wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

NorStar2K

Re: wtk pros and cons corolla vs cruze

Postby NorStar2K » November 29th, 2012, 3:04 pm

htsob wrote:oh and does anyone know average insurance rate for this car
before i go shopping...thanks

There's no such thing as average insurance premium. Many say 10% of the vehicle cost, but that's not true either. If this is your first vehicle, expect the premium to be high, but can be reduced with discounts including Viper alarm/CarSerach/GPS which gets you 10-15% discount, etc.

If it isn't your first vehicle, then hopefully you should a no-claim discount up to 60% which should benefit you in reducing your premium. Other features may increase the premium, e.g. waiver of excess, etc.

Check a broker who can get you the coverage you may want from a few reputable companies.

markme

Postby markme » November 29th, 2012, 3:58 pm

Posted a review of Chevy Cruze LT in the past. 19 months and 35,000 km since purchase.

Few complaints about the Cruze- maybe the centre armrest could be upgraded due to premature ostensible wear and tear; the scroll controls on steering wheel do not work with auxiliary, only radio and CD; air-conditioning is average or below average at mid day temperatures; fuel economy is average at highway speeds; irritable brake squeal when reversing (friend with LT complains of same as well; LSM has not addressed) and items stored in vehicle interior compartments rattle easily.

And the body kit is not installed properly- long and cheap screws are visible etc.

My previous post details the positives. Overall a very solid car at a very competitive price. I think GM is currently the largest Auto-maker if not mistaken. Perhaps Toyota will regain title soon.

The Corolla is also a solid choice, but the Cruze is markedly better steering, interior design and quality, etc etc etc. I think the Corolla has slightly better back suspension and drives better on bad roads but that is absolutely subjective.

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2012, 4:16 pm

imo the cruze has the best handling in its class
Those accustomed to crappy japanese floaty / soft suspension may find it on the hard side. I personally prefer a car that goes around corners well. and the cruze does it very well
Decent acceleration (heavy car), good brakes, stable under sudden lane changes......neutral cornering, with a hint of understeer at the limits
If all goes well, wifey shoul be adding one to the garage next year
I hope we can find a way to get the 1.4 Eco (turbocharged, 138bhp, 0-60 in 8.0)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 29th, 2012, 5:14 pm

MG Man wrote:imo the cruze has the best handling in its class
Those accustomed to crappy japanese floaty / soft suspension may find it on the hard side. I personally prefer a car that goes around corners well. and the cruze does it very well
Decent acceleration (heavy car), good brakes, stable under sudden lane changes......neutral cornering, with a hint of understeer at the limits

She's coming, but you'll have to wait until Q4 2013.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 29th, 2012, 6:34 pm

Guys dont mean to sidetrack the thread but since we on suzuki can i find out some info on the swift sport. Like maintenance wise, ride quality, performance and handling? Really looking at them seriously these days. Thinking of buying one used locally around the 2008 or newer models. Most of them have over 90,000k on them, is that mileage high for that kind of car? Your thoughts please.

Postby Habit7 » November 29th, 2012, 6:48 pm

For me the question is either Skoda Octavia or Chevy Cruze. The Cruze has a newer exterior design but the interior have too much cheap plastics. The Octavia has higher ground clearance and more realiable, but less customizable.

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 9:10 pm

NorStar2K wrote:

There's no such thing as average insurance premium. Many say 10% of the vehicle cost, but that's not true either. If this is your first vehicle, expect the premium to be high, but can be reduced with discounts including Viper alarm/CarSerach/GPS which gets you 10-15% discount, etc.

If it isn't your first vehicle, then hopefully you should a no-claim discount up to 60% which should benefit you in reducing your premium. Other features may increase the premium, e.g. waiver of excess, etc.

Check a broker who can get you the coverage you may want from a few reputable companies.

Ok will do....this'll be my 4th or 5th car..lost count...still have my CK2
heard the 10% of cost also...and i know premiums recently went up by
as much as 30%...bwoy wheres yuh links in TATIL wen yuh need one :(

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 9:15 pm

markme wrote:Posted a review of Chevy Cruze LT in the past. 19 months and 35,000 km since purchase.

Few complaints about the Cruze- maybe the centre armrest could be upgraded due to premature ostensible wear and tear; the scroll controls on steering wheel do not work with auxiliary, only radio and CD; air-conditioning is average or below average at mid day temperatures; fuel economy is average at highway speeds; irritable brake squeal when reversing (friend with LT complains of same as well; LSM has not addressed) and items stored in vehicle interior compartments rattle easily.

And the body kit is not installed properly- long and cheap screws are visible etc.

My previous post details the positives. Overall a very solid car at a very competitive price. I think GM is currently the largest Auto-maker if not mistaken. Perhaps Toyota will regain title soon.

The Corolla is also a solid choice, but the Cruze is markedly better steering, interior design and quality, etc etc etc. I think the Corolla has slightly better back suspension and drives better on bad roads but that is absolutely subjective.

i am guessing this is the 2012 model...i hope they have improved on their 2013
A/C is very important...office A/C...car A/C...home A/C..lol

i won't sweat the small stuff...not at that price...but that brake squeal sounds serious
anyone knows what that is about?

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 9:23 pm

MG you crack me up..."crappy japanese floaty/soft suspension"..lol
i had a sunny manual with cng...2 lancers...i loved the soft suspension and
quick steering response...those cars had a luxurious ride... and dat sunny culd
bend dem diego corners without even tapping brakes...ah d good ole days of youth :drinking:

htsob

Postby htsob » November 29th, 2012, 9:35 pm

htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

oh btw Norstar...dyou know anything about the double stepping on the accelerator
in quick succession to get better acceleration...the sales rep gave me this but
im not so sure

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2012, 7:20 am

htsob wrote:

bend dem diego corners without even tapping brakes...ah d good ole days of youth :drinking:

this is what happens when you don't have a proper benchmark

moti

Postby moti » November 30th, 2012, 9:13 am

like you did, yuh ke30 driving muddah runt
because yuh borrow a mini cooper yuh think you know all about them fancy cars them nah.

stupid fat startrek looking guy

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2012, 9:21 am

aye doh be dissin my KE30 eh...........I pull 4.7gs on de skidpad and had a slalom speed of 97.8mph :P

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 30th, 2012, 9:23 am

htsob wrote:

Must you be so brutal?

subzeroracing

Postby subzeroracing » November 30th, 2012, 9:23 am

i currently drive a LS Cruze bought in January this year. For the price at the time, the Chevy comes out on top in terms of value for money. the performance is second to none in terms of 1.8 engine size, acceleration is responsive enough and i get excellent mileage seeing its Super gasoline being used. If i have a problem with parts locally, i will go online and bring it in because Chevy parts are just as available online as the Toyotas, Mitsubishis etc.

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2012, 9:58 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Must you be so brutal?

you find?
When drivers think their cars are better than they actually are, they begin to push limits..this is when trouble starts...........if you've driven one type of car all the time, then you can't possibly think it's the best thing ever......even without driving a wide variety of cars, you have people like Road and Track who give you the answers. All you have to do is read.....the Cruze Eco 1.4 Turbo ranked 2nd out of 8 small cars in a recent R&T test comparison, being beaten only by the Fiat 500 Abarth........The Cruze beat out the 2.0 Mazda 3, 1.6 Veloster, Fit etc

When I made my comment about japanese folaty suspension, I was actually referring to current Japanese cars, not older ones..........Honda in particular skews it's suspension towards a soft ride....unfortunately, Toyota is following suit. Ever look at a current model civic with two adults in the back? Most of those cars are really designed for a driver and one passenger up front...add weight to the rear and things get silly

Now compare that to most european cars, where suspension tuning is skewed more towards stability and progressive handling, and you see the difference. A current model civic handles like a pirogue, compared to a Cruze. Heavy braking is much more stable as well with the cruze, as is the aforementioned sudden / emergency lane change

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 30th, 2012, 11:12 am

anybody have comments on the swift sport

htsob

Postby htsob » November 30th, 2012, 11:44 am

subzeroracing wrote:i currently drive a LS Cruze bought in January this year. For the price at the time, the Chevy comes out on top in terms of value for money. the performance is second to none in terms of 1.8 engine size, acceleration is responsive enough and i get excellent mileage seeing its Super gasoline being used. If i have a problem with parts locally, i will go online and bring it in because Chevy parts are just as available online as the Toyotas, Mitsubishis etc.

you hit the nail on the head...value for money...its reasonably priced..new model...good enough perfromance...and nice lil extra touches....i know im not buying an audi benz or bimmer..
i dont have unreasonable expectations...i drive a few kms to pos and back...car park up whole day...i dont speed and always in traffic....was lookin fuh comfort at good cost...this does it....still interested in that supposed double pump of the accel. though..

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 30th, 2012, 3:59 pm

trini mk5 wrote:anybody have comments on the swift sport

I let you slide the first time, but I have to tell you you're on the wrong forum. Please don't hijack the man's thread.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 30th, 2012, 4:01 pm

htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

oh btw Norstar...dyou know anything about the double stepping on the accelerator
in quick succession to get better acceleration...the sales rep gave me this but
im not so sure

The rep mentioned the 'double tap', which I believe is used in full automatic mode, but I typically drove in tiptronic mode most of the time so I didn't notice.

Anton

Postby Anton » November 30th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Aren't the Kia Cerato and Hyundai Elantra in this same price bracket also. Would love to hear any user opinions on these. Cosign on the bang for buck issue with the corolla, I'm on my 5th Toyota and highly doubt I'll be going back to TTTL.

Postby Habit7 » November 30th, 2012, 5:02 pm

It took you 5 Toyotas to come to that conclusion?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 30th, 2012, 7:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:It took you 5 Toyotas to come to that conclusion?

Anton

Postby Anton » November 30th, 2012, 8:36 pm

Steups. Lol! My previous toyotas were of the older school. Rock solid reliability and good value for money. My most recent is the Yaris, which, at the price point when I bought it was still good bang for buck especialy in the safety dept which was the major consideration at the time with a baby on the way. With recent price increases TTTL no longer present the most viable options for consumers. At today;s prices, my money will most likely go to the Koreans

htsob

Postby htsob » December 2nd, 2012, 4:09 pm

htsob wrote:
subzeroracing wrote:i currently drive a LS Cruze bought in January this year. For the price at the time, the Chevy comes out on top in terms of value for money. the performance is second to none in terms of 1.8 engine size, acceleration is responsive enough and i get excellent mileage seeing its Super gasoline being used. If i have a problem with parts locally, i will go online and bring it in because Chevy parts are just as available online as the Toyotas, Mitsubishis etc.

you hit the nail on the head...value for money...its reasonably priced..new model...good enough perfromance...and nice lil extra touches....i know im not buying an audi benz or bimmer..
i dont have unreasonable expectations...i drive a few kms to pos and back...car park up whole day...i dont speed and always in traffic....was lookin fuh comfort at good cost...this does it....still interested in that supposed double pump of the accel. though..

do you get parts outside LSM....cosumables like brake pads; filters etc?

htsob

Postby htsob » December 2nd, 2012, 4:15 pm

Anyone know if the 2013 1.6LS can take the DVD/GPS upgrade...physically and electronically?
Checking around for extra security and i see there is a nice DVD/GPS system available
Internet/cellphone/7 inch display....will it fit/work on the CRUZE though?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 2nd, 2012, 9:17 pm

htsob wrote:Anyone know if the 2013 1.6LS can take the DVD/GPS upgrade...physically and electronically?
Checking around for extra security and i see there is a nice DVD/GPS system available

As MG Man said before, why would you want to? And those Chinese after-market units don't last long so I'd stay clear if I were you.

You can buy the facia for the Cruze and install a Pioneer/JVC/Kenwood double-din DVD headunit w/navigation if you want to, but I don't think it's at all necessary.

htsob

Postby htsob » December 2nd, 2012, 9:50 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
htsob wrote:Anyone know if the 2013 1.6LS can take the DVD/GPS upgrade...physically and electronically?

As MG Man said before, why would you want to? And those Chinese after-market units don't last long so I'd stay clear if I were you.

You can buy the facia for the Cruze and install a Pioneer/JVC/Kenwood double-din DVD headunit w/navigation if you want to, but I don't think it's at all necessary.

not no chinese ting...i fraid dat...talkin bout oem head unit as a nice touch.. doh particularly fancy that
stock green display unit...
i have garmin that 'better half' uses...and have android app on phone with TT map that navs without internet so thats no real problem...
was checking some local firms...gavitrak...gprsrescue etal and it would have been nice to
incorporate security into a dvd /nav system with compatible harness....i know some may think its overkill...but right now in this country...well lets just say that too much isnt enough..
done source multi lock arready..lol

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 3rd, 2012, 12:20 am

htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

not no chinese ting...i fraid dat...talkin bout oem head unit as a nice touch.. doh particularly fancy that
i have garmin that 'better half' uses...and have android app on phone with TT map that navs without internet so thats no real problem...
was checking some local firms...gavitrak...gprsrescue etal and it would have been nice to
incorporate security into a dvd /nav system with compatible harness....i know some may think its overkill...but right now in this country...well lets just say that too much isnt enough..

multi lock? Dude seriously?

htsob

Postby htsob » December 3rd, 2012, 8:27 am

NorStar2K wrote:
htsob wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:

multi lock? Dude seriously?

lol...if it gets me 5-10% off insurance premium...why not?