T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Ted_v2 » June 23rd, 2013, 11:55 am

Where a number plate fitting? :s

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 23rd, 2013, 12:27 pm

Black 6 on privious page maybe of assistance to your thoughts

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 23rd, 2013, 1:47 pm

Number plate fitting in that tiny space below the chrome of the grill.

Postby gastly369 » June 23rd, 2013, 2:10 pm

excuse the potato camera wok :\
some interior shots of le kia
well everyone knows how the outside looks soo..

on the other hand cant wait to see a 2014 model on z roads
new steering wheel take win

wonder how much of a difference in the cost

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 23rd, 2013, 2:16 pm

What transmission does that Kia ^^^ come with?

Postby gastly369 » June 23rd, 2013, 3:02 pm

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 23rd, 2013, 4:52 pm

That kia interior looks miles better than the mazda 6's....and if the prices are similar then that mazda 6 will be under some pressure sales wise...especially given the last 6's lack of popularity...and the new passat's performance and looks...

Postby gastly369 » June 23rd, 2013, 5:21 pm

the mazda 6 is a decent looking vehicle
but locally for example its like you see a wingroad rider or as the definition of what the vehicle should look like but you paying the price and getting a "fully loaded" AD wagon :\

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 23rd, 2013, 9:03 pm

The new 2014 Optimas will be going for $305K, fully loaded. The Mazda 6 in real trouble now. The novelty of the Mazda 6 will wear off quickly once people realize it's not that much different from the older models. Nice facelift for the exterior, but same old features. Mazda needs some innovative designs,the new vehicles seem recycled. The nee optima is bold, striking and a light years away from the old Optima..Mazda needs a Peter schreyer bad bad bad....lol

wing

Postby wing » June 23rd, 2013, 9:48 pm

Dogichi , if you read the reviews, the 6 is not overly concerned with over the top cosmetic touches but rather with the driving experience. The Optima is a very good car but the 6 caters to another type of driver. Think Galaxy s4 vs Iphone.....

neexis

Postby neexis » June 23rd, 2013, 9:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Aye Allergic.. look your Golf steering here with a KIA logo.

Does Kia design anything themselves or do they just copy stuff from every major Euro manufacturer (esp MB)?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 23rd, 2013, 10:22 pm

neexis wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Does Kia design anything themselves or do they just copy stuff from every major Euro manufacturer (esp MB)?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 23rd, 2013, 11:26 pm

dogichi wrote:The new 2014 Optimas will be going for $305K, fully loaded. The Mazda 6 in real trouble now. The novelty of the Mazda 6 will wear off quickly once people realize it's not that much different from the older models. Nice facelift for the exterior, but same old features. Mazda needs some innovative designs,the new vehicles seem recycled. The nee optima is bold, striking and a light years away from the old Optima..Mazda needs a Peter schreyer bad bad bad....lol

Same old features like better fuel economy? Better performance figures too? You gonna drive bluetooth?

I'm not saying Mazda 6 is the greatest car ever but it certainly isn't blown out of the water as you suggest by an Optima with less than a $10,000 price difference. If anything I'd say a buyer would have a hard time deciding between the two and that would be after test driving both as opposed to just watching prices and manufacturer's country of origin on chuna.

Neexis I wouldn't even call that a copy of the Golf wheel. The Optima wheel looks way cheaper. I'd say Mazda did a better job with theirs as it looks classier. I never liked green symbols on a steering wheel looking like an old nokia handset.

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2013, 7:10 am

Everyone has their opinions on how a car looks and what's value for money. But here are some facts that cant be denied.
-The Mazda 6 is largest in class, the next largest car is the Passat
-The Skyactiv system (which has advances in engine,chassis and transmission) collectively delivers excellent fuel economy and decent performance.
-It offers all/most of the features on the average buyer's list of wants

The difference in the Optima and 6 is a matter of looks etc. Neither is blowing any one out of the water. The 6 has already been well received in larger markets...Personally I would take the 6 over the Kia just based on driving experience.
But admittedly I am a long time Mazda owner.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 24th, 2013, 7:15 am

To each their own....I would still take the super slick sexy Optima over the Mazda 6 any day. Plus the Mazda 6 price won't be $312K for long. I still say the Mazda 6 will get old pretty fast. The 2014 Optima made some cosmetic changes...and it adds a whole other level. Give jack their jacket...never liked Kia before....love them now. Kia sales are through the roof, can't say the same for Mazda

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 24th, 2013, 7:18 am

Can't say the same for sales in Trinidad.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 24th, 2013, 7:39 am

The mazda 6 has more r&d in the car than the kia. It also has i-stop where it cuts engine power when at a stop. The Skyactiv soup of technologies for the suspension, body structure and drivetrain are almost German in its description. Steering feel and handling are usually more precise in Mazdas. Is it still worth it for that price despite the Optima? That's your call. There are people out there who are willing to look past the panoramic sunroof, powered leather seats, reverse camera, front led lights, fog lights, rear lip spoiler, 18" rims and Infinity sound system hence the reason why as mentioned previously, the cars are all sold!

So complaining about the price is not gonna change anything. SS has a history of giving us watered down mazdas for years upon years. Don't act all surprised now. Maybe when the 2.5 fully equipped version is imported by the end of this year (so they say) our perceptions would change and of course, so would the price.

Has anyone dissected the 399k Camry and the all-new Accord yet?

wing

Postby wing » June 24th, 2013, 8:07 am

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 24th, 2013, 9:28 am

neexis wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

A year back iirc I saw a Asian chick with a tape measuring the steering wheel of the recently launched golf gti, guess that was the r&d team :lol:

Postby cinco » June 24th, 2013, 2:54 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
neexis wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

A year back iirc I saw a Asian chick with a tape measuring the steering wheel of the recently launched golf gti, guess that was the r&d team :lol:

so what allyuh go say about the VAG chairman checking panel gaps and louding up his staff for the hyundai design? 2011 video btw

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 24th, 2013, 3:46 pm

I guess that would also explain why the optimas are back ordered and sold out every shipment. A host of German engineering in that vehicle, with lots of German touches. I want nice driving dynamics, the luxury touches and the eye candy. After all we men are visual by nature. Looks first, then check features after. However if the features don't match up with the looks....forget it. We look at the ladies the same way....looks first, personality and character after. If the latter fails....forget it....lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 24th, 2013, 4:24 pm

well said dogichi.

enuf of this mazda talk.....check this beast:

:shock: :shock: :shock:
For the first time in over a decade, Honda actually launched a good looking grown up car.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 24th, 2013, 4:29 pm

Nice Honda....I afraid to ask the price. I always liked their CRV, not much else from them appealed to me.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 24th, 2013, 5:55 pm

That accord looking almost the same as the outgoing model :/

Postby gastly369 » June 24th, 2013, 5:57 pm

i just doh like honda.............. jivers :lol: ..but nice looking vehiclet there ^^^

end story buy what YOU like... doh buy what someone else likes for you

and dogichi i eh forget yuh .. them men doh have the $$ right now for the car
still trying

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 24th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Thanks gastly....I am a person I love vehicles, not brands. If a vehicle is beautiful, loaded with features and not priced to badly I'm all for it. It's just in recent times, the Euro vehicles have caught my eye big time, and I won't be going to any other vehicles any time soon.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 24th, 2013, 10:03 pm

dogichi wrote:Thanks gastly....I am a person I love vehicles, not brands. If a vehicle is beautiful, loaded with features and not priced to badly I'm all for it. It's just in recent times, the Euro vehicles have caught my eye big time, and I won't be going to any other vehicles any time soon.

Amen to that brother....unless the japanese or koreans do something spectacular...my next car should hopefully be from the land of Bavaria und Saxony... :D

Postby cinco » June 25th, 2013, 8:01 am

Accord looks exactly like a hyundai genisis from the rear

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 25th, 2013, 8:49 am

Renaldo25 wrote:
dogichi wrote:Thanks gastly....I am a person I love vehicles, not brands. If a vehicle is beautiful, loaded with features and not priced to badly I'm all for it. It's just in recent times, the Euro vehicles have caught my eye big time, and I won't be going to any other vehicles any time soon.

Amen to that brother....unless the japanese or koreans do something spectacular...my next car should hopefully be from the land of Bavaria und Saxony... :D

Koreans won in the compact sedan market.
Honestly there aren't any cars that can compete for features and price like the Accent and the Rio.
For $160K, those cars are LOADED.