T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dogichi

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 5:39 am

Don't get to excited renaldo, check out the specs on the 316i and see if its worth it. It may be bare bones...and after you add your goodies....see if its still head to head

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 14th, 2013, 8:42 am

dogichi wrote:Don't get to excited renaldo, check out the specs on the 316i and see if its worth it. It may be bare bones...and after you add your goodies....see if its still head to head

Well just to clarify the intention was never to compare a vee dub to a benz i mean two different classes alltogether...but if one cant afford the benz i dont see the Vee dub as being a terrible tradeoff if you get my point..in terms of interior and performance especially, ..unless of course it has jamaican marijuana in the back seat lol...as for the head to head with the 316i the cla definitely seems to be ahead especially if we comparing base model to base model...but im questioning the proximity in price of the cla if it goes to 375 k and a base c-class...but as was mentioned you pay for the benz privilege ...and imo the cla looks much sexier than the base c-class...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2013, 9:03 am

dogichi wrote:Yeah you're right you can't compare a VW to a Mercedes. I heard that $355K for the CLA was just an introductory price for the 1st batch of vehicles, which I heard was going to be 10....and that is their limit for the year. Come next year, the price is going to go up....355 will easily turn to 375, when they start to push it with advertising. And as we all now when demand goes up, the prices go up as well.

I know what you mean ... you can't put VW in the same class as a Mercedes anymore ...
VW seems to be ahead of their rivals, a class above.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTzdd_9fzQA

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 14th, 2013, 9:07 am

don't compare a VW to a MB? Why not? The same way people say don't compare a Kia to a Toyota? The VW Passat CC is a more expensive car than the Mercedes Benz CLA200. It's also a much faster car. Don't compare a Passat Highline to a CLA200? Why? Because the Passat is a VW? It has Audi Technology in it! Why because it is FWD? Just like the Benz...Why? Because it slower? Yeah with 5 passengers and 2 bag of cement maybe but with just a driver, that CLA200 can't do nothing but be alongside the VW. The great MB now introduces the 7speed dual clutch to the line-up? VW/Audi have been using dual-clutches when MB's flagship still used a conventional 5-speed auto. So you can't even bring the transmission as a plus. What else, you mean Mercedes Benz can create a cheaper car with a FWD platform and push the boosted 4-bangers which Audi and VW have been using years prior to the official market shift and yet you fall for this "don't compare a VW to a Benz crap?"

I would sure like to know what these bamboo mentality critics drive...

btw, the great CLA-Class was built in Hungary!

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 14th, 2013, 9:13 am

[quote="acesinghit"]don't compare a VW to a MB? Why not? The same way people say don't compare a Kia to a Toyota? The VW Passat CC is a more expensive car than the Mercedes Benz CLA200. It's also a much faster car. Don't compare a Passat Highline to a CLA200? Why? Because the Passat is a VW? It has Audi Technology in it! Why because it is FWD? Just like the Benz...Why? Because it slower? Yeah with 5 passengers and 2 bag of cement maybe but with just a driver, that CLA200 can't do nothing but be alongside the VW. The great MB now introduces the 7speed dual clutch to the line-up? VW/Audi have been using dual-clutches when MB's flagship still used a conventional 5-speed auto. So you can't even bring the transmission as a plus. What else, you mean Mercedes Benz can create a cheaper car with a FWD platform and push the boosted 4-bangers which Audi and VW have been using years prior to the official market shift and yet you fall for this "don't compare a VW to a Benz crap?"

I would sure like to know what these bamboo mentality critics drive...

btw, the great CLA-Class was built in Hungary
dont compare the vee dub to mb based on status and image my friend...thats all :)...at least im assuming thats what they meant...but we all know that vee dubs are ahead of the curve when it comes to technology and performance nowadays...the volkswagen golf is still a class leader...and dont talk about those tsi engines which continue to win awards...so its all about perception...but facts tell a different story...but they sticking to bring that mk7 golf man...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 14th, 2013, 9:20 am

whyteliver wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:don't compare a MB to a VW please.

thaaaank you.....

Why not?
They're both.... cars....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 14th, 2013, 9:27 am

I think it is obvious if one is saying a MB is more of a status symbol than a VW. I totally agree but these bamboo mentality folks in here feel if they scrape their bank account to buy a brand new A-Class or B-Class benz, they deserve the same status of the Benz S-Class driver/owner. I have nothing against Benz its just that I prefer to take things in stages. After say an A6 2.0T Quattro who knows I may consider the E350 4Matic.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 14th, 2013, 9:38 am

acesinghit wrote:I think it is obvious if one is saying a MB is more of a status symbol than a VW. I totally agree but these bamboo mentality folks in here feel if they scrape their bank account to buy a brand new A-Class or B-Class benz, they deserve the same status of the Benz S-Class driver/owner. I have nothing against Benz its just that I prefer to take things in stages. After say an A6 2.0T Quattro who knows I may consider the E350 4Matic.

lol@bamboo mentality folks, partner i done working towards my upgrade which i hope to be a vee dub, ideally the cc which i think is one of the sexiest vehicles on the road, but if you really objectively look at whats offerred and at what price and forget brand image and things of that nature you really might be pleasantly surprised...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 14th, 2013, 9:51 am

I don't care what people say. Chart your own course and experiences and in that regard I prefer to see a host of features in a $400k VW/audi vs the same cash plunked down in a 316i just to say you drive a BMW status symbol. Judging from what I've seen personally in the 316i I would say I made a wise decision.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 14th, 2013, 10:08 am

acesinghit wrote:I don't care what people say. Chart your own course and experiences and in that regard I prefer to see a host of features in a $400k VW/audi vs the same cash plunked down in a 316i just to say you drive a BMW status symbol. Judging from what I've seen personally in the 316i I would say I made a wise decision.

Amen to that brother...but whats keeping them from bringing that mk7 golf tho....that golf variant they selling kinda ugly man...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 14th, 2013, 10:20 am

not sure if the new golf would have a market here. The Skoda Fabia and VW Polo are local market failures so more than likely the Golf will priced between a Jetta and a Polo. Who would want to buy a 1.2TSI for say $185-190k? The Golf should not pass $170k IMO.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 14th, 2013, 10:30 am

yes but remember that 1.2 tsi is going to be pretty quick, much quicker than the other local wagons so nevermind the displacement size....and the golf's cargo space is right up there...but point taken...they will have some steep competition given the market...and pricing will be key...hope they bring it though...i think it can only help volkswagen because they dont really have a hatch except for the gti and thats not for the average driver anyways...and that polo was too small to be practical...

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 3:30 pm

That 316i, ain't nothing to shout at. A VW or Audi any day over a BMW. I waiting for them to bring the A3 sedan....that will be a knockout if they decide to bring it...and should be under $400K, and worth every penny once Audi don't strip down the car too much and make you add a lot of expensive options...which should be standard

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 3:35 pm

The A1 1.4 TSI is $291,000 starting....after front and rear parking sensors....we easily over $300,000. So you think the VW golf 1.2TSI will be under $170K.....don't be shocked to see a $200K price tag

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » June 14th, 2013, 3:54 pm

Heard from a salesman at BA that the 1.2 tsi golf is gonna be about 215k-220k.
Suffice to say I am pretty underwhelmed

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 3:55 pm

The CLA being built in Hungary....helps reduce labor costs...which allows us the consumer to buy it at a lower price. I say we'll done Mercedes. Hope to see a breath of fresh air in your line up

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 4:00 pm

BA could keep their overpriced VW golf with a 1.2 engine to boot. Best you buy the new Kia Cerato, which is bigger and better features for $200K....and leave enough change in your pocket still to cover the insurance...lol

Postby Ted_v2 » June 14th, 2013, 4:05 pm

or you could buy a land rover defender and pwn all.
jk

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » June 14th, 2013, 4:06 pm

WRT to comparing cars I think once they are the same price they open themselves to some level of comparison.
That said I will take a fully loaded optima over a basic A1

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » June 14th, 2013, 4:34 pm

dogichi wrote:BA could keep their overpriced VW golf with a 1.2 engine to boot. Best you buy the new Kia Cerato, which is bigger and better features for $200K....and leave enough change in your pocket still to cover the insurance...lol

What features the Golf coming with by the way?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Golf is the European car of the year ... It will be a while before vw sends us any stock of this car ... So would not listen to anyone on specs of this car yet.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Weird that they giving us the lower speced golf while we get a higher end jetta ...

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 14th, 2013, 10:30 pm

They balancing out the market it seems.....they will never bring everything high end....because then they will say the price will be to high. They probably watching the market to, to see if we Trinis would want a car like that here and would it sell enough for it to be profitable to BA

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 15th, 2013, 1:41 am

and forget the size of the engine people its 1.2 TSI that makes a big difference. gonna own the cerato and any other car in its price bracket with that 1.2 dont be surprised...remember the jetta is a 1.4 and owns cars with much bigger displacement engines...

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 15th, 2013, 5:58 am

The only thing that will keep me from owning a VW is the dealer Best Auto. The service is poor....there are reviews all over the Internet.....and heard stories from present owners. The vehicles are selling well, but poor service and after service will certainly discourage any owner from buying another VW. And still only 1 dealership in Trinidad, come on Best Auto you can certainly do better than that

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 15th, 2013, 9:55 am

dogichi wrote:The only thing that will keep me from owning a VW is the dealer Best Auto. The service is poor....there are reviews all over the Internet.....and heard stories from present owners. The vehicles are selling well, but poor service and after service will certainly discourage any owner from buying another VW. And still only 1 dealership in Trinidad, come on Best Auto you can certainly do better than that

THAT! Didn't buy a Tiguan cause I can't handle taking a day off to drop my van lavantille then travel to whereever. I do kinda feel sorry for them doh, being at fairly new brand locally and having a disadvantage with the majority of their vehicles being premium gas engines.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2013, 10:22 am

You would think by now with all the extra money from the contrabands they would build a south showroom by now. :agrue:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 15th, 2013, 10:44 am

6 duffle bag ain't much lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 15th, 2013, 10:48 am

Thanks fuh dashing my dreams of a south branch then.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 15th, 2013, 2:58 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:6 duffle bag ain't much lol

oh gyaaaad ohhhhhhhhhh :shock: :shock: