drchaos wrote:u forgot the best car out of that line up ... Ford fiesta ST
dogichi wrote:What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk
acesinghit wrote:yes it was advertised in both yesterdays and todays newspapers. It was a small colour add, seems like Southern Sales wasn't even proud to advertise it hence the public holiday revealing and an early closure at 2pm. Let's see if the CX5 is like 429k I'm guessing another ridiculous price keeping in mind the Camry 2.5 is 399K.
Mad Cone wrote:For those hankering for the new Octavia and seriously considering one.
I own a 2006 Octy, the car is great and if priced properly by the dealers the 2013 model can be THE BEST CAR VALUE IN T&T, bar none. All you fellas talking bout cerato, elantra, focus, etc. need to appreciate the roominess of the old Octavia and THEN realise that 2013 model has grown in size. Nothing beats european comfort and quality. When I was shopping in 2006 I went to all dealers and was about to buy the Jetta, value for money and a massive trunk. I was afraid that the Octavia dealer would have priced their vehicles high, after all they're primarily Benz dealers! But when I saw the car, found out that it was basically the jetta in different sheet metal but with a BIGGER hatchback trunk, I was hooked. Yeah the creature comforts weren't as many as the Jetta (no lighted vanity mirrors or ipod connection) but EVERYTHING else was identical, instrument cluster, seats, glove, radio, etc. And it costs $30K less than the jetta... a no brainer.
This is not my love story about the Octavia, It's a warning about the dealer. The support for non-Benz vehicles is atrocious. I ain't talking bout servicing your vehicle, anybody can teach a monkey to change filters, fluids and rotate tires but if something goes wrong with your vehicle that has to be diagnosed, don't expect a practical solution. Here are a few examples:
- ALL 2004-09 VAG vehicles (vw, skoda, audi, bently, etc.) got a faulty a/c compressor that will at some point disintegrate and destroy the system (that's why so many padnas rollin with they windows down). In most countries it was covered out of warranty, but not in T&T. To add insult to injury the dealer selling the parts to you for over $10K. So i buy them myself on-line for $3K and ask them to install, which they did and promptly tell me that I buy faulty parts and if I willing to pay to remove them! I declined, literally went next door to an independent a/c shop, where, at no charge, they make the correct electrical connection and viola... a/c working.
-most 2004-09 VAG vehicles have a faulty driver seat belt warning sensor. The dealer tell me that there is NO other fix but a $2K replacement. On-line you are told that all you have to do is disconnect the sensor with the clip under the seat with no adverse effects. Everybody buckles up before driving, right... no need for a reminder!
- the friggers couldn't identify a BLOWN FUSE, when my wife (who drives the vehicle) dropped a paper clip in the cigarette lighter. They tell her she have to change the whole assembly for $2K
- when she buy bad gas from a station or Wrightson Road, they tell her she need to buy a new throttle body for $9K and that they can't give her the part # to buy it on-line herself, since the policy is that if they sell it, they can't tell you the part #. After the bad gas burn out, no problems.
If anybody reading this need a 2006 VAG throttle body... PM me nah!
- the motor for the air recirculation got stuck open, after a day at the dealer they say nothing wrong although I choking on smoke every time a pass a fire in the closed car. The a/c people next door figure a dotish now, an quote me $6K, since they have to pull down the whole dash. I took it home, removed the glove box, pulled out the motor, disconnected and reconnected it and now it's working like a charm.
The internet is a wonderful place.
They lazy and assume everybody have Benz wallet to replace rather than properly diagnose and repair. I know that my experience may differ from others but I assure you it is so polarising that although I love the vehicle (it has been relatively problem free, only the a/c compressor) I will NEVER buy one from them. Yes, I may be jumping from frying pan into fire with the new car and dealer, but the satisfaction of knowing that I can afford a new vehicle and not giving them my money is priceless!!!
IMAGINE THEY WON'T TELL YOU THE PART #!!!!!!! Yeah I know many other dealers are the same.
So if you don't mind getting lacklustre after sale service... Octavia is it!
My soliloquy is complete.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:^^^ we need more dealer related posts and honest reviews like that online. On another note I don't think other dealers will treat you much better. So far BA has treated me well but I haven't had any major issues with the car that needed fixing. Classic Motors has a similar "policy" of not wanting to give you part numbers. I think it's hit and miss with dealers basically.
By the way if you had a VCDS cable you could have disabled the alarm for the seat belts.
aidan wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:^^^ we need more dealer related posts and honest reviews like that online. On another note I don't think other dealers will treat you much better. So far BA has treated me well but I haven't had any major issues with the car that needed fixing. Classic Motors has a similar "policy" of not wanting to give you part numbers. I think it's hit and miss with dealers basically.
By the way if you had a VCDS cable you could have disabled the alarm for the seat belts.
My mom had a New VW polo classic from BA in 2002, their service was terrible for the period the car was on warranty. I really hope it's changed now, cus i have my sights on a new Polo when they bring them later this yr.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:dogichi wrote:What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk
With that attitude you gonna miss out on good vehicles.
dogichi wrote:If the Mazda 6 is $399K, might as well spend your money on a euro. I won't spend that money on a Mazda.....sorry!!!
neexis wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:dogichi wrote:What's to get excited about a Mazda....tell me a European vehicle, then lets talk
With that attitude you gonna miss out on good vehicles.
Like what? (Considering your experience so far with your Euro)
acesinghit wrote:2013 Mazda 6 2.0 SKYACTIV
6AT; 6 airbags; fabric interior; fog lights; fully powered; parking sensors; touch screen deck; steering controls; all-wheel discs with typical electronic aids
$315,000. Vat Inclusive
<Let the laughter begin>
I'll start first:
cinco wrote:you dont understand skyactiv do you?
its not a horsepower engine its an economical unit the hp wars are getting out of hand anyway most of the reviewers say the 2.0 is adequate anyway
315 really isnt a horrid price especially from that dealer
cinco wrote:you dont understand skyactiv do you?
its not a horsepower engine its an economical unit the hp wars are getting out of hand anyway most of the reviewers say the 2.0 is adequate anyway
315 really isnt a horrid price especially from that dealer