My First Generation RX7 Project

Bezman

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby Bezman » June 1st, 2015, 11:46 am

FINALLY got a Hilux 8" diff to replace my noisy weak one - good for 500+ whp - look trouble now :D

looking for someone to cut old mounts off old diff and weld them onto new diff. any suggestions?
the guy i normally use is busy for the next month working off shore.

would like done ASAP

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » June 2nd, 2015, 12:27 am

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 3rd, 2015, 10:18 am

Ordered my new LSD, should be here by weekend

Eaton Detroit TrueTrac
http://www.summitracing.com/int/parts/d ... /overview/

Won't ever have to worry about clutch discs wearing out and can turn corners at low and park easily. Only heard good things about these from both the 4x4 and Rx guys using Toyota diffs. and if i dont like it in the RX and i can put it in my HILUX :shock: :lol: :lol: cant believe the both using the same diff and my RX will have a stronger lsd haha

Found out the diff is a 4.1 (not a 4.56 like rotdev thought :lol:) Don't think i'll need to shorten the diff either which saves me a bunch.

RX7 GSL Diff = 58"
Toyota 4Runner 8" Diff = 58.5"

my rear tires can easily come out .25" on either side. going to send the axles to get re-drilled (by these guys - viewtopic.php?t=440367) and decided to get the diff/brake brackets done by Scorpion. just waiting on him to get some time next week and for some more parts to arrive, may go coilovers in the rear one time.
dtl-912a314_cp.jpg
dtl-912a314_cp.jpg (19.94 KiB) Viewed 9833 times

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2015, 3:11 pm

Some recent updates

IMG_7023.jpg

Ready for the diff swap to commence, got all the bearings, seals and gaskets to install the new LSD

IMG_7062.jpg

Also installed the Techno Toy Tuning adjustable tension/castor rods and Energy Suspension front poly bushings

IMG_7068.jpg

More to come

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2015, 3:28 pm

awesome!

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2015, 3:41 pm

pretty cool stuff

Postby Ted_v2 » July 14th, 2015, 5:43 pm

What drive-shaft you going with? cut and join business or a full one piece? cross?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2015, 6:33 pm

Still using the stock drive shaft. Will re drill the hilux diff flange. Then eventually get an aluminum driveshaft from Mazdatrix

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 17th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Who's installing the diff and checking lash clearances? That is my fear, is anyone doing this locally and properly?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 18th, 2015, 1:11 pm

having pulled the diff, i am not removing the pinion at all.. so its just swapping the old open with the new lsd center with the new bearings and shims to adjust/center the ring gear backlash... mush easier than having to set the pinion and crush sleeve etc..

I am getting Scorpion to do it i think.. recommended by Ryan at United Auto.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 5th, 2015, 2:08 pm

any updates?

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » October 14th, 2015, 7:16 am

updates?

Postby rspann » October 14th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Bezman wrote:having pulled the diff, i am not removing the pinion at all.. so its just swapping the old open with the new lsd center with the new bearings and shims to adjust/center the ring gear backlash... mush easier than having to set the pinion and crush sleeve etc..

I am getting Scorpion to do it i think.. recommended by Ryan at United Auto.

Scorpion is a good choice,he narrowed a 9" ford for me,very professionally done.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » October 15th, 2015, 10:54 pm

Swapping out the stock diff housing for a Hilux unit is a simple project. I don't think Scorpion will be able to screw that up. I believe the stock housing is 57", because we had to cut off 1" from each end of a Ford Mustang 8.8 (59") for it to fit on my 1st gen. You can get a Ford explorer (57") 8.8, complete with disc brakes & 5 lug for around $600 USD. Just weld on your brackets and she's good to go.

Now that my M3 is done, today I bought a 100% stock 12a complete out of a donor Rx3. I've finally came to my senses and realize that my Rx3 is way too clean to cut up or bastardize, so no more 20B. It'll remain an unmodded, original street car. My 1st gen of 18yrs will once again receive that 20B in 2016 lol.

karlos

Postby karlos » October 25th, 2015, 1:16 pm

Stock suppose to be 58" and hilux is 58.5"
Never saw any rx3 locally would love to see it

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 26th, 2015, 7:50 am

karlos wrote:Stock suppose to be 58" and hilux is 58.5"

There Was an rx3 in couva back in the day. it was involved in a crash.Last known location of the wreck was valsayn

nigie

Postby nigie » October 26th, 2015, 2:03 pm

gready123456 wrote:

There Was an rx3 in couva back in the day. it was involved in a crash.Last known location of the wreck was valsayn

there were two in arouca and a green one from arima also

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 26th, 2015, 3:26 pm

nigie wrote:
gready123456 wrote:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 2nd, 2016, 4:49 pm

yoooo..
well it has been a while.. work, life, you know how it is
but thought I would chime in on whats been going on with the car :)

since last I posted, I have not done the diff swap, yet, turned out i needed/wanted to get some more parts to complete/compliment the swap, having obtained those, i'll be pressing forward soon..

other than that, I took the car the dyno and got a Dry tune (HUGE shout out).
she turned ~270 @ 10psi and red lining at a very conservative 7,000rpm.. seeing that the turbo is not efficient till 1bar (14.7psi) this is good power so far i think.

recently I installed a MR2 electric power steering pump to work with my factory installed power steering box and i think that has been the best bang for the buck modification i have done yet. one forgets how awesome power steering is and how much it improves the quality of the drive.

the pics below show the pump installed and reservoir mounted to a bracket a crudely made to stabilise the pump.. the photos are the lines to the steering box. currently it's just just wired to the ignition via a 80amp circuit breaker, need to take it to an electrician to wire up a switch so i can turn it off in traffic etc. it's loud.. very loud, but so is the car i guess..

diff install next, then power tune..
IMG_0971.JPG
IMG_0972.JPG
IMG_0973.JPG
IMG_0974.JPG

Postby cinco » February 2nd, 2016, 6:23 pm

Saw you on the highway by Santa Rosa a few weeks ago looked nice

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 8th, 2016, 12:10 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1457453327.404958.jpg

Dropped off at United Auto & Performance. Upgrade time! Maybe even a paint :D

Update soon

Postby Ted_v2 » March 8th, 2016, 7:38 pm

bez you ever got thru with the diff?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 9th, 2016, 4:32 pm

the diff and rear suspension/bushings/linkages/brakes etc is what United Auto are sorting out at the moment actually.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » March 10th, 2016, 2:39 pm

Looks fantastic man. I'm taking notes!

nigie wrote:
gready123456 wrote:

Any info on these?

zorced

Postby zorced » March 10th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Sweet project! Love the widebody kit with that color scheme. Not as sleek and sexy but subtle yet aggressive.

Postby dougla_boy » April 8th, 2016, 10:01 am

that yellow RX on the previous page, see it often bess! also, ur RX bess! love it! could put the rumble ans meh alarm on a morning

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 4th, 2016, 1:12 pm

sad day.. I may be forced to sell the RX7 - Offers Invited

ahhh life, moving to a new home with no space for an extra car, new business, no time etc.. have not driven the car in over 6 months... my friends are not into the car scene anymore so...
here is a list of parts.. I am looking for 100K TTD - Serious offers invited
I will NOT be parting out the car and spare parts...
Not posting in classifieds just yet. prefer a someone with some car sense get her :wink:

1982 Mazda RX-7 GSL
Dyno 272 @ 10lbs - Rev limit set to 7000rpm (turbo good for 20+psi, 400hp)

Body & Chassis
Original Mariah Mode One Wide Body Kit (Front bumper, Front & Rear Fenders)
Body is in mint condition, little to no rust
Complete body, no missing parts or trim
PAG registration, certified up to date and in my name.

Engine
13b Stretport Engine
Fully rebuilt/blueprinted with all new parts
Rotary Aviation 2mm SuperSeals with Mazda FD springs
Atkins solid corner seals
New Mazda Gaskets & Springs
Viton oil control rings
Viton water seals
New Mazda Hardened stationary gears
New Mazda Modified/Drilled bearings
New Mazda Oil Pump and Racing Beat Oil pellet
New Mazda water pump
Mazda GSL-SE RX7 Front Cover
Mazda GSL-SE RX7 Oil Pan
Racing beat stainless steel engine bracket
Racing beat poly engine mounts
Intake block off plates

Turbo & Exhaust
Borg Warner S300-SX3 Turbo, 0.88 AR Turbine (PN# 177283)
TIAL MVR 44mm waste gate (10lb spring installed, 5-20lb available)
J2 Stainless steel FC turbo manifold
Custom 3” exhaust & silencers
Innovate Motorsport O2 Sensor
Custom 3” down pipe, flex pipe etc…
HKS 4" Intake (K&N Intake spare)

Cooling
CX RACING aluminium front mount oil cooler
Custom -10AN steel braided oil lines
Steel braided turbo oil lines
Champion Racing 3 core aluminum radiator
16” Flex-a-Lite Syclone Electric Cooling Fan
CX RACING 3” front mount intercooler
Custom 3” polished aluminium piping
HKS SSQ type 3 Blow Off Valve
Rotary works 3” throttle intake

Fuel & Ignition
Race Works 13b fuel rails & fittings
Custom -8AN Fuel lines (Poly Braided)
Bosch 1600cc & 720cc Fuel injectors
Haltech E6k w/ 3 bar map sensor tuned by DRY
Aeromotive fuel regulator & inline filter
Aeromotive stealth intank 340lph phantom fuel pump with sump
Custom Aluminium 17gallon fuel cell
S5 Ignition Coils, Racing Beat Racing Plug Wires
NGK Rotary Racing Plugs
Mazda Oil Metering Pump & Idimitsu 2 Stroke Premix
Rear mounted battery

Drivetrain
Toyota 8” Differential conversion
Eaton TruTrac LSD, 4.1 ratio, all new bearings/shims etc
Custom Drive Shaft, New rear Cross/Yolk etc
FC RX7 5 speed gearbox with modified linkages for FB
ACT stage 3 clutch kit
5 Lug Conversion (F&R)
Second Gen RX7 Big Brake Conversion (4 piston front & 2 piston)
17x8.5, 17x10 wheels
235/45ZR17, 255/40ZR17 Toyo Proxies

Steering & Suspension
Koni Adjustable Gas Shocks & Struts (F&R)
Techno Toy Tuning Coil-over Kit
Techno Toy Tuning Adjustable Camber Plates with spherical bearing mounts
Techno Toy Tuning front adjustable Caster Rods
Eibach 250lb Front Springs
Racing Beat Rear Springs
MR2 Electric Power Steering Pump conversion
Suspension Techniques Polyurethane Bushings (All Front/Rear)
Custom FB RX7 front LCA & FC 5 lug RX7 Hubs/bearings

Interior
Recaro Leather front seats
Mazdaspeed Steering Wheel
Defi DIN Gauges (Oil Temp, Oil Press, Water Temp)
Innovate Motorports SCG-1 (Boost, AFR Gauge & Boost Controller)
Fully working dash/lights/gauges etc
Factory AC Blower etc

######################################################################################

Spare Parts Included
1 x JDM 13b Engine, Alternator, Starter, Turbo Mani (~38,000 KMS)
2 x JDM RX7 5 speed gear boxes (One FB, One FC)
2 x NA 9.4:1 Rotors (matching pair with counter weight)
Original 1st gen Seats & leather seat Covers
Spare 1st gen Interior Panels & Trim
1st gen rx7 AC, Power Steering, Etc.
Exterior Trim etc
4 Power window motors & regulators etc

######################################################################################

Turbo Specs - PN #177283, S300-SX3
Borg Warner Airwerks S300SX3-63 S300, S363 .88 A/R open scroll 90 deg outlet
Rated for 320-800HP High flow s300 over 75 lbs/min

Compressor wheel O.D : 3.44 in
Compressor inducer Dia : 2.48in/63mm
Compressor exducer: 88mm
Borg Warner Extended tip technology on the compressor wheel
3 inch 90 degree compressor discharge
4.00 in air inlet
Compressor cover re-circulation grooves / anti surge

Turbine wheel O.D : 3.00 in/76mm
Turbine wheel exducer 2.66/68mm
Turbine wheel inducer 76.1mm
Cast in inconel 713 for high temps
Turbine a/r: .88
Turbine configuration: T4 inlet Volute, open flow (undivided)
4.21" v band discharge outlet

Twin Hydrodynamic Journal bearings
Compressor cover re-circulation grooves
Adjustable housings

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 4th, 2016, 1:45 pm

Good luck with the sale Bez. Selling projects are hard, I may have to do the same with my R32 but for medical purposes.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using TriniTuner mobile app

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 4th, 2016, 1:50 pm

thanks Jason and I hope everything is ok with you and the family.
worse case scenario will be to store it by my mom or something. but i'll probe end up using it less...

I wanted to build a garage on some property we have, but thats can't happen now :(

Postby Morpheus » August 4th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Good luck. Great build...