W.T.K. Which SUV or Van gives the smoothest ride?

Re: W.T.K. Which SUV or Van gives the smoothest ride?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 17th, 2014, 4:00 pm

you gonna get a lil shake and jolt in any van as its high off the road.....but for overall suspension....toyota hilux aint that bad.....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 17th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Kia sorento.
Older model. Smoothest ride as far as suv's go.

Postby javishm » March 18th, 2014, 7:25 am

Rav 4

ian

Postby ian » March 18th, 2014, 9:10 pm

rav 4 seems to be winning boy......but i agree with kidz, i know any van involves a lil shake up

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » March 19th, 2014, 12:20 am

Lexus RX300 1st gen

Postby X2 » March 19th, 2014, 12:58 am

All pickup trucks have truck chassis an suspension and will all be 'bouncy' due to that since most times the tray won't be loaded. You can't beat the ride of a range rover... anyone that says otherwise is either lying or fronting. bmw x5, audi q5, q7, porsche cayenne, xc90 volvo are all matter of choice and a choice price.

Xtrail, crv, rav4, forester, vitara are all viable, mostly reasonably priced suvs at 'reasonable' pricing the best value for money is a 'new' xtrail classic... but resale value will be competing with the other 500,000 xtrails on the road. vitara is the only one that still has a truck chassis and drives like it (not the smoothest) crv is typical honda, but a new one is pricey and comes standard with a subpar engine. Rav4 is a best bet and mid priced..plus new one looks awesome. ... go test drive all, but the best and most expensive of them will be the forester.

The Chevy Captiva is worth mention as it's the best value for money in larger suvs imho.... and the ranger 2.2 is a must have for the saga boy crowd... it's a beast of a deal.

Want to be different? Impreza wagon, legacy wagon or mini countryman!

ian

Postby ian » March 19th, 2014, 3:28 am

X2 boy i guess yuh can't get more comprehensive than that!.....thank you brother.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » March 19th, 2014, 6:23 am

X2 wrote:All pickup trucks have truck chassis an suspension and will all be 'bouncy' due to that since most times the tray won't be loaded. You can't beat the ride of a range rover... anyone that says otherwise is either lying or fronting. bmw x5, audi q5, q7, porsche cayenne, xc90 volvo are all matter of choice and a choice price.

Xtrail, crv, rav4, forester, vitara are all viable, mostly reasonably priced suvs at 'reasonable' pricing the best value for money is a 'new' xtrail classic... but resale value will be competing with the other 500,000 xtrails on the road. vitara is the only one that still has a truck chassis and drives like it (not the smoothest) crv is typical honda, but a new one is pricey and comes standard with a subpar engine. Rav4 is a best bet and mid priced..plus new one looks awesome. ... go test drive all, but the best and most expensive of them will be the forester.

The Chevy Captiva is worth mention as it's the best value for money in larger suvs imho.... and the ranger 2.2 is a must have for the saga boy crowd... it's a beast of a deal.

Want to be different? Impreza wagon, legacy wagon or mini countryman!

I personally drove in the range rover vogue and hse sport. Their rides are way better than x5's and the audi's.
I also sat in the back seat of a lexus gx 460...and that was by far the smoothest ride and a Toyota prado suspension isn't way off from that. I own a 1996 prado and it rides smoother than most mid class cars and pick up, only downfall is that the dash board vibrates and makes noise.

Postby 1UZFE » March 19th, 2014, 7:15 am

Hold out Op. RR might just release a suv.

ian

Postby ian » March 19th, 2014, 2:44 pm

bump...

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 19th, 2014, 3:38 pm

Toyota have real mention in here doh.

Serot

Postby Serot » March 19th, 2014, 4:36 pm

OP do you have a budget in mind? IDK your finances, but most times and with most people, that'll be the deciding factor in terms of which vehicle you decide on.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2014, 7:08 pm

javishm wrote:Rav 4

You sure... 2014 Rav 4 has the most juhgiddy suspension ever... Navara ride is much smoother.

Postby SMc » March 20th, 2014, 6:00 am

We still dont know OP's budget, what it general use of the Van/SUV will be, what 'smooth' really means as if you never go offroad it doeas make a difference & why he just does not go for a sedan/saloon rather then a Van/SUV instead of bumping the thread daily.

Postby 1UZFE » March 20th, 2014, 6:22 am

Mahindra...

ian

Postby ian » March 20th, 2014, 6:43 am

Well i was considering a new narava or hilux for a daily driver (250-270k).....the area where i live the roads a bit bad so i thought a van would hold out better and i wont really be roughing the vehicle up i would just like to use it for occasional off road at the beach, family outing etc. Considering it would be a daily driver i dont want it to be ridiculously rough ride.

Serot

Postby Serot » March 20th, 2014, 10:06 am

ian wrote:Well i was considering a new narava or hilux for a daily driver (250-270k).....the area where i live the roads a bit bad so i thought a van would hold out better and i wont really be roughing the vehicle up i would just like to use it for occasional off road at the beach, family outing etc. Considering it would be a daily driver i dont want it to be ridiculously rough ride.

If you're willing to cope with the ride any van will give you, which might feel weird at first given the lack of weight in the rear due to an empty tray, then either one of those would be a decent buy IMO. Other than that, if that's your price range and you don't necessarily need the vehicle to have a diesel engine and have 4X4 capabilities, Kia Sportage ftw. Nuff creature comforts and space in there to keep you happy.

/thread

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 20th, 2014, 10:24 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Van and smooth ride in the same sentence??

is like askin to drive ah droplo 14 over ah speedbump straight...na guna happen...

ian

Postby ian » March 20th, 2014, 8:20 pm

lol........

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 21st, 2014, 8:42 am

I find the RAV4 suspension nice. I have the 2007 model but on twenty inch chromes, so the ride in mine different. However the Vigo i have smooth is like driving on oil, however when yuh hit a pothole, it vibrates...ill still say rav4 tho

droppa

Postby droppa » March 21st, 2014, 1:28 pm

1st choice Prado
2nd KZN185 surf
3rd KZN130 surf

is how deep yuh pocket can reach eh pal, i would choose the KZN130 anyday, rides and handles great, and even on bad parts the suspension still hold out good.....

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 21st, 2014, 2:43 pm

ian wrote:Well i was considering a new narava or hilux for a daily driver (250-270k).....the area where i live the roads a bit bad so i thought a van would hold out better and i wont really be roughing the vehicle up i would just like to use it for occasional off road at the beach, family outing etc. Considering it would be a daily driver i dont want it to be ridiculously rough ride.

The 2.5L hilux Auto is a pretty smooth ride, and reasonably priced....there's no problem when it comes to parts or reselling.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2014, 7:33 pm

lol for those bigging up ladder frame vehicles and claiming the ride smooth.

because man buy hilux and navara they automatically have a smooth ride? Such bs..

The truth is, only a unibody vehicle will have a better ride quality especially paired with the front and rear independent suspension.

Mention must be made of SUV's or Crossovers with the function where the driver can switch to 2wd mode which is better than the fixed AWD system. The obvious benefit of switching to 2wd say in a highway environment or offroad environment is improved ride quality since the 2nd drive axle was disengaged. With no torque applied to the driveshaft for 2nd axle this automatically results in better ride quality. The Tucson for example is on permanent "auto" mode where the computer will determine terrain and switch off 4wd accordingly but some people like to be in control of what "mode" they should be on.

The SGV has improved the most in ride quality with the new platform as well as the current new Sorento and notice both pretty much made the switch ditching ladder frame for unibody.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 21st, 2014, 9:15 pm

wickedbreed wrote:I find the RAV4 suspension nice. I have the 2007 model but on twenty inch chromes, so the ride in mine different. However the Vigo i have smooth is like driving on oil, however when yuh hit a pothole, it vibrates...ill still say rav4 tho

You from point fortin?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 21st, 2014, 10:01 pm

Best high end SUV is: Range Rover
Best on the lower end is: Rav 4

/end thread/

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » March 21st, 2014, 10:04 pm

Test drive the new model (T31) x-trail.... :wink:

ian

Postby ian » March 22nd, 2014, 6:24 am

Hmmmm....So far Toyota Hilux, Toyota Surf, Range Rover,Prado and Rav 4 in the Lead.....but i definitely can't afford the Range Rover and Prado so those are out and i like the surf but they are a bit old now so i guess i'll look along the lines of Rav 4 or Toyota Hilux.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2014, 7:44 am

paw pa wrote:Test drive the new model (T31) x-trail.... :wink:

this is actually a pretty decent vehicle.

its about 120-150 fully loaded and it is pretty easy to maintain plus it has a average 4wd system.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 22nd, 2014, 1:07 pm

^^^madness...not even in roro would a t31 base model with the 2.0L engine cost that low unless you importing an 08 model for yourself. A loaded 2.5 t31 would cost upwards of $220k and a new one in NM is $360k.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2014, 1:29 pm

That was the last price I checked.
Not sure if that's it currently but it shouldn't be so far apart.
The model I'm talking about is the basic qr20. The gt was closer to 185+