T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » August 21st, 2013, 7:42 am

Actually nemesis, Porsche is one of the most reliable brands. It was rated #2 out of all car manufacturers, by consumer reports and the JD Powers reliability rankings (Feb 2013). It's the least likely for a problem or breakdown per 1000 cars sold. Lexus took the top spot though. So if you want the German power and engineering, and want to make a statement, Porsche over the Lexus any day.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 21st, 2013, 8:31 am

denish_r wrote:so i would like to know what you guys think about the new 2013 chev. cruze?

discussed several pages back and in other threads. consider doing a search..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 21st, 2013, 9:33 am

Guys, went to see the Chevy sonic yesterday. Now I see why people see this as a great buy. This car is loaded with features for the same price.
Has 4 airbags and even has cruise control :-o
Bluetooth standard, factory alarm/immobilizer, USB/iPod/aux, 1.6 engine with 6fwd tiptronic, big trunk, nice leg room.
I just hate the rear of the car. It's ugly as hell. Also when you shift into manual, you don't move the stick, you press the button on the stick to shift. That's kinda weird.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377091711.553624.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377091737.953974.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377091827.954199.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377091860.137732.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1377091912.437312.jpg

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 21st, 2013, 9:55 am

dogichi wrote:Actually nemesis, Porsche is one of the most reliable brands. It was rated #2 out of all car manufacturers, by consumer reports and the JD Powers reliability rankings (Feb 2013). It's the least likely for a problem or breakdown per 1000 cars sold. Lexus took the top spot though. So if you want the German power and engineering, and want to make a statement, Porsche over the Lexus any day.

According to the telegraph's recent report..it's the Porsche that's near the bottom..along with land rover over time.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/new ... -cars.html
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on August 21st, 2013, 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » August 21st, 2013, 11:07 am

That Chevy Sonic instrument cluster screams "cost cutting!"

But other than that looks like a well equipped car for that price.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 21st, 2013, 12:46 pm

the sonic shares the same steering wheel like the Camaro. therefore Sonic = fast!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 21st, 2013, 1:05 pm

The camero shares the same steering wheel as the Golf GTI and the Golf R

So that means Camero = Very Very fast :P

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 21st, 2013, 2:06 pm

Steering wheels make cars faster?

The Sonic has the same engine as the Cruze.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 21st, 2013, 2:42 pm

dogichi wrote:Actually nemesis, Porsche is one of the most reliable brands. It was rated #2 out of all car manufacturers, by consumer reports and the JD Powers reliability rankings (Feb 2013). It's the least likely for a problem or breakdown per 1000 cars sold. Lexus took the top spot though. So if you want the German power and engineering, and want to make a statement, Porsche over the Lexus any day.

Okk then. Noted. Still, that study could be wack at times. Especially considering Porsche is usually near the bottom of every survey of the type. For example, MB did well on that test, yet they've been 3rd of the 3 big German names in most of Europe. One of the reasons that drove them to have lower prices, to try to get back some customers. We even see effects of that in Trinidad.

Also, knowing 3 Porsche owners, they'll all probably disagree with that survey. :)

In any event, in it's range of performance it may be better than some of the better brands I guess. I think if you could afford it, then you could maintain it. But if I wanted to guess on reliability when buying I'd probably think Lexus over Porsche any day. But that's just me.

Postby Dave » August 21st, 2013, 2:50 pm

^^I am sure a Lexus still cheaper to fix than a Porsche

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 21st, 2013, 3:01 pm

Indeed.

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/cars ... -last.html

Porsche 36th.
Sometimes it's a matter of perception and luck of the draw on which cars were checked.
BMW is 26th on that list yet they advertise themselves as being the best of the 3 main German luxury brands. They aren't wrong..but they can't compete with the masses when all manufacturers are considered.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 21st, 2013, 3:20 pm

Dave wrote:^^I am sure a Lexus still cheaper to fix than a Porsche

Not if you buy it from TTTL.

I can see the following:

service dept: "your Lexus needs a new ignition coil"
owner: "sure .... how much is that?"
service dept: "$5,000"
owner: "Aye ... is a Lexus .... that have to be $10,000 ... steups man ...yuh feel this is a BMW ..... IS A LEXUS!!!"
service dept: "yes sir .... anything you say"
owner: (muttering under breath) "D hell wrong with these ppl? They want me to tell ppl coil cost $5000 and Rajpaul pay $8000 for one for the Porsche .... steups"

dogichi

Postby dogichi » August 21st, 2013, 3:53 pm

If you guys had money to burn what rides would you own? For me it would still be a Porsche, with an Audi a close second.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 21st, 2013, 4:02 pm

Aston Martin DBS Volante
Aston Martin DBS
Aston Martin DBRS9
Bugatti Veyron Vitesse
Zonda F Roadster
Lamborghini Aventador Roadster
Audi Q7 V12TDI
BMW X5
Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VII
Maybach 62
Volkswagen Golf GTi W12-650
Dodge Viper GTS
Ferrari F50 Roadster
BMW E60 530d
Mercedes Benz E300
Ariel Atom V8
Nissan R92CP
Nissan R390GT1

I'd start with that

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 21st, 2013, 6:02 pm

Throw a hatchback Kia Rio in there too

Postby Ted_v2 » August 21st, 2013, 6:04 pm

evo x, navara and one of those ae86 thingies

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 23rd, 2013, 3:18 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:evo x, navara and one of those ae86 thingies

lol @ thingies.....a mclaren mp4-12c because i love the name and the spyder variant....and maybe a 458 italia for sexiness :D , oh and a p12 is it the real fancy mclaren that make you want to have sex w an automobile... :oops:

Johnnycharmer

Postby Johnnycharmer » August 24th, 2013, 4:45 pm

Hyundai Elantra fully loaded vs. Kia Cerato. My girlfriend is interested in one of these. Any thoughts?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 24th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Dave wrote:^^I am sure a Lexus still cheaper to fix than a Porsche

It is....uses Toyota parts.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 24th, 2013, 6:00 pm

Johnnycharmer wrote:Hyundai Elantra fully loaded vs. Kia Cerato. My girlfriend is interested in one of these. Any thoughts?

Honestly they're both on the same level.
Cerato has cruise control but that's about the only difference.

Postby gastly369 » August 24th, 2013, 7:35 pm

dogichi

Postby dogichi » August 24th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Better styling with the new Kia Cerato. And you escape the terrible service of Neal and Massy. Need I say more.

Postby j.o.e » August 24th, 2013, 9:03 pm

^^^^^ and take Southern Sales service? from pot to the fire

Johnnycharmer

Postby Johnnycharmer » August 25th, 2013, 12:53 am

j.o.e wrote:^^^^^ and take Southern Sales service? from pot to the fire

Ahh you know exactly what you are talking about. They seriously need to work on their customer service. In any case we took the Cerato for a Test Drive. My girlfriend likes it so she will most likely go with this one. Thanks

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 25th, 2013, 7:41 am

Anyone know the current price on the land rover discovery. ?

Postby Chimera » August 25th, 2013, 8:21 am

Plenty ppl locally getting problems with the audi q5 from southern sales. As soon as it hit 25000 km, is engine probs in Yuh mc

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 25th, 2013, 8:23 am

copper_shot wrote:Anyone know the current price on the land rover discovery. ?

called 3 weeks ago, it was $895,000.00 (discovery 4)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 25th, 2013, 8:24 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Plenty ppl locally getting problems with the audi q5 from southern sales. As soon as it hit 25000 km, is engine probs in Yuh mc

not good , not good at all.
Audi, Q5, after paying 495,000 or 565,000...not acceptable.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 25th, 2013, 8:35 am

any info on the frontier at massy? heard they still got them brand new. is it the same engine that giving probs?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 25th, 2013, 8:40 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Plenty ppl locally getting problems with the audi q5 from southern sales. As soon as it hit 25000 km, is engine probs in Yuh mc

Which spec engine ?