T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby black start » April 26th, 2013, 9:39 pm

Damien wrote:Hyundai really so good ? Could you get a 100k kms on a Hyundai problem free?

toyota

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » April 26th, 2013, 9:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
Damien wrote:Hyundai really so good ? Could you get a 100k kms on a Hyundai problem free?

You can get 100,000 k's on any brand of vehicle problem free. Its just some brands you have a higher statistical probability getting it.

I know someone with the last model elantra 80,000 k's problem free. Lets hope her other 20,000 k does her well.

lucky girl.....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 26th, 2013, 9:52 pm

I drove a Hyundai Accent for 10 years. The car was bought new from Neal and Massy and I drove it for 343,000km. In that period, I re-built the engine once at 230,000km using all OEM parts (main bearings, connecting rod bearings, oversize piston rings and new gaskets). I only had to change the clutch plate, pressure plate and release bearing once at 180,000km. The cost of the OEM parts from Neal and Massy was very reasonable.

I now have a Hyundai Coupe which I bought new from Neal and Massy in 2006. Again, this car has proven to be very reliable, not so Neal and Massy, but it only has a little over 70,000km on the odometer.

I would not hesitate to buy another Hyundai when next I am in the market for a new car (although I may look at a 4x4 pickup based on my job). Once you follow the manufacturer's recommended maintenance schedule with the Hyundai, you should not have any major problems.

My Mitsubishi Lancer (now doing 284,000km) has given me more problems than either Hyundai combined, and the Lancer was also bought new in 1997.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 26th, 2013, 10:20 pm

nemesis wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
gastly369 wrote:so coming from a A33 to a elantra sorta :? but still open minded hope other stuff can impress me tomorrow

Going from an A33 cheap quality Nissan with a cracked up dashboard to a new high quality well designed Hyundai Elantra and you are :? ? And going back to a used up low quality no warranty (6 months? Ha!) butt ugly Nissan Teana is an option that you are considering?

Backwards (Nissan) NEVER! Forwards (Hyundai) FOREVER!

How serious are you about this post? :)

:| Very serious. Anyone who thinks Nissan have high quality interiors are just fooling themselves. The quality of the materials looks and feels cheap and is not very durable. The easily available and cheap cost of parts for Nissans account for their popularity with drivers and thieves.

Nissan had no choice but to do cost cutting on most of their cars when they were in financial trouble and Renault took over. Only their signature cars (Skyline, GT-R, 350Z, 370Z) were not subject to as much cost cutting as the other models. Imagine, a French car company had to take control of Nissan and bring it back from the brink of bankruptcy.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 26th, 2013, 10:24 pm

Yeah I gotta agree with rory based on personal preference. My kia is at 120k and it has never so much as squeaked about a problem. This is with nothing special outside of 10k services at SS.
I'm currently building a theory that highway cars simply run better for longer than city cars regardless of brand

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 26th, 2013, 10:29 pm

sorry meant to say personal experience

Postby Damien » April 26th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Good info there, the majority of people like to spend big money on vehicles and think they are maintenance free, drive it till a light come on or until the vehicle shut down. Simple maintenance goes a long way

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 27th, 2013, 1:23 am

How recent are those Navara and bt50 prices on the first page?

In the market for a 4x4, 4door pickup, preferably auto, fabric interior, diesel, a workhorse really.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 27th, 2013, 3:46 am

Jag XF 3.0 S/C - 750k
2.2 T-Diesel - 650k. Was surprised when I was told they're going to bring these, but its a good idea.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 27th, 2013, 7:34 am

Adjudicator wrote:Yeah I gotta agree with rory based on personal preference. My kia is at 120k and it has never so much as squeaked about a problem. This is with nothing special outside of 10k services at SS.
I'm currently building a theory that highway cars simply run better for longer than city cars regardless of brand

No need to build a theory, you are right!!!

An engine and transmission has the most wear and tear while the engine is cold. The oil is not at the right temperature so its not at the right viscosity to properly lubricate the engine. City cars do alot of short distance driving and alot of their mileage is cold engine miles. Highway cars do more miles but the engines are running cold for shorter periods of time. Therefore less friction/wear and tear on the parts.

Also the smaller roads in Trinidad are much worse that the highways.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 27th, 2013, 7:38 am

Wish they would bring the Nissan Leaf ... Imagine the car tax on that!

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 8:15 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
gastly369 wrote:so coming from a A33 to a elantra sorta :? but still open minded hope other stuff can impress me tomorrow

Going from an A33 cheap quality Nissan with a cracked up dashboard to a new high quality well designed Hyundai Elantra and you are :? ? And going back to a used up low quality no warranty (6 months? Ha!) butt ugly Nissan Teana is an option that you are considering?

Backwards (Nissan) NEVER! Forwards (Hyundai) FOREVER!

WHOA WHOA WHOA, easy there padna, easyyyyy

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 27th, 2013, 11:10 am

nemesis wrote:Jag XF 3.0 S/C - 750k
2.2 T-Diesel - 650k. Was surprised when I was told they're going to bring these, but its a good idea.

Hmm not bad at all.. Compete well with the A6 and 5series

Postby gastly369 » April 27th, 2013, 12:35 pm

Sooo vehicles i checked today, elantra, chevy cruze, kia optima and the cerato

the optima very impressive the 305,000 price tag umm :S asked if im to purchase the car cash what discount would be getting it for i got 304,000 :|
cerato features are nice but the optima sitting behind the steering is just MMmmm full opening roof and infinity audio with sub.. insurance est 12,000 full comp with tatil for the optima and the cerato avg est is 8000
i like the "welcome feature" of the cerato nice touch the handles light up and the mirror shoots a flooring light as it folds down

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2013, 12:52 pm

12k for 300k reallll gud

Postby gastly369 » April 27th, 2013, 1:08 pm

yep been with them since first vehicle years now

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 27th, 2013, 2:19 pm

gastly369 wrote:Sooo vehicles i checked today, elantra, chevy cruze, kia optima and the cerato

the optima very impressive the 305,000 price tag umm :S asked if im to purchase the car cash what discount would be getting it for i got 304,000 :|
cerato features are nice but the optima sitting behind the steering is just MMmmm full opening roof and infinity audio with sub.. insurance est 12,000 full comp with tatil for the optima and the cerato avg est is 8000
i like the "welcome feature" of the cerato nice touch the handles light up and the mirror shoots a flooring light as it folds down

I'm sure you can get a better discount than that. All the sales peeps have a commissions and you can beat them down on that. Just be persistant and don;t let them feel like this is the vehicle you must have. BARGIN!!!

If you are buying a car tho thats seriously back ordered then you might have a problem with them lowering their commission

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 27th, 2013, 2:26 pm

Its funny on this forum watching people bashing Kia and Hyundai saying they are unreliable, cheap and problematic. The same mentality that was probably saying how cheap and crappy and unreliable Honda and toyota cars were 30 years ago.

Reality and perception couldn't be further from each other

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » April 27th, 2013, 2:55 pm

well i guess kia and hyundai have 30 more years to go before they can shake of that stigma....

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 27th, 2013, 6:19 pm

Rooki3 wrote:12k for 300k reallll gud

Isn't that about normal?

scotty_buttons wrote:

Hmm not bad at all.. Compete well with the A6 and 5series

Yup. No way you getting a 6-cyl SC or TC from the other brands at that price. At least not when you consider the rear view camera, sunroof etc already included.
Diesel model is still above the base price of the other 3 competitors. But again, the XF is a completely different vehicle. It will come down to personal preference again of course.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 28th, 2013, 2:28 am

Test drove the 2014 KIA Cerato (Forte) sedan today.

I am now one of the converted, in saying this is the best equipped compact 'value' sedan for the money on the local market. KIA has definitely stepped up its game. The vehicle is well appointed with all the bells and whistles you could want. The features were listed in a previous post, so I won't post them again. I miss not having the leather option though. Never really cared for a sunroof. The facelifted 2014 Sportage is expected to share the same feature set as the Cerato.

I liked the touch screen head-unit, but the audio (bass) needed a bit more umph. A powered sub, like the one found in the Sportage and Optima would've helped.

Who wouldn't like the auto fold wing mirrors, HIDs with LED brows and Tails?! And what about the lip spoiler?! Nice!

I'm into safety, so its nice to see a 'value' sedan with 6-airbags, RevCam, TCS, ESP, EBD, BA and F/R parking sensors as standard. Ironically they left out the lil lights for the vanity mirrors (which wifey spotted immediately) and no door 'puddle' lights, just a red reflector in each front door. But, they made up for that with illuminated outside door handle pockets and puddle lamps (under outside mirrors). The glove-box is chilled, but a bit on the small side so don't expect to fit much in there.

The new interior is a step forward in design and quality. All the ergonomic controls seem to be in the right position and there are soft touch materials where you would like them to be. I also liked the powered driver's seat's presets (2), that's something usually found on 'high-end' luxury sedans.

The car handled very nicely around the savannah in tiptronic mode and slipped up the Lady Chancellor Hill all the way to the top with ease. As someone said before, it won't win any races, but the 1.6L CVVT responded well when called upon to deliver. There was very little road noise, even when accelerating up the LCH. There is a bit of over-steer but most won't notice. I didn't like the 'flex steer' feature much and I forgot to try the paddle shifters. The overall ride was 'comfortable'.

Even though it shares the same platform as its cuz the Elantra, the Cerato is lower and wider, giving it a sportier look.

I'm very impressed with this car. The Koreans have arrived!

I expect this car to sell very well. Well done KIA.
IMG-20130427-00236.jpg
IMG-20130427-00239.jpg
IMG-20130427-00235.jpg
IMG-20130427-00234.jpg
IMG-20130427-00233.jpg
IMG-20130427-00230.jpg
IMG-20130427-00229.jpg
IMG-20130427-00228.jpg
IMG-20130427-00227.jpg
IMG-20130427-00226.jpg
IMG-20130427-00225.jpg
IMG-20130427-00223.jpg
IMG-20130427-00222.jpg
IMG-20130427-00221.jpg
IMG-20130427-00220.jpg

Postby black start » April 28th, 2013, 3:08 am

^a proper review

Caesar_T

Postby Caesar_T » April 28th, 2013, 3:35 am

does that price include VAT & MVT?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 28th, 2013, 4:27 am

Caesar_T wrote:

does that price include VAT & MVT?

Yeah. Unless de salesperson I spoke to didn't know what they were talking about.

Strange though. They went down a good 100k at least from the previous set.

Postby gastly369 » April 28th, 2013, 10:51 am

kia cerato brochure

http://tinyurl.com/d9hv96q

kia optima brochure

http://tinyurl.com/c8gqn8z

Postby gastly369 » April 29th, 2013, 5:56 am

Sooo yeh optima good buy?

have to make decision this week

Postby noshownogo » April 29th, 2013, 6:52 am

The K5 Kia Optima you speak of is a 2010 model due for a refresh soon. With that being said, if you had your mind up its still a great car.

Postby gastly369 » April 29th, 2013, 7:19 am

the model looked exactly like this tho which is a 2013 pic

will find out what model year etc when i visit them this week

Postby Rooki3 » April 29th, 2013, 11:56 am

is cash ah man say dey :shock:

/ballin

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2013, 12:11 pm

liking the new cerato not sure about the front thou. the elantra imho is better looking