Choose your Poison: Evolution 6... or Skyline R34?

Choose your Poison: Evolution 6 or Skyline R34?

#1: Which was "King of the Hill" :!:
No votes
Image Evolution 6.
13%
Nissan Skyline R34.
31%
No Real-world Difference: "Even-Steven"... 6-of-1 =1/2 dozen
6%
. . . . . . . . . . .
No votes
#2: Now "Pick Yuh Poison" (Choose your favourite!)
No votes
Image Evolution 6.
15%
Nissan Skyline R34.
35%

Total votes: 71

GTR Fever

Re: Choose your Poison: Evolution 6... or Skyline R34?

Postby GTR Fever » February 5th, 2016, 8:38 am

Nope, not me..

Postby supercharged turbo » February 5th, 2016, 12:04 pm

A33_BZ wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:
GTR Fever wrote:My pride and joy lol

this was in pasea earlier this week?

I think u mistaken my one for his..
Post pic of yours too nah lol

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 5th, 2016, 7:15 pm

affordability of the Evo 6 is a factor. Half the price of a registered skyline.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 5th, 2016, 9:17 pm

A33_BZ wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

lol, jus saw a glimpse of it on an empty lot from the highway

Sent from my Neo4_5 using Tapatalk

A33_BZ

Postby A33_BZ » February 6th, 2016, 2:41 am

supercharged turbo wrote:
A33_BZ wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:

Post pic of yours too nah lol

Will soon..at garage putting on nismo gtr kit and rear carbon fiber diffuser

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 7th, 2016, 8:42 am

I was hoping for at least one 'link' to back up the personal opinions in the Poll.
Here are four pretty funny reviews from an owner, comparing his stock Evo 6 GSR to his stock Skyline R34.
Colonel Mullet: 1st wrote:"Like treating haemorrhoids with a soldering iron"... :lol:
Link--> Retrospective: 1999 Mitsubishi Evo 6 GSR.
Colonel Mullet: 2nd wrote:Link--> Evo vs GTR, 2 weeks on...
Colonel Mullet: 3rd wrote:Link--> GTR vs Evo, round three.

After all the 'R34 Tsukuba hype' for all these years, here's his summary of 'real world' stock Skyline R34 ownership...
Colonel Mullet: 4th wrote:"A velvet fist in an iron glove"... Image
Link--> Retrospective: 1999 Nissan Skyline R34GTR.
His Image ...
I never expected this at all. Makes for interesting reading.
Sanctifier wrote:full control-freak privileges... Oh, for the record, I don't particularly like older Evolution GSR models with AYC.
My favourite OEM Evo model is the Evo 6 RS2... without AYC. :wink:
We'll come to the OEM/Dealers' 'Special Edition' favorites later... :twisted:
My Image

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2016, 4:41 pm

are links really needed to validate a personal opinion? I like this, this is what I like FIN

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » February 8th, 2016, 10:28 pm

Gtr over an e6 ...an evo has always looked like a lancer on steroids and really isnt my cup of tea..i prefer the boxy muscular shape of the gtr it's a strange sexy..i think perhaps stock the evo may be the better car .but your gotta love the over engineered rb26dett and the drivetrain of the gtr.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 9th, 2016, 12:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:are links really needed to validate a personal opinion? I like this, this is what I like FIN
Yup and that's fine... for your personal favourite.. That was the 2nd poll question.

But this a 2-part poll: The 1st part asks which one is "King of the Hill" to the best of your knowledge.
That's where the 'links' matter... to show if what we thought all these years (me included) is actually correct.
Sanctifier wrote:I voted for the Evo 6 as my favourite in showroom (stock) condition...
and I also said that there was very little difference between them on the street. (Proof available.)
Everyone has a favourite. No problem with that at all... but the "real deal" is which one actually had better performance on the street... and in what way (handling, brakes, steering, acceleration, top speed etc.)

Postby A172 » February 9th, 2016, 6:51 pm

fanboyism level over 9000

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 10th, 2016, 10:02 am

opinions are like ass holes, everyone has one.
/THREAD

andres13

Postby andres13 » February 11th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Very difficult choice O.o but r34 FTW Nissan power

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » June 5th, 2016, 10:28 pm

A172 wrote:fanboyism level over 9000

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

very true. this post sounds like a puff piece from 2001. written under the guise of a poll to appear as if the 1st poster isn not trying to prove a point.

this thread sounding like "i have an evo 6. let me google some documents to prove that my perspective is better-er than yours". armchair racing using videos and magazines as evidence- this car must be better becuz the magazine say so.

both cars are jdm legends from an analog era. i wish i could have any1

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 6th, 2016, 8:32 pm

K_J_R wrote:trying to prove a point... "i have an evo 6. let me google some documents to prove that my perspective is better-er than yours".
And that is supposed to be my point, eh!

K_J_R wrote:armchair racing using videos and magazines as evidence- this car must be better becuz the magazine say so.
So in your opinion, Road Tests don't give realistic performance data about the cars tested? :roll:

Maybe you should try to read the whole thread before biting your ankle. :lol:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 4th, 2016, 12:16 pm

"King of the Hill" to the best of your knowledge.... Sorry for the delay but house renovation is a p.i.t.a.
Here is some performance data on both cars...
Basically a "dead heat"; not much in it either way. One slightly quicker... the other slightly more top-end.
Their Image

The high-end, "Special Edition" models from both manufacturers give a better performance spread. More later . . .
My Image