T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Chimera » February 20th, 2010, 5:29 pm

btw the civic costing me $210,000

Postby equipped2ripp » February 20th, 2010, 6:05 pm

Dave wrote:the prices of these cars are very discouraging

i remembered when the Toyota Royal Saloon was the first locally assembled car to hit the 100k mark and even then to now, very few cars could touch that vehicle

$106,000 :lol:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 26th, 2010, 10:23 am

equipped2ripp wrote:
Dave wrote:the prices of these cars are very discouraging

i remembered when the Toyota Royal Saloon was the first locally assembled car to hit the 100k mark and even then to now, very few cars could touch that vehicle

$106,000 :lol:

Dave how long ago was that?

And what's the price of a Royal Saloon today?

Good ole days gone.

audidude89

Postby audidude89 » March 14th, 2010, 1:34 am

anyone know was d price that neal and massy selling d new volvo's at?? S60 and S80?

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » March 15th, 2010, 10:58 pm

Removed by Moderator
Last edited by Tar Baby on November 3rd, 2021, 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 18th, 2010, 12:00 am

bump for updates.

Special thanks to damieG82 for this much appreciated and welcomed contribution. Keep it coming bro. :wink:

This thread is open for modification with advice from any tuner so please pm me and I will update it accordingly. In addition, mods can feel free to make updates where necessary. This is not my thread, its ours.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 18th, 2010, 5:08 am

Fiat punto 125k
Fiat bravo 165k
ford focus (entry level, not ghia) 169k,
VW jetta 1.6 204k

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 18th, 2010, 7:43 am

jetta raise in price??

wasnt that 194K the other day?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 18th, 2010, 8:07 am

jhonnieblue wrote:jetta raise in price??

wasnt that 194K the other day?

Yes it raise oui!
And that is not the 'supercharged' version eh...
It well raise

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 24th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Tucson
$216,000.00 4x2 GL 2.0
$249,000.00 4x2 GLS 2.0
$239,000.00 4x4 GL 2.0
$279,000.00 4x4 GLS 2.0

taken from page 1.

Ad on today's newspapers says starting from $222,000.00
a 6K increase in a fews weeks just so??? hope d ad was a typo.

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2010, 2:16 pm

no typo.. the first shipment sold out very quickly. the $249 model is now $257 and $279 4x4 is now $299

slow323

Postby slow323 » March 24th, 2010, 2:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
eyephone wrote:wait wait wait wait....ppl will pay $4000 per month for FIVE YEARS for a car even with the economy as it is these days!!???! WTflyinF

If you just keep your money in the bank and rely on the bank's interest, then its better you buy a car for the cash price.

But if you invest your money or use it for business, then its a lot smarter to buy a vehicle on terms and use the cash for investment purposes.

X2 buy in company name get your vat back and the interest is also deductible in your taxes

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2010, 2:42 pm

Daren 3NE 2NR wrote:no typo.. the first shipment sold out very quickly. the $249 model is now $257 and $279 4x4 is now $299

thaz why N&M is sheit i find...they money greedy

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 24th, 2010, 3:12 pm

Daren 3NE 2NR wrote:no typo.. the first shipment sold out very quickly. the $249 model is now $257 and $279 4x4 is now $299

advanced levels of greed going on here I remember when a Tucson was $165k now the basic one is $222k? So in 6 years it gone up by $57k?

all these car dealerships should close down and burn to the ground :evil:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 24th, 2010, 4:38 pm

acesinghit wrote:

advanced levels of greed going on here I remember when a Tucson was $165k now the basic one is $222k? So in 6 years it gone up by $57k?

x2 they really taking advantage.....their markup is way tooooo high!!!!

first you pay a ridiculous high price for the car and then they screw you further by charging more than a grand to change your oil......

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 24th, 2010, 4:45 pm

^^^exactly and while ur vehicle is under warranty if you change ur oil by someone else or you do it yourself, they quick to say yuh miss a service schedule and therefore risk voiding ur warranty. When explaining to them that you took it to a licensed and qualified professional to do this the service manager quick to say "the manufacturer" does not recognize him or her or them. But why charge us soo much for the car and for parts to come with this sheit explanation? I mean $850. to change oil, oil filter, spark plugs (copper tip) and an air filter? They so damn greedy in my car the remaining good oil they won't even give me, when questioned they say, "it use the whole thing". BS!

Postby equipped2ripp » March 24th, 2010, 4:56 pm

acesinghit wrote:

yeah, the older model started @ $165K....

so what can be said for other vehicles? it's the same thing, prices have gone up on others as well... not the Tucson alone! you can't compare prices of new and older models anyway.

the $216K price on the new model could have just been an introductory price, or prices would have increase due to demand.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 24th, 2010, 5:18 pm

^^understood but whats the rate of increase of new vehicle prices in T&T far surpasses that of developed markets like in North America, Europe and Asia.

For example back in 1996 one could get a new Honda Civic 1.6 for $16k USD and today we can get a new one (1.8) for and you guessed it $16k USD! When multiplied by 6.4 we see that the residents of the US who according to GDP per capita earn more than us yet pay less for the same car but more equipped. $16k USD = $102,400. A basic Civic 1.6 is $189k why all in the name of MVT and VAT? BS! New car dealers are just plain greedy thats all and they wondering why people still buying roro. :x

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 24th, 2010, 5:32 pm

SUZUKI GRAND VITARA

NEW PRICE$ - MAR.2010

$171K - 1.6L 4WD Fabric
$229K - 2.0L 2WD Fabric
$239K - 2.0L 4WD Fabric
$279K - 2.0L 4WD Leather w/Sunroof
$315K - 2.4L 4WD Leather w/Sunroof (Now: Special Order)
$399K - 3.2L V6 4WD Leather w/Sunroof (Special Order)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 24th, 2010, 5:47 pm

^^understood but whats the rate of increase of new vehicle prices in T&T far surpasses that of developed markets like in North America, Europe and Asia.

For example back in 1996 one could get a new Honda Civic 1.6 for $16k USD and today we can get a new one (1.Cool for and you guessed it $16k USD!

Well said. I know some folks may argue the point about the effects of MVT, vat etc etc.

But think about this, A civic......which is one of the more basic models of the honda lineup in terms of price and intent, is now what.....a >190K TTD car? That's out of the range of many LOCAL households/young buyers.....the same type who the car was aimed at. If you look at the US, the same car seems more attainable in terms of price etc.

Maybe trinis are just too poor on the whole :lol:

^^^exactly and while ur vehicle is under warranty if you change ur oil by someone else or you do it yourself, they quick to say yuh miss a service schedule and therefore risk voiding ur warranty. When explaining to them that you took it to a licensed and qualified professional to do this the service manager quick to say "the manufacturer" does not recognize him or her or them. But why charge us soo much for the car and for parts to come with this sheit explanation? I mean $850. to change oil, oil filter, spark plugs (copper tip) and an air filter? They so damn greedy in my car the remaining good oil they won't even give me, when questioned they say, "it use the whole thing". BS!

True......and you're assuming that they do change the oil, or use the correct grade (which some firms do not actually). Ultimately, the dealer will be the same folks to fight down a warranty claim if you have one.....so you maybe better off saving and DiY if you can.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 24th, 2010, 6:23 pm

acesinghit wrote:^^understood but whats the rate of increase of new vehicle prices in T&T far surpasses that of developed markets like in North America, Europe and Asia.

For example back in 1996 one could get a new Honda Civic 1.6 for $16k USD and today we can get a new one (1.8 ) for and you guessed it $16k USD! When multiplied by 6.4 we see that the residents of the US who according to GDP per capita earn more than us yet pay less for the same car but more equipped. $16k USD = $102,400. A basic Civic 1.6 is $189k why all in the name of MVT and VAT? BS! New car dealers are just plain greedy thats all and they wondering why people still buying roro. :x

Minus the shipping and handling charges, duty, MVT and VAT on that same Civic, and let us know how much you get.

Also, keep in mind that Honda produces their own vehicles in the USA, so they save on certain costs. In addition to this, you cannot compare prices of USDM vehicles to JDM because we do not source vehicles from the USA, dealers buy out of Japan (and Thailand), and prices do tend to be high sometimes according to demand and supply.

I'm not defending dealers, but I'm just saying that we pay alot of fees which add on to the cost of the vehicle, making the price that high.

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2010, 8:09 pm

The new civic starts at $210,000.

Paid $230,000 for one about a month ago

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2010, 8:48 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:The new civic starts at $210,000.

Paid $230,000 for one about a month ago

so much, :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: wow

i brought my van 2 weeks ago, i took into considerations many things though, its diseil, cheaper on fuel because i do a lot of running, plus its loaded for value of features and i intend to keep it for a while ( bigger vehicle is always better for me)

my grieve though is the service from N&M...its not worth the price...i dont thin any sedan for that amount is worth it...dealers down here just racking in money..and people wont stand up for it

i negotiated at least 8k off my vehicle when i brought it.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 25th, 2010, 9:22 am

ABA Trading LTD, would you be so kind Sir to inform us exactly which model you purchased and the features that came with it? :shock:

equipped2ripp, when you look at a detailed quotation or invoice you would see the following:

Showroom Price
MVT
VAT
Licensing Fee
Insurance Cover Note
Gas
Number plates

Once the MVT is paid the vehicle is released from bond and ready to be in the showroom for purchase. The cost breakdown above does not include Shipping and handling/brokerage fees etc.. which leads me to believe that its already included in the showroom price.

In addition, even though I used a USDM Civic as my example it does not mean that $16k USD does not include the relevant statutory taxes to be paid. Also, yes I know the USDM Civic is made in the US but there are also other vehicles in the same compact-car category that sell for the same price and lower which were not made in the US eg. Mazda 3, Mazda Protege, Suzuki SX4, Suzuki Forenza, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte, Kia Spectra, Kia Sephia etc etc..Despite being made in a foreign country its still competitively priced vs the domestically made Honda.

So I think its unfair to say that we need to include these shipping/handling costs to the cars sold in our market which I already deduced that its included in the showroom price. The Mazda 3 comes from Japan anyhow and its shipped to us in the western hemisphere.

This spells as no excuse once again as I re-iterate my point which clearly states that new car dealers in this country are very greedy. The justification cannot be blamed solely on MVT and VAT as it can be easily calculated based on the vehicle's cc rating therefore the profit margin for each vehicle sold is very high.

ABA Trading clearly states that a new Civic 1.6 now starts at $210k and by virtue of my calculation in my previous posts indicate that a $16k USD Civic 1.8 converted is $104k TTD. Are you saying that despite MVT and VAT it warrants a price difference of exactly $106k TTD?

It is greed and tons of BS.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 29th, 2010, 11:59 am

what about american brands like chrysler and so fort?

Postby noshownogo » March 29th, 2010, 12:25 pm

fact of the matter is cars still selling and until consumers stand up and stop buying basic model cars for 200k with 2 airbag and abs that they touting as features/safety equipment, everyone will continue to get shafted.

next ting a stealership go tell me 4 wheels is a feature :|

then some sad dealerships advertise "special limited offers" of "free floor mats, tint and alarm", since when a new car does roll out of a showroom with no floor mats :?

up next: "limited special offer", "free seat belts"

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 31st, 2010, 1:29 pm

next ting a stealership go tell me 4 wheels is a feature :|

t
up next: "limited special offer", "free seat belts"[/quote]

rofl

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 31st, 2010, 3:24 pm

^^^ This is the reason I've resisited purchasing a new vehicle...even after test driving loads of them....I just can't subject myself to the robbery going on here....I'll continue buying 3 year used vehicles...haven't gone wrong so far.....1st car 4 trouble free years...current car 7 years and going strong....no payments....easy on insurance and still a wicked, fun ride :twisted:

dsaint

Postby dsaint » April 1st, 2010, 9:57 am

Current prices from Classic Motors:

Fit $139,950.00
Civic 1.6 $195,000.00
Civic 1.6 sunroof $210.000.00
Civic 1.8 sunroof $225,000.00
CRV Fabric $335,000.00
Accord Fabric $315,000.00

These do not include any "optional" equipment.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2010, 8:36 pm

dsaint wrote:Current prices from Classic Motors:

Fit $139,950.00
Civic 1.6 $195,000.00
Civic 1.6 sunroof $210.000.00
Civic 1.8 sunroof $225,000.00
CRV Fabric $335,000.00
Accord Fabric $315,000.00

These do not include any "optional" equipment.

Honduh is for rich ppl now....