TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - Fuel Setup On The Way!!!

.:PROZAC:..

Re: TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - We Have Paint!!!

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 11th, 2012, 7:58 am

You can prob give him a ring and I can bring it with me in dec. It's here safe in his shop. It was on a S14 but from what I can tell there isn't a different part# for them.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 11th, 2012, 8:03 am

I am worried about the bolting position on the shock mount as that is where they may be specific.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 11th, 2012, 8:15 am

lol hear what I will try it next week when he's back....but I may like it too much because I have a nismo bar too. :0

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 11th, 2012, 8:19 am

Haha no problem, I can always get a Cusco one and powder coat it black :D.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 13th, 2012, 12:25 pm

Got some other stuff today, once in hand I will update on that but I am quite happy to score such a limited item :D. Now time to save for other things like ATi damper, timing belt, management, braided lines, fittings and later on an updated turbo, thinking of sending the turbo to be rebuilt with a different center section, not sure if I can get a GTX equivalent for it from Garrett so it will be a easy bolt up fitment.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 13th, 2012, 11:07 pm

c'mon. spill the beans.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 14th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Well until you do, i'll spam your thread.

A little run from today. Multi-generational meeting.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 14th, 2012, 7:37 pm

Wow those R34 wheels look proper on a GTS body. Okay beans to be spilled, won an auction, scored an ARC Air removal kit, this is like ultra limited edition now. May actually be selling back my Greddy Radiator as it came with a custom Koyo radiator with a screw on rad cap so that bleeding is done via the tanks.
Some snaps, from the mother land.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 14th, 2012, 9:09 pm

What the heck. Custom dude. Wow, did you just stumble upon it or did Adam pass it on knowing you like this one of type of thing.
So how does it work the coolant passes through the pots the air is displaced to the top and you just bleed there? That's really sick. I went through the entire cooling section on YJP ad didn't see that.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 14th, 2012, 9:18 pm

Nah I had a chance to purchase one a while back and it slipped me, I was searching Thursday and saw it pop up and I was asking Adam whether it was for the tanks alone or the entire setup and then he told me if I get this trick setup I could easily sell the Greddy I have and use this as it is made to work together. Adam was surprised when I sent him the link, he said damn the is limited edition sheit as ARC are no more and their products are high end. Will replace all the red hoses though as I am keeping a stealth theme, black, polished chromed and wrinkled.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 17th, 2012, 5:33 pm

Crying here Jay. Came back from Pennsylvania lastnight. Back the car out of the driveway to warm up.
Go on the road after a few minutes of it building temp and it dies, electrical stay on.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 18th, 2012, 7:47 am

Oh damn, what would cause that, moisture or a short or bad ground or something, any chance that it can be jumpered?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 18th, 2012, 9:08 am

I'm not sure what caused it and that's what's scaring me. I'm hesitant to put in another.As far as added on electronics its basic defi ,turbo timer and boost controller.
There isn't anything spliced on the harness. I'm going to try and jump the trace and see what happens, nothing to lose I guess.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 18th, 2012, 9:17 am

Check for a loose ground connection on the board or maybe a pinched wire on the ECU harness. Problems like these are nightmares as the troubleshooting process takes quite some time but for something like this to happen it may be ground related.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 19th, 2012, 11:17 am

She's Alive
Repaired it yesterday. The guy at the electronics store gave me some pointers and I used a silver conductive pen. Luckily the areas were not very close to other traces else I could've shorted it out by adding the new trace. Pretty happy with this and a little proud really.

This pen is magic, high conductivity low resistance. Very good for data circuits. you can alos use it to repair the antenna/heater lines on your glass.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 19th, 2012, 11:53 am

Nice wrk man

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 19th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Nice work but after running the pen I hope you applied some nail polish clear coat as you don't want unnecessary corrosion. Looks really neat, maybe it was just a weak point and over time it became brittle and shorted. Good stuff and noted as well.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 19th, 2012, 1:04 pm

The nailpolish apparently corrodes the board. I'm going back today to thank the guy and ask for a low acidic sealant.

edit: got this pen by the same manufactured for 8 bucks. Green coat pen for sealing / insulating.

and this was the trace pen:

Last edited by .:PROZAC:.. on October 19th, 2012, 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » October 19th, 2012, 1:26 pm

nice work man....didnt knw your car was RHD :/

moti

Postby moti » October 19th, 2012, 1:30 pm

zac...........ah vid but no rev

yuh could ah at least give me something to work with here.....kinda hard to simulate an erection with out any revs dude

Postby Morpheus » October 19th, 2012, 10:20 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:She's Alive
Repaired it yesterday. The guy at the electronics store gave me some pointers and I used a silver conductive pen. Luckily the areas were not very close to other traces else I could've shorted it out by adding the new trace. Pretty happy with this and a little proud really.

This pen is magic, high conductivity low resistance. Very good for data circuits. you can alos use it to repair the antenna/heater lines on your glass.

Nice! Wasn't really aware of these. Nice info man and good job on the repairs.

*checks Amazon

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 19th, 2012, 11:41 pm

This is the DIY inspirational thread. To be quite honest if it wasn't for some of the stuff I see you guys attempt I'd have just replaced it and not try.

Moti I'll make you a mix tape bro.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 20th, 2012, 11:20 pm

Alright got a little done today, decided to pressure wash the front wheels wells. After cleaning I found some areas that had some hidden rust in between the seam welds. I guess an old car like this would have bound to have rust. I scraped the olds sealant off and then wirebrushed it all and then applied some Duplicolor Rust Fix and then some caulk paste and then decided to apply some 3M undersealant. Came out pretty decent but need to leave the caulk to harden for a day or two. Tomorrow morning I am getting the interior sills patched and then the hopefully the underneath of the car somewhat repaired. Some snaps,
Sealant removed
Cleaned and Duplicolor Rust Fix and caulk applied,
Then time for some 3M undersealant,
Same time I removed the recirculating pipe setup and cleaned and scrubbed it and then applied some Duplicolor Dash Trim Spray to give it that OEM look, came out decent. Also decided to treat and paint the little brackets that fix the recirculating pipe in front of the radiator panel.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 21st, 2012, 11:51 am

Question Zac, did you bolt up the ECU back in position before starting? I think the bracket acts as a ground as well so be careful if leaving it on the carpet. Not sure if you have since refitted it.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 21st, 2012, 8:35 pm

Good stuff. I was looking at the previous rust pic. Was the previous owner still suing the rear wiper squirter. It looks like the water line might have been leaking. Water passing through the cabin in those old lines is never good.
So you're keeping the recirc pipe? What are you doing for intercooler setup, I'm trying to offload an ARC setup I have for a GTR.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 21st, 2012, 9:37 pm

I saw you looking at selling, send me some pics. I have a 100mm Trust intercooler and full piping but looking at options right now still. Send me pics and prices. Got the interior patched, I am pretty satisfied, so now I can get the interior mounted, I am looking for a replacement evaporator though as I have some what seems to be a makeshift setup that isn't original. The patch was cleaned and then used Duplicolor Rust fix and then applied Red oxide and right now it is drying. Hopefully tomorrow I can apply some caulk and then next day or so paint and start mounting up the interior. The caulk in the wheel well should be good by tomorrow so I can finish spray them both.

As for the underneath of the driverside, the welder showed me how the flooring was separating a little where the rust was so the area was reinforced and he told me not to cut out the seam area. He says when I get the car up and running bring it down and he will clamp the seam down and jack the car up to stretch the seam back original and then weld the inside of the seam back where the rust was. Same way he will weld some spots on the chassis rail and jack the car up and pull out the rail like original. We'll see when that time comes. Right now I am putting aside cash for management and my ATi Damper and pulleys and belts and a timing belt. A couple of snaps,

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 24th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Got a couple of pics of the radiator and ARC tanks, items looks nice, should be shipped by tomorrow and should be in my hands by end of next week :D.

moti

Postby moti » October 24th, 2012, 8:16 pm

it bess

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 25th, 2012, 7:52 am

:lol: Thanks, trying to be unique and at the same time also wanting to use quality parts. Last night didn't do much just sprayed over the caulk in the wheel wells with 3M undercoating and applied caulk paste to the inner sill areas where the patchwork was done, once dried I will tackle priming and painting the interior areas and then look at mounting the interior back, still need to get the back dash sorted, may check the wiring and speakers same time and change them out if need be, may run a small amp to push the dash and door speakers, will put some nice ones that can push enough bass, mids and highs and not need a sub. Does anyone know where I can get a tin of Lithium grease to spray behind the patchwork to prevent future rust? Gonna check the auto places but if someone can help me cut to the chase that'll be great.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 25th, 2012, 9:04 am

Should be easy to find, I got mine in an aerosol can.

Nice setup you picked up there.