Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

Postby Maserati » March 24th, 2010, 12:04 pm

^he is leave that for them ITR

Postby honda hoe » March 24th, 2010, 12:09 pm

aye doh be on dat :evil:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Was toying with the idea of an Origin 1700mm CF wing like what Kerry has on the Chaser but not sure if I looking for a something that make out, may keep it simple and stealthy.
This is actually the wing I prefer,
Or keep it without one and get my dream wheels,

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » March 24th, 2010, 1:09 pm

^ 3rd pic FTW! even get the rear glass spoiler! :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 24th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Yeah that wing on the 3rd pic is the flick.. I think that wing works nice for drag too. :|

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 2:03 pm

Yeah well I will have to order it. As for the rear glass wing it's not my style, looks a bit clumsy on there and more for a luxury type car and not a sports car, suits more of a Aristo type vehicle. I may order the low wing in carbon as well to match with the carbon trunk at some point.

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » March 24th, 2010, 2:12 pm

:P :P :P

Postby honda hoe » March 24th, 2010, 2:14 pm

S15's are the only sexy cars nissan made

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 2:18 pm

Haha the only thing my car has up on his car is, ganador mirrors, Nismo CF bonnet, wide front fenders, smoked tails and clear indicators. He has the VSKF I have been longing for!!!! Who can do such a fender roll and flare in Trinidad, that is what I am after?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 25th, 2010, 1:46 am

TriniGT wrote:Yeah well I will have to order it. As for the rear glass wing it's not my style, looks a bit clumsy on there and more for a luxury type car and not a sports car, suits more of a Aristo type vehicle. I may order the low wing in carbon as well to match with the carbon trunk at some point.

second this
no rear glass wing.
the ostriches need them more than you :?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 1:37 pm

Well more things to keep back the build. Spoke with the machinist and he has told me that the ehxuast side valve guides need replacing as he is getting some play between guide and valve. He sadi if I were to put them up like that then I can expect some smoking and also a loss of oil. For a fresh build this is not what I want. So now the daunting task of finding a shop that can replace my guides. I already have Cosworth intake and exhaust guides but finding a shop to do the job is tiring.

I have called several shops and the consensus is to drill out the stock steel guides and sleeve them with bronze inserts and then have them reemed. To me it sounds like a half-assed job. They also told me that trying to replace the entire guide will be done at my own risk as they have had problems in the past. I have since called D Rampersad and Central Precision and they have both said they can do the entire guide replacement. I have spoken to XS Engineering that sold me the guides and they said that the head will need to be heated to a certain temperature and then the guides pressed out. In both instances I spoke to the secretary so I am unsure of what their process entails but for sure I want to speak with the people doing the job to get an idea of the process. Baldwin said they triedfull Bronze Guides in the past and when inserting them they have sometimes collapsed as they are soft, not sure what to say on their part. Can anyone give me an opinion from firsthand experience as to who they recommend between Central precision and D Rampersad? Damn I want this head done already, block is getting tired waiting :mrgreen: .

Postby 16 cycles » March 31st, 2010, 1:45 pm

I know this won't help a bit but really wish i see this dedication towards machining down here

http://forums.evolutionm.net/vendor-ann ... pping.html

^ really something else wrt detail

good luck with build !!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 1:54 pm

Hey if I had the cash I would send it to Mazworx to have thework done to it and same time have the crank, rods, pistons and harmonic balancer all balanced and blue printed. Sigh Trinidad FTL :cry: , not giving as yet though :wink: .

Postby Razkal » March 31st, 2010, 1:58 pm

TriniGT, Laquis mentioned what he thinks is an exceptional machinist in the dyno video posted by Slim Thug...i don't know the guy, or his work, but the procedure laquis had done by him needs a competent and capable machinist...rotaries do't take to shoddy machine/internal work very well...

check the vid, call laquis and hopefully you'll get some help...good luck TGT...doh forget to hail me if you spy an available t28 :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 2:04 pm

Yeah I remembered that will dig up the video when I get home and call the guy.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 2:26 pm

Okay got the name but not the number, name is Patrick Balgobin. Will call Lacquis and get his number.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 2:38 pm

Okay, came off the phone with Lacquis, Patrick Balgobin - 678-0687. He said to make sure and mention that I saw the video and know Lacquis. Let's see what happens.

Postby Razkal » March 31st, 2010, 2:45 pm

lovely, noted the number for future use...hope you make some progress again dan...probably very frustrating to be stuck due to lack of technicians and adequate facilities..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 31st, 2010, 2:51 pm

Ent, but we must trod on. More and more that little devil on my shoulder saying throw the SR in and call it a day.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 8th, 2010, 11:44 am

Ah spamming here yes..Since this thread is my encouragement anyway. My subframe bushings are shot..Preferred to go with some Nismo ones but have settled for some aluminium solid ones. I'ts going to be harsh huh.
Getting the brake bias proper - z32 BMC
Really wanted the Driftworks setup but had to go with these instead.

These are my fav though. The massive progress sway bars with adjustbale heim endlinks and solid spherical bushings.

And money done for the time being.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 8th, 2010, 11:51 am

Nice, I have solids as well but for some strange reason they were not fitting the first couple of time so I opted out and used the collars instead. Right now my head is hurting, the exhaust guides need replacing and no one locally does it that I have checked so far. Baldwin has an old school technique where they drill the cast iron guides out a bit and press in bronze inserts and then ream to suit. It has me a bit uneasy but right now it is my only option as the two heads I have have worn exhaust guides. Let's see what happens. Trinidad machining FTL!!! I have a guy already looking for a modded S14 or S15 engine for me in Japan already to just drop in as I am reaching the far end of frustration now.

Nice bits Prozac, not get out there and get them on!!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 8th, 2010, 11:56 am

The Z32 has proper bias or your adjusting it somehow?

I myself wanted the bigger Z32 BM50 but read it's bias was more suited to the 300ZXs weight distribution.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 8th, 2010, 12:04 pm

You in a pickle there boy, I'm sure you saw the couple built heads on Zilvia already- might be cheaper and less troubling to go down that route. You sound like the epitome of the enthusiast though where you want to do it instead of buy it done. Hope it works out man.

Conrad this is the 15/16 BMC - I'm using 30mm front and z32 rears on the s14 so the stock BMC was a 7/8. There is that one thread on calculating bias I'm sure you've read. Either way this one is not as massive are the 1" or 17/16. Going to give it a try and see. Weight distribution, pad size,even the loss in expansion from the brake lines can be taken into account. It's not an exact science and I'm no expert so I'm going with what's been shown for good results.
btw: what are you using for ebrake cables?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 8th, 2010, 12:09 pm

Well it's a Cefiro so I use the same drum setup as on the Skylines. I sourced the 15/16 bmc already but I'm always up for improved braking. Please post a review after.

Would stop the spamming now, sorry TriniGT.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 8th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Hey as long as the spamming consists of knowledge it's all good fun, we are all enthusiasts that looking for the same kinda thing in the end, not a half ass job just drop an engine in and study everything whenever yuh get a deal or even better yet, 'that good right dey' approach until something serious happens that makes you spend double on what could have been spent before.

For my brake setup I am running the GTR32 cylinder setup and booster with ER34 brakes eventually as the GTT will be getting brembos in the coming weeks. I have an extra Z32 rear setup so I have already began working on it. The brake shoe setup has been swapped in already and it was not that bad actually, removed the S14 hub and then used my dremel and sanded the knuckle hole for the brake shoe long bolt and slotted it in and with some new R33 handbrake cables and bolted the 300ZX hubs on and slipped it over the R33 diff and axle setup. Fitted the rotor and adjusted the handbrake via the brake shoe adjustment and now it is just a matter of stripping the calipers and finding a suitable colour to match against the black car and prime and paint and boltit up and connect the braided lines.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 8th, 2010, 9:49 pm

Where did you get the R33 cables, they're like gold now.

Check mess I've been in for weeks with no sight of release.

Previous Orders
03/23/2010 #50405 Zac Ragoonath, Canada Paid In Full On Hold - Back Order $108.24

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 9th, 2010, 7:32 am

I bought it on Zilvia a couple years back. Bought two pairs actually in the event I do it on a next car.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 9th, 2010, 10:22 am

have you contacted Gormandy's Machine shop about replacing the valve seals/guides, i would recommend them

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 9th, 2010, 10:31 am

Hmmm gonna call them now, have never heard of them. Who does that kind of work for Ryan Garcia, would be good as a reference.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 9th, 2010, 10:37 am

Spoke to them and they said they don't do the job, they recommended Bamboo Machine Shop that say they don't have the facilities and told me to check Baldwin's. So here we go again. Didn't get onto Patrick Balgobin that was recommended by Lacquis so will try him again.