Drag racing returns to wallerfield

Re: Drag racing returns to wallerfield

Postby MG Man » July 10th, 2015, 10:45 am

fiveforward wrote:Noted SR and Duane, those answers just raise more questions but say wah. The money that himself is going to spend on himself in order to raise money for himself is best himself just donate the money directly and done. Why spend money on an event when based on many factors analyses in a cost/ benefit analysis it IS going to yield a NET LOSS.

These men never did business or what, no wait - based on their business success history their track records speak glaringly.

this made me think of..

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 10:45 am

SR, you're right, tunnel vision again. So in the quest for enlightenment and to widen my knowledge base; in the meeting did TTASA do any kind of breakdown as to EXACTLY how much money was made and is owed going into and coming out of the CMRC event or were you like many just told a general statement to represent a re occurring state of affairs just of the top of the dome.

I mean fiscal prudence and accountability is very important unno.

Shoot me a figure nah.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 10:57 am

fiveforward wrote:Noted SR and Duane, those answers just raise more questions but say wah. The money that himself is going to spend on himself in order to raise money for himself is best himself just donate the money directly and done. Why spend money on an event when based on many factors analyses in a cost/ benefit analysis it IS going to yield a NET LOSS.

These men never did business or what, no wait - based on their business success history their track records speak glaringly.
well the alternative is what? no track?

how many clubs, associations ran at a loss with members, competitors and sponsors paying out of pocket just so racing events could continue to happen? In your opinion they should have just not bothered?

replace "himself" with "motorsport" in your statement above and tell me if it makes more sense.

Postby pete » July 10th, 2015, 11:05 am

If it's to make $100k by the end of the month "personally" I'd rather they ask for donations, maybe give a "social membership" or something and allow people to have reduced entrance fees for events later in the year. Instead of trying to stage an event in the middle of the rainy season, competing with another organisation AND cricket to "maybe" make the money. If it gets rained out then we're going to lose wallerfield AGAIN? Nah man that's not a good plan.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 11:13 am

fiveforward wrote:SR, you're right, tunnel vision again. So in the quest for enlightenment and to widen my knowledge base; in the meeting did TTASA do any kind of breakdown as to EXACTLY how much money was made and is owed going into and coming out of the CMRC event or were you like many just told a general statement to represent a re occurring state of affairs just of the top of the dome.

I mean fiscal prudence and accountability is very important unno.

Shoot me a figure nah.
I'm sure the financial report will be available for members, but the meeting on Wednesday night was actually open to anyone interested in attending.

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 11:15 am

Actually that is the position of MOST if not all the clubs and please don't equate motorsport to circuit racing. The sport is extremely diverse and circuit is just PART although many seem to thing that it's the only one that exists based on how it's sold and who's in charge

But first lemme run out to check when last karting association held a drag event to cover expenses incurred from the use of ARC. No wait; bad example, if I recall just the other day TTRC held a regatta in order to raise funds and awareness so as to cover the cost of hosting consecutive rally Trinidad's.

The alternative is that in order for some things to grow there are certain things that need to be allowed to fail. But say wah we have the Frankie Boodram International Raceway PLUS the Frankie Boodram corner. The sport is well on it's way back up.

If TTASA want to raise funds there are a PLETHORA of other ways outside of throwing an event sorry partnering with a promoter to host a drags where the money donated will be Net and not gross. Other options for the short term are Crowd Funding, Sponsors, Donations, Government. But in order to achieve this transparency is kinda important to build confidence, which NOBODY has in them.

But say what, it have a Track
Last edited by fiveforward on July 10th, 2015, 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 11:18 am

pete wrote:If it's to make $100k by the end of the month "personally" I'd rather they ask for donations, maybe give a "social membership" or something and allow people to have reduced entrance fees for events later in the year. Instead of trying to stage an event in the middle of the rainy season, competing with another organisation AND cricket to "maybe" make the money. If it gets rained out then we're going to lose wallerfield AGAIN? Nah man that's not a good plan.
I don't think everything is hinging on that one event.

the other issue is that TTASA needs to show both the Ministry of Sport and Eteck that the facility is being used all the time.

Its usually a damned if you do, damned if you don't situation - people want racing events, people don't want racing events on days they are busy.

I must admit though that it is overly coincidental that these events get dropped on the same day as AutoSport events.

Postby pete » July 10th, 2015, 11:25 am

CARS does navigational rallies to help cover the cost of using ARC. I don't see anything wrong with hosting events that generate income to cover the cost of day to day operation. I just think it's a bit risky trying to do that with a drag racing event right now.

Also, ARA gave up their last day so their competitors could compete/spectate at the CMRC it's kind of a big F-U to now come and throw a drag event on the next day of their competition.

Also, if they want to show they're doing something for the sport they could hold a driving school next week, the following week or whenever and that would show that they're actually doing something for the sport outside of throwing a drag event to make money.

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 11:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: the other issue is that TTASA needs to show both the Ministry of Sport and Eteck that the facility is being used all the time.

Its usually a damned if you do, damned if you don't situation - people want racing events, people don't want racing events on days they are busy.

If TTASA wants to show activity Track weekends will show more interest than them trying to throw a drags and people want MORE than just a racing event they want entertainment, quality and value. TTASA needs to get its ACT together, learn from the past and adapt. This is not the 90's/ 80's/ 70's times are different.

TTASA needs to make some choices and hard decisions in order to get it right but first they need to get the organization in order. Somehow TTASA reminds me of Blackberry where at one time they were the only ones and on top but time passed and due to ignorance and ego the world changed and left them behind to die.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 11:31 am

fiveforward wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: the other issue is that TTASA needs to show both the Ministry of Sport and Eteck that the facility is being used all the time.

If TTASA wants to show activity Track weekends will show more interest than them trying to throw a drags and people want MORE than just a racing event they want entertainment, quality and value. TTASA needs to get its ACT together, learn from the past and adapt. This is not the 90's/ 80's/ 70's times are different.

TTASA needs to make some choices and hard decisions in order to get it right.
I can PM you the President and VP phone numbers and email addresses so you can tell them exactly what they need to do

or you can post it here, they are reading it anyway.

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 11:36 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can PM you the President and VP phone numbers and email addresses so you can tell them exactly what they need to do

or you can post it here, they are reading it anyway.

Thanks but rather post. It safer. Dem doh need nobody to tell them what to do - nah man. Dialogue with certain individuals in that club from what I see come like pulling teeth with a backhoe and no Novocaine.
Last edited by fiveforward on July 10th, 2015, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 11:40 am

pete wrote:CARS does navigational rallies to help cover the cost of using ARC. I don't see anything wrong with hosting events that generate income to cover the cost of day to day operation. I just think it's a bit risky trying to do that with a drag racing event right now.

Also, ARA gave up their last day so their competitors could compete/spectate at the CMRC it's kind of a big F-U to now come and throw a drag event on the next day of their competition.

Also, if they want to show they're doing something for the sport they could hold a driving school next week, the following week or whenever and that would show that they're actually doing something for the sport outside of throwing a drag event to make money.
Good ideas Pete. I think the thinking is that a drag event will bring in more cash, both from entry fees and spectators than a driving school or track day would. But agreed, if it rains then it could make things worse.

We could talk and beat up here as much as we like. Really the only way to effect change is to go to the meetings, talk with the management and work with them to help get things done. At the end of the day, beat up how much you like, they have done what they have done despite the naysayers.

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 11:46 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the thinking is that a drag event will bring in more cash
Let's see how this goes. Prediction based on common sense - expenses will be more than income based on observation of many patters. But they are welcome to try - God Bless their heart.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:At the end of the day, beat up how much you like, they have done what they have done despite the naysayers.
Let's see how this works out in the LONG TERM. And you are right the only way to effect change in from the inside; you can't do anything from the outside looking in.

BTW when will we seeing a street circuit again. San Do Grand Prix is the kinda things TTASA should be aspiring to and pulling of on a quarterly basis.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 10th, 2015, 11:55 am

who is this FiveForward Guy that speaks the Truth as if it's hewn in Hebrew stone of the Torah?

Postby SR » July 10th, 2015, 1:25 pm

Truth to what exactly?? Narend was also at the meeting wed night. I am sure he can also confirm what was stated.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 10th, 2015, 2:49 pm

SR wrote:Truth to what exactly?? Narend was also at the meeting wed night. I am sure he can also confirm what was stated.

this.

Its says ALOT when you/Duane/Narend have to bring updates on TTASA meetings that clearly affect all interested parties instead of TTASA themselves.

To somone looking on, its almost like TTASA withholding something from the public. Again i was not there nor privy.. but im sure men like LINK and/or an official from TTASA can draft something and have Duane put it as a sticky.

Jus sayn

Postby SR » July 10th, 2015, 3:27 pm

And as far as i can tell those activities are being worked on from ttasa's end for a long term solution. Has any of the other bodies approac ttasa as yet for promoting thier own event? I am sure if they did they can state what was the response. If speed promotions is capable of pulling off an event in 2 weeks then its a plus for ttasa. I am sure nobody knows exactly how much money went out of peoples pockets to get the track and where it is now over the last year from the first event. Frankie was soley responsible (we are told) for getting the track paved. If this is the case then who else has made similar contributions for the development of wallerfield. While we all kno the past and anyone who has read my posts in the past know where i stand on those issues if we dont actually get involved now then you wont know what is really going on. Its easy for some to hide behind the keyboard because they prefer to do a lot of talking. As for link.... he an his company were one of the first to make a pledge towards the bill.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 10th, 2015, 3:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I must admit though that it is overly coincidental that these events get dropped on the same day as AutoSport events.

Race dates set since the end of 2013 and TTASA selects a CMRC date bang on the same date as AutoSport in July 2014 Sun27 D&W# 6

Come 2015, dates again selected at the end of 2014 and passed on to TTASA, history again repeating itself…CMRC on 21st June, so we cancelled our Event… and did come and assist at the TTASA CMRC Event! Sun 21 June D&W# 4

AutoSport next D&W Event Sun 26 July D&W# 4

And what next do we see… a TTASA endorsed Drag Event on 26th July.

How lucky can we be!

Postby SR » July 10th, 2015, 5:16 pm

And this coincidence needs to be adressed as well. Ttasa need tonhave either representation on its board or an events sub commitee with represents from other organisations to ensure a fair callender of events

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 5:24 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
SR wrote:Truth to what exactly?? Narend was also at the meeting wed night. I am sure he can also confirm what was stated.

this.

Its says ALOT when you/Duane/Narend have to bring updates on TTASA meetings that clearly affect all interested parties instead of TTASA themselves.

To somone looking on, its almost like TTASA withholding something from the public. Again i was not there nor privy.. but im sure men like LINK and/or an official from TTASA can draft something and have Duane put it as a sticky.

Jus sayn
eh?

It was the Club's monthly meeting. No association I know of is required to make the minutes or agenda of their monthly meetings public in any shape or form.

As the NSO, you can argue that they make things public regarding NSO activities. But so far the drag event is in planning stages. We are just sharing what we heard.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 5:31 pm

AutoSport wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I must admit though that it is overly coincidental that these events get dropped on the same day as AutoSport events.

Race dates set since the end of 2013 and TTASA selects a CMRC date bang on the same date as AutoSport in July 2014 Sun27 D&W# 6

Come 2015, dates again selected at the end of 2014 and passed on to TTASA, history again repeating itself…CMRC on 21st June, so AutoSport cancelled their Event… and AutoSport did come and assist at the TTASA CMRC Event! Sun 21 June D&W# 4

AutoSport next D&W Event Sun 26 July D&W# 4

And what next do we see… a TTASA endorsed Drag Event on 26th July.

How lucky can we be!
2015 > 1995
Think positive, regardless of how tragically coincidental those clashes have been.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 10th, 2015, 6:09 pm

SR wrote:And as far as i can tell those activities are being worked on from ttasa's end for a long term solution. Has any of the other bodies approac ttasa as yet for promoting thier own event? I am sure if they did they can state what was the response. If speed promotions is capable of pulling off an event in 2 weeks then its a plus for ttasa. I am sure nobody knows exactly how much money went out of peoples pockets to get the track and where it is now over the last year from the first event. Frankie was soley responsible (we are told) for getting the track paved. If this is the case then who else has made similar contributions for the development of wallerfield. While we all kno the past and anyone who has read my posts in the past know where i stand on those issues if we dont actually get involved now then you wont know what is really going on. Its easy for some to hide behind the keyboard because they prefer to do a lot of talking. As for link.... he an his company were one of the first to make a pledge towards the bill.

D

They didn't just pledge....they gave the management team a $3000.00 cheque.
Many others did too, autonation pledged $5000.00 among others.
The next year rent is more btw, it's what eteck ask of ttasa and payment for this year is due immediately after the cmrc event. Frankie is really trying to get the funds from d drags to hopefully pay the balance.
If I remember correctly the pledges in total that night was about 22k, everybody put aside their differences and showed solidarity to at least meet this 100k bill, for the continuation of wallerfield.

Postby SR » July 10th, 2015, 6:25 pm

Exactly

Postby pete » July 10th, 2015, 6:46 pm

Tbh I would have loved to bring my street car as slow as it is to take part and give my support but I also want to take part in the D&W event which has an organised championship and will get priority. Maybe the next event will not be clashing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:
SR wrote:And as far as i can tell those activities are being worked on from ttasa's end for a long term solution. Has any of the other bodies approac ttasa as yet for promoting thier own event? I am sure if they did they can state what was the response. If speed promotions is capable of pulling off an event in 2 weeks then its a plus for ttasa. I am sure nobody knows exactly how much money went out of peoples pockets to get the track and where it is now over the last year from the first event. Frankie was soley responsible (we are told) for getting the track paved. If this is the case then who else has made similar contributions for the development of wallerfield. While we all kno the past and anyone who has read my posts in the past know where i stand on those issues if we dont actually get involved now then you wont know what is really going on. Its easy for some to hide behind the keyboard because they prefer to do a lot of talking. As for link.... he an his company were one of the first to make a pledge towards the bill.

D

They didn't just pledge....they gave the management team a $3000.00 cheque.
Many others did too, autonation pledged $5000.00 among others.
The next year rent is more btw, it's what eteck ask of ttasa and payment for this year is due immediately after the cmrc event. Frankie is really trying to get the funds from d drags to hopefully pay the balance.
If I remember correctly the pledges in total that night was about 22k, everybody put aside their differences and showed solidarity to at least meet this 100k bill, for the continuation of wallerfield.
correct. next year the lease is $200,000 to be paid to Eteck to use Wallerfield.

none of that includes the cost to have the CMRC event, fencing, scaffolding, stands, tents, transport, clearing more than 10 foreign cars etc

Postby Monk BANzai » July 10th, 2015, 7:12 pm

^^ all of which bring me back to point of why isnt this in a TTASA release? thats all im saying. I couldn't care much for what and who and where. But if you expect TTASA to gain the respect (again) of ppl in general (and not just some that go to a weekly meeting) then use social media et-al to do it. And dont be misled: There are alot of ppl that STILL will not take part in any event at wallerfield simply becuz its a TTASA run facility.

If you and SR are ambassadors, then say so. But if certain questions have not been asked of those who are not there (yes granted we need to be at the chair throwing meetings blah blah blah) how else will ppl really know that TTASA is making an apparent genuine effort?

As for one man (Frankie) being responsible for getting Wallerfield back to where it is... I have an issue with transparency on that level. But that discussion/talk is out of my pay-grade as I cudnt do squat. I cudnt care less for the behind the scenes bacchanal.

and that goes for Autosport and any other franchise doing their thing in local motorsport.

Again, I am not cutting into the progress being made. And yes ppl will ALWAYS grumble no matter the setup being used to forward the sport, especially if their voice and ideas are not heard. You cant escape that. But im talking about mitigation of the progress.

*goes to eat some Noodle and Poodle...

Postby SR » July 10th, 2015, 8:02 pm

Lol me eh nobody ambassadoor cept for iasca and dls i dont even have a car worthy of being on a track nor any intentions in the near future either

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 10th, 2015, 9:58 pm

So is 200,000 right. No problem. Now let it be known that I am totally against TTASA being this 3 in 1 soup - NGB, Circuit Association and now temporary facility custodian; but we live in a land of morass but lewwe move past that for a moment.

First some maths (according to the the way time works there are roughly 52 weeks in a year)
Sooooooo;
$200,000 per annum = roughly $17,000 per month = give or take $4500.00 per week.
$4500.00/ 2 days (Saturday & Sunday) = $2250.00 per day

So at $2250.00 per day all TTASA needs to do is have open track days where you charge 10 people at LEAST $225.00 per day for use of the track. Factor in additional expenses like ambulance, marshals, fire services let's double that to $450.00 per day or if you want to charge by the hour $450.00/ 8 = $56.50 per hour. Mind you unlike drags; rain, unless it's REALLY bad doesn't affect a circuit, hell it makes it more fun.

Mind you that isn't checking admission for said track day, neither is that checking a major event like a time attack, circuit competition where obviously the price will go up a bit - note I left of drags eh. Neither does that factor in sponsors, donations and the occasional advertiser which they can get if they have their house in order.

Frankie throwing a drags is inconsequential in the bigger picture; TTASA could get the money if they do the right thing along their OWN lines. If Frankie Boodram is going to throw a drag and donate the proceeds, for the amount of work involved vs the ROI (return on investment) is best he just be charitable, write a cheque from now for the amount and done the story. I am sure he will not go for want and make back the money later on - no worries.

Right based on this simple model it show where TTASA can more than make the fee without even breaking a sweat WTF does TTASA really want. I don't get why must other disciplines be used by individuals who care not for that discipline and the proceeds raised in that discipline go towards bailing out them and whitewashing their poohar administration decisions. Drags wasn't part of the CMRC; there wasn't even a display but you want to hold a drag event to help PAY for the CMRC expenses.

I have seen other clubs ketch ass; borrow, beg and bleed to host their own little events and bat in their crease. If TTASA serious throw a bbq or hell even a boat ride which i would support - PROFIT margin on a sell of boat ride it upwards of $30,000 - daiz more than a drags and you can't loose on a boat ride all you hadda do is sell 500 tickets. If TTASA did their job correctly from the start they wouldn't even be in this position but the past has a nasty habit of ketching up to you hence when somebody say "lewwe put the past behind" I does laugh. The whole mospo fraternity has consistently had to pay for the sins of this derelict organization and it is getting overbearing.

Like I said before TTASA needs to come correct, get their act together and take a page out of some of the other clubs who went thru the pain of getting it right and still going thru the trenches despite adversity. But before that they need to figure out what they want to be FIRST.

But say wah, at least we get somewhere.
Praise the Lord.
God bless you TTASA.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2015, 11:21 pm

That's just the cost of the lease. You need to factor in the money already spent to get the facility where it is now. Cleaning, earth moving, contractors, fencing, security, lighting, infrastructure etc. Capital expenditure. You check the cost to fence a 1 mile track?
TTASA was required by NGC to fence around a NGC natural gas facility building on the north east side of the track because they were concerned about spectators accessing their property. NGC did not pay for the fence.

Sponsors mostly paid for removable infrastructure like stands, public facilities and shipping. So I did not include that as those things are not there anymore.

You haven't checked anyone's time and effort, but we can't quantify that.

There are currently security guards there 24/7 paid by TTASA, That's a running cost.
You come up to race there need to be marshall's, ambulance, maybe fire services - all at a cost.

But underlying all this, I gathered from your posts that you don't mind if TTASA has a circuit, time attack, karting or rally event - however you are very concerned that they having a drag event though, why is that?

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:If you and SR are ambassadors, then say so.
definitely not an ambassador - just calling as I see it.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 10th, 2015, 11:28 pm

^While i agree with alot of what you're saying, you are wrong about the CBA, because you're not including sponsors.
A sponsor isnt going to hand Speed Promotions a cheque with no advertising...an event allows advertising thus income for sponsors...the hope would be to make enough money at the gates that covers the cost of running the event if not more...

What i would really like to know...there's wallerfield...a nice fancy paved area with lots of wide track...and there's an event taking place on that said day called D&W...
Here's a crazy idea...why not ask ARA to throw their event in wallerfield, and ask for proceeds, or at least a percentage of, to go towards payment to eTeck?
Heck if anyone is skilled enough to pull off a drag/drag and wind combo, its ARA...i highly doubt there's any binding contract that ARA absolutely MUST use ARC...in fact i'm sure the spectators/participants would welcome the change, and both events can be run with proper planning and layout...

Think about it...why pay ARC rent when the same can be paid to Wallerfield...with more room for a wider array of activities/motorsport on the day, and thus more spectators, more sponsors, and guess what...more revenue!