T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » March 8th, 2013, 9:29 pm

Swisha wrote:Toyota sales rep said they getting Corolla wagons soon.

asked for a brochure, he said all he had was the price...$212,000 :|

never saw a wagon in the current model. is it the new Auris he's referring to?

must be

so with that price and given Toyota's great track record we should expect a 1.8L engine with steering mounted controls, a design to turn heads with auto wipers/lights/sunroof/fogs/abs/alloys etc.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 8th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
MadCrix wrote:Who keeps a car more than 6-8yrs really?
If bought new in today's world

Mazda 626 - 24 years (mih mammie did by it new and I did by it from she when it was 7 years old)
Mitsubishi Lancer - 16 years (bought new)
Hyundai Coupe - 6 years (bought new)

Mazda outlasting the others as per.

You're an ass if that's what you gather from that.
Even self, my old man's has his ke70 corolla for over 35yrs n nothing changed apart from maintenance parts such as filters, brakes, etc. same engine. Same gearbox.
Any Mazda close to that age would be extremely problematic if still functional I guarantee.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Hyundai engines are top notch !!! I mean BMW just signed a deal with them to share engine tech mutually. Their 1.6L engines in the elantra throw out over 130 ps . The mazda 3 1.6L engines can't give you more than 110 ps.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 9th, 2013, 12:54 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Mazda 626 - 24 years (mih mammie did by it new and I did by it from she when it was 7 years old)

Rory, green lancer with big spoiler?

I always wondered if you were that guy :|

Postby Stephon. » March 9th, 2013, 6:04 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Mazda outlasting the others as per.

You're an ass if that's what you gather from that.
Even self, my old man's has his ke70 corolla for over 35yrs n nothing changed apart from maintenance parts such as filters, brakes, etc. same engine. Same gearbox.
Any Mazda close to that age would be extremely problematic if still functional I guarantee.

Or hore ...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 9th, 2013, 4:10 pm

We took our test drive of the 2013 RAV4 today. Here are my first impressions:

Model: 4x2 CVT Mid Fabric - $268K. There isn't a Lo Fabric so guess the obvious!

The vehicle is noticeably bigger than the previous model, but isn't what I would call a 'good looking' SUV (CUV) like the CX-5 or the new Santa Fe, but it has a powerful stance and appears 'swollen' compared to its predecessor. This model is 1.2" lower than the previous model. Only 17" alloys on all models, whilst everyone else gives you 18" on the 'hi-spec' models. No fogs lights on this model, TTTL! WTF?! Even the most basic car in TT comes with foglights. No roof rails either. Damn it TTTL!
The brochure advertised a powered driver's seat - Nope, its manual.

The cabin is roomy and the front and rear seats are very comfortable with lots of leg room. I'm almost 6ft tall and at my optimum seating position in the driver's seat, there was lots of legroom in the rear. The sad part was they got rid of the sliding rear bench which allowed you to slide the back seat fwd/aft to either adjust the amount of rear legroom or rear storage. That feature should be standard in all SUVs/CUVs. Some genius decided to separate the cup holders in the front centre console. One of them is forward of the tranny shifter and just under the dash, a very awkward position if you want to keep you eyes one the road - Bad idea. The other is where its supposed to be.

The swing gate with spare tyre is gone. Its been replaced by a lift-gate with the spare tyre (steel rim) in the floor storage area. The auto lift gate in the $330 and $410 models is something of a novelty which would become boring very soon. Speaking of boring, the dash sucks. With most brands sporting 'futuristic' gauge displays e.g. Hyundai, Kia, Honda, etc. The instrument panel looks like an old grandfather clock. The feature controls are simple looking and basic. The controls for the ECO and Sport settings are under the centre dash which may be annoying for some.

The Yaris era after market deck (round controls), now standard, was also crappy, with there being only 4 speakers in the base model and up to 6 in the 'fully' loaded models. No sub-woofer option available.

There's a lot of cheap plastic in this vehicle, especially the doors. One doesn't get the luxury feel that's expected. Even the 'leather' models, which by the way isn't leather at all, seemed also less that luxurious. The euro feel is missing when you close the doors expecting a solid closure. The type of solid, heavy door closure found on the Jetta, Cruze, Captiva and even my Grand Vitara, etc.

Now to the test drive itself. Lets put it this way, we were presently surprised, and realized that just like Mitsubishi, Toyota didn't spend much time on interior aesthetics, but on the engine, suspension and safety features. The vehicle handled exceptionally well, especially in 'sport mode' - stiffer suspension, speed sensitive steering. Very little body lean. The 2.0L engine (CVT tranny) constant groan didn't intrude into the cabin much and the road noise was much improved. The cabin is quieter even at highway speeds. The fun came with the 7-speed tiptronic. Smooth, clean shifts, with very little engine noise in the cabin. Acceleration has been improved over the outgoing 4-cylinder model, but it's no rocket. New Sport and Eco modes make the 2013 RAV4 feel more agile or sip less fuel, according to the driver's whim. The transmission is responsive.

Overall , we were very impressed with the new RAV4, it make up for the failed aesthetics with exceptional performance and handling.

It looks like our next SUV buy (for wifely) will be the 2013 RAV4.

Forgot to mention the standard safety features which you all know: (9) Air Bags, ABS with BA (Brake Assist) & EBD (Electronic Brake Force Distribution), VSC (Vehicle Stability Control), HAC (Hill Start Assist Control), Factory Immobilizer.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 9th, 2013, 7:23 pm

sorry, but that excuse has already been taken by some euro owners, when the topic of reliability is raised :lol:

as for mr norstar, thanks for the RAV review :) . Although I have to say I'm really surprised that even after all those cons, you still have it as a front runner for your wifey's next vehicle. However, I guess if driving dynamics is a huge factor for her, then this might be the way to go.
Anyhow, I look forward to your Santa Fe review :)

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » March 10th, 2013, 12:15 am

I see our Korean friends have also developed a competitor for the Golf gti...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 10th, 2013, 12:42 am

No was a genuine question. To me the average person there days don't keep a far that ling again. We had a par 626 we kept not 16years the damn roll over it mileage and reach 500k miles. Yes it was in miles.

The eleantra will sell before its 7th yr

aidan

Postby aidan » March 10th, 2013, 1:40 am

Renaldo25 wrote:I see our Korean friends have also developed a competitor for the Golf gti...

which is?

Postby Stephon. » March 10th, 2013, 3:56 am

@NorStar2K nice review. I love the part where you acknowledged that the CX-5 is one of the better looking SUVs out there :p

I guessing the Tucson is not an option now?

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 10th, 2013, 1:38 pm

MadCrix wrote:No was a genuine question. To me the average person there days don't keep a far that ling again. We had a par 626 we kept not 16years the damn roll over it mileage and reach 500k miles. Yes it was in miles.

Either your autocorrect really hates you or you've been drinking :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 10th, 2013, 3:43 pm

Damn auto correct lol

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 10th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Love the new Tucson

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 10th, 2013, 4:24 pm

tourniquet wrote:

sorry, but that excuse has already been taken by some euro owners, when the topic of reliability is raised :lol:

as for mr norstar, thanks for the RAV review :) . Although I have to say I'm really surprised that even after all those cons, you still have it as a front runner for your wifey's next vehicle. However, I guess if driving dynamics is a huge factor for her, then this might be the way to go.
Anyhow, I look forward to your Santa Fe review :)

She drove a CS3 Lancer 5-speed manual b4, so she's accustomed to boring cheap interiors! :lol:
The standard safety features was a key factor also.

Postby gastly369 » March 10th, 2013, 4:50 pm

aidan wrote:
Renaldo25 wrote:I see our Korean friends have also developed a competitor for the Golf gti...

which is?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 10th, 2013, 6:13 pm

^^^ unlikely they'll be getting that here tho. not even the NA Cee'd is available here. and that's with a body kit and aftermarket rims lol. but 200hp form a 1.6t is impressive... from Kia.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 10th, 2013, 10:13 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:^^^ unlikely they'll be getting that here tho. not even the NA Cee'd is available here. and that's with a body kit and aftermarket rims lol. but 200hp form a 1.6t is impressive... from Kia.

I agree. It looks great also. Still like the golf gti more though :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 11th, 2013, 7:45 am

norstar, does the rav4 use super or premium?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 11th, 2013, 10:23 am

acesinghit wrote:norstar, does the rav4 use super or premium?

Super.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 11th, 2013, 1:25 pm

NorStar2K wrote:

Super.

The new 2.5 engines as well? That's really really good.

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 11th, 2013, 2:37 pm

MadCrix wrote:No was a genuine question. To me the average person there days don't keep a far that ling again. We had a par 626 we kept not 16years the damn roll over it mileage and reach 500k miles. Yes it was in miles.

if it eh broke . . . but then again some ppl does just change plate to say they have a newer registered car.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 11th, 2013, 4:02 pm

CBharath wrote:

if it eh broke . . . but then again some ppl does just change plate to say they have a newer registered car.

Nice feeling not having to pay bank every month too

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 11th, 2013, 11:01 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

Super.

The new 2.5 engines as well? That's really really good.

I don't think toyota would shoot themselves in the foot like that just yet

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 11th, 2013, 11:21 pm

so...Rav4 or Tucson?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 12th, 2013, 9:45 am

tuscon

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 12th, 2013, 5:49 pm

Rav4. Definitely.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 12th, 2013, 6:43 pm

Swisha wrote:so...Rav4 or Tucson?

TUCSON
Pros: Good resale, spirited handling esp diesel model, excellent audio (subwoofer on GLS models), 'hi-tech' cockpit, alloy rim spare tyre, 17 and 18" alloy wheels option, ipod/USB audio interface, leather seats, panoramic sunroof on GLS models.
Cons: Full safety package available only on GLS trims.

RAV4
Pros: Excellent resale, best safety package standard on all trims ((9) Air Bags, ABS with BA (Brake Assist) & EBD (Electronic Brake Force Distribution), VSC (Vehicle Stability Control), HAC (Hill Start Assist Control), Factory Immobilizer), excellent performance/handling, roomy interior,
Cons: Boring interior, cheap materials, 'low-tech' cockpit, crappy audio, USB audio interface only, steel rim spare tyre, 17" alloy wheels only, simulated leather seats.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 12th, 2013, 6:44 pm

TUCSON
Pros: Good resale, spirited handling esp diesel model, excellent audio (subwoofer on GLS models), 'hi-tech' cockpit, alloy rim spare tyre, 17 and 18" alloy wheels option, ipod/USB audio interface, leather seats, panoramic sunroof on GLS models.

RAV4
Pros: Excellent resale, best safety package standard on all trims ((9) Air Bags, ABS with BA (Brake Assist) & EBD (Electronic Brake Force Distribution), VSC (Vehicle Stability Control), HAC (Hill Start Assist Control), Factory Immobilizer), excellent performance/handling, roomy interior,
Cons: Boring interior, cheap materials, 'low-tech' cockpit, crappy audio, USB audio interface only, steel rim spare tyre, 17" alloy wheels only, simulated leather seats.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 12th, 2013, 6:45 pm

TUCSON
Pros: Good resale, spirited handling esp diesel model, excellent audio (subwoofer on GLS models), 'hi-tech' cockpit, alloy rim spare tyre, 17 and 18" alloy wheels option, ipod/USB audio interface, leather seats, panoramic sunroof on GLS models, 6-speed auto/shift-tronic

RAV4
Pros: Excellent resale, best safety package standard on all trims ((9) Air Bags, ABS with BA (Brake Assist) & EBD (Electronic Brake Force Distribution), VSC (Vehicle Stability Control), HAC (Hill Start Assist Control), Factory Immobilizer), excellent performance/handling, roomy interior, 7-speed shift-tronic

IMHO, if you're looking for safety, function and performance and don't care about aesthetics, the RAV4 wins.