RX7 FD3S Re-Amemiya Twin Turbo Build Thread

curacaosfinest

Re: RX7 FD3S Re-Amemiya Twin Turbo Build Thread

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:04 pm

Finally got the brakes on...what a difference!!!

just had to trim some of the dust shield, other than that, super super easy install

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:04 pm

got a couple more things done today

replaced the OMP lines with some fresh OEM ones with all new crush copper wires and all

also finally removed the A/C pump and i was pretty surprised to see how much space that thing actually took up lol

Also got my upgraded stainless oil lines finished for the stock dual oil coolers

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:06 pm

started mocking up the rear end aero

will be bolting the diffuser on permanently as soon as i'm done with my exhaust system

in the process of making the designs for the wing risers now so those should be on soon also
So i just grabbed some boxes and taped them on the back of the car so i could get an idea of how the wing would look since it is quite a wide wing (1600 mm)

The wing is also 3 point angle adjustable so i'll be able to setup for whether i'll be running a high speed or low speed coarse

how to install a GT Wing: Cardboard boxes and painters tape ftw!!! hahahaha

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Alright so the wheel design is done!!!

ISS Forged will be cutting these wheels for me in the following specs

18x10 front, 18x11.5 rear

3.5" front lip/4.5" rear lip

i could have gone with a 5" rear lip...but i personally like having the lips look some-what similar all the way around, and thats what i thought was great about ISS Forged!! they were able to make that happen for me!!

they are being cut out of a 1" concave forging...i really dont like concave wheels
but the reason why they are doing it out of this 1" concave forging, is to give the wheel a little bit of a dive into the center
its very subtle and still very race oriented without adding weight to the wheel

because as we all know, those concave wheels that most 3-piece wheel companies are making now-a-days are stupid heavy!!

they're basically boat anchors!!!

here are the renderings
The only difference is that mine will be with Steplips, these are rendered into straight lips

wheels should be completed in about 2 weeks :)

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:08 pm

well getting the last bit of my parts for the car now

Stoptech has really hooked it up for me...they're sending me their "Rear Sport Kit" for the car

Product Details

Its awesome, it comes with the slotted rotors, pads, and stainless lines
they also sent along 2 caliper rebuild kits for the rear calipers
and 3 bottles of their STR 600 brake fluid!!

I've always used Motul RBF600 for the track, but this is Stoptech's new fluid so i figured since they sponsored me i'd give it a shot
they also have a STR 660 level fluid for full track use...might switch to that if i dont like the feel of this fluid

I'll be back from my business trip on friday to continue working on the car
i finally received the proper o-rings i needed for my fuel injectors

so i'll be powder coating all the engine parts this weekend and then bolting all back together next week!

here are some pics of Stoptech Rear Sport Kit

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » August 9th, 2012, 8:16 pm

hey ''finest'' what's the part # for the SunPro bushing kit and how many pieces are in it ?

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 9th, 2012, 8:30 pm

roadracer7 wrote:hey ''finest'' what's the part # for the SunPro bushing kit and how many pieces are in it ?

The part number for the kit is SuperPro "KIT130K"

It comes with all bushings except for the pillow balls

the pillow balls are what you have to replace if you have clunking sound in the rear end of the car

Postby wagon r » August 9th, 2012, 9:55 pm

very impressive build and great documentation. can't wait to see the final outcome.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » August 9th, 2012, 10:22 pm

curacaosfinest wrote:
roadracer7 wrote:hey ''finest'' what's the part # for the SunPro bushing kit and how many pieces are in it ?

The part number for the kit is SuperPro "KIT130K"

It comes with all bushings except for the pillow balls

the pillow balls are what you have to replace if you have clunking sound in the rear end of the car

thanks

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 9th, 2012, 10:42 pm

Awesome stuff bro!!! Love DIYers, keep at it, what HP are you looking for?

Postby Razkal » August 10th, 2012, 8:59 am

ah like this.

will be liming in here more often now

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 10th, 2012, 9:47 am

WOW. good stuff bro. really really love the FDs but im afraid of rotary in my only car lol. when i get more cash, maybe ill get one for a weekend car. :(

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 10th, 2012, 10:41 am

Beautiful, need more stuff like this in The Car Park.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 10th, 2012, 10:44 am

sweet build...very tastefully done...

Postby Rooki3 » August 10th, 2012, 12:05 pm

beautiful

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » August 10th, 2012, 1:16 pm

lovely!
not really a fan of the rear quarters though...

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 10th, 2012, 1:55 pm

amaaaaaazzzzzzziiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg

GT RACING

Postby GT RACING » August 10th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Loving every pic......keep it up man.

have the same gold film on my piping and LIM.

will copy what you did with the UIM and fuel rail........lol

Postby cinco » August 10th, 2012, 7:30 pm

i love you

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 11th, 2012, 1:50 am

Thanks for all the complements guys!!

doing it for the tuning community, and to have a proper track car again!!

i used to race in an IMSA Porsche 944 Cup Car, and have since sold it and gone to spec miata, and now i've moved up and want to really get into some serious time attack

after the media with the car is done, i'll most likely be gutting the rear interior of the car to install fuel surge system

as for power...i'm going to have to cap it at 500hp for now, when i did the rebuild i didnt pin the motor so 500 is where i'm stopping for safety reasons...the setup is good for 675 at the wheels though.

when i'm running on track i will run a more conservative tune at around 450hp until i really learn the car before i turn it up to the full 500

Oh and great news!!

Central Florida Turbo has sponsored my car for all the dyno tuning
so you'll be seeing the video for that soon

Shout to Rolo at CFT Shop!! Hes just about the only tuner i'd let get anywhere near my A/F ratios!!

more updates coming up this week guys
I'll be prepping the intercooler, turbo comp. housings, intercooler piping, intake manifold, and various brackets
they will all be powdercoated to give the engine a nice clean look again and to make it easier for me to keep clean
i'm not the type to build a car and not use it for all its got, so it gets dirty pretty quick lol

will have some more for you guys soon!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » August 11th, 2012, 6:09 pm

Rooki3 wrote:beautiful

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 11th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Will the car be ready to run at this event?? I'm trying to fit it into my schedule, so hopefully I'm able to make it out there with my customers. I think you fellas in Trini should try your best to attend this race because it will be SICK!

Postby sliderz1 » August 11th, 2012, 8:03 pm

neat stuff bro

dyno tested yet?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2012, 8:05 pm

Sick.

demented

Postby demented » August 11th, 2012, 9:47 pm

*subscribed*

Postby BrotherHood » August 12th, 2012, 12:57 am

OMFG!!! :shock: :shock:

You really know your stuff man. I just wish the local market wasn't as expensive for upgrades etc.

curacaosfinest

Postby curacaosfinest » August 12th, 2012, 11:01 am

haha thanks for all the complements guys!

i'll be posting up more updates this week!

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » August 12th, 2012, 2:48 pm

I jizzed a few times while reading through this build

FourG63 97GST

Postby FourG63 97GST » August 12th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Nice build man, I'll really like a FD chassis one day. It's weird seeing them with a rotary though. That's rare these days

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 13th, 2012, 11:29 am

Excellent build buddy... Can't wait to see the final product... your really know ur stuff!!