Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, Finally Seeing the Light!!!

Postby TriniGT » May 11th, 2010, 7:46 am

So nothing really to update other than I got the fittings to finally be able to mount the Greddy Intake manifold. Pne fitting was custom done but other than that everything else was off the shelf items. Manifold is mounted but being the skeptic I am I am going to remove it and check for aluminum filings in it as the 1/8 NPT fittings needed some persuasion to fit so inevitably there may be some filings in the manifold. I am also currently loking for a non-turbo throttle off S14 or S15 RWD application as they have a bigger diameter than the stock S14/S15 turbo ones.

Also went looking for fittings for my Greddy sump as that too came without fittings new for the supplier. I have acquired everything for it except that I needed to weld two plates to act as baffles to the hinges. Found two zinc hinges by Bhagwansinghs with non-removable pins as I don't want them coming loose in the sump and causing havoc. Went to Peakes and got the needed bolts and as there were three different sizes, four 6mmX40mm, six 6mmX20mm and four 4mmX15mm for the baffle plates. Also picked up some high strength threadlocker for fitting the baffles plates as I don't want them coming loose, added to the list were 10 6mm lock washers and four 4mm lock washers. This should do the trick for the sump and I am pretty confident with the setup.

Last night I had to build up enough courage to even work on the car as I am down with the virus, once started it wasn't that bad though. I decided to remove the old crossmember from the car along with the steering rack as the aftermarket thicker inner rods were not cutting it as it threw the camber way off which I am not prepared for. I slackened the steering coupling and slackened all the crossmember bolts but the cross would not drop. Tried persuading it from underneath and what you know it would come right off and unluckily for me on my forehead, F#%K!!!

I made quick work of the crossmember from the front half, decided to leave the power steering setup and all the necessary lines on it along with the steering rack and ends and engine mounts. It came off with little problems and I deicded to give it a little wire brush and also to eventually it will get some priming in some areas and black engine enamel to pretty it up. On comparison of the Nismo mounts I have and the ones that are on there it looks to me like they are the same so I still will be poppping the Nismo ones on there and have a proper set of spare mounts if anything were to ever happen. Crossmember is now bolted to the car and that is a done deal.

I then tackeled the fuel lines, with the conversion one of the garages seemed to have cut my fuel hardline with a pliers and now I have a pinched line. I decided to use my Dremel and cut the pinch end off and also removed the line from the front half and add it to it. Problem is that I would have liked to flare the end so there will be no fuel line slippage. My friend assured me that I just need some Goodyear insta-grip fuel rubber hoses and fit it and clamp it. I picked that up yesterday in anticipation and what I did was to cut the hardlines such that they were really close to eachother when bolted up and ran a good length of hose ater the join and also use four hose clamps, not the cheap hose clamps but the nissan fuel lines clamps that came with the car. The can't even budge right now. So after that I bolt up the P/S reservoir and some other small items and now all I need to do is pick up the 3" turbo collector I left by my mechanic and bolt that on with some loctite, fit my O2 sensor and attach the engine mounts to the engine and fit the engine to the engine bay, then connect the harnesses and await my fuel pump setup and fit my brakes and bleed them and hopefully by weekend :fingers crossed: bounce starter :D.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 11th, 2010, 11:39 am

TriniGT wrote:Tried persuading it from underneath and what you know it would come right off and unluckily for me on my forehead, F#%K!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA

Exactly why I'm not in a hurry to take down my gearbox to fit the crossmember without the proper tools.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 12th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Today was hard, I have a serious case of the FLU but ENGINE IN :D :D :D. Picked up the fuel pump setup and some interior finishers today, thanks Kevin. Thanks to my friend for the hand fitting it. Was no one man job, expecially trying not to scrape anything. Pics to follow. Nuff said sleep time, need to recover seriously.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 13th, 2010, 8:13 am

[quote="TriniGT"]
Goodyear insta-grip fuel rubber hoses quote]

where did you buy this buddy :?:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 13th, 2010, 11:02 am

Aye put up some work in progress pics nah boi..

Oh the wagon coming back out next week muuuhahahahaha

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 13th, 2010, 7:53 pm

droppa wrote:
TriniGT wrote:
Goodyear insta-grip fuel rubber hoses quote]

where did you buy this buddy :?:

Got it by Tiny's in curepe, they have only a couple of yards left but man it holds. Have been sick for the last four days, but the engine bay is nearing completion as I have been home. Engine is in and wired up, intake installed, Greddy intake manifold, next is the Greddy Sump, and currently looking for a FMIC setup. Also looking for a HKS SSQV recirculating valve for an SRwith the appropriate hoses. Next thing on the list as well is to get studs for the collector pipe I have as the pipe does not use, exhuast studs nor most any other studs I have home, wierd. That's it for now, Picasso I real tired and today our water main broke before the lock off so was busy whole day plus I sick so I even worse now dred :( .

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » May 13th, 2010, 9:48 pm

Hey GT good work on getting her up and running!!! i'm sure all your hard work will pay off when you carry her out for her maiden run!!! (HUGE SMILE!!!) hope you feel better bro!!! Keep on Boosting!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 14th, 2010, 10:08 am

This weekend I should have the driveshaft up, downpipe, fuel pump assembly with a Walbro as well, Greddy Sump, rest of my interior done just waiting on the trunk release/fuel lid release cable to be shipped in from Japan as I am not getting it locally. Still looking for a FMIC setup locally before I buy a new setup abroad. May start the car with the side mount and upgrade as I go on. Upgrades at this point will be addons, Tomei extractor manifold, Apexi Power FC, Greddy/Trust or HKS FMIC with piping, Splitfire Coilpacks, Plugs, Greddy Pulley Kit, Clutch at some point, 740-850CC injectors and GT3076R bottom mount if possible internally gated, and at least an Apexi Metal Headgasket and Mazworx headstuds and lastly a set of BC or Tomei Cams. That is not anytime soon but just to give an idea.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 14th, 2010, 5:11 pm

hmm... lots of lil fine work to be done still. update pics ?! :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 17th, 2010, 10:24 am

Strike 1!!!!! A couple of days back I connected the fuel hard lines and the fuel tank vapour line. I blew them all out with the compressor to make sure that if there was any gunk in them from the years of being parked down that it would all be out, knowing that the lines were not connected on the fuel tank side I will have no problems, yeah right. Apparently the lines were connected and old fuel/gunk/paint/whatever else was sprayed throughout the back of the car interior. Lucky thing is that I have no back interior yet as I am waiting on the release cable to come in from Japan before final installation. So now I have to wipe off and clean the back section of the car. Problem I have is that a lot of the gunk has gone in the once cleaned gas tank and as far as my hand can reach has this sticky film that is annoying me. Needless to say I now have to drop the gas tank and re-clean the bastard. This entails dropping removing all the Driftworks rear suspension, handbrake cables and the entire rear cross member as well then undoing the gas tank straps and disconnecting the fuel filler setup and lowering the fuel tank. Gonna begin the process today but will first need to put the rear of the car on jackstands now.

In any event it will allow me after that is all done to install the driveshaft, exhaust setup and go over the entire car again to see what may need tweaking. Same time I will drain the gearbox and fill with some fresh Redline Smurf Blood fluid to keep it in good condition. I have finally decided to bite the bullet and remove the wider fibreglass fenders and the fitment is not to my liking. I have a pair of replacement black metal fenders that although they are not wider will accommodate the GTR wheels and they were fitted to my Spec R before and will do the job. The plus with the metal fenders is that I can now run my wheel plastic guards/shields that will help not have any mud and debris come into the engine bay and the interior via the firewall.

Problem with that is the front and rear of the sideskirts have been rivetted on so I will have to dril it out and then removed and have the fender then removed and the metal ones fitted. I more than likely will have to get the front of the car reflashed and same time have the carbon bonnet fitted same time and my Aerocatch hood pins fitted to secure that light flimsy weightsaver/bonnet in place. Pics later today of engine progress and whatnot but still awaiting a proper intercooler setup. Have not gotten the baffles attached to the hinges yet to install the Greddy Sump but this week I will be pursuing that as well.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 2nd, 2010, 10:04 am

Progress has once again ground to an almost standstill. I have been trying to fit the front bumper and it has been a bit frustrating so I have bit the bullet and took some steps back to hopefully progress forward soon enough. I have decided to yank out the wide vented front fenders as the line up of them is not what I anticipated. I have swapped on a pair of front metal fenders that came with the front half to make the job easier as they are originals, seems the front bumper on checking fitment needs some tweeking but not nearly as much as the last set of fenders. This I can live with.

I have fitted my Blitz front mount Intercooler (Thanks ribs) and I have now the task of modding the pipes to work on my application. The driver side piping is fine but the passenger side needs to be refabricated to suit my setup. For now the intake has been mocked up and may be used for now until I get my hands on a properly functional Z32 MAF and then I will swap out the old setup. The hotpipe has already been mocked and is awaiting some welding before being fitted and the coldside piping just need to have one attachment relocated and another fitted for the BOV setup.

The only thing left to do before startup is to fit the walbro pump, which I have already got and have fitted with the stock fuel pump strainer and wired as well. Just need to slip it in and close up the fuel tank as I have already dropped the fuel tank and cleaned it and found all the missing connectors. Rear subframe is back up and driveshaft is connected, just need to torque the bolts. Tomorrow I am gonna drain the old oil from the engine and replace it with fresh Redline 10W30 Synthetic and fit the Greddy Sump as I have finally made up some internal baffling and got the appropriate longer sump bolts. Still need to drain the gearbox which I should have done when the engine was out but what the heck, and replace with fresh Redline 75W90 GL4 and that should be it. Same time I have to fit my Samco Rad hoses.

After that I want to connect a battery and make sure everything is operable, things like fuel pump priming, power windows functional, instrument panel, lighting, check for fuel leaks, Air Bag lights, A/C operational. I just need to get the brakes installed and bled and I can put the car on the ground. After that I still need to get the right pitch stud for the collector pipe as it is different from all the studs I have come across, only then can I bolt the down pipe and finish the exhaust. Lots to do but I am off on vacation soon enough so I should have some updates. This is just a rant for now as doing most everything on my own is taking some time not to mention the amount of cuss I getting from family with this mornument in the yard.

wraith

Postby wraith » June 2nd, 2010, 11:36 am

You say that the work had come to a stand still but truth is you have done a tremendous amount of work.

am sure all the effort will pay off when you sit down in the car with the engine started and a big grin on your face..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 2nd, 2010, 11:50 am

Let's hope so. Really want to have it up and running by weekend and sort out the minor stuff during the week. Let's see what can happen, between helping out at home cleaning up, the car and starting back my workout routine I am booked and most importantly need to spend time with wifee ;).

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 3rd, 2010, 9:49 pm

Just a rant, went to slip in the pin for the brake pedal today and was upside down under the dash doing my thing when I feel something damp on my back. Turns out the driverside footwell is flooded. I now have to remove the pedal stopper, front dirver seat and carpet on driverside and pour water on the windscreen to see where it is leaking, I am freaking pissed!!! Took off my fenders again and swapped on a second set I had, it now lines up decent but my CF bonnet needs lots of adjusting to get it to line up properly. I may just leave that up to the straightener. Sump going on tomorrow and driveshaft being torqued and hopefully painting the rear calipers same time and swapping them on.

Postby Damien » June 8th, 2010, 9:17 pm

Hmmmmmmm track coming just now :twisted:

wraith

Postby wraith » June 9th, 2010, 9:33 am

TriniGT wrote:Just a rant, went to slip in the pin for the brake pedal today and was upside down under the dash doing my thing when I feel something damp on my back. Turns out the driverside footwell is flooded. I now have to remove the pedal stopper, front dirver seat and carpet on driverside and pour water on the windscreen to see where it is leaking, I am freaking pissed!!! Took off my fenders again and swapped on a second set I had, it now lines up decent but my CF bonnet needs lots of adjusting to get it to line up properly. I may just leave that up to the straightener. Sump going on tomorrow and driveshaft being torqued and hopefully painting the rear calipers same time and swapping them on.

if you have not re sealed it as yet you could try 5200 black and put it around the edge of the windscreen below the moulding. That should take care of any leaks you might have.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 9th, 2010, 12:38 pm

Actually it's not the windscreen but I still want to remove it as where it is leaking is close by and I am afraid of the heat from welding as it may crack the windscreen. Once that is welded and prepped and shut then I will install the windscreen with a used molding I got from a friend, the universal one leaves a lot to be desired and I really and truly hate it. Right now I have to keep coverign and uncoverign everytime I have to do work as it out in the open and real rain these days. Got some bits done yesterday, refitted the Omori oil Filter Relocator, fitted the Greddy Sump, fitted a new filter (Purolator), got the front spindle caliper mounting points drilled for a 14mm bolt as the GTT and Brembo setup off the skyline is bigger. Spindles are now fitted but when trying to mount the Brembos the caliper bolt is way long so I need to get some ER34 caliper bolts 14mm. Anyone know where I can get two pairs of ER34 GTT caliper bolts?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 10th, 2010, 9:33 am

Carry one of the bolt u need by lo-tech

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 11th, 2010, 12:45 am

Will be visiting lo-tec for the caliper bolts and also try to get the turbo collector bolts as well as they ar enot regular bolts. Finishing hotside piping tomorrow so finally I am getting some more progress. Just need to position where I want the BOV feed off the coldside pipe and mark and have a fitting welded in place and route the BOV to suit. May fill fluids this weekend and check for leaks and if all is good I will then install the battery and check for and problems and make sure things aare functional. Let see, there is a lot more to go but once the car is working then I can study the exterior again and the water leak on the driver side and finish setting up the brake and adjusting the camber and what not and then take it to have the exhaust fitted then do all the small stuff.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 11th, 2010, 10:13 am

By chance, in your GTT, you have any INSIDE leak on the passenger side? A padnah have one and the passenger side does get soaked on the carpet with water, probably thinking is the heater hose drying out and leaking. But car doh over heat unless is the a/c drain hose clog.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 21st, 2010, 10:09 pm

Check to see if the A/C line hose it not fitted properly to the drain off. Update, car started first try today :). I got the intercooler piping done, radiator fitted and bled the coolant, check the oil, looked for some leaks and relocatedc the battery to the trunk area. Fried the first fuse realising the fuse was way too small and then replaced it with a 150A one. Boom tumbled with CAS disconnected to get the oil flowing and then plugged it in and then tumbled and it started. Things to sort now is that the minute I put the key in and switch the ignition to the ON position and the passenger window came down and now does not want to go back up. Also nothing on the dashboard lights up when the switch is turned. Will check all that tomorrow as I am really tired.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 21st, 2010, 10:16 pm

Congrats!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 21st, 2010, 10:35 pm

Thanks lots to do still, not sure why the dashboard is not lighting, maybe it's the switch and not sure why the passenger window is giving trouble hopefully tomorrow it can be sorted as the car is in the open and although covered I am still wary.

wraith

Postby wraith » June 22nd, 2010, 9:00 am

congrats, you are one step closer to BOOST!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 22nd, 2010, 9:42 am

Yeah but the passenger side window going down has me concerned especially as all harnesses were plug and play as well as the dashboard not lighting maybe it is just the switch giving trouble around the steering column. Gonna remove the steerign column covers and see what can happen.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 22nd, 2010, 11:02 am

check ya relays with a voltmeter according to the FSM

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 22nd, 2010, 11:15 am

Yeah gonna check the relay at the driverside footwell to see if it may be acting up. Didn't have much time lastnight after I started the car so when I get home today I will go over some things to see what may be the problem. Thanks for the insight.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » June 22nd, 2010, 11:47 am

Does your car have a sunroof? I was flooding and the drain tubes that dump infrontt he Firewall were clogged.
Another normal problem is the drian from the Cowl panel byt eh wipers getting clogged.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 22nd, 2010, 12:20 pm

I think I know exaclty where it is flooding from, the thing is I need to remove a side panel underneath the driverside fender to get to it and weld it shut. Seems that with the conversion the guy that joined the apron left a bit open unknowingly and it is a real beyotch to get to. So I am working on that now.

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » June 23rd, 2010, 12:17 am

nice work man glad to see your car coming along nicely! i know it's no bed of roses but at the end of the day you can proudly say i built this!!! i have an idea of what you're going through as i'm currently building an evo5 clone, have pic's maybe one day i'll get the time to start a thread about it too, no bigg hullaboo but it's coming along slowly but surely, they say patience is a virtue... :scatter: