T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » July 10th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:No one could convince me that a Jap is more reliable than a Euro. I've owned both and the Euro pisses all over the Jap any day of the week in terms of overall build quality, reliability and maintenance.
If all you could spend on a new vehicle was 180k what car would you buy locally?

Skoda Octavia

But as a lover of euros, japs are more reliable, albeit with more inferior technology.

But the Octavia is $184k after discount.. :?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 10th, 2013, 3:14 pm

The 2014 Mazda might look a little weird when the front plate is installed, for example:

Anyway, for those who don't want to dig up too much for the specs here you go.

torque figures look good but the HP figures are very low. Any how, in typical Mazda style, despite the low HP, the acceleration figures prove otherwise. Perhaps as assumed before in the Mazda 6, Mazda's claimed HP is very conservative.

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2013, 4:10 pm

The Octavia design is dated and though the official price is $184,000 trust me, at Sterling they wont refuse $180,000.

But the 2013 model should be in T&T before the end of the year, I hope :roll: and hopefully it should be under $200,000. The newer Octavia design is modern yet composed, kinda like the Jetta. I really not appreciating the swoopy, pseudo-sporty, feminine look of the Koreans and Mazda/Ford sedans they are trying to force on us.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 10th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Time for a redesign for that Octavia....same ol' for the past few years. But then that will shoot up the cost and cross that $200,000 limit

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 10th, 2013, 8:01 pm

The Octavia has already been redesigned...just for the new model to reach here.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 10th, 2013, 8:51 pm

as do i but at what price? :)

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 10th, 2013, 8:54 pm

So sorry but I am not impressed....that Octavia needs the help of a modern design

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 10th, 2013, 8:55 pm

sorry that was for another post....if the new octavia comes to our shores for less than 200 k is bacchanal in de place...cause it has the same tsi engine as the jetta albeit w a little less powerrrrr....

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 10th, 2013, 8:59 pm

I will bacchanal with either an Audi or a Mercedes......lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 10th, 2013, 10:39 pm

Nein! New Octavia don't have the same engine as the Jetta ... Its the newer 1.4 tsi that's just single scroll turbocharged. The Jetta is Twin-charged and 0 to 60 is faster on the Octavia by a few milli seconds.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 11th, 2013, 5:51 am

dogichi wrote:Time for a redesign for that Octavia....same ol' for the past few years. But then that will shoot up the cost and cross that $200,000 limit

When I called to enquire, the salesperson was quite sure that the new one would be over 200.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 11th, 2013, 7:23 am

So a hot redesigned Octavia might be around $230,000 in the future. Just now it look like all sedans will be over $200,000. So sad

Postby Habit7 » July 11th, 2013, 7:36 am

US safety agency investigating Hyundai Santa Fe
Tuesday, July 09, 2013 | 11:08 AM

DETROIT (AP) — US safety regulators are investigating complaints that the Hyundai Santa Fe sport utility vehicle can suddenly lose power.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says it has two complaints that the right-front axle shaft can fail on 2013 models.

The investigation covers about 50,000 vehicles. Investigators will determine if the problem is big enough to require a recall.
No injuries or crashes have been reported.
In both complaints, owners reported a loud noise and said their SUVs wouldn’t move. In both cases the vehicles had less than 5,000 miles on them.
NHTSA began its investigation on July 5, the agency said in documents posted Tuesday on its website.

In one complaint, an owner told NHTSA there was a loud bang under the SUV as it was being driven out of a subdivision. After that it would not move in drive or reverse. The owner called Hyundai’s roadside assistance number, and the Santa Fe was towed to a dealership, where technicians found a cracked axle.
“They are fixing it, but I did tell them that I will be leery driving it again,” the owner said in the complaint.
Owners are not identified in complaints filed with NHTSA.
Hyundai is cooperating with the investigation and says it’s too early in the process to draw any conclusions, spokesman Miles Johnson said in a statement.
In a separate case, NHTSA has decided not to seek a recall of the 2011 Santa Fe because of a steering problem.

The agency began investigating about 70,000 of the SUVs in October of 2012 because a fastener could come loose, causing the steering shaft to come apart. If that happens, drivers could lose control of the SUVs. The agency received one complaint about the problem, while Hyundai had three.

NHTSA said in documents posted last week that Hyundai traced the problem to operator error at its assembly plant. The company made changes at the plant to stop the problem from happening and said it occurred on only a few vehicles. NHTSA said there haven’t been any failures since the changes were made.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/auto/US- ... z2YjgozKQM

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 11th, 2013, 8:02 am

^^^ I think that should be in a separate thread. Not the new vehicle prices thread.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 11th, 2013, 11:33 am

Went to check the Actyon Sports Pickup yesterday and really impressed with the features, build quality and price.... $213,000 on the road VAT inclusive.

For that price you get:

2L e-XDI engine 155PS and 360Nm
6 speed auto with steering mounted shift buttons
Double wishbone front and multi-link rear with coil springs
Tray liner with spring loaded tailgate with central locking
16" alloys
Front and rear disc brakes
ABS, EBD & BA
Shift on the fly 4WD
USB and AUX port
Front & Rear fog lamps
Bluetooth integration with steering wheel control
LED instrument cluster

The interior is roomy and really comfortable and the suspension should guarantee a smoother ride than the Japs. Only thing missing is side impact airbags other than that considering getting one.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 11th, 2013, 1:21 pm

$213k for this?

Excellent price!

What a very under appreciated pickup in our market. It has a superior cabin to a Navara and better ride quality than all the other pickups. The standard features and competitive price makes it a steal of a deal. Imagine it also has more peak torque than a loaded 3.0 Hilux and 2.5 L200 Sportero.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 11th, 2013, 6:02 pm

The actyon is nice....but resale would be major problems. Try selling this in 3-4 yrs time...Good luck!!! Trinis are very fickle when it comes to buying cars 2nd hand.

Postby Habit7 » July 11th, 2013, 7:23 pm

The prior model (the ugliest vehicle on the road) was given to me by Sterling once as a loaner. I was tremendously impressed. I am not a 4x4 connoisseur but it drove like a car, handled like a truck off-road and had great top speed. A lot of cheap plastic interior for my taste but which jap/korean truck doesnt have that these days?

Truly underappreciated, but it might appeal to folks who like to have a unique vehicle.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » July 11th, 2013, 8:46 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:No one could convince me that a Jap is more reliable than a Euro. I've owned both and the Euro pisses all over the Jap any day of the week in terms of overall build quality, reliability and maintenance.

If all you could spend on a new vehicle was 180k what car would you buy locally?

Skoda Octavia. The problem with Skoda here is the quick availability of parts and the resale value. That's only because the average Trinidad thinks that a Corolla or a Cefiro is better to own in the long term than a reasonably priced Euro. Skodas are very good cars in Europe.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 11th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Simsimmer..we grow up in Trinidad on Nissan and Toyota. That was the diet of cars fed to us for many years....it's hard to get people to turn to something else. But I think you have to be a person willing to embrace change, in order to see the the total view of what the world has to offer. You can't be short sighted in today's world....or you will miss everything if you just think inside the box. I have changed my thinking...and now the Euros are my cars, and my loyalty won't be changing any time soon.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 11th, 2013, 9:54 pm

We have third world roads, third world weather, third world dealers/mechanics and third world gasoline.

BUT! We all want to drive First world cars!

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 11th, 2013, 9:59 pm

I have one life....so 3rd world or not.....1st world cars it will be for me!!!!

boxy

Postby boxy » July 11th, 2013, 10:17 pm

drchaos wrote:We have third world roads, third world weather, third world dealers/mechanics and third world gasoline.

THIRD WORLD REPORTERS TOO!!!
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Med ... 64201.html

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 11th, 2013, 11:00 pm

drchaos wrote:We have third world roads, third world weather, third world dealers/mechanics and third world gasoline.

third world weather??

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 11th, 2013, 11:06 pm

Guys, question, anyone ever got a loaner from Neal and massy?

I want to sent my van to have the window motor checked (it makes a weird noise) and a couple fitment issues with some panels but I kinda don't want to travel home and be unsure how long they keep the vehicle cause it is a primary vehicle at home.

Reason I asked is cause I can't remember what my rep had said before purchase of the van in such an event and don't think it's a wise idea to call him now :/

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 12th, 2013, 6:02 am

I don't care who the dealer is krupal....once they have to keep your vehicle overnight or more days.....a loaner vehicle must be arranged. They might give you a Tida to drive if its a loaner, but then again is Neal and Massy...expect anything from them and don't be surprised with anything by them.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 12th, 2013, 6:13 am

If the issue is covered by the warranty, that is, not your fault, and it takes more than one day to repair, then you would get a loaner, most likely a POS Tiida.

If it is not covered by the warranty, walk with maxi taxi money.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 12th, 2013, 6:57 am

I never had to deal without being with a vehicle. Even after warranty I got a loaner, mind you, the dealer kept my vehicle only one night. But if you want to really get loyalty from your customers, these little bits of goodwill, go a long way.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 12th, 2013, 8:13 am

dogichi wrote:I never had to deal without being with a vehicle. Even after warranty I got a loaner, mind you, the dealer kept my vehicle only one night. But if you want to really get loyalty from your customers, these little bits of goodwill, go a long way.

Well said dog and kurpal im glad you brought the topic up i always wondered if they keep your vehicle overnight for servicing and what not if they'd give you another vehicle in its place...aka a loaner...great information...and it would also be interesting to find out what dealers give loaners and what dealers dont...and if there are any difficulties with the process...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 12th, 2013, 12:03 pm

acesinghit wrote:$213k for this?

Excellent price!

What a very under appreciated pickup in our market. It has a superior cabin to a Navara and better ride quality than all the other pickups. The standard features and competitive price makes it a steal of a deal. Imagine it also has more peak torque than a loaded 3.0 Hilux and 2.5 L200 Sportero.

Agreed. And yes the 2L is more powerful than Hilux and Sportero with peak torque of 360Nm @ 1500rpm - 2800rpm. Range is impressive too ..... 730km on a tank of diesel. It also has a deep tray with very wide load floor between wheel well arches. Gonna go a for a test drive next week ... I'll report back on this.

A good bit of Australian reviews says this is a tough truck that is low maintenance, dependable and better riding than its competition...... although there's some indication of scuttle shake over bumps