T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » March 7th, 2013, 5:49 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
tourniquet wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Saw a Rav4 today in preson, I didn't know it came with running lights, nice. It's still completely ugly and it looks like an eyesore. Even the new CR-V is nicer than that lump of megatron vomit.

I have my test drive on Saturday. I'll give you my overall impression then.

unless I missed it, did you ever end up test driving the new Santa Fe as well? :)

Funny you should mention that, cuz they haven't been able to get a 4x2 Diesel for me to test drive yet. Not interested in the gas model.

That's the new model you speak of? Heard the diesel is very impressive! Anyone has detailed pricing on them?

Postby Stephon. » March 7th, 2013, 8:40 pm

The new Santa Fe sweeeeeeeeeeet! Toyota should hire a Hyundai designer before moving on with any other projects.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 7th, 2013, 9:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:The new Santa Fe sweeeeeeeeeeet! Toyota should hire a Hyundai designer before moving on with any other projects.

No need to. They making enough money. They should hire new designers only if they lose the #1 spot in the world in sales. You honestly think Toyota cares you think their vehicles lame as fcuk?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 7th, 2013, 9:53 pm

the new santa fe looks EXACTLY like a bigger, refined tucson. big design prop there :/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 7th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Nah ... toyota starting to feel the pinch from the other automakers even though they are still on top. Hyundai is the 3rd top selling brand in Trinidad. They probably could have been second if not for supply constraints. I ordered a hyundai elantra before i decided to go for the jetta and the wait time in December 2012 was 109 days to get an elantra. The same seems to be going for the rest of the world also, dealers in the US are asking hyundai for more production to keep up with demand. There is talk from the toyota bosses that they will be designing future cars that are fun to drive and look better. You can see this plainly with the new RAV4.

Some people may think its ugly .... but its a hell of alot bolder than anything they have designed before. Also check out their furia concept that may be heading in the direction of the next corolla.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 7th, 2013, 11:30 pm

Thing is locally is one thing. Globally another. Long wait times locally doesn't necessarily mean Hyundai selling great. It could just mean Hyundai diverts cars to other markets preferentially over TnT. I waited 7 months for my jetta. Doesn't mean Vw was selling great here at the time.

If you look globally Toyota is number one in sales followed by GM and VAG with Hyundai far behind. If Toyota gonna copy they'll probably copy from a closer rival than a distant one.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 7th, 2013, 11:34 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Stephon. wrote:The new Santa Fe sweeeeeeeeeeet! Toyota should hire a Hyundai designer before moving on with any other projects.

No need to. They making enough money. They should hire new designers only if they lose the #1 spot in the world in sales. You honestly think Toyota cares you think their vehicles lame as fcuk?

Simple works when you think about it yuhno, idk if I ever posted my rant in this thread but as minimalistic the hilux is, that beyotch won't die. I can safely say my family abuses that van, we don't service regularly, two different tire sizes, etc :lol:

I towed a 20ft Glaston cruiser recently to the beach and back, got the hilux stuck in bumper hight sea water, took it out with boat in tow, drove up a mossy concrete slope then up a steep entrance to exit the beach. The fishermen down mon diablo doubted I could make it with boat and was stunned to see an automatic pickup aka loulou make it with no kinda struggle. Hyundai 1.5ton have to take a bit of a "run up" with a pirogue :D

The next morning, 8cans of diesel and back to the forest with Loulou :mrgreen:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 8th, 2013, 12:04 am

you really name the pickup loulou? :lol: On top of that you give loulou different size shoes too?

As much as some people don't like to admit it simple works for a whooole lot of people. Toyota knows this. All who want to see a shark fin here, a blade cut there and 10 THOUSAND LEDs on a toyota missing the point. 5 years from now you gonna watch the current elantra and think "What was I thinking wanting other cars to look like this. This looks hideous now"

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 8th, 2013, 12:29 am

Betsy and Susie was taken :lol:

The rears have bigger walls than the front tires, helps with load and traction I guess.

Buddy and me were comparing Neal and massy xtrail parts prices with tttl rav4 parts prices, both around the same age,I never expected to realize tttl was reasonable :/ I still can't believe I just used tttl and reasonable

Postby Stephon. » March 8th, 2013, 6:58 am

I said this before, people choose toyota (like my friend with the corolla) because they can get away with anything; the difference between toyota and the rest is that you can get away with not servicing for longer than you can with other vehicles. I believe that once you do what you're supposed to do that ANY vehicle would last just as long as any toyota.

Then again people don't read manual anymore :lol:

blacklight

Postby blacklight » March 8th, 2013, 7:46 am

I'm going off topic here, but anyone knows where I can get stats on new car sales from one source?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 8th, 2013, 7:49 am

You have a corolla or elantra. Elantra wins in price and features and swag factor. 30 yrs from that day of taking delivery if you were to trace those 2 vehicles you would find the corolla in a market shed still working with a trunk full of tomatoes to sell. The elantra? well remnants of the chassis would have been sold by a scrap yard dealer a decade before. Did the elantra owner make a bad decision? Who cares? He paid off the loan after 5 yrs, sold the car shortly there after and got the new generation model or something else.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 8th, 2013, 7:59 am

I stopped reading @ Elantra swag factor.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 8th, 2013, 8:34 am

Who keeps a car more than 6-8yrs really?
If bought new in today's world

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 8th, 2013, 8:53 am

Clearly not you ballers.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 8th, 2013, 10:15 am

Explain

blacklight

Postby blacklight » March 8th, 2013, 10:33 am

In diamond motors now and this is in a showroom l200 automatic vehicle. Rep said its there to show what
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362752552.098958.jpg
they can offer.

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2013, 11:08 am

i just put my 3 year old civic for sale and thinking what to buy next......

the accord?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 8th, 2013, 5:28 pm

MadCrix wrote:Who keeps a car more than 6-8yrs really?

B14 for 15yrs.
2006 rav4 for 7th year this year.

What wrong with that? :?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 8th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Mazda 626 - 24 years (mih mammie did by it new and I did by it from she when it was 7 years old)
Last edited by Rory Phoulorie on January 5th, 2015, 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2013, 6:48 pm

LoL, allergic

why all the hyundai hate .... btw you ever saw the video where the Winterkorn is pissed at his chief engineer when he realized how far hyundai has really gotten?
Hyundai never actually said they were going after the japanese automakers ... they are poised to go after the europeans, they not there yet ... but they catching up really fast. UK review sites have been bigging up the i30 for two straight models now.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 8th, 2013, 6:52 pm

acesinghit wrote:You have a corolla or elantra. Elantra wins in price and features and swag factor. 30 yrs from that day of taking delivery if you were to trace those 2 vehicles you would find the corolla in a market shed still working with a trunk full of tomatoes to sell. The elantra? well remnants of the chassis would have been sold by a scrap yard dealer a decade before. Did the elantra owner make a bad decision? Who cares? He paid off the loan after 5 yrs, sold the car shortly there after and got the new generation model or something else.

did your sources from the future confirm this?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 8th, 2013, 7:00 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
tourniquet wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Saw a Rav4 today in preson, I didn't know it came with running lights, nice. It's still completely ugly and it looks like an eyesore. Even the new CR-V is nicer than that lump of megatron vomit.

I have my test drive on Saturday. I'll give you my overall impression then.

unless I missed it, did you ever end up test driving the new Santa Fe as well? :)

Funny you should mention that, cuz they haven't been able to get a 4x2 Diesel for me to test drive yet. Not interested in the gas model.

That's the new model you speak of? Heard the diesel is very impressive! Anyone has detailed pricing on them?

Santa Fe 2.4L 5 Seater 2WD SUV (Fabric) GAS

CC RATING $2,399.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $235,439.80

MVT $59,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $295,414.80
VAT 15% $44,312.22

SUB - TOTAL $339,727.02

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

INSURANCE COVER NOTE $53.00
ON THE ROAD PRICE $339,900

Santa Fe 2.4L 4WD 5 Seater SUV Fully Loaded - GAS

CC RATING $2,399.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $296,309.30

MVT $59,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $356,284.30
VAT 15% $53,442.65

SUB - TOTAL $409,726.95

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

ON THE ROAD PRICE $409,900

Santa Fe 2.4L 4WD 7 Seater Fully Loaded -GAS

CC RATING $2,399.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $313,701.00

MVT $59,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $373,676.00
VAT 15% $56,051.40

SUB - TOTAL $429,727.40

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

ON THE ROAD PRICE $429,900

Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo 5 Seater 2Wd ( Fabric) DSL

CC RATING $2,199.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $257,831.10

MVT $54,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $312,806.10
VAT 15% $46,920.92

SUB - TOTAL $359,727.02

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

ON THE ROAD PRICE $359,900

Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo 4WD 5 Seater Fully loaded -DSL

CC RATING $2,199.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $318,701.00

MVT $54,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $373,676.00
VAT 15% $56,051.40

SUB - TOTAL $429,727.40

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

ON THE ROAD PRICE $429,900

Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo 4WD 7 Seater Fully Loaded -DSL

CC RATING $2,199.00
COST per cc $25.00
SHOWROOM PRICE $327,396.00

MVT $54,975.00
MGW & TARE $0.00

PRICE BEFORE V.A.T $382,371.00
VAT 15% $57,355.65

SUB - TOTAL $439,726.65

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00

WEIGHING FEE $20.00

INSPECTION FEE $0.00

ON THE ROAD PRICE $439,900

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 8th, 2013, 7:08 pm

Breaking News from the future:

The TT Market is ready for a $400k+ South Korean made vehicle :shock:

Postby Stephon. » March 8th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Mazda 626 - 24 years (mih mammie did by it new and I did by it from she when it was 7 years old)
Mitsubishi Lancer - 16 years (bought new)
Hyundai Coupe - 6 years (bought new)

Mazda outlasting the others as per.

Postby Damien » March 8th, 2013, 8:11 pm

C-rv -2012 Fabric - $379,000.00
20% Downpayment = $75,800
For 5 years, monthly instalment = $7133
For 6 years monthly instalment = $6284

30% Downpayment = $113,700
For 5 years monthly instalment = $6249
For 6 years monthly instalment =$5505

40% Downpayment = $151,600
For 5 years monthly instalment = $5364
For 6 years monthly instalment = $4725

Cr-v 2012 Leather - $410,000

20% Downpayment = $82,000
For 5 years monthly instalment = $7712
For 6 years monthly instalment = $6794

30% Downpayment = $123,000
For 5 years monthly instalment = $6755
For 6 years monthly instalment = $5950

40% Downpayment = $164,000
For 5 years monthly instalment = $5798
For 6 years monthly instalment = $5108

do you think this is a good deal ?
how much does a vehicle this price cost to insure using normal discounts 30 yr old, no accidents and driver for ten yrs?
they only servicing up to 75k free

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » March 8th, 2013, 8:32 pm

To Damien they calculate financing at about 15% whereas market rate is about 6%. To put into perspective in the first CR-V your installments are about 1300 more than market rate. Insurance for a vehicle like that is at least 12000. This leaves about 3600 in service. It all comes down to how much you drive the vehicle. With my runs I would reach 75k in less than 3 yrs so i would buss with that deal.

Why are some of you ripping on the Koreans? Their new line of cars are at least on par with any japanese offering; speaking as owner of multiple versions of both (mazda, toyota, nissan kia, hyundai, honda)

Once you get past brand bias and look at vehicles for what they are you open yourself to a world of possibilities (and financial savings lol)

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2013, 8:54 pm

i love the korean hate
awaits Koup for 40k in 2 years

Postby Stephon. » March 8th, 2013, 9:18 pm

cinco wrote:i love the korean hate
awaits Koup for 40k in 2 years

Good luck with that, them Kias still selling like nothing with no effort from the sales representatives. The only Kia I see being under 100k in the next AT LEAST 5 years is the Baby Sportage (Rio hatch)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 8th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Toyota sales rep said they getting Corolla wagons soon.

asked for a brochure, he said all he had was the price...$212,000 :|

never saw a wagon in the current model. is it the new Auris he's referring to?