Ratsun 1200 Sedan - SOLD - New Photo added 08/12

trini mk5

Re: Ratsun 1200 Sedan

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2011, 11:00 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

GAORD!! FINALLY....N/A yo!!!

Buh Banzai ent you a man who had/have turbo cars already??
How come you on the N/A train...i know you had/have that rover project, but wat would u prefer, a well sorted N/A and carbs as opposed to V6TT or SR16 etc??

Postby Monk BANzai » January 12th, 2011, 2:58 pm

yeah i've run the gamut of projects....from Dougla go back...its hard to say which was most enjoyable.....the Ox becuz it was the first of its kind (to run that kind of Nitrous setup) evor.....the Rover (in its original form) beat nuff...MUF SR20's....

but dougla was most enjoyable.....the S14 plant in the Lancer made the car HANGRY and MEESAREBLE!!!!......many a "intro to drifting" classes took place on a corner....which had you feeling breathless afterward.

But i grew up amongst N/A's be it big block V8's or tinkering with mechanical secondary's on Webbers and ITB's...the sound of that is just pricelesss..

I agree with Bez...build the car to suit your passion. It was never about high HP figures (hell the most i got out of teh Ox was 4something) but more of the experience. Like with the Rover now...wud i build a high Compression HP N/A car again? money allowed? hell yeah!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 12th, 2011, 4:08 pm

well said rass,

I went and sawa CA18DE complete head yesterday, think I'm gonna get that and build the entire setup on the bench over the next 4 months or so... contacted Hook about some 20v Throttle Bodies for small money, if not looking for some weber 44's :D (seeing them for $150 USD a pair on ebay :P)

i'm leaving it turbo and on the rd for the next few months while i build the head and intake/carb setup, so i'll enter a few dex etc with the current setup.. so i guess i can compare

best part about this is honestly fellas, if it dont work out as i want, i can always go back turbo.. but i think i am going to love it when done :)

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 12th, 2011, 4:33 pm

I know I stubborn eh buh ITB and turbo ftw! Best of luck man, as I said I'm sure which ever way you go would come out well.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 12th, 2011, 5:16 pm

watch he small man in the video.. that just how i got when i saw this 1200 with a SR running carbs.. i think my CA18 may be for sale hahaha i am so confused hahaha but it's going to be NA!!!! :)

Last edited by Bezman on January 12th, 2011, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2011, 5:25 pm

But wait nah!! Ent it had a new model Nissan march running SR16 and side draughts with nitrous??
Wat went on with that car??

Postby Rooki3 » January 12th, 2011, 5:44 pm

^^400bhp??

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Rooki3 wrote:^^400bhp??

:? :?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 12th, 2011, 8:10 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:^^400bhp??

:? :?

i aint know about the march, but i read the 1200 i posted with the SR and webers uses a 125hp shot of nos and runs in the 10's NA class in puerto rico..

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2011, 8:16 pm

^^It was featured in an issue of sixth speed(i think)....the guy converted the sr16 into carbs.....the car ran a few times in camden. IDK like it fall off the radar maybe

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 12th, 2011, 8:38 pm

trini mk5 wrote:^^It was featured in an issue of sixth speed(i think)....the guy converted the sr16 into carbs.....the car ran a few times in camden. IDK like it fall off the radar maybe

Issue 8. Car was built by CarvTech.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2011, 8:50 pm

Conrad wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:^^It was featured in an issue of sixth speed(i think)....the guy converted the sr16 into carbs.....the car ran a few times in camden. IDK like it fall off the radar maybe

Issue 8. Car was built by CarvTech.

Scn wats up with it now?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 12th, 2011, 8:57 pm

I'm not familiar with the people but CarvTech was (probably still is) a Power Seller.

Postby Rooki3 » January 12th, 2011, 9:22 pm

yes tha march is suppose to be 400hp

with d assistance of a 200 shot

Postby Rooki3 » January 12th, 2011, 9:26 pm

CARVtech +400bhp Naturally Aspirated K12 March

SR20, 2140cc on 86mm stock stroke Crankshaft.
+2mm Stepped Stem Inlet and Exhaust Valves. Custom Ported Cylinder Head, BC Seats, Bronze Guides, flowed and balanced (305cfm inlets).
IES Adjustable Rocker Control Assembly.
CARVtech designed special length Rods with matching hand finished forged Pistons.
Completely balanced and Knife Edged Bottom End.
Wet or Dry Sump option.
Jenvey Dynamics 51mm x 48mm SF/MNO1 Throttle Bodies and Manifold.
NOS Nitrous Oxide Systems (4 Fogger 200shot).
5 Piece Custom designed Exhaust manifold with Reverse Megaphone, clip style system.
AIM Data Logger.
CARVtech custom Wilwood 4 Piston Forged Dynalite Calipers with 12in two piece Rotors.
CARVtech conversion to Nissan Rear Disk Brake.
CARVtech modifications to Nissan CAN Bus, SMJ and IPDM systems.

AUTRONIC SM4 v1.09 ECU (NOS, launch Control, Traction Control, Flat Shift, 2-Step).

STATUS: Same car that ran a low 13sec 1/4 in Camden with the SR16. This project will start once the 2nd Generation RX-7 is finished.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 12th, 2011, 9:42 pm

said car, seems like i will be paying them a visit soon to discuss the possibilities...

Postby Monk BANzai » January 13th, 2011, 2:26 am

^^^ users name is "bigtoe" im not sure if he is still around....but provided gobs of info for my build in the early stages..

you might also want to hit up JUNIOR MAHABIR.....he's a local thats been doing some pretty good work out of the NYC area....met with him when he was here last....dont have his contacts but this is his address..

214 N fehr Way
Bayshore NY, 11706

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 13th, 2011, 3:33 pm

put that together when i got the GoPro HD Cam... have lots more footage to go through and edit etc

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 13th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Man that editing was just so contrasting, simple and great. Nice job, the car looks like a handful but seems to handle the part pretty well. Them men on the bikes must be was like WTF that 1200 up in we nenen so haha.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2011, 12:10 am

wonderlous and marvafull!!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 14th, 2011, 8:43 am

trini mk5 wrote:Buh Banzai ent you a man who had/have turbo cars already??
How come you on the N/A train...i know you had/have that rover project, but wat would u prefer, a well sorted N/A and carbs as opposed to V6TT or SR16 etc??

I know that comment wasn't directed at me, but I'll throw in my 0.5 c anyways.

having owned both high revving N/A cars along with forced induction.....I just find a high revving N/A to be a more visceral experience.

Sure they don't have the sheer "torque" of a properly sized turbo on a 2.0L or 2.5L (or whatever)....but jeez.....revving to 9000 rpm etc and that N/A sound!

Gimme a 2ZZGE or K20 powered car anyday yes :oops:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 14th, 2011, 5:00 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:Buh Banzai ent you a man who had/have turbo cars already??

I know that comment wasn't directed at me, but I'll throw in my 0.5 c anyways.

having owned both high revving N/A cars along with forced induction.....I just find a high revving N/A to be a more visceral experience.

Sure they don't have the sheer "torque" of a properly sized turbo on a 2.0L or 2.5L (or whatever)....but jeez.....revving to 9000 rpm etc and that N/A sound!

Gimme a 2ZZGE or K20 powered car anyday yes :oops:

I second this

:shock: :shock: ...that sound

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 14th, 2011, 5:22 pm

a m a z i n g!

i really need to get me a S2k one day

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2011, 11:32 pm

f22 in the ratsun
doo eeeeet

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 15th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Do Eeeeeet!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 16th, 2011, 8:26 am

Bai an F22 is like gold and is rel paper fuh dat engine....would be a one of a kind in T&T tho.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 20th, 2011, 10:31 pm

ok, enough day dreaming,back to reality, solodex coming up and I would like to get the car ready.

SO.. here is the dreaded to do list...

1) Replace diff seals & new fluid OR swap to 120y Diff (needs 120y driveshaft -> diff flange)
2) Replace front and rear leaf spring bushings, rear upper + lower shock bushings, hanger bushings
3) Replace clutch, pressure plate & release bearing (might as well get a light flywheel too eh?)
4) Install 8-10gal Fuel cell (or just install my surge tank and extra walbro for now?)
5) Install 4 Link Safety harness (gotta get that welded in)
6) FIND and install B210 Front Sway Bar (Help!!)
7) Install Tach (yes i still have no tach haha)
8) Install Handbrake (hydraulic)

Uhhhh, sooo.. hahaha lots to do..

moti

Postby moti » January 21st, 2011, 10:32 am

good luck with that list.

p.s. you dont wanna see mine

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2011, 10:54 pm

All this talk about track....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 9th, 2011, 8:52 am

Have me really wondering as well what to do with the Silvia, your friend said he passing this weekend and based on what he is seeing he will make a decision. Ah feeling ah tabanca already yes. Today I will be sorting the rear suspension as there is something that feels a little loose to the rear.