Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 25th, 2010, 11:30 am

TriniGT wrote:Ent, is yours in the completion stages or is it done?
^ ^ ^ I have to go abroad for three weeks. When I return the ToyRoom (and wife's commercial catering kitchen) should be finished by end of May 2010.

Then Project Clone (4wd GSR-to-Evo 6 GT) "daily-driver" re-starts... 1st DIY body-work and paint...
Then swap over E7 engine / gearbox / suspension & Brembos from "real" E6 RS2...

2011 for the upgrade of the "real" Evo 6 RS2 for solodex... Still saving for that project... :roll:
...but at least, Santa passed for Xmas 2009 with a surprise gift. :twisted:
Last edited by Sanctifier on January 25th, 2010, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 25th, 2010, 11:37 am

Sweet, let me know when the Toyroom is done would really like to see how it came out, I know you don't cut corners, much like I hate doing as well.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 25th, 2010, 11:41 am

^ ^ ^ Will do, GT. :lol:

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » January 26th, 2010, 7:38 pm

i must say i've been following your build from day one, heard some talk about your project from hanging around garages...

Dude i must say this work is highly impressive...

Kudos to you man, alot of people may think it's just buy parts and bolt up kinda deal but you went to every single detail, leaving no stone unturned, no doubt this car will be one of the mostest bestest silvia's out there... it may be even safe to say you've become a silvia guru!!!

Good luck dude!!!

Keep on Boosting!!! :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 27th, 2010, 8:42 am

Thanks but I am in no way a silvia guru :lol:, there are a lot more knowledgable people on and off the forum, I just like to do things to my satisfaction. Must be from all the overhauling episodes it has me hooked on doing a proper job.

Empress

Postby Empress » February 14th, 2010, 1:16 am

hey any project update?? u have us in suspense

turbonator

Postby turbonator » February 14th, 2010, 3:45 am

I think he have the engine and thing up for sale in the classifieds.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 14th, 2010, 8:32 pm

Still up in air but trying to locate some tools and will continue with the build unless something dumb happens.

Empress

Postby Empress » February 15th, 2010, 1:12 pm

well maybe you should stick to it... it looks like you went through all the trouble getting most of the parts already.. i wish i had to the time an cash i wud a take it off ur hands

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 17th, 2010, 4:45 pm

Hahaha well I have kind of made up my mind to save some extra for a lightly modded SR20DET for now to get the car on the road. May still build the engine and maybe throw it in the R34 instead as it was made for the car so we will see. The R34 is being outfitted with some stuff currently so it may all fall into place. Here is a couple shots of very few updated pics that were just taken,
Reinforced Subframe and R33 ABS VLSD diff, will get a 2way LSD eventually
Rear View of Tailights fitted
Once again Driftworks Rear Suspension and Subframe Aluminum Collars
S15 Nismo Instrument Panel
My cockpit area, gauges still to be fitted to the passenger Air Bag Area

robbieg

Postby robbieg » February 17th, 2010, 5:29 pm

Looking good so far!! Good luck once again!! I want to pass by a day to see her!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 17th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Holy Moly car looking nice and sex from behind.. :P

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 17th, 2010, 7:49 pm

squirt...

Can you list the parts here please..need to tighten up my footwork.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » February 17th, 2010, 8:19 pm

.:PROZAC:.., you back in the 14?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 17th, 2010, 9:37 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:squirt...
Can you list the parts here please..need to tighten up my footwork.

Let see,
Driftworks Adjustable Rear Upper Camber Arms
Driftworks Adjustable Traction Arms
Driftworks Adjustable Toe Arms
Driftworks Adjustable Rear Lower Control Arms
Driftworks Aluminum Solid Subframe Bushings or the Driftworks Aluminum Subframe Collars - I have both but I opted for the Collars as I do not intend for a harsh ride or a total driftmachine and the collars are more than ample.

This was the package I bought - Driftworks Pro Handling Package, pricey but nice stuff.

for the front I have -
Driftworks Adjustable Tension Rods
Megan Racing Adjustable Tension Rod Brace
SPL Front Adjustable Lower Control Arms
Beefy Outer Arms for the Steering Rack
New Steering Rack Rubbers

And Lastly HSD Driftworks CS2 16 way Fully Adjustable Coilovers with Front Upper Camber Plates with immense adjustability ;). The entire rear subframe has been reinforced as on launching the diff bolt holes take a beating and cause cracks to appear around them as well as cracks by the arms as well. All arm mount areas on the subframe were plated and also the diff area was reinforced with a steel pipe as seen above even though the S15 subframe comes with a reinforcing bar between subframe rear bushings.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 17th, 2010, 10:03 pm

Justin :D

Thanks Jason, omg did you see their knuckle/hub setup?
I didn't use anything to rinforce it when the swap was done to the RB- I don't really launch though. Will the cracks be visible?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 18th, 2010, 10:29 am

Cracks will be visible if it were to happen but if you don't launch it should give you some time. What RB you got in there? Did you modify the upper rad panel and are you running slim fans and A/C?

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 18th, 2010, 9:21 pm

25; Rad panel did not have to be modded and yes one 12" felxalite slim fan with thermostatic controller.
The car when I first got it was in a front end collision hence the kouki front now and 2 colours - sothe AC condenser was damaged and well never bothered to go with AC. With the FMIC there is no space anyway and I didn't want to trim the bumper. 2 more months and it can come out of storage.
Oh the fan is a Push!
Here is a guy in the area that did the sinle turbo RB26 in his kouki. NOT MINE.
I have hid mod list if you'd like I can post it.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » February 18th, 2010, 9:36 pm

^^ :shock: :shock: :shock: *faints* Fann mehhhh or gorm fann meh! :lol: :lol: soo clean, if only i win a lotto yess :cry:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 17th, 2010, 9:32 am

See that's the problem I am having with the RB26 in the s-chassis. The space for the clutch fan is not there. I will need to trim the upper rad support and and recess both the condenser as I need the A/C as I want it all functional and also recess the radiator mounting points. Shouldn't be too hard and will have to extend the left headlight harness and reroute it somewhere. I have read endless stories of people running slim fans and overheating, I prefer a stock setup that works. Using the slim fans with A/C will need a proper shroud setup and the space is limited. I am gonna run the stock clutch fan with shroud once everythign has been modded.

S14 KA Rad on order soon enough then block and gearbox goes in for test fitment and then a little bang on the driverside tunnel for clearance of the starter housing on the gearbox and then mock up the aluminum rad and condenser to see where needs cutting and how much and then cut and trim and test fit again and then prime and paint. After that I will begin the intercooler and oil cooler mockup so that I can ensure that all the bracketing is done and then painted and waiting for final install.

Looking for a good wiring guy to do the job and right now I am hearing good things about a fella in south so after the heart is in the car may take a travel to southland to have it done properly as I want my ABS and all other things working. The S15 wiring harness I have pull the speed signal from the rear ABS tailshaft and through the ABS sensor then to the speedometer, the ABS computer converts the signal to a square wave for it to work with the speedometer. Let's see how it goes.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 10:02 am

Alright had a look at the wiring side of things and I am thinking I may be able to do the job. Hardest part of the wiring is sorting the F4 plug that connects the heart of the engine to the rest of the wiring in the car. I have decided to remove the SR20DET wires from the F4 connector and repin the RB wires to it. Things like ABS for LH ABS sensor, ABS motor, ABS computer and wipers along with others necessary wires will not be clipped but left untouched on the F4 connector so I will only be dealing with the RB26/SR20 engine wires. I am currently printing out a big schematic so that I can check the colour codes and label what is what so I know when time comes what can be tapped into for other things like gauges and whatnot.

On a next note I will be in time picking up an RB26DETT for the GTT, I am getting it at a good price and I already have the RB25 GTT gearbox which actually is the best RB25 box you can get as it is newer and also it is actually a little different from the R33 GTS-T. I think with all the work I am going to be doing to the GTT it deserves an RB26, not saying that the Neo RB25 is not working proper but with the GTT-R conversion I think an RB26 is needed :mrgreen: . Once that car is sorted then the Neo should be up for sale along with some of the bits I got for her, like the HKS bottom mount manifold, HKS external wastegate and some other stuff :wink: . I will make a second thread for that project but right now the Silvia is slowly progressing and once this is done then the GTT will be in full swing and the Silvia will be dailied for a bit.

The head has since been disassembled, soaked, cleaned and blasted and had the intake mildly ported, exhaust lump removed and also ported to gasket size and broken exhaust stud removed. New intake and exhaust studs will be used and I am currently having the intake and exhaust manifolds too being matched. If you look at the exhaust manifolds and see how much carbon buildup where the manifold blocks the gases from flowing. This is all going to be smoothened and matched for a go response, so it's turbo-to-manifold and manifold-to-head matching being done. I am looking at it that the better the flow the quicker the spool and bigger my smile :lol: . I am going to be cleaning up any casting marks in the block and the water pump area today in anticipation of the block being done by weekend. Colour scheme for me right now is simple, polished/chrome intake manifold, wrinkle black cam covers and coilpack cover, fresh aluminum/Duplicolor ground painted head, dipped nuts, washers, bolts and studs. All bracketry will be powder coated black, alternator and other accessories will be disassembled where possible and exterior done in silver (Duplicolor Ground) and black. Block will be final washed thoroughly and primed and painted in Black Lacquer and then new water and oil jackets fitted.

Things still on the list is to get an N1 water pump and a good single or twin disc clutch setup. Mishimoto KA24DE Aluminum Radiator needs to be ordered as well but right now I wanna concentrate on really what is needed to have the engine installed and wired. All the other accessories will be sorted as time goes on. Watch this space :D .

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 24th, 2010, 10:13 am

GTT Big box is handling 846rwhp being pushed from a rb26 from a friend of mine in Australia. Been going strong with runs down the track for 7 months now.

Jason, yuh notice most of the suspension dey, can work on the r34 lol :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 10:20 am

Yeah I know but I already put adjustables in the back of the GTT and soon I will be gettign some more items fitted to help it even more. Thinking of keeping the HICAS though so we will see what happens in the coming months. May actually get the hook up on a GTR bonnet in a month or two, should be sweet. As for the box I only looking at pushing around 500HP on it so no biggie :drinking: .

Postby Razkal » March 24th, 2010, 10:32 am

^what sort of power the car doing now?? sorry to spam yuh silvia thread with skyline questions :lol:

i really interested in getting a stock s14 or s15 turbo...would be appreciated if you have any leads for reasonably priced units...i'm tired at laughing in ppl face when i hear a ridiculous asking price for t28 and manifold :?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 10:40 am

Ent T28 used to be dog cheap and now man calling big prices for these used items. Will look around for you. My plan at one point was running two S15 turbos, I have since sold them and always had regrets. May look around again for a pair and swap them on as they are ballbearing and can push around 260HP comfortably each. We'll see, I also have some R34 turbos home that are ballbearing but not steel wheeled which is the killer when upping the boost. Will holla when I get some prices for ya :wink: .

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 10:48 am

As for the power the GTT making I couldn't say yes, maybe 220HP I don't have a clue, it runs on 8psi daily and if I decide to turn up the boost a little the clutch says no no in second and third so I drive it like that for now. When the engine comes out then I will assess and see what can be done. Same time engine comes out the engine bay will get a reflash in same colour, going for a Mines R34 look but with some TE37 wheels :wink: . White on white is the go for me, not orange or yellow or green, something clean and nice looking. Once the car is looking the part then I will start with small upgrades to accent the look, things like cams, headgasket, headstuds, clutch, management and injectors, MAFs, and some nice bling piping and whatnot but for now it will be like it is for the balance of the year. Turbos will be on the list as well but hope to score a set for small money, not into the big single setups but responsive twin setups.
Last edited by TriniGT on March 24th, 2010, 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » March 24th, 2010, 11:35 am

^sounds good man, atleast you have a direction your inspiration should be heading..

i like the idea of a responsive single setup...throttle response is where most of the fun is at anyway :D ...thats why i wanted a t28, to replace the little incapable snail on the 20 with something very easily spooled and strong enough to deliver 250whp without complaints...250 will be alot of fun in the rx, it makes nice torque...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 11:44 am

Good stuff throw up a project thread nah even if it happen already. Hybrid FTW!!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 24th, 2010, 11:53 am

For a nice responsive single yuh looking at a nice twin scroll mani, and a twin scroll GT3076R with a nice flowing collector pipe.

Postby honda hoe » March 24th, 2010, 12:03 pm

very nice

no ricer wing? :|