T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 7:42 am

35K yuh say! Wow. Cerato vs Mazda 3 now then?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 16th, 2013, 7:55 am

SS selling the non sunroof refreshed mazda3 at $208k* which is the same price for the sunroof version that sold out. It means this basic 3 is still $3k more expensive than the latest compact science ie. Cerato.

*last known price

In other news, since TTTL already got the hideous 1.5 Fielder wagon, it appears lovers of the Corolla sedan may not have long again for this:
Let's guess the price:

The ALL NEW 1.5 fabric seats "fully loaded" Corolla is now $240k :lol:
it not bad to look at though :shock:

Postby noshownogo » April 16th, 2013, 8:18 am

The refreshed Mazda3 has the same 1.6, 4speed auto from 10yrs ago. The interior has bluetooth handsfree built into the stereo, cruise control, adaptive "intelligent" headlights, 17" rims etc.

SS advertising a $6500. down payment plan currently being offered.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 16th, 2013, 8:31 am

so the non sunroof refreshed 3 got 17" rims, adaptive lights, cruise and bluetooth for what price? If we got a leather option with sunroof, lip spoiler and curtain airbags for say $210k then they have a competitively priced product worth considering despite the dated 1.6

But TTTL's current 10th gen E140 series Corolla still uses the 1NZ-FE engine which was launched almost 13yrs ago just like the QR20DE found in the Xtrail Classic and the R18A Honda Civic engine is already almost 8yrs old like the Nissan HR15DE found in the current Versa. It appears manufacturers are keeping the motors in production longer than the actual car itself.

Postby noshownogo » April 16th, 2013, 8:50 am

My problem with the Mazda 1.6 Z engine is how underpowered it is compared to the competition as of today, also note that most of the below using Super Gasoline, versus the gas lid on the Mazda3 stating 95RON for a low compression, low horsepower 1.6.

Honda's R16 has 128hp, R18 140hp
Nissan's QR20DE has just over 140hp
Toyota's 1NZ-FE is most similar in output at 105hp
Hyundai's Elantra's 1.6 Gamma engine is rated at 128hp

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 16th, 2013, 8:53 am

noshownogo wrote:The refreshed Mazda3 has the same 1.6, 4speed auto from 10yrs ago. The interior has bluetooth handsfree built into the stereo, cruise control, adaptive "intelligent" headlights, 17" rims etc.

Cruise control really not necessary here

Sent from my LG-P880 using TriniTuner mobile app

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 16th, 2013, 9:39 am

acesinghit wrote:so the cerato is $205k with fabric seats, no sunroof but it has LED running lights. That's a jump of $35k. The outgoing model for $170k gave you:

1.6 engine with 6-speed tiptronic and paddle shift
4-wheel disc with ABS/EBD/BA
push button start with proximity key
17" rims
reverse sensors
tint + mats
fog lights
6-speaker am/fm/cd/mp3/wma/aux/usb stereo with steering controls

35K ??? Wow ... everywhere else in the world new models go up by a few hundred dollars (that would mean about 3 to 5 thousand tt). The rate they raising car prices it may make sense to go back to foreign used until these jokers bring back down their prices ....

Postby honda hoe » April 16th, 2013, 10:07 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
noshownogo wrote:The refreshed Mazda3 has the same 1.6, 4speed auto from 10yrs ago. The interior has bluetooth handsfree built into the stereo, cruise control, adaptive "intelligent" headlights, 17" rims etc.

wha happen to u boy?

them is deal breaker features

Postby honda hoe » April 16th, 2013, 10:08 am

new corolla sedan don't look bad

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 16th, 2013, 11:23 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Adaptive cruise control is very useful for northern folk like me that find the south highway rather long.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autonomou ... rol_system

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 11:36 am

Even normal cruise control is quite useful in Trinidad. If you can't use it you can't drive. I use it on my way to work, in work, after work and on evenings. I didn't buy the car just for it but it does come in very handy.

Postby cinco » April 16th, 2013, 12:30 pm

cruise control?
u dont stick in traffic?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Hardly. I usually end up in flowing traffic. Gauge speed and reset cruise control appropriately. I haven't used it in other cars so I don't know how easy it it is to use in others.

I try to time my trips to when I know traffic wont be bad too.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 16th, 2013, 1:02 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Even normal cruise control is quite useful in Trinidad. If you can't use it you can't drive. I use it on my way to work, in work, after work and on evenings. I didn't buy the car just for it but it does come in very handy.

I would think if you can drive you would be able to regulate speed by yourself but typical tuner always quick to throw an insult over nun. I guessing you just like to push the button

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 1:08 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Even normal cruise control is quite useful in Trinidad. If you can't use it you can't drive. I use it on my way to work, in work, after work and on evenings. I didn't buy the car just for it but it does come in very handy.

I would think if you can drive you would be able to regulate speed by yourself but typical tuner always quick to throw an insult over nun. I guessing you just like to push the button

If it fall in your garden water it.

Modulating speed on your own is possible yes but cruise control gives added accuracy if you just want to stay at one speed. Simple no? If you love having your foot cocked in one position to maintain speed have fun.

If I can take my foot off the gas and let the computer do the very mundane then why not. You not going to tell me you can wind up a window by hand so you will never consider power windows as a good feature would you?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 16th, 2013, 1:34 pm

Yeah I run Central to South and back during off peak hours, no traffic. So cruise control is a blessing, on some nights i never even have to adjust the speed or press break. Just cruise home ....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 16th, 2013, 2:17 pm

cinco wrote:cruise control?
u dont stick in traffic?

This is where adaptive cruise control would kick in as well.
This is why I must own a Mercedes or BMW some time in my life.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 16th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Modulating speed on your own is possible yes but cruise control gives added accuracy if you just want to stay at one speed. Simple no? If you love having your foot cocked in one position to maintain speed have fun.

If I can take my foot off the gas and let the computer do the very mundane then why not. You not going to tell me you can wind up a window by hand so you will never consider power windows as a good feature would you?

So what road you using this on? What times you driving? How many times do you press the button per trip?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 3:43 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

So what road you using this on? What times you driving? How many times do you press the button per trip?

North bound highway sando to pointe - a -pierre anywhere between 6:45 and 7:15 am.

North bound highway sando to mt hope for large stretches anywhere between 4pm to 5 pm during the week last year.

Saturday mornings sando to mt hope anywhere between 8 am to 10 am.

South bound mt hope to sando anytime after 9 pm.

Within speed restricted areas for short periods of time.

Depending on the level of traffic button presses can be once or twice per trip and increases with the level of stop start traffic you will encounter.

Cancelling cruise control can be done by tapping the brakes. Restarting cruise control is a one button press and you can choose to either use the last value selected or use the current speed as the new selection.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 16th, 2013, 4:32 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

North bound highway sando to pointe - a -pierre anywhere between 6:45 and 7:15 am.

North bound highway sando to mt hope for large stretches anywhere between 4pm to 5 pm during the week last year.

Saturday mornings sando to mt hope anywhere between 8 am to 10 am.

South bound mt hope to sando anytime after 9 pm.

Within speed restricted areas for short periods of time.

Depending on the level of traffic button presses can be once or twice per trip and increases with the level of stop start traffic you will encounter.

Cancelling cruise control can be done by tapping the brakes. Restarting cruise control is a one button press and you can choose to either use the last value selected or use the current speed as the new selection.

Thanks but I have used cruise control before. Over ten years ago in the US where there is endless road to drive. For you it is probably very useful but for me in Trinidad it would be used rarely.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » April 16th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Volkswagen New Car Prices Update:

VW Jetta 1.4TSI now starts at $244,500

VW Passat 1.8T starts at $295k

VW Passat Diesel 2TDI - Special Priced at $350k

VW Passat CC 2.0TSI starts at $458k

VW Tiguan 2.0TSI starts at $330k

VW Golf GTI 2.0TSI (4Door) - $389k

VW Touareg 3.0TDI starts at $747k

PM for more details or call me 722-2222

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Cool scene

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 16th, 2013, 4:58 pm

acesinghit wrote:so the cerato is $205k with fabric seats, no sunroof but it has LED running lights. That's a jump of $35k. The outgoing model for $170k gave you:

17" rims
reverse sensors
tint + mats
fog lights
Damn - the outgoing Cerato had a 6-speed auto with paddle shifts? :shock:
Was not aware

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 16th, 2013, 6:49 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

I take it the lancer doesn't come with it

Postby Stephon. » April 16th, 2013, 8:34 pm

17" rims
reverse sensors
tint + mats
fog lights

25k*
180k*

Postby Stephon. » April 16th, 2013, 8:37 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

I said this before and was fought down for it from a user that wakes up in the morning looking for flaws in SS lol

He was comparing the THEN Mazda 3 to the NEW Elantra

The features that the Elantra had that made it the best car in the universe (VS the Mazda 3) was the cruise control which IMO makes no sense in Trinidad. I've used cruise control ONCE in my life when driving across state lol, trinidad ain't have enough road for that sheit.

Not to mention, the indicators on the wing mirrors, electric driver seat and the mud guards i.e the features that made the Elantra the best car in the galaxy

I guess the Elantra is also better than most BMWs out now with indicators on the fenders with no mud guards lol

dredman1 wrote:

17" rims
reverse sensors
tint + mats
fog lights
Damn - the outgoing Cerato had a 6-speed auto with paddle shifts? :shock:
Was not aware

It DOES NOT. The Koup (from 2011) FULLY LOADED came with paddle shifters.

Not understanding why he quoted the prices for the FIRST BATCH of Ceratos with the KEY2START before the price went up TWICE and giving FEATURES of the FULLY LOADED KOUP (The sports model) to make SS sound bad as usual :lol: :lol: :lol:

Look plain and simple, the Cerato NEVER had those features locally, so the buyers of the NEW Cerato isn't losing anything.

What a wee little shame

The new Cerato has the rest of the features mentioned though so I don't see the problem and why is tint and mats being listed as if SS isn't going to be continuing to be giving tint and mats with every vehicle purchase, not understanding the logic.

Postby Stephon. » April 16th, 2013, 9:32 pm

just remembered why I came in this thread before seeing that cringe worthy fabricated old Cerato vs new Cerato post lol

So my dad bought a RAV4 and I took it for a run just now for the hell of it and it was ..... not nice to look at from the inside as it is the outside.

It's a nice vehicle, big, the running lights are cute, the vehicle itself is still ugly. It handles nice, but it doesn't handle like a CX-5

ehhhh ... interior is still what you would expect from toyota. Spare tire is trash (he had to fight them down for them to give him an original spare and he still didn't get it so the salesman lied to him) it's steal and the audio cannot compare to the CX-5s The audio sounds like a speaker system that should be in the Toyota Yaris vs the BOSE 8 Surround sound system in the CX-5 lol the choice is clear there. I didn't check but I think it has a 4 speaker system in the Rav4, kinda tragic for 2013

Also in the RAV the audio interface doesn't .... work ....properly .... I dunno what I did wrong. Also the deck on the RAV4 is the exact same deck my friend has on his Corolla. He bought the deck after buying the Corolla tho but that's not the point, the deck looks like an aftermarket item with a Toyota logo on it.

Also the bootleg leather interior LMFAO - he would be getting rid of this vehicle in no time.
Typical of him, wanna be able to say he have a new model Rav4 even tho it's not that great, nor does he like it.

As far as safety goes, wow. It is definately better than the CX-5

6 Airbags VS 9... I mean .... you don't need to be a rocket scientist. The handling and other safety features such as breaking/ABS/Traction Control .... ugh .... it's comparable. The airbags are what tips the RAV4 above the CX in terms of safety, the controlled steering was also a nice touch, didn't expect that from Toyota for another 50 years to be quite honest with you

The driver seat is powered .... Oh wait ... no it's not, another lie!
The Rims are great for 18 inches .... except it's 17 inches
The roof racks were beautifully designed .... oh ... it doens't come with any
the fog lights on ......... nvm

I guess tho it's still kinda worth the money solely based on the safety features, and performance.
If you're looking for a fun vehicle to drive, once again .. Toyota is NOT the way to go.

SIDE NOTE: He has the white with a big ass black bumper on it.

The Suzuki Grand Vitara remains the best looking SUV in the country.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 16th, 2013, 9:41 pm

@ Stephon, you are mistaken the outgoing cerato (2011) started coming in one trim that did have paddle shifters and the six speed transmission as well as push button start. It was 170 something. The final batch for $180k had rear wheel disc brakes included as well.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 16th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Also the new cerato is a complete redesign, based on the same platform as the new elantra. I don't quite agree with the price bump, but it's not really as simple as a direct feature comparison.

Postby Stephon. » April 16th, 2013, 10:08 pm

Oh yeah it did I was wrong but it doesn't change the fact that he used the 170k pricetag that the PCN model came with and made it sound like you got the PCU~ 180k features along with it.

Fact is, the price ain't only went up in Trinidad and complaining about a price hike when he evidently dunno the list of features that the new model comes with makes no sense.

I dunno any vehicle that takes away all it's features that made it successful in the first place just because a new model is coming in, so why make it sound that way?