<<2010 Trinituner F1 Thread>>

Postby Monk BANzai » December 15th, 2009, 11:58 pm

Freelander wrote:^^ ok mr. 17th top driver :roll:

emo much?.....

i jus hope when the other shoe fall,s he dont crash like 4 feet from his house like that wuss Tiger did....

Postby MG Man » December 16th, 2009, 6:32 am

dunno why dem eh tek ah page outta Dwight playbook
still meh hero that Dwight :!:

Postby noshownogo » December 16th, 2009, 8:33 am

Renault continue in Formula One

Renault Formula One team president Bernard Rey has announced the constructor will remain in Formula One next season after they agreed a deal secure the team's future.

Rey confirmed they had decided to maintain a strategic commitment to the sport with the help of Genii Capital, a Luxemburg based firm specialized in new technologies, brand management and motorsport.

In a statement on team's Web site Rey said: "I am delighted to welcome Genii Capital as our new strategic partner as I am sure that their enthusiasm and business expertise will create a new dynamic for the team, the staff, and our partners.

"Altogether, we look forward to competing again at the highest level in Formula One. Today's announcement also confirms Renault's commitment and trust in the sport's governing bodies to improve the green credentials of Formula One."

Postby noshownogo » December 16th, 2009, 8:37 am

Virgin takes F1 plunge, again...

Formula One fan Sir Richard Branson has finally committed himself to the sport after formally announcing that his Virgin brand will adorn new team Manor GP.

The Sheffield-based outfit, one of four new marques who will help make up an expanded 13-team grid for next season, have been rebranded Virgin Racing thanks to a multi-million pound sponsorship deal with Branson.

The tycoon finally confirmed one of the sport's worst-kept secrets at a press conference in London.

Explaining his latest venture, Branson said: "Our first year in F1 (with Brawn GP) was tremendous for the Virgin brand, so why not go in again with a new team from scratch?

"If you look at the history of Virgin we've loved supporting technical breakthroughs, great engineers, and there's something like 120 engineers working away on this project."

Branson had long weighed up the pros and cons of entering Formula One before finally taking the plunge last season with the World Championship-winning Brawn GP team.

That low-key sponsorship deal was hastily arranged after he had earlier been linked with a buyout of the team, whose future had appeared in doubt following Honda's withdrawal late last year.

Postby noshownogo » December 17th, 2009, 7:46 am

BIG NEWS!!!

Sauber sign Kobayashi

Japanese driver pens deal with Sauber for 2010

Japan's Kamui Kobayashi has been confirmed as a driver for Formula One team Sauber next year.

The Swiss outfit, who up to now have only named Kobayashi for 2010, is back in the ownership of founder Peter Sauber following the withdrawal of BMW at the end of last season.

The final two races of 2009 saw 23-year-old Kobayashi impress as a fill-in driver for Toyota, securing a notable sixth place in the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix after starting from 12th on the grid.

Withdrawal

Kobayashi was expected to secure a permanent drive with Toyota next year before the outfit announced its withdrawal from F1 on financial grounds.

"Ever since the start of my career I have dreamed of racing in Formula One," said Kobayashi.

"Now this dream has come true. I am very happy that my two races in 2009 have earned me a cockpit place.

"I will do my very best for Peter Sauber's team, and I am proud to be able to carry on flying the Japanese flag in Formula One."

Kobayashi, who raced in Formula Renault and the Formula 3 Euro Series before landing his place as Toyota's reserve driver for 2008, was given a chance to prove himself at his home grand prix in Suzuka last season when he deputised for Timo Glock in practice due to the German being ill.

Glock later suffered a heavy crash on his return to the cockpit which meant Kobayashi took over for the last two races of the season, and Peter Sauber revealed it was those displays in Brazil, where he finished ninth, and Abu Dhabi that won him over.

Unexpected

"In the final two grands prix of last season he was granted an unexpected chance to show his skills, and he made impressive use of it," said Sauber.

"Particularly in the Abu Dhabi race he demonstrated not only that he can drive fast and aggressively, but also his ability to successfully implement a strategy.

"I am convinced he has a great deal of potential and will be able to make the most of it in our team."

The announcement of Kobayashi's signing means one less vacant place on the grid next year, with the second Sauber driver yet to be named.

Two drivers for newcomer USF1 are also yet to be confirmed, along with a partner for Bruno Senna at Campos Meta and Renault and Toro Rosso's second drivers.

The most intense speculation surrounds Mercedes, with Michael Schumacher rumoured to resume his career with the German outfit in 2010.

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2009, 8:56 am

Glad he got a drive

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 17th, 2009, 9:59 am

YES!!!!! KOBAYASHI !!!!

wish he got a more competitive team though. Cause for sure hes gonna push every race!!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 17th, 2009, 10:14 am

yahooo!!!!!

I guess he didn't fail the test :wink:

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 17th, 2009, 10:45 am

i wonder how good a sushi chef he was

Swifted

Postby Swifted » December 17th, 2009, 11:48 am

^^^^not too good, cuz he can only drive F1 cars apparently, lol :lol:

Postby Maserati » December 17th, 2009, 12:46 pm

great to see he got a drive for the 2010 season.
exciting guy

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2009, 2:22 pm

he excites you?
u feelin for ah japkish?

Postby Maserati » December 17th, 2009, 4:24 pm

MG Man wrote:he excites you?
u feelin for ah japkish?

he's more daring than some of those drivers
8-)

Postby MG Man » December 17th, 2009, 4:40 pm

best F1 driver Japan has produced by far.....back when it was Katayama, Sat Nakajima and suzuki I used to wonder if all Japan could produce was backmarkers.....

Mini

Postby Mini » December 18th, 2009, 6:57 am

Hmmmm always thought that Senna was the greatest.... Never did like Schumi... but arguably he was talented... he could pull back as much as a second per lap when it counted... and the days of the old qualifying format... he'd just wait till the last and run off 2 laps and secure pole... yuh hadda to admire that

Hammi... i still think he's been lucky and came in at a good time...

My guy still is Alonso..

Postby teems1 » December 18th, 2009, 2:53 pm

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/80623

Schumacher reveals comeback is close

By Tony Dodgins

Michael Schumacher has told Ferrari that there is a "very, very, very strong possibility" that he will race for Mercedes-Benz in Formula 1 next year, team president Luca di Montezemolo has revealed.

Although there has not yet been any official word from the Schumacher or Mercedes-Benz camps about the progress of talks in relation to an amazing comeback for the seven-time world champion, di Montezemolo has given away just how far advanced the situation now is.

Speaking to selected media, including AUTOSPORT, at Ferrari's Christmas lunch in Fiorano on Thursday, di Montezemolo shed fresh light on the Schumacher developments.

"I hadn't spoken to him since Abu Dhabi but I spoke to him yesterday (Wednesday)," said di Montezemolo about Schumacher's Mercedes-Benz situation.

"He phoned me and he told me that there is a very, very, very strong possibility [of racing for Mercedes-Benz]. Having said that, it is not 100 per cent decided. But that is what he said yesterday morning."

Di Montezemolo confirmed that Ferrari had agreed to release Schumacher from any remaining commitments he had to the Italian team so he could make the switch to Mercedes-Benz in the event of a deal coming off.

Sources have told AUTOSPORT that a deal between Schumacher and Mercedes-Benz has been agreed in principle, but that the matter cannot move forward until the German has been told by medical experts that his neck is 100 per cent ready for an F1 return.

Schumacher hurt his neck in a big motorbike accident earlier this year, and it was the legacy of that injury which forced him to abandon a comeback for Ferrari in the middle of last year.

Once Schumacher has got the medical news that he and Mercedes-Benz need, then it will be a matter of finalising his contract prior to an announcement being made.

Di Montezemolo said that he believed that it was a 'new Schumacher' who was pursuing a future with Mercedes-Benz.

"The real Michael Schumacher always told me he would finish his career at Ferrari," he said.

When asked what he had said to Schumacher during their conversation, di Montezemolo paused before saying: "Don't forget that when you start collaboration with a driver as long ago as we did with Michael, in 1995, over 14 years ago, you are also a friend.

"You can agree and disagree but you remain friends. I won't forget what he did for Ferrari and he won't forget what we did for him."

Di Montezemolo also spoke at length about the struggles Ferrari faced during 2009, having been unable to take the challenge to title rivals Brawn GP and Red Bull Racing.

"All our car architecture - the dimensions of the gearbox, everything - was based on a different interpretation of the rules and, also, we were pushing very hard until the last corner of the last race of '08," he said.

Di Montezemolo also admitted that the season had marked the closest point in his experience to seeing Ferrari quit F1.

"This year was the only one moment since I became chairman in 1991 that I was really minded to stop F1," he said. "It was the unanimous decision of the board that there was too much credibility being lost, too much polemics over the rules and not enough research.

"Now I say thank God that everything is over although we paid a big price because not to have Toyota and BMW and to have Renault in a different situation is not good for F1."

plz plz plz plz plz let this be true

Lewis vs Alonso vs Schumi

all that's missing now is Kimi to come back and take seat in a Red Bull!!

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 18th, 2009, 2:55 pm

i will take pics for u guys :P

Postby Maserati » December 18th, 2009, 3:13 pm

Freelander wrote:i will take pics for u guys :P

15/16 Jan we go know if we get tickets or if to get from an alternative source *nail biting*

Freelander

Postby Freelander » December 18th, 2009, 3:21 pm

Maserati wrote:

15/16 Jan we go know if we get tickets or if to get from an alternative source *nail biting*

we getting they will just give us the next best available seat

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 18th, 2009, 6:26 pm

Freelander wrote:
Maserati wrote:

we getting they will just give us the next best available seat

lucky fackers

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 21st, 2009, 9:05 am

will be one hell of a setting but another procession in the making?

Bernie Ecclestone has agreed a deal which would see Formula One come to the streets of Rome, according to course planner Maurizio Flammini.

A Rome grand prix, raced through the streets of the Italian capital much like that of Monaco, has been in planning for over a year and a half.

http://www.planetf1.com/story/0,18954,3 ... 61,00.html

Postby Maserati » December 22nd, 2009, 9:02 pm

Postby teems1 » December 22nd, 2009, 10:52 pm

MG Man is goin to have a fit

Postby MG Man » December 23rd, 2009, 7:01 am

*yawn*

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 23rd, 2009, 7:29 am

yayyy!

much needed shot in the arm for F1

hope he doesn't embarrass himself and his wife doesn't leave him for coming back!

Postby noshownogo » December 23rd, 2009, 7:30 am

Great news for the F1 brand, sucks for all the other drivers especially if his car competitive :lol:

Either way i expect some of the juniors to show nerves if they side by side with him on the track.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » December 23rd, 2009, 8:46 am

Michael Schumacher wrote:"I've never left the race track, and after three years I regained the energy I'm feeling now.

There are tears forming in my eye.
the idea of Alonso driving for Ferrari was hard to take but now Shumi driving again so I have someone to back, thank god.

Postby noshownogo » December 23rd, 2009, 9:17 am

<Driver>: "Is this Nico or Michael along side me?!"
Crew: "It's Michael!!"
<Driver>: "Oh sh!t...*crashes*"

Postby noshownogo » December 23rd, 2009, 9:43 am

I quoting "d nasty german"... :lol:

"The motivation is pretty straightforward.

"I got a call from Ross (Brawn, team principal) at the beginning of November asking me to race again, telling me Mercedes were going to be involved.

"I've never left the race track, and after three years I regained the energy I'm feeling now.

"After playing around on motorbikes, I'm ready for the serious stuff."

Postby noshownogo » December 23rd, 2009, 9:48 am

Less than 80 days till the 2010 F1 season, below are the new rule changes with explanations:

2010 season changes

Refuelling
The biggest change for the 2010 season is the banning of refuelling during races for the first time since 1993. Pit stops will not become a thing of the past, however, as drivers still have to use both dry-weather tyre compounds during a Grand Prix. Of course, those stops will now be much quicker, quite possibly under four seconds.

The change requires cars to possess a much larger fuel tank - up from around 80 litres to something nearer 250:shock:- and has a major effect on race strategy, with drivers having to pay more attention to tyre and brake conservation. To accommodate the bigger tank, the cars are likely to feature wider rear bodywork and a longer wheelbase. As a result, the weight distribution will be quite different to that of a 2009 car.

Points system
In place of the previous structure, which saw the top eight drivers scoring 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 point respectively, from 2010 the top ten finishers in a Grand Prix score points. The change has been introduced as a result of the expanded grid of 13 teams. Under the new system, the race winner takes 25 points, with 20 and 15 being awarded for second and third places respectively. The next seven finishers will score 10, 8, 6, 5, 3, 2 and 1 point respectively.

Weight
The minimum weight of the car has been raised from 605kg to 620kg. The initial thinking behind this was to offset the disadvantage faced by taller, heavier drivers in KERS-equipped cars (the additional weight of the KERS system meant they were left with less flexibility in terms of weight distribution than their lighter rivals). By mutual agreement, however, teams are now not expected to run KERS in 2010.

Narrower front tyres
When slick tyres returned to Formula One racing in 2009, the tyre size remained unchanged. In terms of contact area, this meant that the fronts gained proportionally more grip than the rears. This has been addressed for 2010, with front tyre width reduced from 270mm to 245mm, thus helping to bring back a better grip balance. Also, the ban on refuelling means cars will be around 100kg heavier at the start of a race than in 2009, so Bridgestone will use slightly harder tyre compounds to compensate.

No wheel fairings
Teams are no longer allowed to use the wheel rim covers that became so commonplace in 2009. Their removal means one less thing to go wrong when pit crews are trying to change of set of tyres in less than four seconds, and could also aid overtaking by making the airflow immediately behind cars less turbulent.

More teams
Thirteen teams - 26 cars - will feature on the grid in 2010. This means a slight alteration to the knockout qualifying session, which will now see eight drivers (as opposed to five) eliminated in Q1 and Q2, leaving ten to fight it out for pole in Q3. The ban on refuelling means that cars will qualify on low fuel in all three phases of the session.

Testing
If a team declares that one of their current race drivers is to be substituted by a driver who has not participated in an F1 race in the two previous calendar years, one day of track testing will now be permitted, on an approved circuit not being used for a Grand Prix in the current season. This is to avoid scenarios such as that seen in 2009 when Jaime Alguersuari made his Formula One debut with Toro Rosso having only previously driven an F1 car in straight-line testing.

In another minor change, teams will be allowed six rather than eight days of straight-line aero testing per season. They will also have the option of substituting any of these days for four hours of wind tunnel testing with a full-scale (rather than the normal 60 percent-scale) model.