yuh getting 40 k to work with you know....:D

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:27 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:ahhh yes but somehow I feel the concentrated duty hike will spead to the entire range. I predict demand for euro vehicles will go up as it has been for the past 3+ years but the stealership mentality remains. Can't wait for a 230k Octavia..

I agree the dealerships will find a way to increase prices by using this duty change.
I am looking forward to the new Audi A3 sedan maybe a 1.4tfsi or 1.8tfsi heck I'll may even splurge on the 2.0tdi.
Anybody have any news on when this will be available, might be the last vehicle I purchase for a long time.

Does it really make sense to spend extra on a diesel vehicle upfront? How much driving would you have to do for the price difference between that and a 2.0tsi to be justified?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 9:29 am

Do diesel engines cost the same to register as a gas engine?

For example the 1.4 diesel accent vs the 1.4 gas

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 10th, 2013, 9:35 am

Accent CRDi = 1.6 so the MVT would be higher than a 1.4L equipped vehicle.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:36 am

DJ Q wrote:Do diesel engines cost the same to register as a gas engine?

For example the 1.4 diesel accent vs the 1.4 gas

MVT on same size displacement is the same. Diesel vehicle sticker prices usually higher though.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 9:37 am

But 200cc doesn't explain the $30,000 difference
Are the diesel rates higher?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:38 am

DJ Q wrote:But 200cc doesn't explain the $30,000 difference
Are the diesel rates higher?

Technology differences between diesel and gasoline engines basically.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » September 10th, 2013, 9:39 am

ahem once again i shall put forward the cng-conversion question...the government wants you to convert ppl come on...all this diesel and gas talk...:S...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:49 am

Renaldo25 wrote:ahem once again i shall put forward the cng-conversion question...the government wants you to convert ppl come on...all this diesel and gas talk...:S...

My thoughts:
1. Liquid fossil fuel prices locally not going to change before next general election.

2. Before they raise prices on diesel and super (which is considered affecting the majority of the population) CNG infrastructure would be needed to be throughout the country. This will take time. Maybe longer than the five year plan the Government is putting forward.

3. Noone is forcing you to convert to CNG.

4. As long as I can afford it I won't be switching to CNG powered vehicles.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 10th, 2013, 9:50 am

If I put a cng tank in the a4 or jetta I'll end up with space for kiss bread only and maybe some hops. May need to buy the accessory roof rack. CNG conversion will reduce my 0-60 fyahz time to almost almera levels and I really do not want this.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:53 am

acesinghit wrote:If I put a cng tank in the a4 or jetta I'll end up with space for kiss bread only and maybe some hops. May need to buy the accessory roof rack. CNG conversion will reduce my 0-60 fyahz time to almost almera levels and I really do not want this.

You should look into the purpose built CNG vehicles from factory. Their performance not soo bad.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » September 10th, 2013, 9:53 am

lol @ allergic and acesing, well said. my next question which is more viable at the moment hybrids, cng or neither? assuming one is environmentally conscious but also likes to have good fyahz times (love these terms) which should one go with or should he/she just stick to a nice clean petrol engine?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 9:59 am

Renaldo25 wrote:lol @ allergic and acesing, well said. my next question which is more viable at the moment hybrids, cng or neither? assuming one is environmentally conscious but also likes to have good fyahz times (love these terms) which should one go with or should he/she just stick to a nice clean petrol engine?

If I had to choose I would go with full electric.

Environmentally speaking: you charge it from the national electricity grid which gets its power from natural gas which burns cleaner than diesel and gasoline. So you sorta getting the benefits of using a cng vehicle with an electric one.

Fyaz: Electric cars pretty much have max torque with flat torque curves and have really good performance. See Tesla vs BMW M5.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 10:00 am

The solution:

Please note that fyahz can still be geed.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 10th, 2013, 10:17 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
acesinghit wrote:If I put a cng tank in the a4 or jetta I'll end up with space for kiss bread only and maybe some hops. May need to buy the accessory roof rack. CNG conversion will reduce my 0-60 fyahz time to almost almera levels and I really do not want this.

You should look into the purpose built CNG vehicles from factory. Their performance not soo bad.

the only thing that came to mind is the Civic CNG which we don't get but its slooow. What did you have in mind?

aidan

Postby aidan » September 10th, 2013, 10:31 am

we need smart cars.

like the smart fortwo cdi 0.8L diesel 85.6 mpg. :D

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » September 10th, 2013, 10:33 am

aidan wrote:we need smart cars.

like the smart fortwo cdi 0.8L diesel 85.6 mpg. :D

but is it for those of us who like fyahz times??

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 10:34 am

Kia Rio 1.1 Diesel - 88 mpg

I estimated just over 1300km to $52.50 diesel

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 10:53 am

acesinghit wrote:

the only thing that came to mind is the Civic CNG which we don't get but its slooow. What did you have in mind?

Basically anything cng based but turbocharged. VW has CNG Golfs and Passats. BMW has a few as well. Quite a few manufacturers have cng based vehicles.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 10th, 2013, 11:41 am

we need e85. revamp the cane. cng can still be a go along with electric etc. spread it out so one wouldnt be under pressure. im not going cng tho rather e85 or drive less. is it illegal to make ur own ethanol locally for personal use? replace the bus route with a train system. its easy to fix. too much people wont be able to run racket again tho. hence our current position. new blood with strict req is needed.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 10th, 2013, 12:20 pm

DJ Q wrote:Kia Rio 1.1 Diesel - 88 mpg

aidan wrote:like the smart fortwo cdi 0.8L diesel 85.6 mpg. :D

Imperial gallon or US gallon?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 10th, 2013, 12:28 pm

The Kia is imperial. Can't speak for the smart.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 10th, 2013, 12:53 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

Does it really make sense to spend extra on a diesel vehicle upfront? How much driving would you have to do for the price difference between that and a 2.0tsi to be justified?

My reasoning for the diesel atm I spend just about $500 a week on fuel (premium) for my A4, I recently put my hands on a 2013 Hyundai Tuscon Diesel 4x4 and I am impressed, its no Audi but its fuel consumption, diesel as we all know provides better mpgs but it cut my fuel bill from $500 to $70 same amount of driving and same driving style.
Its just about variety and I wont mind a diesel option already have petrol, trying something different.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 10th, 2013, 12:56 pm

we really need the Cruze Diesel and Jetta TDI right now these 2 vehicles are creating waves in the North American market. They are also highly successful in Europe. If priced right, both will do well locally.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2013, 1:23 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

My reasoning for the diesel atm I spend just about $500 a week on fuel (premium) for my A4, I recently put my hands on a 2013 Hyundai Tuscon Diesel 4x4 and I am impressed, its no Audi but its fuel consumption, diesel as we all know provides better mpgs but it cut my fuel bill from $500 to $70 same amount of driving and same driving style.
Its just about variety and I wont mind a diesel option already have petrol, trying something different.

1.8 or 2.0 tfsi? $500 a week with aggressive driving sounds like 1.8t. Usually I compare apples to apples as much as possible. Is the Tucson turbo diesel? Anyways are you planning to sell the a4 then buy the Tucson?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 10th, 2013, 6:31 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

1.8 or 2.0 tfsi? $500 a week with aggressive driving sounds like 1.8t. Usually I compare apples to apples as much as possible. Is the Tucson turbo diesel? Anyways are you planning to sell the a4 then buy the Tucson?

Sell the who, love my A4, Its the b7 1.8t only with a little remap was looking to get a b8 S line 2.0 but the new A3 has peaked my curiosity. The driving is not necessarily aggressive but its alot of mixed between city(traffic) and highway(traffic).
As for the Tuscon its non turbo 2.0L CRDi A/T 4x4, received it couple of weeks aback, I must it runs really well very peppy down low (torque) there is room for improvement but from where the Tuscon began great improvement.Not something you will sell your Euro,it just had me thinking a diesel Audi Saloon may not be a bad choice.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 10th, 2013, 6:46 pm

neal and massy service what a fleckin nightmare