T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby j.o.e » August 27th, 2013, 11:52 pm

Saw a new car badged as a Sentra on D plates leaving N&M south last week...back lights looked like LEDs

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 28th, 2013, 6:28 am

dogichi wrote:Don't you just love how they present our overpriced vehicles to us. In America and Europe, things are so different. At least my Audi and Mercedes rep did an excellent job in presentation...can't complain here

Riiiight as if dealers in other countries don't overcharge or treat their potential customers badly. Dealers here learned their shady ways from foreign.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 28th, 2013, 7:03 am

karllol wrote: doh make joke ! that was a roro car i'm guessing.

:cry: New brand special order from N&M. The length of time it took them to get that car licensed, one would have thought that they could have cut the spare key themselves. N&M efficiency at its best.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » August 28th, 2013, 7:06 am

Do may do that....but at least you get the presentation, the warranties that we don't get here. My family in Canada and United States recently bought new cars, and their presentation of their vehicles they shared with me via email. All I can say is WOW!!! We are light years away from anything like that here. How about a 10 yr warranty.....yeah when pigs fly

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 28th, 2013, 7:47 am

dogichi wrote:Do may do that....but at least you get the presentation, the warranties that we don't get here. My family in Canada and United States recently bought new cars, and their presentation of their vehicles they shared with me via email. All I can say is WOW!!! We are light years away from anything like that here. How about a 10 yr warranty.....yeah when pigs fly

Yeah well you'll have to blame our laws for that one and not the dealer. The manufacturers only go as far as the laws push them as well as competition. It's been stated before but if local consumers keep buying what's the incentive for manufacturers to improve above and beyond locally? Internationally they give 10 year warranties when they look bad on some large scale level and trying to save face. The most we will get here is some posts on tuner but no serious investigations in print media with multiple articles. Sidetracking a bit: local review mags here don't really review cars. They promote them. Sometimes I *force* myself to read thru a particular local car mag and they never have anything negative to say about any new vehicle during their "in depth" write ups.

While some dealers do offer extended warranties here it usually is part of a package including insurance i.e. you are paying for the extension anyways as opposed to a standard longer warranty from the manufacturer.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

j.o.e wrote:Saw a new car badged as a Sentra on D plates leaving N&M south last week...back lights looked like LEDs

new model sentra. a rep from mexico recently left. he was here to test them out in our conditions etc. seems to be a go. nice car actually.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 28th, 2013, 3:28 pm

Yea that's a nice car, we have but it's not for public sale, all for testing purposes

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 28th, 2013, 3:29 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377718141.615705.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377718157.781195.jpg

Postby noshownogo » August 28th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Not too shabby but it needs some alloys

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 28th, 2013, 4:14 pm

Yea I thought so too dem caps eh make it, I test drove one yesterday and it's a okay drive

dogichi

Postby dogichi » August 28th, 2013, 5:01 pm

The dealers probably pay the reviewers to "big up" their new vehicles. It's a no win in this banana republic "eat ah food" place.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 28th, 2013, 7:09 pm

Interesting to see the specs and price they come with. Looks bigger than previous models. Is it?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 28th, 2013, 8:53 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:I got a pair of keys that weren't programmed to work with vehicle and had to wait about 4 days for them to program it.

If this is SS they are a waste when we got our A4 1 key was programmed when I went to them they said the usual we are sorry, blah, blah. I found a tutorial on Audizine an programmed the key myself (came in handy for battery change), the same with a Q7 purchased later on.
Can't believe the same nonsense is taking place.

I love my Audi but quality of customer service locally :cry:

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 28th, 2013, 8:54 pm

it's replacing the Bluebird Sylphy in most markets that had it, especially in right hand drive since apparently RHD production ended.

Only Russia, China and a handful of LHD markets will continue getting a slightly facelifted Sylphy

Postby equipped2ripp » August 28th, 2013, 8:58 pm

the Sentra is the same as the Bluebird Sylphy

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 28th, 2013, 9:00 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
dogichi wrote:Do may do that....but at least you get the presentation, the warranties that we don't get here. My family in Canada and United States recently bought new cars, and their presentation of their vehicles they shared with me via email. All I can say is WOW!!! We are light years away from anything like that here. How about a 10 yr warranty.....yeah when pigs fly

Yeah well you'll have to blame our laws for that one and not the dealer. The manufacturers only go as far as the laws push them as well as competition. It's been stated before but if local consumers keep buying what's the incentive for manufacturers to improve above and beyond locally? Internationally they give 10 year warranties when they look bad on some large scale level and trying to save face. The most we will get here is some posts on tuner but no serious investigations in print media with multiple articles. Sidetracking a bit: local review mags here don't really review cars. They promote them. Sometimes I *force* myself to read thru a particular local car mag and they never have anything negative to say about any new vehicle during their "in depth" write ups.

While some dealers do offer extended warranties here it usually is part of a package including insurance i.e. you are paying for the extension anyways as opposed to a standard longer warranty from the manufacturer.

I'll say it again, the fact that we don't have multiple authorized dealerships is a major reason we will continue to take what we could get. As a result, we really can't compare what we get and don't get from our local stealerships. In those larger countries, they go the extra mile, offer incentives, and have incredible basic and extended warranties, not because they love their clients, but because the competition is so stiff. You find the salesperson at Honda dealer A was rude or unprofessional? Fine, complain to their manager, leave the showroom and drive down to Honda dealer B or C or D, and spend your hard earned money there 8-) Of course, this doesn't mean that people in these larger countries don't have their fair share of horror stories, but at the end of the day, they have a luxury we lack- the power of choice.
As for those car magazines writing basically ads, I can see why they might feel like their hands are tied. You try writing a damning review of the new RAV4 or Corolla and then ask TTTL for the keys to the GT86, or better yet, ask them about renewing their ad space/ sponsorship :lol:

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 29th, 2013, 9:16 am

It's d upgrade to the bluebird sylphy, Japanese and Thailand is the sylphy but we getting it as sentra

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 29th, 2013, 9:20 am

When yuh say upgrade what do you really mean? Like what is better/different about it besides the names?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 29th, 2013, 9:54 am

^And I find that strange.
The Bluebird Sylphy replaced the Sunny/Sentra/Almera

I find it odd that they went back.
Sylphy is a sexier name than Sentra :|

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » August 29th, 2013, 10:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:When yuh say upgrade what do you really mean? Like what is better/different about it besides the names?

Check out the nissan australia site. It's a mix between the mid and high grade pulsar sedan we will be getting as the sentra.

It's pretty decent (it's at least competitive now feature wise, something the corolla can't say yet).
It's a Nissan in trinidad so it's gonna sell as long they keep the price in and around the the $200K mark. Any more and the koreans will have their way with them on one side and the europeans on the other side. Kinda what happened to the latest Civic and Mazda3

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 29th, 2013, 10:34 am

Got a quote from massy on the 2.5 basic frontier for $188,000. Did they make an error or thats correct?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2013, 3:36 pm

seems correct.

Thats excellent

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 29th, 2013, 4:53 pm

Now everything can't be perfect but it appears the top engine for now is the MRA8DE which returns 96kW @ 6000rpm good for 129hp and 174Nm @ 4800rpm mated to the now ubiquitous xtronic CVT. These specs are still laughable in comparison to the Honda R18A motor found in local new Civics since 2005 and the 2ZR-FE Corolla sold here since late 2007. Lastly the Chevy Cruze 1.8 selling locally since what 2011? and yet these engines produce more power. Maybe Nissan's focus is emissions and fuel economy but time will tell.

Wish we get this version:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 29th, 2013, 4:53 pm

wtf. thought it was 130 sumtin?

Postby gastly369 » August 29th, 2013, 6:55 pm

acesinghit wrote:Now everything can't be perfect but it appears the top engine for now is the MRA8DE which returns 96kW @ 6000rpm good for 129hp and 174Nm @ 4800rpm mated to the now ubiquitous xtronic CVT. These specs are still laughable in comparison to the Honda R18A motor found in local new Civics since 2005 and the 2ZR-FE Corolla sold here since late 2007. Lastly the Chevy Cruze 1.8 selling locally since what 2011? and yet these engines produce more power. Maybe Nissan's focus is emissions and fuel economy but time will tell.

Wish we get this version:

we gonna get de crix pan version with some basic features as fully loaded

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 29th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Death-Row wrote:Got a quote from massy on the 2.5 basic frontier for $188,000. Did they make an error or thats correct?

that sounds like too much; maybe someone got mixed up with basic navaras and basic frontiers :?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2013, 7:05 pm

Death-Row wrote:wtf. thought it was 130 sumtin?

The basic 4x2 with windup windows and bench seats went for that price.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 29th, 2013, 7:28 pm

actually. the basic 4x2 navara was 160 sumtin in the quote i got. when i get time ill go in to see whats up. in the mean time can anyone set this in stone?

bootmee

Postby bootmee » August 30th, 2013, 3:39 pm

Death-Row wrote:actually. the basic 4x2 navara was 160 sumtin in the quote i got. when i get time ill go in to see whats up. in the mean time can anyone set this in stone?

Its 165,000. No power windows and No airbags.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » August 30th, 2013, 3:41 pm

That's correct it's the new frontier but the price is close to the navara so it's all up to the preference