T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 3:27 pm

Best Auto making enough money though, to build another showroom in South Trinidad. How many vehicles they sold in the last 5 years? Somebody blocking the building of another showroom, not to sure why

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 15th, 2013, 4:22 pm

too bad their after sales service sucks tho, cause their vehicles certainly don't...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 4:34 pm

I mean .. I have only had my car for 5 months now but so far no problems with their after sales service. They always answer my calls, address any concerns, services are done on time! So far so good.
Just remember people that have bad experiences are much more likely to voice their opinion on things than people who have no problem at all.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 4:37 pm

Funny Story!
Met someone who was driving a cerato(2012) and crashed into a jetta(2010) head on. The cerato crumpled like a piece of paper and the jetta only too minor damage. Guess what car she said she was going to buy next?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 15th, 2013, 4:41 pm

drchaos wrote:. . .Guess what car she said she was going to buy next?

If it was me, I would be buying another Cerato. Superb engineering, the crumple zone worked and the driver walked away. Much much better looking than the Jetta, has proven itself to be durable in the local conditions, and much better value for money than the VW. I hope that lady has common sense and purchases another Kia.

Postby Morpheus » June 15th, 2013, 5:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
drchaos wrote:. . .Guess what car she said she was going to buy next?

If it was me, I would be buying another Cerato. Superb engineering, the crumple zone worked and the driver walked away. Much much better looking than the Jetta, has proven itself to be durable in the local conditions, and much better value for money than the VW. I hope that lady has common sense and purchases another Kia.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 15th, 2013, 5:21 pm

hmmmmmm....but the vw survived...dont have to buy another car, cost of repairs less than a new car, better performance from the vw, looks very objective in my opinion, i do prefer the new jetta tho...i would not only go vw again id upgrade to a Volkswagen CC :D :D :D

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:11 pm

Why not try an Audi instead of the VW....Audi is the parent company after all.....Something about an Audi takes your breath away, that a VW can't

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:14 pm

I love Kias also....but there is something about a Euro vehicle that a Korean vehicle could only dream to touch

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2013, 7:22 pm

Man bawl Audi is d parent company yes. VW owns Audi, skoda, seat and friggin Porsche.

Why are we comparing vehicles in different price brackets as though they are equals? The new cerato and jetta are winners at those brackets. Heck if you don't need the speed get the cerato for cheaper as it comes with most of the creature comfort features of the jetta.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Still I find the Audi is the most luxurious and prestigious of the lot. When people compare Euro luxury vehicles, they compare Audi to BMW to Mercedes...not to VW

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 7:29 pm

dogichi wrote:Why not try an Audi instead of the VW....Audi is the parent company after all.....Something about an Audi takes your breath away, that a VW can't

If Audi was the parent company then do tell me why ...

Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Porsche, SEAT, Škoda and Volkswagen are part of the VOLKSWAGEN GROUP.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:31 pm

Audi is not the parent company...I know that...but I am comparing here. I rather an Audi to a VW.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 7:35 pm

dogichi wrote:Still I find the Audi is the most luxurious and prestigious of the lot. When people compare Euro luxury vehicles, they compare Audi to BMW to Mercedes...not to VW

NEIN!
Audi is not the most prestigious of the lot ...
Ever heard of Bugatti? Lamborghini? and if you have never heard of those then i'm sure you heard of porche. All light years ahead in luxury, performance and style than Audi and all part of the same group.

Im not bashing Audi's they are good cars, its just your statement was wrong.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Drchaos not saying your statement was wrong here. I know Bugatti , Lamborghini etc. I am comparing VW to Audi. Audi is the more luxurious brand to the VW.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 7:50 pm

dogichi wrote:Drchaos not saying your statement was wrong here. I know Bugatti , Lamborghini etc. I am comparing VW to Audi. Audi is the more luxurious brand to the VW.

Well try to be a little more clear nah man !!!

Frick ... is like pulling teeth trying to figure out what people really mean :lol: :lol: :lol:

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:51 pm

Enough on that. What you guys think about the new 3 series and 5 series? Impressed or disappointed. How is the service with Richmond Motors?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Actually drchaos, pulling teeth is not that hard once you know the technique , and it's more of a pushing action rather than a pull...lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2013, 7:53 pm

3 series in certain packages I like. I also like the current 5. They are expensive though. That barebones ting BMW does I Doh think I could handle. Every damn ting is an option to pay extra for.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 7:55 pm

That is one the reasons why men does turn their attention from BMW and look at either a Mercedes or an Audi. Like they does want to sell you everything in singles. What happen to packages? .....lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2013, 8:03 pm

I guess they confident in their package. I do like the fact that everyone is downsizing and boosting now. Fits in nicely coincidentally with put engine size taxes. Not getting sport cars but performance is definitely increasing substantially across the board.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 8:12 pm

It's something everyone is doing around the world. Smaller engine sizes with better HP and torque....also saves money at the pump and saves the environment with lower carbon emissions. I presently downsizing from a 2.0 liter engine to a 1.6 liter, and the 1.6 has the same HP, faster 0-60 time and saves me fuel at the pump

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Boosting is not the only thing adding to the power. Direct injection is doing a whole lot in addition to Dual clutch transmissions ... you don't get the power loss from a traditional automatic.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 16th, 2013, 12:45 am

Amen to that. 1.2 TSI anyone?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 16th, 2013, 1:16 am

Renaldo25 wrote:Amen to that. 1.2 TSI anyone?

You ever drove a car with such a small displacement engine in an area like the back roads of sando or along the north coast?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 16th, 2013, 7:24 am

Renaldo, that engine is just a bit too small. Maybe a 1.4 minimum, 1.6 or 1.8 ideal.

Postby noshownogo » June 16th, 2013, 9:03 am

don't knock it guys, check the output of the Ford Eco boost 1.0:

Displacement: 61 cu in, 999 cc
Power: 123 hp @ 6000 rpm
Torque: 148 lb-ft @ 1400 rpm

In the 2012 Ford Focus it provides the following performance:

PERFORMANCE (C/D EST):
Zero to 60 mph: 10.1 sec
Standing ¼-mile: 17.3 sec
Top speed (mfr’s claim): 120 mph

The above is in keeping if not better than most of our 1.6 offerings locally.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 16th, 2013, 9:21 am

Yay Eco boost but we not talking about the Eco boost.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 16th, 2013, 10:47 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Yay Eco boost but we not talking about the Eco boost.

Tsi figures for a mk7 golf. No 1/4mile data.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1371394006.689477.jpg

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 16th, 2013, 12:02 pm

Once again cool, in comparison my hr16 does around the same tourque numbers which is impressive but has anyone actually drove a vehicle with smaller displacement engines?

I know I'm not happy with the hr16 when it comes to hills, even the inclines after gasparillo on the highway I gotta swing my rpm up highish. My economy suffers everytime I go sando :lol: