Whats wrong with our diesel ?

kamakazi

Re: Whats wrong with our diesel ?

Postby kamakazi » October 21st, 2014, 6:47 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:A lot of Hyundai H1 taxis are feeling it. Hard to believe that most of them have already lost their engines and are fitting Nissan TD series engines in these brand new vans.

Sure is not them taxi men running the H1 hard??

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2014, 8:27 pm

Nah it's the h1.

Know quite a bit with TD swaps.

One or two maybe driver fault but not so much

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 22nd, 2014, 9:35 am

who is the dealer or where do you guys get your Amsoil Cetane boost from?

Postby tr1ad » October 22nd, 2014, 12:25 pm

Many parts places carry it, but I go Teknet as its closer to my office

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 22nd, 2014, 2:08 pm

One ting ppl get take wit is feeling like unipet diesel superior to NP
Is d same diesel jus one is double filtered, which isn't as gd as it sounds

My van smoked for weeks wen running unipet diesel....switched to NP and smoking was greatly reduced

Unipet used to be a cleaner fuel in the beginning, but lately I notice the secondary filters looking old and beat out which means they hvn't been changed for some time and may actually be reintroducing contaminants back into the fuel

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 22nd, 2014, 3:15 pm

The sulphur content is the major issue...right now Petrotrin has the ULSD project to get running...its the ultra low sulphur diesel plant...once its up and runnin properly...well the quality will be better...howeeverrr...

At our current low prices for diesel...me eh care bout quality nah...I rockin meh old van wid d cheap juice...God bless meh country..God bless meh workplace...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Besides emissions what is the issue with the current Sulphur content in the diesel

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 10:36 pm

Sulphur can cause corrosion I believe. Possibly catalyst poisoning depending on the type of configuration too.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2014, 10:53 pm

As a byproduct of combustion....the Sulphur will form acids.... but that same Sulphur in the fuel helps with the lubricity of the diesel which is what lubricates the fuel pump. With the ulsd. ...do you know if there are plans to add compounds to accommodate for the loss of lubricity.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 11:34 pm

I really don't know nah. I doubt they would introduce it without speccing out the average diesel engine on the road though. If I find out more will post here.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2014, 11:49 pm

Thanks man. ..

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » October 27th, 2014, 1:59 pm

I only fill up un unipet marabella/vistabella they always chamging their filter
In terms of savings in initial cost i bought a 4x2 which is considerablely cheaper cause it suited my needs alot better mainly highway and beach runs

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » October 29th, 2014, 8:14 pm

Stick about 3 ounces of non-synthetic low ash two stroke oil into each fill-up of diesel. Adds lubricity and lowers exhaust smoke

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » October 29th, 2014, 8:27 pm

ent is one diesel we have here for industrial, commercial and automotive? I think the automotive should be cleaner or more refined, maybe the new plant will do that. Nice topic

Postby brams112 » October 31st, 2014, 9:51 pm

SUPERMAN2 wrote:i have been using the same diesel for the past 4 years no problem had the van from new once u do your general maintenance on time u good to go and i don't find it all that expensive to maintain a pickup to me the cost is almost the same as a car if not less when u work out the savings at the pump.
i only fill diesel at Unipet and use amsoil diesel treatment recently i tried the liquid moly and it also works well

The problem is people run their diesel tanks down to almost empty for long intervals,then they don't maintain the vehicle properly,as per filters and oil change on time.I have been using diesel for more than 20 years in various vehicles with no problems what so ever as guys are mentioning EH.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » September 30th, 2015, 1:31 pm

So is it safe to say that our diesel supplied locally has a high sulphur content equal and greater than 350 ppm?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 2nd, 2015, 12:44 am

I think it also has a cetane rating around 40-41.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 2nd, 2015, 12:04 pm

Firstly in Trinidad we use TTS 569:2007, Automotive diesel fuel — Specification

These standards were developed with guidance from other national and international regulations such the Worldwide Fuel Charter (WWFC).

The cetane number is a measure of the compression ignition behaviour of diesel. Studies have shown that an increase in the cetane number reduces emissions of nitrous oxides, hydrocarbons and carbon monoxide. Fuel consumption and engine noise are also reduced.

These national standards prescribe specific characteristics of the fuel. Characteristics identified for diesel include cetane number, distillation temperature, sulphur content and aromatic hydrocarbon content.

In Europe it is stipulated diesel max 50PPM.

In Trinidad I believe its 1500PPM :shock:

Don't believe me - http://www.unep.org/transport/pcfv/pdf/ ... rjan09.pdf

And that's pretty low when you view the chart WRT other countries.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 5th, 2015, 1:02 pm

Why else would a 3 month old vehicle smoke.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 5th, 2015, 4:41 pm

paparazzi wrote:Stick about 3 ounces of non-synthetic low ash two stroke oil into each fill-up of diesel. Adds lubricity and lowers exhaust smoke

I have been doing this and it works and increases fuel efficiency

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 8th, 2015, 10:22 am

How about the ever popular method of using between 25-50% Kerosene to diesel Mix! any grave damage to engine can be had from this?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2015, 1:31 pm

BRZ wrote:Why else would a 3 month old vehicle smoke.

Peer Pressure!!!