TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - Fuel Setup On The Way!!!

Re: TriniGT's Project R32 GTR - We Have Paint!!!

Postby Razkal » October 2nd, 2012, 11:58 am

ok i'ma snag some pics later, gonna sort an oil drip from the sump gasket, so i'll make use of the ramp.

only the damaged sections that began building rust were removed. it's more of a re-plating job than a replacing job. the result? it feels almost 100% better than before, a lot stiffer without changing what little ride quality i have.

jpec

Postby jpec » October 6th, 2012, 4:18 pm

UPDATES UPDATES UPDATES XD

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 7th, 2012, 11:40 pm

Okay got a little done over the weekend, pulled out my GTR seats and decided to give them a clean, turned up alright.
Left side clean and right pending,
Uncleaned one,
Both cleaned, camera has a spot, they are both cleaned,
Engine bay taking a little shape, ABS unit mounted,
Intercooler and recirculating pipe bracket,
Dropped the exhaust and here's what popped out, remains of a turbo wheel,
Now onto the dredded under car, well it could be worse, I have a plan for repair but I found an area behind the front driverside fender, it is rusted and is sunk in so the lower fender cannot bolt,
Now the passenger chassis rail, not too bad, will try straightening it,
Driverside,
Crushed center chassis rail,

So my main concern is the center driverside chassis rail and the driver side front fender inner panel. I have already arranged cutout pieces from a front half that I will strip and remove and then have someone cut out the areas and prep and refit the replacement pieces and treat and paint. The pieces will also incorporate the inner pieces in the interior that need cutting and re-plating. More to come.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 8th, 2012, 1:20 pm

thats not that bad Jason, a good body/patch/welder can replace all that with new metal and once prepared correctly before painting, you'll be good to go

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 8th, 2012, 1:43 pm

Excellent time for reinforced jacking points.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 8th, 2012, 2:19 pm

Yeah I decided to remove all the HICAS lines and original fuel lines and have a good look and assess everything, it seems not as bad as I initially thought, just need to have it pulled out maybe treated and reinforced and then further treated and painted and then undercoated.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 8th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Well you have the right attitude and resources to fix that. I won't lie it's a little discouraging to see but far from a loss cause. So you're going to address this before going forward?

Here is a little inspiration to get it done and on the road. From a cruise yesterday with 4 skylines in some twisties.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 9th, 2012, 8:59 am

Sweet!!! Yes definitely gonna fix this before going forward. I spoke with a competent guy for the job yesterday but he does not have a mig machine, so he said if I can get a mig he can take an hour or two and do the job. I will just have to treat and get it painted.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 9th, 2012, 9:47 am

That's not something you have home , do you? Think you going to invest in one or make a borrow?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 9th, 2012, 10:06 am

Nope, always wanted to get one but never got around to it. I spoke with the guy that painted the car and he is willing to come up the following weekend to do the job. I may strip the rear subframe to reinforce it same time since he can do it all.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 9th, 2012, 10:19 am

Might as well replace the sub and diff bushings. You were elimininating your hicas right. What multilink setup are you going with or wait, was it all nismo arms you had?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 9th, 2012, 11:00 am

Have all Nismo rear link items and from the looks of it the front already has adjustable tension rods, will just need maybe front upper camber arms. All subframe bushings are Nismo :D and I think from memory the diff bushings are also Nismo along with engine and transmission mounts. HICAS is being gutted and may get a Neo PS pump and bracket or just remove the rear pump vanes and doctor the pump for no HICAS, we'll see.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 9th, 2012, 11:38 am

Ok good someone with first-hand knowledge. Can you tell me something. Are the Nismo arms like the Cusco non adjustable ones? Ie do they come with preset camber values in standard -5 and -15 for the front and rear upper control arms?

I checked this morning and the KTS arms are all on sale on their site, you can check Adam/feast to organise you. I want the fixed cusco/nismo setup though. do you have any links on a set?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 9th, 2012, 1:27 pm

I order through Adam all the time, speak with him and he will tell you, I have numerous stickers, I have ordered Greddy Radiator, windscreen moldings, and a bunch of other items for my forester, legacy and previous skylines. Top guy and we have an excellent relationship. Will check the camber adjustment on the arms, have not had a good look at them as yet and they have been here since I had the engine in my possession.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 10th, 2012, 9:32 am

Small world!. I shipped a downpipe via sea with him and it's taking forever. The tracking information is useless once it leaves Japan. How do you keep patient when the time it takes is > than the paypal coverage period. I picked up an ARC fmic and piping from a guy lastnight. Poor thing hit a wall on the back right corner and is parting out. Making more power isn't in the books at the moment so I'm just going to make what I have as reliable as possible.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2012, 9:36 am

any thoughts on recovering the seats?

pic above is an example (local)...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 10th, 2012, 9:38 am

Who did that???

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 10th, 2012, 9:42 am

Those look pretty good for a cover job, if the fabric is what i think it is.

Postby 16 cycles » October 10th, 2012, 10:13 am

on bird's r33..not sure who did it, but gives an idea of what's possible...

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 10th, 2012, 10:52 am

Oh ok. the blue interior. I picked up gradation from touge factory to match the Brix. Now time to learn to sew.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 10th, 2012, 11:58 am

Looks like some sort of alcantara material, I am going to do over the entire interior, may be looking at symphony leather and Bride gradation inserts on the centers of all seat backing and also door inserts. For now I have a prioritise so this will happen later on down the road when the car is up and running, I still have to purchase a couple of engine items and also my management, injectors and fuel lines and whatnot so once completed and running I will definitely be looking at addressing the interior even further. The rear seats will also be customized to fit the half cage properly like if it came stock that way, not as if the backrest was forced to fit ;).

Postby dougla_boy » October 10th, 2012, 12:24 pm

this ched is just awesome!!!! car is just awesome......cho up some pics up of the work with the dupli-colour fabric paint please.......just curious na

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 10th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Well I may be getting a black floor carpet so not sure how soon I will be using it. Will let you know if I do happen to use it though.

Postby dougla_boy » October 10th, 2012, 1:01 pm

thanks!! thinking about using it in my car nah...

young ravi

Postby young ravi » October 10th, 2012, 3:52 pm

TriniGt .........if you have to get somebody to do the interior when the time reach check meh....i know somebody who does do rel bess work......people does leave tobago etc just to go by him.....

the contact no. for the man is 314-2378......but pm me first so i could talk to the man....he dont take new people sometimes depending on how much work he have
Last edited by young ravi on October 10th, 2012, 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 10th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Why not post it right here so everyone can benefit?

young ravi

Postby young ravi » October 10th, 2012, 4:16 pm

Conrad wrote:Why not post it right here so everyone can benefit?

posted

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 10th, 2012, 10:52 pm

Yeah I spoke with Tony from Debe already, cool fella and eventually will be going by him to do it. Zac also for me my items take exactly a week to be in my hand, tracking works fine for me as well using regular Japan Post and TTpost. Anyway picked up a set of R33 GTR Vspec Brake and Clutch cylinder and booster setups for my car as I didn't like the condition of the ones I had, thanks Brian!!!
Couldn't wait :D,

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 11th, 2012, 6:56 am

Soooo clean. Using the hardlines or going to dress it up. Personally I prefer the hard lines.
You interested in a Nismo Brake stopper http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-ViewAdLargeI ... =410933926

Guy is selling it for 50. The guy is also in tdad at the moment.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 11th, 2012, 7:26 am

I am deinfitely, is it specific to the R32? I love ole school stuff like this, will go nicely with the NIZMO strut bar I have. By chance does he have it on him in Trinidad I can snag it today :D.