T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2013, 8:00 am

drchaos wrote:Jags? you sure you want to buy a car from an indian company?

As sure as you bought a car made by Mexicans.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 9th, 2013, 8:07 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

As sure as you bought a car made by Mexicans.

Ohgadoi!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 9th, 2013, 10:20 am

If i was shopping in that price bracket it would be my first choice. Some people do like them!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 9th, 2013, 2:55 pm

dunno bout you guys but these 2 are far superior to any accent or rio..

wish these variants were available locally...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 9th, 2013, 5:35 pm

Haven't seen the sonic as yet and I know ford = premium so it wasn't an option.

At the time, the Cruze was the only thing that Chevy had to offer. And honestly... I was not as impressed as I was by the rio.

Love that rio hatch.

Rio hatch > anything in class

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 9th, 2013, 5:45 pm

DJ Q wrote:Haven't seen the sonic as yet and I know ford = premium so it wasn't an option.

At the time, the Cruze was the only thing that Chevy had to offer. And honestly... I was not as impressed as I was by the rio.

Love that rio hatch.

That Sonic and Cruze got some shady safety ratings. A report in today's Express from the IIHS. And to think when I asked the Chevrolet rep about the fact that a 2013 Cruze has only 2 airbags when it should have at least 6 to 8, he says airbag deployment is expensive to repair (meaning I would save in repair costs.... After I am dead of course) and the side beams in the door are more effective. I left that right there.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » August 9th, 2013, 7:48 pm

@acesinghit
Unless we actually get those models here in trinidad (which i readily agree are superior) it's a bit misleading to purport them to be the better buy, especially since those models would certainly be in the price bracket of a larger car like a loaded cruze or focus.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 9th, 2013, 9:15 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
DJ Q wrote:Haven't seen the sonic as yet and I know ford = premium so it wasn't an option.

Love that rio hatch.

That Sonic and Cruze got some shady safety ratings. A report in today's Express from the IIHS. And to think when I asked the Chevrolet rep about the fact that a 2013 Cruze has only 2 airbags when it should have at least 6 to 8, he says airbag deployment is expensive to repair (meaning I would save in repair costs.... After I am dead of course) and the side beams in the door are more effective. I left that right there.

the cruze was awarded 2013 top safety pick status by the same IIHS (see link below):
http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=710

in the interest of topic continuity as mentioned countless times before, T&T receive watered down models in all makes of cars. The cruze we get locally are all the base models. LS and LT only. No LTZ. In the US/Canada, that same car has up to 10 airbags and GM says its one of the most crash tested vehicles in their fleet. Lies and BS? Who cares but I can tell you from a safety stand point you don't want to be bragging about any Kia Rio which has 2 airbags locally :lol: Crash test results or not, if I had to choose a cheap compact sedan to be in, it would be the Focus, Octavia, Cruze and Jetta. Take some time and inspect the chassis construction/integration into the floor pan and subframes of any of the aforementioned vehicles and you would soon realize no mazda 3, corolla, lancer, civic, tiida/sylphy and elantra/cerato could come close.

I'm onto my 2nd European car and it seems there is no turning back.

Not surprising, the common denominator between those 4 cars are German Engineering 8-)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 10th, 2013, 9:02 am

acesinghit wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Love that rio hatch.

the cruze was awarded 2013 top safety pick status by the same IIHS (see link below):
http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=710

in the interest of topic continuity as mentioned countless times before, T&T receive watered down models in all makes of cars. The cruze we get locally are all the base models. LS and LT only. No LTZ. In the US/Canada, that same car has up to 10 airbags and GM says its one of the most crash tested vehicles in their fleet. Lies and BS? Who cares but I can tell you from a safety stand point you don't want to be bragging about any Kia Rio which has 2 airbags locally :lol: Crash test results or not, if I had to choose a cheap compact sedan to be in, it would be the Focus, Octavia, Cruze and Jetta. Take some time and inspect the chassis construction/integration into the floor pan and subframes of any of the aforementioned vehicles and you would soon realize no mazda 3, corolla, lancer, civic, tiida/sylphy and elantra/cerato could come close.

I'm onto my 2nd European car and it seems there is no turning back.

Not surprising, the common denominator between those 4 cars are German Engineering 8-)

About the Cruze, Yeah true, originally interested till I found out that the model we get is quite different to the proper one we should be getting. I guess to save money, to compete with the octavia?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 10th, 2013, 10:16 am

acesinghit wrote:Who cares but I can tell you from a safety stand point you don't want to be bragging about any Kia Rio which has 2 airbags locally :lol: Crash test results or not, if I had to choose a cheap compact sedan to be in, it would be the Focus, Octavia, Cruze and Jetta.

This is why I specified "in its class". The three cars you just mentioned are not subcompact vehicles and are also not in the same price range. FYI a Cruze also has 2 airbags, an Octavia starts at 30k more, and a Jetta is almost 100k more.

The Rio is an excellent car when compared to its rivals: SX4, Accent, Sonic, Tiida, etc.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 10th, 2013, 11:46 am

DJ Q wrote:
acesinghit wrote:Who cares but I can tell you from a safety stand point you don't want to be bragging about any Kia Rio which has 2 airbags locally :lol: Crash test results or not, if I had to choose a cheap compact sedan to be in, it would be the Focus, Octavia, Cruze and Jetta.

This is why I specified "in its class". The three cars you just mentioned are not subcompact vehicles and are also not in the same price range. FYI a Cruze also has 2 airbags, an Octavia starts at 30k more, and a Jetta is almost 100k more.

The Rio is an excellent car when compared to its rivals: SX4, Accent, Sonic, Tiida, etc.

The DJ has a point...problem is save for some of the euros we get low level vehicles generally down here regardless of brand. so when cars w 2 airbags shouldnt even be sold sometimes they make millions because of our pricing structure and all these blasted vehicle taxes...when they say cheap they mean cheap lol...btw any thoughts on the dude in the 740 i whose vehicle hit the tree, split in half and burst into flames?... not to speak ill of the dead but what kinda numbers was his speedo hitting??

karl

Postby karl » August 11th, 2013, 12:59 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:
DJ Q wrote:

The DJ has a point...problem is save for some of the euros we get low level vehicles generally down here regardless of brand. so when cars w 2 airbags shouldnt even be sold sometimes they make millions because of our pricing structure and all these blasted vehicle taxes...when they say cheap they mean cheap lol...btw any thoughts on the dude in the 740 i whose vehicle hit the tree, split in half and burst into flames?... not to speak ill of the dead but what kinda numbers was his speedo hitting??

i was surprised to hear of this as well....does anyone know what year 740 and if his seatbelt was on?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2013, 1:08 pm

If you have to ask how fast he was going or if his seatbelts were on then I don't think you need to worry too much cuz you probably won't be speeding that fast in general. Crashes like that are at high speeds. Think above 160 kph. Of course noone gonna tell you how fast he was going exactly lol.

Also seatbelts not gonna help you at that speed if you come to a sudden stop. You wanna be safer? Put a roll cage in yuh corolla and wear a HANS device with 5 point seatbelt.

karl

Postby karl » August 11th, 2013, 4:23 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:If you have to ask how fast he was going or if his seatbelts were on then I don't think you need to worry too much cuz you probably won't be speeding that fast in general. Crashes like that are at high speeds. Think above 160 kph. Of course noone gonna tell you how fast he was going exactly lol.

Also seatbelts not gonna help you at that speed if you come to a sudden stop. You wanna be safer? Put a roll cage in yuh corolla and wear a HANS device with 5 point seatbelt.

car like that should have alerted and braked automatically. that's why i asked if anyone knew what year model.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2013, 5:01 pm

karl wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:If you have to ask how fast he was going or if his seatbelts were on then I don't think you need to worry too much cuz you probably won't be speeding that fast in general. Crashes like that are at high speeds. Think above 160 kph. Of course noone gonna tell you how fast he was going exactly lol.

car like that should have alerted and braked automatically. that's why i asked if anyone knew what year model.

I hear yuh but...
There are so many variables that can go wrong or be changed even if it had early braking systems. 4 litre v8 would probably have a speed limiter but at 155mph. Fast enough for something bad to happen to you in a crash.

Not like if those systems can't be deactivated at all? Also early braking is for things directly infront of you. By the time you're heading for a tree it might scrub off some speed but you can still end up in a bad spot.

Only thing you can really count on most times is the driver.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 11th, 2013, 7:39 pm

So nobody knows anything about the XF? :(
Last edited by scotty_buttons on August 12th, 2013, 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 12th, 2013, 7:42 am

DJ Q wrote:

Agreed but I was not comparing a sub compact rio to a compact sedan. I was just pointing out that you cannot dismiss a car for simply having 2 airbags and then big up a Rio which boasts of the same 2 airbags with a smaller deform zone.

By the logic of some in here 740i have a plethora of airbags so he suppose to live after geeing dem good :|

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2013, 9:07 am

acesinghit wrote:Crash test results or not, if I had to choose a cheap compact sedan to be in, it would be the Focus, Octavia, Cruze and Jetta. Take some time and inspect the chassis construction/integration into the floor pan and subframes of any of the aforementioned vehicles and you would soon realize no mazda 3, corolla, lancer, civic, tiida/sylphy and elantra/cerato could come close.

Dude, its the same car.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 12th, 2013, 1:06 pm

yes whilst sharing the same platform, the Ford has a stronger body. Go check it out in person and you soon realize the Focus is an overall superior product.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 12th, 2013, 3:59 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:So nobody knows anything about the XF? :(

Poverty in de nation!

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2013, 7:26 pm

acesinghit wrote:yes whilst sharing the same platform, the Ford has a stronger body. Go check it out in person and you soon realize the Focus is an overall superior product.

I am very familiar with both cars, I dont know what you count as a "stronger body" but they both get identical crash ratings.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 12th, 2013, 9:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:yes whilst sharing the same platform, the Ford has a stronger body. Go check it out in person and you soon realize the Focus is an overall superior product.

I am very familiar with both cars, I dont know what you count as a "stronger body" but they both get identical crash ratings.

If you were familiar with both cars you would not make such a statement. All you need to do is leave YouTube and Google alone and check the new Focus out in person. By the time you open that front door. Game over Mazda 3.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 12th, 2013, 9:43 pm

Teh irony

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 12th, 2013, 10:02 pm

With regards to the crash of the 740... Cars don't just split like that.

I suspect front/rear cut business

Yes I know he was doing 5000kmph but still...
Chassis like that don't break... They bend.

Postby cinco » August 12th, 2013, 10:10 pm

acesinghit wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

If you were familiar with both cars you would not make such a statement. All you need to do is leave YouTube and Google alone and check the new Focus out in person. By the time you open that front door. Game over Mazda 3.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
all ten oui
you must be a structural engineer specialising in metallurgy

Postby Habit7 » August 12th, 2013, 10:18 pm

acesinghit wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

You sir are what marketing executives dream of :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 12th, 2013, 10:35 pm

I recognize my comments above were uncalled for and I apologise for that. Basically what I am saying is despite the common platform the Focus is still a stronger/better built car than the Mazda. One way to prove this statement is to drive one or simply be driven in one. Thanks for keeping it mature.

Anyway, just to note I heard within some circles today that this mid-term 2013 budget presentation may have a couple unpopular decisions made in respect to vehicle purchasing/ownership. Speculation on adjustments for:

1) fuel
2) Duty
3) MVT
4) transfer tax

With excess liquidity in the economy, borrowing is becoming more competitive and thus new vehicle sales may keep at a steady pace. Blaming higher overheads especially in logistics mean car prices will continue to rise. 2014 may be the year we see a $300k+ Civic. No wonder why PCZ crack 8000+ already. People afraid of budget 2013.

Postby Habit7 » August 13th, 2013, 12:25 am

acesinghit wrote:Basically what I am saying is despite the common platform the Focus is still a stronger/better built car than the Mazda. One way to prove this statement is to drive one or simply be driven in one.

I happen to own a Mazda 3 and have been driven in a Focus and have gone to the showroom on more than one occasion to receive a presentation by the sales clerk on the Focus. The build quality appears to be similar to me.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 13th, 2013, 1:02 am

I would not be surprised If they sent up car taxes within the next few years ...

People keep buy and buying so the government will try to squeeze more tax revenue from us

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 13th, 2013, 11:31 am

sad but true. ppl makin too much money dred. or should i say too much money in the system,.. and this government aint have a clue what to do to help the economy grow so of course they will look to increase the rape on new vehicles and the like. we shall see...