NISSCORT

Re: turbo escort

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 9:34 am

so you saying it's ok to drop a 200+bhp engine into an ol;d clunker and to
bollocks with safety?
I'm sure the cost to fabricate a four link setup is significantly less than the cost of Speed's engine.........probably less than his car too

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ To use your words, how many "clunkers on the road without proper suspension and braking" do you think will hire Kennicon?

I hear ya
I was just giving him the benefit of the doubt........yeah I should know better :-(

nigie

Postby nigie » December 15th, 2010, 10:33 am

mg can u find out how much it will cost to do a multi link on a escort...i will also try 2 find out ...most likely it will cross 7000 dollars...to put brackets on a diff to line up on a car is 1500 cheapest....so multi link...mucho $$$$$

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 10:45 am

ok then.....let's go along with your argument....so are you saying lack of funds is justification for building an unsafe car?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 15th, 2010, 10:46 am

IMHO the best thing to do was get a newer car maybe an A172 Lancer. You're sure you gonna get better brakes and wont have to worry about trying to fit a booster in there because really and truly the escort has a small engine bay and you're sure you gona have to worry less about chassis rigidity and body restoration depending on the state the car came in and all round its a better and more comfortable car the drive, parts will also be able to get and you would have able to save money in some areas and use it for more important areas in the project.

Just my opnion
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on December 15th, 2010, 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 11:08 am

correct there gracen
unfortunately the 'it go wuk so' and 'we poor so stop fightin we dong' mentalities will always foster this level of ignorance

nigie

Postby nigie » December 15th, 2010, 11:51 am

MG Man wrote:ok then.....let's go along with your argument....so are you saying lack of funds is justification for building an unsafe car?

NO!!! ...my point is that the type of suspension u recomended is very costly...as a matter of fact its the most expensive...an alternative cheaper suspension system would not necesarily make the car unsafe...car manufacturers and all find producing the multi link ..expensive...... mg if i affer to buy u a drink u will call down johnie walker blue...geez

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Nigie
a 4 link on a car with a solid rear axle is not as expensive / complicated as you think
I agree it will take some planning and thought and some mods, but nothing impossible. Lower links will not be that hard...uppers can be easily made by cutting two channels in the floor pan and bracing them transversely with tubing
Brackets to hold them to the axle are not rocket science either
Heck if they wanted, I am sure they can find a GSR to copy

Upper and lower trailing arms can be made with heavy gauge pipe.........nothing that will require breaking the bank...the ends can also be made up using pipe and cylindrical suspension bushes

For a solid rear axle, the 4 link / panhard rod option is the best / most common / most cost effective setup...I'm not sure why u think it's so expensive...........unless u thinking the IRS option I mentioned earlier...That would be ideal, but in lieu of that, four trailing links would not be unrealistic...heck he can look under a Land Rover and see how to do it

and as for technical...........again, the cost of learning is not that high

http://www.amazon.com/Competition-Car-S ... 919&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Chassis-Engineeri ... 919&sr=1-2

http://www.amazon.com/Competition-Car-S ... 919&sr=1-3

http://www.amazon.com/Car-Suspension-Ha ... 919&sr=1-4

http://www.amazon.com/How-Make-Your-Car ... 919&sr=1-8

nigie

Postby nigie » December 16th, 2010, 12:40 pm

Yes mg ..a solid rear 4 link / panhard is expensive...why u think not plenty people using it..cause in racing...when u tell them the cost they start using expletives.....@#$%&
4 link @#$%^ look put 2 $%^&* ing slapper bars in he tail and haul u %^&*& mrgreen:

ya slapper bars/traction bars are bout 50 USD

d spike

Postby d spike » December 16th, 2010, 8:37 pm

MG Man wrote:lol
Nigie
a 4 link on a car with a solid rear axle is not as expensive / complicated as you think
I agree it will take some planning and thought and some mods, but nothing impossible. Lower links will not be that hard...uppers can be easily made by cutting two channels in the floor pan and bracing them transversely with tubing
Brackets to hold them to the axle are not rocket science either
Heck if they wanted, I am sure they can find a GSR to copy

Upper and lower trailing arms can be made with heavy gauge pipe.........nothing that will require breaking the bank...the ends can also be made up using pipe and cylindrical suspension bushes

For a solid rear axle, the 4 link / panhard rod option is the best / most common / most cost effective setup...I'm not sure why u think it's so expensive...........unless u thinking the IRS option I mentioned earlier...That would be ideal, but in lieu of that, four trailing links would not be unrealistic...heck he can look under a Land Rover and see how to do it

and as for technical...........again, the cost of learning is not that high

http://www.amazon.com/Competition-Car-S ... 919&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Chassis-Engineeri ... 919&sr=1-2

http://www.amazon.com/Competition-Car-S ... 919&sr=1-3

http://www.amazon.com/Car-Suspension-Ha ... 919&sr=1-4

http://www.amazon.com/How-Make-Your-Car ... 919&sr=1-8

This post meets the approval of Ben Spannerman.
Spannerman approved.

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2010, 10:36 am

yay
does this mean I can keep the Spannerman sticker on the car?

d spike

Postby d spike » December 19th, 2010, 1:15 pm

MG Man wrote:yay

Of course...

just remember...
...if you ever should buy a jappo car less than 20 years old... or even consider replacing your engine with a jappo engine...
...the sticker will fall off on its own... and never allow itself to be stuck back on...

:twisted:

nigie

Postby nigie » December 20th, 2010, 10:58 am

d spike wrote:

Of course...

just remember...
...if you ever should buy a jappo car less than 20 years old... or even consider replacing your engine with a jappo engine...
...the sticker will fall off on its own... and never allow itself to be stuck back on...

So no spannerman sticker for mr Speed

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 27th, 2010, 11:22 pm

d spike wrote:

Of course...

just remember...

aye aye aye wat happen to japo engines? :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » December 28th, 2010, 12:58 pm

gracen wrote:
aye aye aye wat happen to japo engines?

What happens to jappo engines? (Who cares? :lol: )
They get melted down and made into toasters... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: NISSCORT

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2010, 2:53 pm

Japo engines are awesome man they kick some serious butt :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2010, 3:29 pm

that's cuz they be copies of British engineering

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 28th, 2010, 4:52 pm

d spike wrote:What happens to jappo engines? (Who cares? :lol: )
They get melted down and made into toasters... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yup, jappo engines make GREAT toasters too...

and most Brit engines, including ALL Ford Cossie and Lotus 4-bangers (yup, turbos too)... make great TOAST!... :evilbat: :rofl:

BTW that's no idle "fanboy" b/s either. FYI just check to see which production 2.0L 4-banger from anywhere produces the MOST torque per litre... and bhp too. This record was held for decades... with rock-solid reliability too.
Oh and if you start to tweek them, they hold the record there too...
How about 40 psi boost from a 2.0L production block.
Not good enough? Then how about 1,400 bhp @ 11,000 rpm... @ 86 psi of boost. :shocked!: ... Yup, from a 2 litre "jappo" block.

Narrow your search. Just type... 4G63... 'Nuff said! :lol:

BTW Spike, I love Brit engines too. Ask MG Man. Just can't argue with the facts, though. :lol:

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on December 28th, 2010, 5:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2010, 5:22 pm

Thank you Sancti. Japanese engines so far are the best!

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2010, 5:24 pm

tuebo is like silicone breastses
I'll take my 300bhp n/a thank you
and I always say, it's easy to make the 'best' when you ride on someone else's R&D investment

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 28th, 2010, 5:31 pm

^ ^ ^ Ohh No you didn't say that MG.

ALL OEM engines copy as many details from their competitors as possible. That's been standard practice for over a century.
Classic case-in-point was the 120Y engine. Nissan did use the Mini engine design as a benchmark.

BTW MG, care to say which Brit engine design was copied by the 4G63? :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2010, 6:55 pm

lol I'll leave that one up tp you LOL

gready123456

Re: Re:

Postby gready123456 » January 2nd, 2011, 10:05 am

Bezman wrote:
gready123456 wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:Damien, if u serious ... i MIGHT be able to link u either a mk1 2 door or a 616 .. both in decent condition

616 from where how much what exactly is decent condition u can pm me the info if u are willing to let me kno

thanks

you still pretending you buying a rx?? :lol: :lol:

nah i not interested in the car right now i insisted in parts heheh

d spike

Postby d spike » January 2nd, 2011, 12:00 pm

Quite right, Sanctifier. If you want to argue about ultimate HP and torque, then jappo stuff is up there in the clouds... but them young 'uns always end up confusing two different concepts, that of performance, and that of preference.
You can't beat one of those new microwave ovens for efficiency, yet my mother's kitchen's pride and joy will always be her first stove that is still in mint condition (one of the last one's brought from England)... and that can't beat her mother's own stored in the back room (in the same condition)... not to mention the kerosene-burning one in the back that has "Dutch East India Co." stamped on it...
The bottom-line is preference and taste - Nicky Minaj will sell more CDs than Chopin... but I still prefer to hear Chopin...
(As far as which engine is the "best", why not stick one of those jappos into a Jaguar and then try to make sense of the hue and cry that will follow? :lol: )

Neither do I hang my hat where my hand can't reach. I can "ben' spanner" on my Pintos, strip 'em, rebuild 'em, race 'em... and still have most of my salary in my pocket left to work on the house, take the lady out, and suchlike. A lot of jappo enthusiasts have to save up to buy their stuff, "do without", while their ladies either yearn for entertainment - or find it on their own... No green grapes here, just plain common-sense - the 2L Pinto has been the poor man's power-plant for decades.

If the young 'uns want to fiddle with jappos and turbos, that's their preference. I won't listen to Movado, nor will I hang my arse out of my trousers. To each his own.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 2nd, 2011, 7:39 pm

d spike wrote:The bottom-line is preference and taste - Nicky Minaj will sell more CDs than Chopin... but I still prefer to hear Chopin...
(As far as which engine is the "best", why not stick one of those jappos into a Jaguar and then try to make sense of the hue and cry that will follow? :lol: )

Neither do I hang my hat where my hand can't reach. I can "ben' spanner" on my Pintos, strip 'em, rebuild 'em, race 'em... and still have most of my salary in my pocket... A lot of jappo enthusiasts have to save up to buy their stuff, "do without"...
Nicky Minaj will sell more CDs than Chopin... Let's not mix brain-dead noise with REAL music, my friend. :roll: BTW sometimes I find Chopin a bit too "heavy"... sometimes I prefer Tychovski... but best of all is smooth jazz... Norman Brown... Boney James... Richard Elliot 8-) :lol:

A lot of jappo enthusiasts have to save up to buy their stuff, "do without"... Yup, been there, done that!... REPEATEDLY! :roll:
But trust me, after the sacrifice is over... having 450-500 lb/ft WTQ and the WHP that goes with it...@ all 4 wheels is almost as good as sex! :lol:
How about 0-60 mph = < 4 sec.... and 60-0 mph = 2.5 sec... with handling to match...

Why not just enjoy BOTH 4wd & rwd... N/A & Turbo... ol' school / new school. That's what I intend to do.
And btw...
Sanctifier wrote:Hey, maybe that jappo in a Jaguar idea can work...but make it an "E-type" + 475 WHP 4G63...+ 9" Ford rear axle! :twisted: :lol:

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on February 2nd, 2011, 2:19 am, edited 4 times in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 2nd, 2011, 7:47 pm

the old 2L pinto is the poor man's powerplant. The new "redesigned" one, with its aluminium CNC machined head pumping out 235bhp N/A in finland is another story. The average man cant really afford those new ones. But the funny thing is, that even thought the pinto is an "ole engine" there are companies out there in europe pumping millions in R&D to improve this engine and apply the new tech on it. I cannot think of any japanese engine from that era that can boast of that.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 4th, 2011, 7:19 am

Google Mitsubishi 4G37 :P

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 4th, 2011, 10:04 am

gracen wrote:Google Mitsubishi 4G37 :P

:? :? :roll:

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 10:21 am

Sanctifier as spike said, preference
I am quite happy wringing the 45whp out of the MGB.......and when I feel like overtaking the odd maxi taxi, the 113whp on the HSR is quite adequate...same for the power delivery on the XKE
If I want modern handling, you know which mitsus I'd have in my garage ;-p
as the old saying goes, I rather push my slow car to the limit all the time than have to be holding back all the time with my fast car
I can tell you, while you hurtle down the 1320 in 10 seconds in your Evo, I'll have a whole other 14 seconds to enjoy the run in the MG before I reach the end!

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 10:24 am

Sanctifier wrote:Not good enough? Then how about 1,400 bhp @ 11,000 rpm... @ 86 psi of boost. :shocked!: .

u talking about those BMW 1.8 engines from back around 1982? :P
been there, done that :mrgreen:

nigie

Postby nigie » January 4th, 2011, 10:45 am

MG Man wrote:I am quite happy wringing the 45whp out of the MGB.......and when I feel like overtaking the odd maxi taxi, the 113whp on the HSR is quite adequate...same for the power delivery on the XKE
I can tell you, while you hurtle down the 1320 in 10 seconds in your Evo, I'll have a whole other 14 seconds to enjoy the run in the MG before I reach the end!

hummmm that explains a lot......lol