Looking for a pro tuner to tune my car

zcarz

Re: Looking for a pro tuner to tune my car

Postby zcarz » April 23rd, 2011, 2:50 pm

any of these people have experience with the VG30 engine?

smell

Postby smell » April 23rd, 2011, 7:08 pm

A172 wrote:lisnin for knock by ear is nuh ah flick again oaarrr?

It has been proven that the devices i mentioned earlier pick up knk 3-4 degrees before it is audible to the human ear....and i mean by experienced tuners who have been in the game for 15+yrs who stick their head in the engine bay to listen

3-4 degrees is alot and remember if knk is so loud that you can hear, it is already doing damage....worse yet if you can hear it in the cabin

So all of allya fellas here who does go and mako when men tuning on the dyno may be you can give us some feedback as to what all these professional tuners use locally???

Postby A172 » April 23rd, 2011, 7:27 pm

sarcasm....dude :|

personally I'se use de knock monitor on de Commander + a knock light wired up to de check light

bush racer FTL :(

smell

Postby smell » April 23rd, 2011, 7:45 pm

I kno man :)

pfc i assume??

If so you cannot rely on that 100% but will still be my pick because at least you have a hand controller to start with to monitor real time parameters and that nice little feature to temporarily adj the ign/inj settings across the whole map if you suspect knk with a bad batch of fuel or something

Postby A172 » April 23rd, 2011, 7:58 pm

yeah ah pfc

revvin to 8 pretty useful too :mrgreen:

ecktt

Postby ecktt » April 23rd, 2011, 8:24 pm

Before quick tune by Prentice Ali (Peak Performance):
Stock evo 7 GSR : 230 whp 36 count

After quick tune by Prentice Ali (Peak Performance):
Stock evo 7 GSR : 240 whp 0 knock

I think this speaks for itself since I've herd that his dyno reads lower that others. I've learn't alot since then and have made numerous other tweaks and mods. Looking back at his tune, it was clear that he was very conservative and well on the safe side.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » April 23rd, 2011, 8:53 pm

DRY FTW! talk done . went on the dyno moments ago drove away with a long smile ...

50+ HP gains

thanks

Richard

Postby eliteauto » April 24th, 2011, 4:09 am

wow!! impressive

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 24th, 2011, 10:59 am

dry = d boss

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 25th, 2011, 2:26 pm

nicee!

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » April 26th, 2011, 1:22 pm

ecktt wrote:Before quick tune by Prentice Ali (Peak Performance):
Stock evo 7 GSR : 230 whp 36 count

After quick tune by Prentice Ali (Peak Performance):
Stock evo 7 GSR : 240 whp 0 knock

I think this speaks for itself since I've herd that his dyno reads lower that others. I've learn't alot since then and have made numerous other tweaks and mods. Looking back at his tune, it was clear that he was very conservative and well on the safe side.

i checked it myself...i always thought prentice's dyno (Dynodynamics) used to read up to 20% lower than Oddie(Dynojet)...so i decided to try it...as it turns out its about the same...actually the dynojet read lower...back then i made 335whp by prentice and recorded 326whp by oddie...both during the daytime...

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » April 26th, 2011, 1:30 pm

A172 wrote:sarcasm....dude :|

personally I'se use de knock monitor on de Commander + a knock light wired up to de check light

bush racer FTL :(

me 2 lol....thank god for the pfc commander :lol: :lol: 0X

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » April 26th, 2011, 6:31 pm

FYI. do you know how many people in Trinidad are qualified to tune motec ecu's?
1: Prentice Ali - Peak Performance

that should tell you all you need to know about "pro tuner" as you asked about.
Last edited by dream-carz on April 26th, 2011, 7:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 26th, 2011, 6:49 pm

I don't think he asked for a certified and motec in any combination. Dream-carz it's understandable that you want to defend your brother. I think it's just that the few times things have gone wrong , that news has made it around the boards. It was probably exagerated too. I know Prentice has been along longer than the others too but the other names being thrown out here are quite talented individuals from what is being said.
Trinidad is a small place and things get around fast which all tuners and mechanics should keep in mind.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » April 26th, 2011, 7:32 pm

well, he did ask for a pro tuner. What in your opinion defines "pro" or what differentiates a normal tuner from a pro tuner. I was trying to answer the question the man asked.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 26th, 2011, 9:33 pm

Well can someone define it for anyone here what is a pro tuner, do you get a warranty after a tune, is it a sticker to say tuned by, is it after-tune support, does it require the person to be trained in the software and have a certificate, does it require that the tuner sell the software and ECU? I know of many tuners abroad that have skills that a certified one cannot come close to. This can get out of hand quickly give jack his jacket there are local tuners that not only can tune but understand how everything works entirely and how one thing affects the other and that helps so much when tuning, it is not guess work.

Postby turbosingh » April 27th, 2011, 6:49 am

TriniGT wrote:Well can someone define it for anyone here what is a pro tuner, do you get a warranty after a tune, is it a sticker to say tuned by, is it after-tune support, does it require the person to be trained in the software and have a certificate, does it require that the tuner sell the software and ECU? I know of many tuners abroad that have skills that a certified one cannot come close to. This can get out of hand quickly give jack his jacket there are local tuners that not only can tune but understand how everything works entirely and how one thing affects the other and that helps so much when tuning, it is not guess work.

Can't say it any better, an to speak about value for your money as well as customer sevice :wink:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 28th, 2011, 12:48 am

off topic... but dry still around???

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 28th, 2011, 6:47 am

What rock you under brother, Dry just doh have time to be on Tuner responding to people he busy tuning man car. Dry ah take the dive boy pics will follow in my project thread.

smell

Postby smell » April 28th, 2011, 10:08 am

With updated software now these systems have become user friendly so basically anyone who is computer literate and understands engine parameters can use it
Decent wide bands are cheap as, so its easy to slap one on and +/- fuel to get afr where u want it to be
The real catch is ign timing.....
Just like tuning afr, a seperate "meter" is required to do this efficiently
Any clown can tune a car to make power and sadly this is what ppl go off on.
If x tuner tunes a car and make more powa than y tuner on the same car, then x tuner is better??
Wrong!!!......There is a balance between making power and making safe power and i'm sure there are many men who is left holding the shitty end of the stick

Auto performance has evolved drastically here over the last few yrs and men boast of having knowlege of the best brands the indusrtry has to offer so i think its no longer acceptable for men to be sticking their head the engine bay to listen for knk....
It works... but if its audible its already doing damage.... worse yet if its road tuned and listening for knk in the cabin with loud ass free flow exh and external gates

So my question still stands....

Which one of these pro tuners or tuners use knk sensing devices???
Time for these guys to step up their game!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 28th, 2011, 10:56 am

Smell what knock setup are you using for detecting knock with your Power FC setup currently when tuning?

smell

Postby smell » April 28th, 2011, 12:21 pm

I use the values off the unit but it has been proven to be bogus at times.

Hence me asking the question....I'm looking for some one locally who has the proper equipment

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 28th, 2011, 1:04 pm

Is it engine specific it has proven to be faulty or across the board, I am thinking on the RB26???

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 28th, 2011, 1:14 pm

Motec is probably the best I know off.... the man hadda know his stuff to get qualified.. everyone has different methods... I think you have to know what you want and then move on....

smell

Postby smell » April 28th, 2011, 1:30 pm

From research not so much as engine specific but goes as far as vehicle specific.....meaning on two very similar set ups> same engine type, same mods,same tuner, same fuel , knk values can vary alot
On the flip side it can give you high levels of knk when there actually isnt any....meaning that your car wouldnt be tuned to its full potential....common when you have raised the powa output of the engine from stock and expect the factory knk sensors to give you an accurate reading when really they were designed to properly function at say half the power
Bottom line is sometime it works, sometime it doesnt....

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 28th, 2011, 11:46 pm

TriniGT wrote:What rock you under brother, Dry just doh have time to be on Tuner responding to people he busy tuning man car. Dry ah take the dive boy pics will follow in my project thread.

yea... I wasnt on 2nr for a while :|

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » April 29th, 2011, 4:19 am

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 29th, 2011, 8:15 am

Nice smell yuh in the game now, exactly what you need for knock, but check and make sure it has an inout for two knock sensors as the RB as far as I can remember carries two.

smell

Postby smell » April 29th, 2011, 8:58 am

Nice piece of gear...never seen this one before

Just browsed thru it and i c there is a option for a twin sensor cable but i'm not sure how it works in terms or logging the two sensors or if you can listen to them seperately on each side of the headphone...and these options adds up pretty quick

I will not be buying any sort of knk detection device unfortunately as i have no intention of tuning professionally and makes no sense as i would be just using it on my car and thats money that could be spent elsewhere

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 29th, 2011, 9:12 am

I guess I am different if I think it will help my tune and for a reasonable price I would purchase it and maybe think about renting it out. I bought a torque plate for the very same reason, the local machine shops don't use them so I bought my own in the event that it is needed for a fresh hone or bore.