T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 5th, 2013, 10:49 am

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 5th, 2013, 11:53 am

Stephon. wrote:It's Toyota....... In Trinidad why don't you believe it?

People here would still buy it because it's a "luxury" brand right? You know my friend said he would rather Toyota over Audi because Toyota has more of a prestige behind it's name? According to this Indian, only guntas with back pay does buy Audi O_O

ROFL lol. I'm a proud owner of a toyota corrola my first car and all that but ummmmm....a luxury brand you say? hmmmmm...as far as the new golf goes that 1.2 tsi would still be able to advantage plenty japanese and korean competitors and going on best auto's pricing history at a very competitive price as well...i say whenever it arrives "best hatchback/wagon on the road " :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 5th, 2013, 12:59 pm

notes:

DRL's, push button start, electronic driver's seat etc.. are not features

engines with high lift cam lobes and 7000+rpms redline is a feature.

Toyota's are over-priced but are 100% reliable. They lack "features" but the toyota emblem makes up for the lack of

Mazda's are simply the best in a world co-existing with Toyota

Southern Sales is the best car dealership ever

Tucsons are rubbish but the Sportage is fine.

The Juke is ugly, wicked, slow and fast at the same time.

we acknowledge car prices locally are too high but yet PCY almost @ 8000

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 5th, 2013, 1:00 pm

honda hoe wrote:
Swisha wrote:the $290k Sportage also comes with DRLs. something else the Tucson doesnt have...

not a personal attack but why are DRL's a factor? we have no need for them in trinidad

i often hear plenty ppl going on and on about "features" that influenced their purchase on vehicles, some of them not important. reverse sensors? electronic driver's seat? dual climate? why are those make or break features?

friend of mine bought a sportage over a tucson BECAUSE the sportage had an ipod port :|

ppl running down ricer features and still overpaying for vehicles with no rear disc brakes, 2 air bags and sh!tty engine power

AGREED!! Don't forget push button start.

Yet we forget important NECESSARY features such as:
- Brake Assist
- Traction Control
- Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD)
- Dual Front, Side and Curtain Airbags (06)
- Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
- Vehicle Stability Management System (VSM)
- Amplitude Selective Damper
- Factory Installed Keyless Entry with Burglar Alarm
- Hillstart Assist Control (HAC)
- Downhill Brake Control (DBC)

I was recently told by a senior car dealer that they limit these features cuz most customers don't want them. What BS is that?! Most of us don't really want seat-belts either, but are really glad to know we have them when it counts!!

karl

Postby karl » April 5th, 2013, 1:58 pm

acesinghit wrote:notes:

DRL's, push button start, electronic driver's seat etc.. are not features

engines with high lift cam lobes and 7000+rpms redline is a feature.

Toyota's are over-priced but are 100% reliable. They lack "features" but the toyota emblem makes up for the lack of

Mazda's are simply the best in a world co-existing with Toyota

Southern Sales is the best car dealership ever

Tucsons are rubbish but the Sportage is fine.

The Juke is ugly, wicked, slow and fast at the same time.

we acknowledge car prices locally are too high but yet PCY almost @ 8000

LOL @ mazda and ss
man you really kill me ! give steffy a break nah hahahahahah

btw how much on your jetta odo now?
my nze cross 100,000kms and nothing ever done except usual oil/filters/brakes - best feature according to someone on this thread is that toyota is a 10yr car easy - talk done.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 5th, 2013, 2:54 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
Swisha wrote:the $290k Sportage also comes with DRLs. something else the Tucson doesnt have...

not a personal attack but why are DRL's a factor? we have no need for them in trinidad

i often hear plenty ppl going on and on about "features" that influenced their purchase on vehicles, some of them not important. reverse sensors? electronic driver's seat? dual climate? why are those make or break features?

friend of mine bought a sportage over a tucson BECAUSE the sportage had an ipod port :|

ppl running down ricer features and still overpaying for vehicles with no rear disc brakes, 2 air bags and sh!tty engine power

AGREED!! Don't forget push button start.

Yet we forget important NECESSARY features such as:
- Brake Assist
- Traction Control
- Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD)
- Dual Front, Side and Curtain Airbags (06)
- Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
- Vehicle Stability Management System (VSM)
- Amplitude Selective Damper
- Factory Installed Keyless Entry with Burglar Alarm
- Hillstart Assist Control (HAC)
- Downhill Brake Control (DBC)

I was recently told by a senior car dealer that they limit these features cuz most customers don't want them. What BS is that?! Most of us don't really want seat-belts either, but are really glad to know we have them when it counts!!

Some people like aesthetics.
I don't see why that's so hard to conceive.

The same way I can't see myself paying over $300K for a hatchback because it's fast (Golf 2.0TSI) when I could get a comfortable Jetta for $245K with all the aesthetics and safety that I like.

I personally don't care for ABS because I've done so many years without it.

And btw, dual zone A/C, bluetooth and factory installed immobilizer/alarm is a big plus for me.

I LOVE the new Kia Rio
Best bang for the buck for ANY car priced at $160k

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 5th, 2013, 5:48 pm

I think some of you guys are being a bit heavy handed with your opinions on what features are good or bad or even what are features at all.

At the end of the day none of these features are necessary since the vehicles work just fine without them. The best features will vary from person to person and only the person who is paying for it will be able to tell if it's worth it or not.

To be honest I find it naive and presumptuous to be telling people which features they should need and want.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 5th, 2013, 5:53 pm

^^^ Finally some level headedness in here.

karl

Postby karl » April 5th, 2013, 6:13 pm

Adjudicator wrote:To be honest I find it naive and presumptuous to be telling people which features they should need and want.

you guys certainly don't have sense of humor if you are referring to acesinghit's post.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 5th, 2013, 6:23 pm

karl wrote:
Adjudicator wrote:To be honest I find it naive and presumptuous to be telling people which features they should need and want.

you guys certainly don't have sense of humor if you are referring to acesinghit's post.

I don't think it's that. I think we are referring to previous posts from him and other posters. His last post was clearly sarcastic.

Postby S_2NR » April 5th, 2013, 6:47 pm

Adjudicator wrote:I think some of you guys are being a bit heavy handed with your opinions on what features are good or bad or even what are features at all.

At the end of the day none of these features are necessary since the vehicles work just fine without them. The best features will vary from person to person and only the person who is paying for it will be able to tell if it's worth it or not.

To be honest I find it naive and presumptuous to be telling people which features they should need and want.

X2!

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 5th, 2013, 7:02 pm

karl wrote:

Quite the opposite, I found his post hilarious and it echoes exactly what I was trying to say.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 5th, 2013, 8:13 pm

Adjudicator wrote:I think some of you guys are being a bit heavy handed with your opinions on what features are good or bad or even what are features at all.

agreed, but this is the interwebz, where someone's opinion= cold hard facts 0X

aidan

Postby aidan » April 6th, 2013, 12:18 am

Sooooo all this talk about features. Is there any company locally offering a base model car.. ie: gearbox,manual windows,no power locks etc?

I agree on toyotas being overpriced and featureless, but they last and are cheap to maintain. Have an NZE going on 240k with no problems at all.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 6th, 2013, 9:45 am

Karl 62k and climbing rapidly since we down to 1 car now. I too had a local nze and it was sold doing 240k on the clock with no problems. I changed some seals and gaskets last yr carnival though. Routine maintenance otherwise.

We gave vw a chance and so far we have no regrets. Even the wingroad, sentra and almera i had were virtually bulletproof. I had a Mazda 3 not long enough but it was a fantastic car with an amazing chassis. I will give cars a chance....my next car may very well be a cruze, focus or Octavia. It's hard to revert to a jap compact after tasting euro.

Like most forums, sadly it is plagued by too much fanboyism. Trinituner is no different.

karl

Postby karl » April 6th, 2013, 11:53 am

acesinghit wrote:Karl 62k and climbing rapidly since we down to 1 car now. I too had a local nze and it was sold doing 240k on the clock with no problems. I changed some seals and gaskets last yr carnival though. Routine maintenance otherwise.

aidan wrote:
I agree on toyotas being overpriced and featureless, but they last and are cheap to maintain. Have an NZE going on 240k with no problems at all.

wow, ok my 100kkms nze is really new.

thanks.

i really want to try the jetta, i was hoping to hear someone do an issue less 100kkms on the jetta (1.4 twinC/dsg7) b4 i switched.

Postby Stephon. » April 6th, 2013, 8:55 pm

aisling sheit trying hard and acting like his opinion is fact as per. I feel he ain't get approved for a loan for a mazda vehicle recently. sad :(

Postby S_2NR » April 6th, 2013, 10:07 pm

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 6th, 2013, 10:53 pm

:lol: allyuh men kixy oui

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » April 7th, 2013, 6:39 pm

Well said. If i want to pay for drl's, dual zone a/c and a sunroof and i can afford it i dont see why that bothers the next dude. If you dont want it dont buy it.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » April 8th, 2013, 9:07 pm

^^^^ i have to comment when i read sence in d tread....well said gentlemen

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2013, 9:37 pm

aidan wrote:Sooooo all this talk about features. Is there any company locally offering a base model car.. ie: gearbox,manual windows,no power locks etc?

nissan has base model navaras for like 180k

manual windows, manual transmission, 4x2 etc

aidan

Postby aidan » April 8th, 2013, 11:33 pm

ABA Trading LTD, was thinking of cars. Like how they used to have real base model lancers and corollas and stuff. I dont care about all the power features. As basic as possible for me plz :D

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 9th, 2013, 7:14 am

What about the following:

1) Chevrolet Spark?
2) Nissan Versa?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 9th, 2013, 1:42 pm

I am sure you can get a base model jetta from Best Auto. But you will have to special order it, the good news is that Best Auto now gets the jetta's directly from Mexico so it won't take 6 to 7 months. Before the car had to go to Germany and then back to us. It should take about 3 to 4 months now.

The good thing also is that the jetta's most unreliable part is the DSG gearbox. If you get a manual it should give you an amazingly reliable car. In europe VW's are 10 year cars at minimum.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 9th, 2013, 2:01 pm

dual climate control is important for any man that has a woman in the car with him..

married men go know what I talking bout.

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2013, 2:05 pm

MadCrix wrote:dual climate control is important for any man that has a woman in the car with him..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 9th, 2013, 2:05 pm

is like they doh have blood dred lol

Postby S_2NR » April 9th, 2013, 2:50 pm

I thought u meant more along the lines of them being so indecisive. One minute she feeling hot and the next she cold :-?

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » April 9th, 2013, 4:13 pm

MadCrix wrote:dual climate control is important for any man that has a woman in the car with him..

Amen to that