Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

Postby Monk BANzai » February 16th, 2010, 12:10 am

Picasso wrote:The conversion that Omar did on his VR4 b4 he went evo III with placing in a 4G63 to replace the 6A13 engine... How easy is it to swap the engines ? I know a couple parts will need to change to compensate for the placement of the 4G63 but what else is needed to change to get the new setup running correctly ? I've already taken into consideration that the diff, drive shaft, transfer case etc will need to change but what components are they replaced with ? I for one love the VR4 but the 6A13 engine is my problem and would prefer to replace the engine with a 4G63 setup just as Omar did..

been preaching that for years now...drop eene evo power inna de VR4 and yuh good to go!!....i'm a purist so if i have a VR4, i keeping it V6...but the obvious engine choice is 4G63...

and it not hard cuz the engine mounting points are the same as the 4G93(T) and stuff...

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » February 16th, 2010, 1:54 am

i want to know banzai... is your car fitted with the original turbos? what turbos can i upgrade to? i want to raise my boost...

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » February 16th, 2010, 2:05 am

Advil wrote:tripplediamond, ur engine bay looks really neat though, well done, no wiring hannging all over

Thanks man, the mech did a great job for sure, i was there for most of it too, had alot of fun, really enjoyed this build, i just want to go a lil faster though once i get a lil $$$. I wanted a clean engine bay so we scrapped everything out and replaced everything from the front half, even the headlight wiring. will hold up for a bit, Love the look on most RB20 guys faces after a pull :mrgreen:

Postby Monk BANzai » February 16th, 2010, 1:46 pm

tripplediamond wrote:i want to know banzai... is your car fitted with the original turbos? what turbos can i upgrade to? i want to raise my boost...

Currently no. The original units are great for quick spooling, but they dotn last at higher levels. I use WRX units now. And remember that even with biggere turbos, you dotn want ot push teh boost levels beyond 19-21 lbs of boost. The internals simply cant handle anything more than that. The issue with the bigger turbos are:

Modifications to the piping. Because the WRX turbos are different, you have to position them differently on both sides of the engine. You need to then fabricate the turbo piping to meet the new position. At the time i did mine (2007) it cost me $1500 to do both. That was then.

Turbo Lag. You will now notice increased Turbo lag. You have to "program" that out by brining in the ful boost level at a lower RPM range with either a Piggyback like E-manage Ultimate or go FULL management like Haltech or Emerald. Bear in mind that who ever is doing your wiring has to get an external Coil pack. Reason being that (esp with the piggyback) you will get two errors. "Crank Angle Sensor" and "Cam Angle Sensor" errors which will then put the car in safe mode and it will run rich.

Another option i've seen in New Zealand is the Single turbo conversion. But to me that dont make sense unless you have internals to handle the high levels of boost.

My secret to beating the Evo's and RB's? bring in a constant boost level at a lower RPM. Use the piggyback for that....which you can also use to compensate for the fuel delivery maps.

Postby Rooki3 » February 16th, 2010, 2:01 pm

BANzai Rastafarai, the trusted source for local VR-4 Technical content :wink:

Whan my buddy was doing his conversion, majority of the total info gathered was from Banzai's post on VRG to VR4 conversions :idea:

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » February 16th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Same here... I will keep that valuable info in mind, seems as though upgrading my turbos will be a little pricy, i was thinking to go two evo turbos. Really helpful stuff man.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 16th, 2010, 4:24 pm

this is a very bess thread!!!!!

I miss my galant :cry:

scientist

Postby scientist » February 17th, 2010, 10:10 am

Also if you have a 98-2000 VR4...just get the ecu reflashed.

Postby Monk BANzai » February 17th, 2010, 12:38 pm

scientist wrote:Also if you have a 98-2000 VR4...just get the ecu reflashed.

man...was waiting on you...share your views on ur beast that you building up the islands.... Scientist is also a walkign VR4 knowledge base eh.

Stil lworking on getting that sump pan to you man....

rxforever

Postby rxforever » February 17th, 2010, 2:13 pm

HAS THE OX FINISHED HER REFRESHER COURSE?

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » February 17th, 2010, 8:13 pm

so, where do i get my ecu flashed locally? what can i get from doing this? Anything other than no limiter at 180kph?

scientist

Postby scientist » February 17th, 2010, 9:50 pm

Most EVO specialists with an OP2.0 (Tactrix Open Port 2.0) cable can handle flashing duties of your vehicle. It depends on what you ask him for...He can clean up your fuel map and lean out the overly rich factory fuel map and optimize for whatever mods you have.

These cars have a lot of potential:

Start with breather mods, they can surely do with More airflow, Change the front mount, change the piping, let this motor breathe.

there are a few single turbo 6A13s in the caribbean. Most VR4s in dominica atleast have a downpipe and exhaust fitted

Postby Monk BANzai » February 18th, 2010, 7:15 pm

^^Yup... in fact it was only last year after reading up stuff on the NZ site that i realized the ECU can be reflashed....

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 4th, 2010, 7:39 am

so, i got some 18s now, what profile do you recommend? and i would like to drop it a little... coilovers?

Postby A172 » April 4th, 2010, 1:19 pm

tripplediamond, u geh de ecu flashed yet?

call meh if u eh do it yet nah.....my tuner does it

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 4th, 2010, 6:27 pm

na not yet... link me :mrgreen:

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 4th, 2010, 6:28 pm

tripplediamond wrote:so, i got some 18s now, what profile do you recommend? and i would like to drop it a little... coilovers?

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » April 5th, 2010, 8:22 am

this info was really helpful...i gonna do a vrg to vr4 conversion...any new things i come across i'll be sure to post it up.

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » April 6th, 2010, 8:49 am

which spark plug shud i use in the 6a13 engine...it came with d NGK BK6REIX but my mechanic say to use the 7...what u guys think.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 6th, 2010, 6:44 pm

Rooki3 wrote:tripplediamond, ou running gas tank or fuel cell?
Evo 6 gas tank with walbro high pressure fuel pump...

ralliartvr47

Re: Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

Postby ralliartvr47 » May 18th, 2010, 8:46 pm

hey guys wats up...do u kno where i can get d straps for d vr4 gas tank?

Postby Rooki3 » May 18th, 2010, 8:56 pm

by a car parts place!!

scientist

Postby scientist » May 20th, 2010, 10:31 pm

NGK Copper 7s BKR7.....don't use Iridiums esp when tuning

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 21st, 2010, 8:40 am

^^^ Besides price making it easier to change to different heat ranges and gapping have a reason why?

scientist

Postby scientist » May 28th, 2010, 10:34 am

Irridiums are said to retain more heat than the coppers...causing pre-ignition under high boost.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 28th, 2010, 11:07 am

Who owns the tubro charged, sunroof, No front bumper intercooler showing Blue VR or VR4 parked up by Strokers in Chaguanas lastnight ?

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » May 28th, 2010, 1:44 pm

ok kool thanks scientist. gonna buy dem plugs today

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » May 28th, 2010, 1:49 pm

ok fellas 1 other thing is dat my mechanic told me that instead of takin out d harness frm d front cut he will take out d brain only and jack in d d harness in d car into d vr4 brain...now bear in mind dat d car was tranny and im converting to manual.

cud someone plz advise me if to knock his effing ass dong or thank him

Postby Monk BANzai » May 29th, 2010, 11:45 am

depends...yu using AYC with ur conversion? play it safe....take everything from the cut and transplant it...from harness to gauge pod to.....grrr...just take everything and transplant...also. what ECU you running? "plastic or metal".....

scientist

ah es waiting eh!!!.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » May 29th, 2010, 1:44 pm

ok well i dont have AYC. i do wanna play it safe,i even wanna take out d wires for d headlights and fog lights and replace it. i not sure where the ecu is i will get back to u in a lil bit